Dimension Bass IV Review

manufacturer: Fender date: 08/03/2009 category: Bass Guitars
Fender: Dimension Bass IV
It's the perfect alternative for bassists looking for something unique and personal. This bass will provide years of enjoyment to both the novice and experienced player.
 Overall Impression: 10
 Reliability & Durability: 10
 Action, Fit & Finish: 9.5
 Features: 9.5
 Sound: 10
 Overall rating:
 9.3 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.8 
 Users rating:
 8.8 
 Votes:
 27 
reviews (2) 6 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 10
Dimension Bass IV Reviewed by: unregistered, on february 03, 2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Features: - Alder body - Maple neck with light tint (satin urethane) - Rosewood fingerboard with 12" radius - 24 medium jumbo frets - 34" scale length - 1.5625" nut width - Chrome hardware - New design bridge with string-thru or top loading - Mexico Deluxe P Bass pickup (mid) - Noiseless Jazz Bass pickup (bridge) - Pickup blending pan pot - Master volume and 3-band active EQ controls - EQ with boost/cut of 100k for treble, mids, and bass. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: Body and neck are very good and the rosewood fingerboard looks to be of good quality as well. Action is fantastic, low and fast. The bass is light and combined with the micro tilt adjustemt as well as the bridge and truss rod, you can pretty well nail any feel you're looking for. Tuners are nice and smooth. No decernable noise amplified or unamplified. It plays nicely up and down the neck on all strings. Fret wire was smooth at the edge of the neck and finish of the bass was perfect. // 10

Reliability & Durability: The bass seems very solid and the hardware is nice. The hardware does seem like it will last a long time. The strap buttons are solid. It is a dependable instrument. It's a Fender, so it should stand up over the years. Excellent for stage or studio. Anyone who knows anything about basses will be blown away by this instrument. // 10

Overall Impression: It's the perfect alternative for bassists looking for something unique and personal. This bass will provide years of enjoyment to both the novice and experienced player. Great package and awesome looking as well. It still sounds like a Fender and the active electronics provides greater flexibility over a Jazz or a Precision. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.6
Dimension Bass IV Reviewed by: unregistered, on august 03, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 750

Purchased from: Musician's Friend

Features: - Alder body - Maple neck with light tint (satin urethane) - Rosewood fingerboard with 12" radius - 24 medium jumbo frets - 34" scale length - 1.5625" nut width - Chrome hardware - New design bridge with string-thru or top loading - Mexico Deluxe P Bass pickup (mid) - Noiseless Jazz Bass pickup (bridge) - Pickup blending pan pot - Master volume and 3-band active EQ controls - EQ with boost/cut of 100k for treble, mids, and bass. // 10 // 9

Sound: I am writing this 2 and a half years after purchasing it and using it fairly constantly. Quite frankly, I adore this bass. The pickup blend works great and with the bass/mid/treb knobs the possibilities are endless, ranging from deep, deep lows to sweet highs. Sounds like a quality Fender, as good as any I've played. You don't get The Feeling that this is a sub-$800 bass; you feel like it's that much more. Buzzing is minor, if anything. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: Action was quite good when I received it. I lowered it a little. Truss rod has to be adjusted if you change string gauges significantly, but this is all standard fare. Pickups are also great. It looks sexy. Flat out. Wood finish does not damage easily. Fingerprints show up under intense lighting conditions. Polishing when you change the string keeps it lookin' nice. As for playability goes, with the right strings (I use the thinnest possible) this bass is quite quick, and gets around rather nicely // 9

Reliability & Durability: Never had an issue in a Live gig. 15 or so gigs later, I can honestly say I've never had to use a backup. Hardware seems durable, no qualms to speak. Forearm straplock is quite strong, but the rear one needs tightening every few months. A phillips head screwdriver will suffice. Not sure if my straplocks cause this. Finish has not worn off on an of the playing surfaces, only where I've dropped it like an idiot. // 10

Overall Impression: This bass has suited me in everything I've needed to play, from earth, wind, & fire to Metallica. The tonal variety is a huge help. Been playing for five+ years and have experimented with a lot of other equipment. Other gear includes a Peavey 5 string, a Squier P Bass, and 2 uprights of unknown manufacture. At school, I use a Fender American Jazz Standard that sees several hours of play a week during the year. If lost, I'd buy it again in a second, if they actually had any around. I compared it extensively to the Warwick Rockbass standard, and I can honestly say I made the right choice. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Fender reviews rating category latest review
+ American Telecaster Plus Deluxe Version II 8.2 Electric Guitars 10/07/2014
+ Modern Player Telecaster Plus 8.6 Electric Guitars 10/02/2014
+ Pawn Shop Mustang Special 9.1 Electric Guitars 10/01/2014
+ Super-Sonic Twin 7.2 Guitar Amplifiers 09/25/2014
+ Modern Player Jaguar Bass 9 Bass Guitars 09/15/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect