Breaker Review

artist: For Today date: 12/12/2011 category: compact discs
For Today: Breaker
Released: Aug 31, 2010
Genre: Christian/Metalcore/Hardcore
Label: Facedown Records
Number Of Tracks: 12
The new album from For Today is nothing short of an amazing repeat of last year's Portraits, this album is heavier more creative then the last.
 Sound: 8.7
 Lyrics: 9
 Overall Impression: 8.7
 Overall rating:
 8.9 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.8 
 Users rating:
 8.9 
 Votes:
 35 
reviews (3) 34 comments vote for this album:
overall: 9.3
Breaker Reviewed by: unregistered, on august 25, 2010
1 of 5 people found this review helpful

Sound: The new album from For Today is nothing short of an amazing repeat of last year's Portraits, this album is heavier more creative then the last. For Today has risen up from a small christian metalcore band to one of the heavy hitters among metalcore. This album is littered with breakdowns mesmerizing riffs and heavy hitting lyrics. Even for me an aithist are effected by the christian lyrics. This albums amazing guitar craftsman ship will leave you in awe. All the parts of key metalcore album are there. // 10

Lyrics: I think that the first album they were saying what they stood for the second shows them spreading the word of god in powerful way and this album is basically what will happen when your a chirsitian or not thats what I got from them. The basic story that I got from them are the "Breaker" in the beginning is a troubled person with alot of problems goes on the path of sin then his rise to being a speaker of gods word. // 9

Overall Impression: It beats all previous from them and beats recent releases from Miss May I, and The Devil Wears Prada the overwhelming scream from Maddie just beats all he even does a new higher scream witch is pretty sick. The heaviest has to either: The Advocate, Kings, Or Sherephim. All have some of the best breakdowns in the album. I love almost everything about this album if I had one complaint is that the rapping needs to be a bit stronger. I would. Absolutely buy this amazing album! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
Breaker Reviewed by: btsrox1, on september 10, 2010
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: Lets get this out in the open: For Today is one of my favorite bands, ad Mattie has become one of my favorite vocalists. With that in mind, lets get to my review. Soundwise, its not their best. There are A LOT of breakdown, although most are pretty decent. But it definitely gets overwhelming. They also used WAY too many pauses before breakdowns. For Today uses something new to them: Gang Chants. While its different, they probably only needed to use one, but they over-use it. The one used in "White Flag" is very catchy, but the one in "Phoenix" is just annoying. that's probably my least favorite part of the album. And those are the cons, don't worry, there are pros. The mixing and quality of this album is definitely top notch. And there are a few impressive riffs that definitely remind you of classic for today. // 7

Lyrics: For those who didn't already know, this album is written around a poem called "The Breaker" written by Jose Palos. The lyrics probably save this album, for me personally. Mattie has such a way with words, its pretty incredible. I'm a pretty spiritual person, and I got chills with the ending choir part. // 10

Overall Impression: Overall, it is a decent album. If you love For Today, you will most likely love this album. But if you are looking into them for the first time, pick up Portraits first. Honestly, I enjoyed the album a lot. There aren't as many memorable parts as there were on Portraits, but its a solid effort. I'd give it an 8.7 out of 10. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.7
Breaker Reviewed by: yamahadrums1, on december 12, 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: For Today has always been an incredibly talented band, but in my opinion they really hadn't developed their sound until this record. Despite not having a clean vocalist, the band keeps the vocals interesting with many ranges of screams and gang vocals. The guitars and drums on this album are a little simpler than their older stuff, but the simpler instrumentals convey more power and fluidity to their music. // 9

Lyrics: I normally judge scream/hardcore bands based off of instrumentals rather than the screamer, but For Today is a huge exception. Mattie Montgomery (Frontman) has the most powerful and intimidating presence behind the microphone of any screamer I have heard. His strength compliments the heavy guitar and drums on the new album, giving tremendous force behind every word he says. Looking at For Today's lyrics and live performance it is obvious that they are christian, referencing God in nearly every line of their songs. While I find many of these lyrics to be powerful, I feel the constant biblical references subtract from the overall lyrical quality of the album. Whether or not you subscribe to Christian belief or not, one can appreciate the fact that For Today has a strong passion for what they believe, and this is coherent in all of their albums and performances. Another interesting lyrical piece of the album, is the reading of the poem "Breaker" for which the album gets this name. This poem is broken up in four pieces of as story (the introduction, the fall, redemption, the conclusion). While this poem is very well written, it deals with a lot of deep topics such as drug abuse, pornography, and molestation. If you are listening to this leisurely I would suggest skipping the track "The Breaker's Valley" because of its depressing nature, but it still definitely worth hearing at least once. // 8

Overall Impression: Overall this is a very solid album that features many new innovations in For Today's music but also features some songs similar to their old albums. This album you must listen to from beginning to end to truly appreciate. Every song on the album plays a part in telling a story which is concluded at the end of the album. Overall a very solid CD. 1. "The Breaker's Origin": The first reading of "Breaker" works well as an intro to the CD, and flows nicely into the second track. 2. "Devastator": Starts the album off as one of For Today's most popular and powerful songs. The simplicity of the intro allows the drummer to wail on the floor tom and snare, producing an incredibly powerful intro. The next minute or so Mattie screams with mostly syncopated guitar and drums, with a few minor breakdowns. Around 1:45 all of the instruments fade accept for a single guitar riff letting the listener know something heavy is coming, and sure enough at 2:11 the albums first heavy breakdown hits. Although it hits hard it is short lived, and leaves the listener wanting more. The song then answers this around 2:58 where the intro is replayed, this time throwing the song into a massive breakdown featuring a double bass line that mimics a machine gun, this breakdown eventually dissolves into the end of the song. 3. "The Advocate": Not as impressive as "Devastator" but it introduces gang vocals to For Today's music, with the line "Come meet your king!". The song also features a long, powerful breakdown about a minute in. This song reflects the band's older albums with more technicality and chaos then the rest of the album. 4. "The Breakers Valley": Powerful for its lyrical content (second installment of "Breaker"), much deeper than the first, deals with drug overdose, porn, and sexual abuse. A good song, but its majorly depressing. 5. "Seraphim": Brings the album back to its heavy roots with a drum fill leading straight into a breakdown. Like Devastator this song features power snare and tom filled drums and single guitar intros to breakdowns, but this song brings more musical complexity. In one of the more technical breakdowns Mattie uses a scatter scream syncopated to the beat of the breakdown, giving this part of the song additional strength. My personal favorite on the album 6. "Arm The Masses": This song features returns the focus of power over technicality to match the militaristic theme of the song. This is the first song of the album where For Today introduces spoken word into their heavy songs providing two great intro's to breakdowns. Also includes high pitched screaming for the first time, and while I am generally not a fan of this, the higher screams work very well with this song. 7. "White Flag": I don't know if For Today intended for "Arm The Masses" to flow into this song, but the transition is rough. This isn't one of my favorites because this song doesn't distinguish itself from the rest of the album. A few good guitar riffs and breakdowns but the only distinctive feature is the singing gang vocals, which are not that effective. 8. "The Breaker's Encounter": The third installment of "Breaker" less depressing than the first two, basically talks about Jesus and redemption. If you are turned off by Christianity you probably wouldn't like this song, but the lyrics are very powerful. 9. "Phoenix": While lyrically it fits here, the tempo change is very dramatic. The song repeats the line "Now is the time for those who have God to rise" a lot through screaming and (much improved) gang singing. This song is a good wake up near the end of the CD, with varying rhythms and guitar leads, combining a good mix of technicality and heaviness. 10. "Psalm Of The Son": This is a throwback to For Today's older more technical stuff, personally I'm not a fan of this song, but it definitely appeals to For Today's original fan base. The song does feature a nice heavy breakdown about a minute and a half into the song. 11. "King": Like the previous song, this song has more of an older For Today feel to it. There is an interesting drum intro in the beginning, and the rest is very technical. The largest breakdown in this song (2:55) features a lot of offbeats contrasting from the typical straightforward style of most of the breakdowns on this album, but the band does this very effectively. 12. "The Breakers Commission": The album ends with the final portion of "Breaker" which eventually builds into a heavier style of a worship song. While I do not find worship music appealing, it is a very unique way to finish out the album. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More For Today reviews rating latest review
+ Fight The Silence 6.4 02/06/2014
+ Prevailer [EP] 8 04/19/2013
+ Immortal 7.5 06/15/2012
+ Portraits 9.4 10/07/2009
+ Ekklesia 9.1 07/04/2008
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect