The Top Review

artist: cure date: 06/14/2011 category: compact discs
cure: The Top
Release Date: 1984
Label: Sire
Genres: Alternative Pop/Rock, Goth Rock, Post-Punk, College Rock
Number Of Tracks: 10
At best an imperfect record, The Top is a necessary step in the evolution of the band.
 Sound: 7.5
 Lyrics: 7.5
 Overall Impression: 8
 Overall rating:
 8.3 
 Reviewer rating:
 7.7 
 Users rating:
 8.8 
 Votes:
 8 
reviews (2) user comments vote for this album:
overall: 8
The Top Reviewed by: swave75, on june 14, 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: This album is often overlooked but I really like it. This is one of the albums that didn't have Simon Gallup on bass. As a matter of fact Robert Smith play most of the instruments on this one. This one is all over the place musically. It has quiet moments like "Dressing Up", loud moments like "Give Me It" odd moments like "Bananafishbones". The hit off this one is "The Caterpillar" which a lot of Cure fans might cringe at cause it's not dark or morbid. But who cares it is a good song. This albums uses the old six string bass occasionally but also the saxophone and kazoo and has a wonderful solo on "Piggy In The Mirror". A very neat Cure album indeed. // 8

Lyrics: The lyrics are very odd but not as dark as say "Pornography". This album features some instrumentation The Cure wouldn't normally use (like a kazoo) but with the lyrics Robert sings it blends well. I think I read somewhere that Robert Smith said he tried to be the worst singer on the planet on "The Top". But it works for him on this album. // 8

Overall Impression: I would say this is an album that starts to show the pop-side of Robert Smith's song writing. I think if he hadn't made this one he would not be able to make songs like "Just Like Heaven" or "High" or "Lovesong". It is like a transition album. I would say I love the songs "Dressing Up", "Bird Mad Girl", "The Top", and especially "Piggy In The Mirror". That is one of my all-time favorites of theirs. It does lack a strong single. If it were stolen I would buy it again. Maybe the deluxe edition this time. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.3
The Top Reviewed by: a_rush_of_blood, on january 19, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The Top is roundly accused as being the worst Cure album, and I tend to agree. Not because of a lack of quality, but the competition it faces. It is a strange hallucogenic mix, with the slow march of The Empty World, to the near-metal of Shake Dog Shake and Give Me It, and the insanity of Bananafishbones. Flutes are heard on Dressing Up, the sound of Robert flicking a spinning top opens and closes the last track, The Top, and the instrumentation gets stranger as you delve into the sound. The album was written and recorded during Smiths collaborations with Siouxsie and the Banshees, and it is clear that the recording was altered by a large amount of illicit substances and alcohol. Andy Anderson drums on this record and fills the shoes of Tolhurst well, who is quoted as playing various instruments. I didnt hear anyone throwing up on the record, so I have reason to doubt he contibuted much. One of the strangest sounds you can hear on a record, bouncing between metal, goth, pop and somethings you cant put names to. Not consistent enough. Psychadelia is not my thing. // 7

Lyrics: Roberts singing style is different here. He seems to change constantly. On Piggy In The Mirror, it sounds as though he is singing from the back of his throat upside down. His lyrics could be interpreted as insane or insightful. Wailing Wall is Smith placing himself inside the head of a Jew walking to the holy land. Very different. Bananafishbones is the first cure song to discuss suicide "Put a piece of metal in your head you said make you dead." Birdmad Girl is an identity crisis, wishing to become a polar bear. How that is written not under an influence, please help me. The Top is one of his weakest moments, not in the song, but in his psyche, changing from pleading "please come back like all the others do" to "please come back all of you". Genius. But unfortuantely there are not many great moments. Give Me It is unbeleivably violent "Slice the cats like cheese and eat the sweet sticky things." It is hard to take that seriously and not feel disgusted/disgusting. // 7

Overall Impression: The Top is a strange experience. From waking up in blood in Shake Dog Shake to walking the gorgeous blocks on The Top where nobody goes, Smith has created a small world full of polar bears and birdmad girls. Goth? Ha. This is Smith letting go. This is an album for completists, not near the simple beauty of Faith, the punk of Three Imaginary Boys or the majesty of Disintegration. The Top is the ugly duckling of The Cure's back catalogue. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Cure reviews rating latest review
+ Disintegration 9.5 10/17/2013
+ Bloodflowers 8.7 10/24/2011
+ Paris 8.7 06/16/2011
+ Pornography 9.9 06/14/2011
+ Faith 9.5 06/07/2011
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect