Alaska Review

artist: between the buried and me date: 07/16/2007 category: compact discs
between the buried and me: Alaska
Release Date: Sep 6, 2005
Label: Victory
Genres: Death Metal/Black Metal, Alternative Metal
Number Of Tracks: 11
this CD is perfect for any fan of death metal/melodic death/hardcore/metalcore. It's breath-taking.
 Sound: 9.9
 Lyrics: 9.3
 Overall Impression: 9.8
 Overall rating:
 9.4 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.6 
 Users rating:
 9.1 
 Votes:
 104 
reviews (8) 37 comments vote for this album:
overall: 10
Alaska Reviewed by: legions, on october 15, 2005
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Sound: I absolutely Love Between The Buried And Me. They have a unique sound that nobody else could pull off. BBAM can go from brutal death metal to straight up jazzy laid back stuff. All of the instrumentation on this album is incredible, everyone of the members is a very accomplished musician. Anything from sweep picking arppegio's to chromatic breakdowns, this band has it all. This CD is absolutely phenominal. // 10

Lyrics: BBAM has a very talented singer. He can actually sing. Many people are thrown off because a lot of their songs start off with death metal/black metal style growling and screamy vocals. But if you were to actually listen to a whole song you would find that a lot of them end with beautiful epic singing. The lyrics are also very well-written they can go from death metal gore lyrics to enchanting balads of love in an instant. // 10

Overall Impression: In my opinion this is BBAM's best and matured release. But you would assume that's expected of them though, right? But this record is nearly flawless. My favorite songs would probably be the title track "Alaska" and the epic twisting turning brutal "Selkies: The Endless Obsession." I absolutely love the jazzy breaks and melodic interludes they have. If this CD was lost, I wouldnt even think twice before running up to the store to buy another copy. And if this CD were stolen I would either hunt down the theif, or I would just buy another copy. It's completely worth every penny spent, it's so good, I would actually pay more than what their selling it for. Trust me, this CD is perfect for any fan of death metal/melodic death/hardcore/metalcore. It's breath-taking. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Alaska Reviewed by: bighugejake, on january 16, 2007
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Sound: If any album in the world deserves an 11 outta 10, it's this one. Between The Buried And Me has one of the most out of the ordinary, unique, random and melodic styles I have ever witnessed. Their job doing this album includes: ripping guitar riffery, time changes all over the damn place, lack for any basic song structure (no of this verse, chorus x4 crap), calm and/or passive instrumentals, incredible talent from all members. // 10

Lyrics: Some people like screaming. It gets them pumped up! It makes them angry. It gets them going crazy. To these people well whatever floats your boat is fine by me. I like the screaming to a point, but when you have another band like Trivium (there old stuff) all you get is yelling and screaming. Fortunately this album features singing as well! but a healthy mixture of the two is the greatest kind of music. This is what makes Alaska one of the greatest albums ever. 01. All Bodies - this song speaks of the people of the world abusing their power of running it. God (or the creator/Alah/Buddah or w/e else) then sets out and makes the abusers suffer. 02. Alaska - a mish-mesh of random phrases caused by insomnia (not sleeping). 03. Croakies And Boatshows - is a written and revised version of "a day in the life of a son of a rich guy". This song is the diary of a rich brat kid who does nothing but party, have anything he wants and anyone he wants. 04. Selkies: The Endless Obsession - is harder to interpret. Selkies? I don't know what that means. But the rest of the song is about how people care too much about the differences in people. It talks about how racism, generated by TV, radios, movies, ect, has become an obsession to the people of the world. 05. Breathe In, Breathe Out - instrumental. 06. Roboturner - this song tells of how the popular medium is crushing our musical creativity. Producers want songs with no meaning and nothing more than a chorus and a few verses. 07. Backwards Marathon - this song compliments "Robotuner". It shows that the love for music that is alive in many of us can someday reach a more creative stage. As long as we keep imagining, hope and love for music with bring it back to the way it should be. 08. Medicine Wheel - instrumental. 09. The Primer - brings to mind how terrible this world has gotten. People becoming enraged by false reality and going crazy, they are killing people. Women who think they can make it big in hollywood, end up on the internet porn sites. All the drugs of the world are circuating more and more. Divorce is more common than marrige. All these issues are getting worse and worse all the time. 10. Autodidact - is a person who learns something without help of a teacher. This song ponders the thoughts of parinoia, appethy, annoyance and fright. The lyrics kind of go from thought to thought for each part of the song. From uptight to relaxed, afraid to happy. In the end this person gives up trying to comprehend life and isolates themself in their room. 11. Laser Speed - instrumental. // 10

Overall Impression: You've got to love this band's originality and contivertial topics. Also just look at the design of the album. It's great to look at and great to listen to. If you like this album FOR it's HEAVINESS I would suggest getting "Revolver: The Future Is Metal." Some of the songs are lame, but some good bands are "The Black Dahlia Murder", "Mastodon" and even "Gojira". If you like the album for its technical time switches and rhythms I would suggest "Protest The Hero - Kezia" and "The Human Abstract - Nocturne". // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Alaska Reviewed by: Zorrobudday, on december 07, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: In a new time when metalcore is becoming as mundane as pop music, Between the Buried and Me present something very different on Alaska. Not only are they a lot more technically proficient than many of the At The Gates rip-off bands today, but they throw in many original touches, even as far as barbershop quartet style vocal harmonizing in "All Bodies." If you're sick of Atreyu and bands that sound like it, this one might just bring you back to metalcore. // 10

Lyrics: I was impressed with the vocalist's ability to sing and scream. He has a pretty decent singing voice that a lot of the current harder bands try to do, but fail at. As for lyrics, the lyrics are the usual angry stuff, but also twistedly funny at times. Not bad. // 8

Overall Impression: I would compare this to Unearth being composed by Frank Zappa. That might be going too far. Basically this is weird stuff, and it hit me in such a good way. It brought me back from a point in which I was so sick and tired of every eyeliner donning, girl pants wearing "hardcore" band out there. These guys are original and brilliant. If you want a comparison to their last CD, "The Silent Circus," Alaska basically destroys that album. There's no comparison. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.7
Alaska Reviewed by: Grey_August, on april 14, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Between The Buried and me is absolutely amazing. The first track I heard by them was "Selkies: The Endless Obsession" and it blew me away. The thing that I love about their sound is the ability to start off playing something soft and melodic, then maybe a jazzy sort of break, and then diving right into a few minutes of death metal. The two guitarists in the band are both amazing, on-the-spot, and they compliment each other well. The sweep picking runs at the beginning of "Alaska" and at the end of "Selkies" are awesome. In the vocal department, Tommy Rogers' is one to look at. With vocal ranges from a black metal/metalcore scream to a death metal type growl, to a soft singing voice, and occasionally, a falsetto voice (Around 6 and a half minutes of "All Bodies"). Also, you can hear the bass on this album. That's definetly a plus, basses aren't really accentuated anymore in the metalcore scene I guess, people nowadays seem to accentuate the guitars, vocals and drums most. That was for a fact what they were going for too, because in a Uranium metal interview with Tommy Rogers, he complimented the band's producer/mixer on being able to let the listener hear "every single detail we put into the music." // 9

Lyrics: I haven't really dissected the lyrics, but I remember reading an interview where Tommy talked about his writings. Basically, he likes to write about issues that no one's covered yet. That's about the depth of it. Sorry, I don't have much more to say. The singing skills are great though, and mixed well, so I give it an 8. // 8

Overall Impression: This album is amazing. In quoting Brian from the Black Dahlia Murder (on www.metalinjection.net, go watch it), their music makes me "feel emotions." Even though it was an obvious joke, it's true. In "Selkies" alone, you'll feel uprising, sheer awe, anger, energy, and much more. Between The Buried And Me are for the arty indie rockers to the death metal purists, and anyone else who's not into rap I guess. If this were lost, I would purchase it again in a heartbeat. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Alaska Reviewed by: unregistered, on july 04, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Wow. This CD is absolutely amazing. I had listened to a few songs before getting the actual album, and it's even better and some songs are more mastered. The band is doing big things and I think could be the next big metalcore band. I recommend this to any fan of metalcore/hardcore. They're so creative, going from screaming breakdowns to art-like solos and chromatic runs. The timings may be wild and the sound may baffle you at first, but it's all part of this masterpiece band known as BTBAM. No flaws at all. // 10

Lyrics: The singer's lyrics are absolutely phenomenal. The one that stands out to me is from my fav song, "The Primer". "It's 2005, welcome to perfection" and "We all just want to f--k." Even though it's not 2005 anymore, he talks about real life things that kids who listen can relate to, as they should, these guys command attention. They're so hard to catagorize, but that's the great thing. I've always been a fan of bands that were unique and different. // 10

Overall Impression: Again, this CD is just awesome. No words can describe it, I've gotten so much more into them and listening to the CD just adds to it. My favourite songs have to be again, "The Primer", for it's beautiful intro and outro harmonic runs, coupled with the death metal sounding chords as backup. It makes you feel so calm, yet fills you with rage at the same time. Another example is on "Alaska" which is another great solo intro, and the song itself is mind-blowing. I cannot say enough good things about this band. If it were lost, I wouldn't hesitate one second to go buy another. I had to scramble for money to buy it the first time, but I'd buy it again and again. It's just amazing. This is arguably one of the best metal CDs to come out in a long time and I think it will be hard to follow. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Alaska Reviewed by: AmorVincitOmnia, on august 08, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: They're Between The Buried And Me. They're not trying to be the heaviest band in the world. They're not trying to be the most hardcore band in the world. They're not even trying to be the most technical band in the world. They're trying to be unique, and they succeed. In all the styles of music that they perform in, they do it all well. They're progressive, they're death metal, they're metalcore, they're jazz, they're soft rock. In all areas, they impress. Between The Buried And Me is brutal and emotional, and there's nothing wrong with either of those. // 10

Lyrics: I can relate with pretty much all the lyrics on this album. Tommy Rogers writes his emotions and opinions in very unique ways, and it has influenced my style of writing a lot. The Primer has great lyrics, and so does Selkies. For the most part, Tommy writes about problems with the country and his love for music. Tommy Rogers has a wide range of vocal skills. He can do death metal screams, metalcore screams, soft melodic singing and falsettos. He does them all in this album. // 10

Overall Impression: They're not comparable to anyone but themself. This album is definitely the best that they have put out. Although it's their best album, it doesn't mean the other albums aren't good. They set out to accomplish the same unique sound they had in earlier albums, but took a bigger step in the "talent" department, to go along with their creativity. This is my favorite album ever, and this band means so much to me. There is flaws, like in all albums by all artists, but none that I'm willing to exploit because I'm simply not bothered by them. I would buy the album again if it was lost or stolen, even if it was going at the price of $50. Get this album if you like metalcore. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
Alaska Reviewed by: thedudeguy, on february 05, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The instrumentals are flawless. Every note played to perfection, every riff is blistering. Every scale is played elegantly. I absolutely could die for the hardcore screams, they're brutal, effective, and not hard t understand. I like how they use death grunts every once and a while, it brings the songs alive. The transitions from soft to hard and vice versa are perfect. The beautiful sweeps of Paul Wagner and the solid rhythm of Dusty. It very good. The intricate time signature changes are stellar, they're endless, some change after 2-4 seconds, it's quite breath taking. Amazing sound. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are great and range from insomnia, to bashing the modern day media. The singing is top notch, not to mention the great screams and grunts. Take a song like Selkies, it's anything from melodic singing, to spoken words, and hardcore screaming. it's amazing that the vocals can be technical, that's a first for me. A vocalsist that's complex, it's amazing. He really compliments the instruments perfectly. // 9

Overall Impression: This is above most other artists out there, the only people I can think of who can compete with these guys are the Dillinger Escape Plan and Dragonforce. My personal favorite song on the album is Selkies: The Endless Obsession. The complex instrumentals and the sometimes brutal, sometimes soft vocals are all pluses. The only complaint is that some of the songs can drag on a bit, but other than that it's perfect. If this were stolen or lost, I would cry, then I would buy ten thousand copies. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Alaska Reviewed by: vulgarism, on july 16, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Each member of Between The Buried And Me is a musical veteran and is extremely talented at what they do. Paul is a great soloist and is superb at sweep picking, Dusty can melt your face with his powerful riffs, Blake has innovative rhythms and fills with his blazing double-bass, Dan is in his own field for just keeping up with Paul and Dusty, and last but certainly not the least, Tommy can manipulate his voice quite nicely to fit the certain moods of the song. These talented musicians carry their own unique sound, ranging from heavy metal to jazz to latin. // 10

Lyrics: As I've mentioned before, Tommy is quite good at altering his voice from deep growls to soothing sighs within the same song. The lyrics that he has created touches upon many controversial topics that others would rather have been left unsaid. The lyrics compliance with the music works well, when the lyrics is angry, so is the music, when the lyrics is gentle, the music follows suit. // 9

Overall Impression: This album certainly compares to other artists, and as a matter of fact, it blows most of them of the water. The most impressive songs would most likely be All Bodies, Alaska, and Selkies: The Endless Obsession, they incorporate sick techniques such as sweep picking and incorporate it so well into the song. I love the unique sound that they alone have, and I really can't complain about anything. If it were stolen/lost I would buy it again in a heartbeat. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Between The Buried And Me reviews rating latest review
+ The Parallax II: Future Sequence 8.2 10/12/2012
+ Colors 9.7 01/24/2012
+ The Parallax: Hypersleep Dialogues 8.7 04/12/2011
+ The Great Misdirect 9.4 01/10/2011
+ The Silent Circus 9.8 08/12/2009
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect