Dire Straits Review

artist: dire straits date: 12/14/2007 category: compact discs
dire straits: Dire Straits
Release Date: Oct 1978
Label: Warner Bros.
Genres: Rock & Roll, Pop/Rock, Album Rock
Number Of Tracks: 9
While a few of the songs fall flat, the album is remarkably accomplished for a debut, and Dire Straits had difficulty surpassing it throughout their career.
 Sound: 8.5
 Lyrics: 8.5
 Overall Impression: 10
 Overall rating:
 9.5 
 Reviewer rating:
 9 
 Users rating:
 10 
 Votes:
 12 
reviews (2) 6 comments vote for this album:
overall: 9
Dire Straits Reviewed by: unregistered, on august 13, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Dire Straits were an English rock band, formed in 1977 by Mark Knopfler (guitar and vocals), his brother David Knopfler (guitar), John Illsley (bass), and Pick Withers (drums), and subsequently managed by Ed Bicknell. Although the band was formed in an era when punk rock reigned, Dire Straits worked within the conventions of classic rock, albeit with a stripped-down sound that appealed to modern audiences weary of the overproduced stadium rock of the '70s. In their early days, Mark and David requested that pub owners turn down the amps so that patrons could converse while the band played, indicative of their unassuming demeanor. Despite this oddly self-effacing approach to rock and roll, Dire Straits soon became hugely successful with their first album going multi-platinum globally. Dire Straits is the self-titled debut album by British rock band Dire Straits, released in 1978 (see 1978 in music). The album was noted for the single "Sultans of Swing", which was a US hit a full five months after the album was released. It was later remastered and released with the rest of the Dire Straits catalogue on September 19, 2000. The CD cover image is taken from a painting by Chuck Loyola. // 9

Lyrics: The lyrics are about the "normal" trouble you can have in your life. Things like being lonely, being betrayed. The music complies very well to the lyrics, because the music makes you feel the meaning of the song, even when you don't understand the lyrics (if you can't speak english for example). The singer skills are good. Not very special, but good enough to create a nice album with some nice singing. // 8

Overall Impression: I can compare this to most other Dire Straits albums, especially Communiqu. The best songs on the album are "down to the waterline" and of course "Sultans of Swing" (if you wanna play it, it starts with Dm, C, Bm, A. I'm not sure so first check out the tabs). It's not gonna be lost or stolen, because I'm really careful with my CD's, but if I'd lose it, I would buy it again. And a reserve CD, because the burglar would like it so good that he wants another CD. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Dire Straits Reviewed by: geluidsterroris, on december 14, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Dire Straits was a British rock band, formed in 1977 by Mark Knopfler (guitar and vocals), his brother David Knopfler (guitar), John Illsley (bass), and Pick Withers (drums), and subsequently managed by Ed Bicknell. Although the band was formed in an era when punk rock reigned, Dire Straits worked within the conventions of classic rock, albeit with a stripped-down sound that appealed to modern audiences weary of the overproduced stadium rock of the 1970s. In their early days, Mark and David requested that pub owners turn down the amps so that patrons could converse while the band played indicative of their unassuming demeanor. Despite this oddly self-effacing approach to rock and roll, Dire Straits soon became hugely successful with their first album going multi-platinum globally. The band's best-known songs include "Sultans of Swing," "Romeo and Juliet," "Tunnel of Love," "Money for Nothing," "Walk of Life" and "Brothers in Arms." Dire Straits is the self-titled debut album by British rock band Dire Straits, released in 1978 (see 1978 in music). The album was noted for the single "Sultans of Swing", which at first broke a US Top Five early 1979 (being a hit full five months after the album was released there) and then raised up at #8 in the British charts. It was remastered and released with the rest of the Dire Straits catalogue in 1996 for most of the world outside the U.S. and on September 19, 2000 in the United States. The cover image is taken from a painting by Chuck Loyola. Country band Highway 101 later covered "Setting Me Up", taking it to the top ten on the U.S. country singles charts in 1990. // 8

Lyrics: The lyrics are about things in life, like love, hate and whatever. The lyrics support the music well, but the music creates the ambiance, not the lyrics. The vocals sound really good. I don't have a lot different things to tell about it, because I prefer to listen to the guitars (after all I'm a guitar player, not a singer). // 9

Overall Impression: It doesn't compare to anything except for the dire straits. The band really has a unique sound. The most impressive song is, I believe, Sultans Of Swing. This is probably the best known dire straits song. In fact, every song is impressively good. If it was lost, I'd beat up the burglar and get a new one the next day. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Dire Straits reviews rating latest review
+ Money For Nothing 9.2 11/12/2010
+ On Every Street 8.4 06/04/2009
+ Sultans Of Swing: The Very Best Of Dire Straits 9.6 11/11/2008
+ Making Movies 10 02/09/2008
+ The Private Investigations: The Best Of Dire Strai 9.9 03/03/2007
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect