4:13 Dream Review

artist: cure date: 03/19/2009 category: compact discs
cure: 4:13 Dream
Released: Oct 28, 2008
Genre: Alternative Rock
Label: I AM, Geffen
Number Of Tracks: 13
4:13 Dream is the thirteenth studio album by English rock band The Cure. After failing to meet several release dates, the album was released on 28 October 2008 by Geffen Records.
 Sound: 9
 Lyrics: 8.5
 Overall Impression: 9
 Overall rating:
 9.1 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.9 
 Users rating:
 9.3 
 Votes:
 14 
reviews (2) 7 comments vote for this album:
overall: 9.7
4:13 Dream Reviewed by: axlanian, on november 21, 2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is the best blend of The Cure's various styles that any album has ever seen. Things kick off with the blissful "Underneath the Stars" which leads into the most radio-friendly song on the album, "The Only One" which channels some early 90s happy cure vibes. There's also some funk goin down in this joint when we reach "Freakshow", which really makes you want to go dancing or joy riding. Later on, we get more euphoric make-you-smile tracks, "The Perfect Boy" and "This. Here and Now. With You", all of these utilizing your good ol' major arpeggios and high 6-string bass parts that Robert Smith has become so good at writing. After those, we get into the most hard rocking cure we've ever heard. It still has a little of the strange progressive feel of Bloodflowers and other recent tracks, but ultimately perfected and given a more straight-up rock feel. "Sleep When I'm Dead" is a track that was originally recorded for the Head on the Door album, and Robert Smith pulled it out of the storage she'd for this album. The funky rock feel from "Freakshow" is also apparent here, and makes for some sweet licks. The following track, "The Scream" is one of my favorites and a very unique track. But the album closer, "It's Over", has potential to become my favorite Cure song in time, using the same kind of format as "Push" from The Head on the Door, or Muse's Knights of Cydonia, with the whole first half of the song an intricate intro, and the second half rawking your brains out. These songs are written so well, you can tell that years of care and revision have gone into each of them. // 10

Lyrics: These are pretty much your regulation Robert Smith themes here, with his usual genius saturating them with clever lines and (surprise!) some F-bombs, which surprised me (that's usually not The Cure's thing), but they're very well executed in "It's Over". Some of the best lines, include, "Oh I love what you do to my head; It's a mess up there" from "The Only One" and this prime example of Cure lyrics from "It's Over": A nagging sense of shame I can't explain An acrid taste of smoke and blood And tears and drugs And every inch of me is raw And it's always f***ing over It's raining and I'm blind And it's late and you're gone I can't do this anymore And, as always, Robert Smith's entirely unique do-whatever-the-eff-I-feel-like voice shines throughout the album, as he is one singer whose voice gets better as he gets older. // 9

Overall Impression: This album blew my mind. I listened to it four times in a row the first time I ever heard it. Nearly every bit is brilliant, and die-hard Cure fans won't be disappointed or turned off by a single aspect. Low parts of the album are scarce, for example, I wasn't a huge fan of the suicide-oriented lyrics in "The Reasons Why" or parts of "The Real Snow White", but this album is definitely more than the sum of its parts, and my favorite album of 2008 thus far. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
4:13 Dream Reviewed by: GoToSleep, on march 19, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: So I have been holding off on this review for a while to let the album really sink in. After the first few listens I didn't get half the songs. I thought it was recycled b-sides that couldn't hold a candle to Bloodflowers. And I was a little off I admit. The people who say this album sucks are either not giving it a chance or are bitter Cure fans, or not a fan at all. Some of this is classic Cure and hard not to like. Fans usually like all and any Cure because it's The Cure. While I prefer the cold, dark "Faith" and "Disintegration" to a poppier lighter album like this, I still genuinely like it. So I like all the instruments, except drums, and I like all the songwriting. The production is probably the worst part about it. In a bunch of songs there is like this underwater effect going on and it actually works on 1 or 2 songs. // 8

Lyrics: The lyrics are pretty good. Good enough. Nothing as good as most past Cure records, but better than a ton of junk out there any day. Robert Smith sounds as good as he did 15 or more years ago. The lyrics also go great with the music. Nothing really out of the ordinary Cure style. // 8

Overall Impression: 4:13 Dream is destined to be more of an average Cure album, and that's good enough. It's definitely better than the last album and surprisingly up there with Bloodflowers. Best songs are 1, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11. I think the song flow is kinda off a little, but that's not too bad. If it were stolen I would collect the rest of the Cure albums and then get this again eventually. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Cure reviews rating latest review
+ Disintegration 9.5 10/17/2013
+ Bloodflowers 8.7 10/24/2011
+ Paris 8.7 06/16/2011
+ The Top 8.3 06/14/2011
+ Pornography 9.9 06/14/2011
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect