F-230 Review

manufacturer: Fender date: 07/11/2005 category: Acoustic Guitars
It has only 20 frets, with a very standard looking fretboard (solid black paint). The body is laminated and looks pretty nice.
 Sound: 8
 Overall Impression: 6
 Reliability & Durability: 8
 Action, Fit & Finish: 6
 Features: 8
 Overall rating:
 5.8 
 Reviewer rating:
 7.2 
 Users rating:
 4.3 
 Votes:
 4 
review (1) user comments vote for this gear:
overall: 7.2
F-230 Reviewed by: unregistered, on july 11, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: This Fender was purchased in Europe somewhere about 13 years ago. It has only 20 frets, with a very standard looking fretboard (solid black paint). The body is laminated and looks pretty nice. It has a pickgaurd that matched the headstock. The tuning knobs are chrome. // 8

Sound: I play a lot of songs that should be played on an electric, but when practicing on this it sounds very nice when playing Dust In The Wind, Stairway To Heaven, or other songs like Tears In Heaven. It sounds ok for the price (pretty cheap), and it gets the job done. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: Guitar was set up fine in the factory. The action however on this guitar is horrible. It is very hard to fly across the fretboard when you are having to stop and push hard on the strings. It was in perfect condition other than that when I recieved it. // 6

Reliability & Durability: Yes, it is a very rugged guitar, and it might withstand live playing, but I would never try because the action is bad. It is almost 14 years old, and still in mint condition, so it seems that it will last a very long time. The finish does not wear off, even after 13 years of playing. // 8

Overall Impression: It is a good match to the style of acoustic music I play. If it were stolen, I would probably opt for getting a fairly nice but affordable Epiphone acoustic. Love the sound, hate the action. It's pretty easy to play with the strap on. // 6

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Fender reviews rating category latest review
+ Modern Player Jaguar Bass 9 Bass Guitars 09/15/2014
+ DG-20S 8.3 Acoustic Guitars 08/01/2014
+ Classic '50s Stratocaster 8.8 Electric Guitars 07/28/2014
+ '64 Bandmaster Head 9 Guitar Amplifiers 07/22/2014
+ Competition Delay 8.2 Guitar Effects 07/21/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect