Magical Mystery Tour Review

artist: beatles date: 06/21/2008 category: compact discs
beatles: Magical Mystery Tour
Released: November 27, 1967
Genre: Rock
Tones: Cynical/Sarcastic, Whimsical, Sophisticated, Theatrical, Quirky
Styles: Pop, British Invasion, Psychedelic, Pop/Rock, British Psychedelia
Number Of Tracks: 11
 Sound: 9.8
 Lyrics: 9.8
 Overall Impression: 9.8
 Overall rating:
 9.3 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.8 
 Users rating:
 8.7 
 Votes:
 41 
reviews (4) 6 comments vote for this album:
overall: 10
Magical Mystery Tour Reviewed by: frozen-dirt, on june 08, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Great sound on this album. This is the first album of there's that I heard aside from 'Beatles 1'. I couldn't be more pleased. They used alot of Lennon on piano in this one. They also use alot of uncommon instruments (for rock, atleast) like sitars, brass or string ensembles, and even a slide flute on one song. // 10

Lyrics: Classic Beatles song writing. Paul does awsome singing in every song where he has the lead. Lennon and the others aren't bad either. The music really goes well with the lyrics too. // 10

Overall Impression: This is the only Beatles album I have so I don't know how it measures up to others. It's been named a classic though, and I'm not surprised because it's excellent. If I lost it I would definitely get it again. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Magical Mystery Tour Reviewed by: DownInAHole., on february 02, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: After the 1967 release of the immensely popular "Sgt Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band", the Beatles made the decision to follow it up rather quickly. Almost too quickly, to be honest. Only this time, instead of the pop sensation side of the Beatles, they completely caught fans off guard and released their most darkest, psychedelic album to date, "Magical Mystery Tour." This album completely defeated the purpose of what the Beatles were about, at this stage in their career. In 1967, random waves of psychedlia swept across the world and this album signified the Beatles conforming to this trend. "Magical Mystery Tour" featured trippy musical passages, beautiful piano arrangements, as well as the ever strong voice of John Lennon, which, in my opinion, was his best album vocally. One song in particular that was especially trippy was "Blue Jay Way." It's just a chill song with an almost constant rhythm and ingenius vocal effects, which were used on a vast majority of the album. Songs like "Fool On the Hill" give listeners a taste of the experimental nature of the Beatles as well. On this track, George Harrison is featured on harmonica, one of his high points on the album, in addition to a beautiful flute section provided by Richard Taylor. However, my favorite sounds that came from this album was on "Penny Lane." It's sang almost in an upbeat manner, poppy like, if you will, however, some pieces of this song strike me as dark, in an almost latent way. I can't really describe it. You'd have to listen for yourself to understand. The fact that piano is featured on almost all of the songs with trippy vocals give Magical Mystery Tour "funeral quality." I'll just leave it at that. To put it Layman's terms, the album's sound was quite fantastic and it was changed for the better. // 9

Lyrics: Well, it is the Beatles. Do I need to say more? Of course the lyrics are going to be steps ahead of everyone else. It's given. The word I would use to characterize the lyrics on "Magical Mystery Tour" would probably be "difficult." The way the songs are set up give you some difficulty in deteriming what the songs themselves mean. "Baby, You're A Rich Man" is a prime example of that. Here, the song's chorus section is a combination of two different songs, one written by Lennon, the other written by McCartney. Most bands could not pull this off, but combining lyrics to make an incredibly catchy song just further reinforces my thoughts on the Beatles being the best songwriters ever. Overall, the lyrics carry you somewhere psychologically, but due to their "difficulty", it takes the mind awhile to interpret what everything means, adding to the psychedelic quality of all of the songs. // 9

Overall Impression: I love this album dearly. It was my first Beatle album and I think it's the easiest album to get into, though the average Beatle fan would say "Abbey Road." My favorite songs at the moment are "Hello Goodbye" and "Blue Jay Way", even though every song on the album is thoroughly enjoyable. That's what I love about it. You can listen to this album over and over again, but the songs never get old. You find something different about the Beatles' music with every listen, and that, singlehandedly, makes 1967's "Magical Mystery Tour" one of the most brilliantly different records ever recorded. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Magical Mystery Tour Reviewed by: marchoso, on may 19, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The Beatles were always making good music but this has to be one of my all time favorites, great songs such as, All you need is love, Strawberry Fields, Penny Lane, and I am the Walrus. Like most Beatles albums they used special affects with the sound and also strange background affects. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics... original beatles... They were unbelivable at making the best lyrics you can find. Ex. "Yellow matter custard, dripping from a dead dog's eye, crabalocker fishwife, pornagraphic pristess, boy you've been a naught girl, you let your knickers down" The compliance with the music couldn't go along together any better. // 10

Overall Impression: Overall, it reminds me of Sgt. Peppers but in my opinion, better. I wish I could have one favorite song but I have so many, Strawberry Fields and, I am the Walrus would top the list though. There's nothing to hate about this cd, everything is wonderfully mastered by Paul, Ringo, John, and George. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Magical Mystery Tour Reviewed by: Madvillain_Me, on june 21, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Magical Mystery Tour came after the great Sgt. Pepper's album, so how could this even reach the level of it's predecessor? Create more magnificent songs, put them into a new album, and take two songs that didn't go into Sgt. Peppers and put them on as well, the ending, another classic record. Yeah that pretty much sums up Magical Mystery Tour, I mean the name sets you up for the album. With songs like "Blue Jay Way" that are full of inexplicable greatness, to "Your Mother Should Know" a pop tune, with a great sound, the album puts you on a magical tour into weirdness. The level of creating new sounds were raised, once you hear "Flying" you will want to really be flying, it's such a relaxing tune!" The title track "Magical Mystery Tour" starts off the album with a bang! McCartney's voice sounds amazing, along with the rocking bass, and the great horn section, it makes one hell of a song, and the ending piano part really nails it! "Penny Lane" "I am the Walrus" "Strawberry Fields Forever" three of the greatest songs ever to be recorded, in one album! The sound begs to be turned up, and begs to be heard! // 10

Lyrics: Lennon wrote some beautiful lyrics in this album, "I am the Walrus" and "Strawberry Fields Forever" are among his best lyrics. "I am the Walrus" a song that means absolutely nothing, sounds good, the lyrics are funny, and descriptive, and crazy! "Elementary penguins/singing hare krishna/man you should have seen them kicking Edgar Allen Poe". That's Lennon, that is pure of his magic. Everyone knows what opening lyric this is from, "Let me take you down/cause I'm going to/Strawberry Fields/Nothing is real/and nothing to get hung about." McCartney doesn't stay behind, especially with "Penny Lane". "In Penny Lane/there is a barber/showing photographs/of every head he had the pleasure to know." With his poppy and nostalgic classic, full of old memories, and with a kick ass piccolo solo, McCartney is heard! The lyrics in the album are by far better than any other Beatle album, period! // 10

Overall Impression: Magical Mystery Tour is a superb album, each song is guaranteed to be one of your favorite tunes, to hum, sing, and dance to (maybe). Rarely do we see an album with great songs one after another. The best thing about the album has to be the consistency of the songs. I have nothing bad to say of it. I would definitely buy it if it was stolen or lost, or scratched, I don't care if I pay more than it's regular price! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Beatles reviews rating latest review
+ Abbey Road 9.6 11/26/2012
+ Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band 9.6 05/29/2012
+ Revolver 9.7 08/23/2011
+ The Beatles (White Album) 8.9 08/25/2010
+ Let It Be 8.5 04/02/2010
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect