Tour 450 Review

manufacturer: Peavey date: 04/29/2010 category: Bass Amplifiers
Peavey: Tour 450
The Peavey Tour 450 Bass Amp Head offers tons of power plus extensive tone shaping tools, such as bright and low-cut switches, active high and low shelving controls, a contour control, and a 9-band graphic EQ configured to target critical bass frequencies.
 Sound: 7.5
 Overall Impression: 8.5
 Reliability & Durability: 9
 Features: 8
 Overall rating:
 7.7 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.3 
 Users rating:
 7 
 Votes:
 4 
reviews (2) pictures (1) 1 comment vote for this gear:
overall: 8.8
Tour 450 Reviewed by: unregistered, on march 09, 2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 300

Purchased from: Mothers Music

Sound: this amp is all about clean power. I am yet to make it distort much at all. I play in a Ukrainian functions band which entails lots of polkas, but it also includes rock and punk covers. This amp manages to cover them all, so long as you don't count on changing tones between songs. The basic sound of the amp is clean and does not bias towards a darker Vintage tone or an ultra-modern bright tone. It can create all but the most extreme distorted tones and it does not handle heavily detuned basses well. // 9

Reliability & Durability: reliability seems to be top notch. I've gigged it about a dozen times now and it's always fired up quickly and quietly. Even after playing for 6 hours solid it's cold to the touch, probably due to the 2 speed fan. The graphic eq's sliders seem to be on the delicate side, but they don't seem any less sturdy than those on an Ampeg or Fender. Just look out for them a little or rackmount the amp. // 8

Overall Impression: Overall, this amp represents some major bang for buck. it's loud, durable and inexspensive. This is good for any bassist looking to get their first pro quality rig. However, the tones on tap will make it much more lucrative for more professional level players. it's warm, dynamic and clear. If you can play with just one channel, look into this amp. it's got tone, volume and an unbeatable price. You could get two of these for the price of other 2 channel amps (as I have done, it looks more impressive) and you'll have money left to buy nice, light neo cabs. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.8
Tour 450 Reviewed by: krehzeekid, on april 29, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 350

Purchased from: Axe

Sound: I usually use this amp with a G&L L-2500 and an ashdowne 1x15 cab, though I've used it with an extremely wide variety of basses and cabs. I play in a professional wedding band, as well as stints filling in with other bands. This amp is certainly loud, rarely needing to be pushed beyond 5/10 for fairly large gigs. However, loud is all this amp really does particularily well. The overall tone of the amp is lacking, there is little warmth or nuance to be had with the tone. Despite the best efforts of the powerful eq section, it is extremely difficult to find good sounds, with the amp often sounding sterile and cold. That being said, the amp can create a huge range of sounds; by playing with the eq, it is possible to approximate nearly any sound that you want, just don't expect to have any nuance or character to the sound. Realistically though, given the price of the amp, the sound is not bad. Its loud, abrupt and unrefined making it well suited to punk and thrash metal. It also manages to remain clean at extremely high volumes and the limiter does a good job of keeping your speakers safe without constantly inturrupting. The subharmonic generator, though a really cool idea, is useless as it renders the tone too muddy to use, regardless of eq settings. // 6

Reliability & Durability: This is where the amp shines: in 1.5 years of playing and weekly gigging, the only damage the amp has to show for it is a broken bright/normal button, which refuses to be depressed. The simplicity of the amp certainly plays a role in this, leaving very little that can actually break. This is aided in large part by the fan (shared with its more powerful sibling the Tour 700) which manages to keep the amp cool through a 5 hour set. I routinely gig this amp without any backup whatsoever. Im thouroughly convinced that this amp simply cannot break down and, consequently, I feel little need to bring a backup rid. Furthermore, even if the amp breaks down completely, your sound will still make it to the mixer as the DI operates off phantom power even if the amp cuts out, ensuring you will always have sound. // 10

Overall Impression: I haven't played bass all that long, maybe 4-5 years now, but all my experience has been in a professional capacity (gigging guitarist turned bassist after a last minute firing) and I have played in all sorts of bands. I play most genres of music, though I'm partial to high-energy rock and funk. This amp has been adequate for the majority of its tenure with me. It has rarely been stellar, but its always ensured that I can be heard and it has never embarassed me or stranded me with no sound. It also comes with some really good features for the money. That being said, it is getting replaced pretty quick as it simply does not have the refinement or nuance that I'm seeking. Though I will never buy one again, I will certainly recommend them to bassists looking to get their first "big", gig-worthy rig. Its loud, simple, reliable and easy to use making it perfect for burgeoning talents. Its just not up to the task of keeping pace with experienced bassists. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Peavey reviews rating category latest review
+ Vypyr VIP 2 7.6 Guitar Amplifiers 06/02/2014
+ Rotor EXP 8.8 Electric Guitars 05/23/2014
+ Vypyr 15 7.9 Guitar Amplifiers 04/28/2014
+ Vypyr VIP 1 8.2 Guitar Amplifiers 04/28/2014
+ Valve King 112 8.1 Guitar Amplifiers 01/15/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect