CPX1000 Review

manufacturer: Yamaha date: 01/20/2012 category: Acoustic Guitars
Yamaha: CPX1000
It is a beautiful guitar if you like inlays and tonally for the price is a great piece of kit. It may not quite be as smooth as the Taylor, but at 2000 pounds less, I do not think the sound was that different!
 Sound: 8
 Overall Impression: 9
 Reliability & Durability: 8
 Action, Fit & Finish: 6
 Features: 10
 Overall rating:
 8.7 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.2 
 Users rating:
 9.2 
 Votes:
 18 
review (1) pictures (6) 3 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 8.2
CPX1000 Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 20, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 590

Purchased from: imuso,co,uk

Features: Chinese made guitar. Solid woods throughout. Spruce top, nato sides (mahogany alternative) all coloured with a black translucent finish. So woog grain visible close up. All edged with cream including neck. Nice soundhole with two rings of mother of pearl inlays. Rosewood fretboard, with large block inlays-triangular back to back at 1.3.5.7.9.12.15.17.19 frets. Makes it a pretty neck. Jumbo cutaway shape. Active electronics - latest SRT 63 3 EQ settings. Low, mid and high manual equalizers. Master volume - needs to be up beyond half way to sound. Built in chromatic tuner-useful. Resonance dial-ok adds sustain. Piezo pick up and mic that can be blended. Takes two AA batteries to Drive this, says give 20 hours, we will see.Does mean can use rechargeables. Gold tuners. Finish is excellent and flawless, as good as anything I have on my Gibson LP. // 10

Sound: Sound is bright and clear, without being harsh. There is enough natural sustain from the wood box played acoustically. It has a good range of sounds that can be reproduced accurately when plugged in. Put through the same amp compared favorably in sound to Taylor made of same woods. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: Overall this guitar seems to be flawless in finish and build. Nothing left untidy or rough. It is quite a heavy guitar with the solid woods used. Nothing excessive but noticeable neck drop as solid weight. The action is what lets it down, it need to go to be set up properly as there is 5 mm between fret and string at 12 fret. With a better action would have rated higher. // 6

Reliability & Durability: Feels like it has been built to last. Also with the spuce top hope that it will age and mellow. Have to see on this one. Strap buttons are solid and the tail one doubles as plug for standard jack, so would not be as easy to put on locking strap locks if you want to use amp too. // 8

Overall Impression: The only issue I have is the action, but I am confident that my local shop will be able to lower it to transform the playing ease. It would be a struggle for a beginner set at this height. With an electro acoustic I do not fancy doing DIY correction. I compared this to Takamines, Taylors Guilds and Martins. It is a beautiful guitar if you like inlays and tonally for the price is a great piece of kit. It may not quite be as smooth as the Taylor, but at 2000 pounds less, I do not think the sound was that different! You pay a great deal for a name, and it is not always worth it. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Yamaha reviews rating category latest review
+ RBX270L 8.6 Bass Guitars 04/09/2014
+ SF700 9.2 Electric Guitars 04/04/2014
+ EG112C 7.5 Electric Guitars 03/31/2014
+ Pacifica 112V 9 Electric Guitars 03/11/2014
+ THR5 9.5 Guitar Amplifiers 03/04/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect