Daydream Anonymous Review

artist: inme date: 09/25/2007 category: compact discs
inme: Daydream Anonymous
Release Date: Sep 24, 2007
Label: JVC Victor
Genres: Rock
Number Of Tracks: 13
There is less of the anger-filled screams which are replaced by Dave's technical skills of the guitar, transforming the sound of the new album from grunge into the dynamic soundscapes of prog-rock.
 Sound: 10
 Lyrics: 8.5
 Overall Impression: 9.5
 Overall rating:
 9.6 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.4 
 Users rating:
 9.8 
 Votes:
 27 
reviews (2) 10 comments vote for this album:
overall: 9.7
Daydream Anonymous Reviewed by: Jebus121, on september 25, 2007
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sound: When comparing the sound of this album to Overgrown Eden, there are definite signs that this band has matured and developed technically. There is less of the anger-filled screams which are replaced by Dave's technical skills of the guitar, transforming the sound of the new album from grunge into the dynamic soundscapes of prog-rock. Despite the change in sound, they still produced catchy songs such as 'Far Reaching', 'In Loving Memory', 'Soldier' and the first single 'I Won't Let Go'. A great point about this album is that it near seems to lose it's momentum at anypoint when changing from the more rocking songs to the softer sounds of 'Daydream Anonymous', 'Turbulence' and 'Thanks For Leaving Me'. Another point to be made abouth the sound of the whole album is the appointment of Dave's brother, Greg, on bass. Possibly because of their brotherly conection, the band sounds much more tight, with one example of this being 'In Loving Memory'. Overall the sound of the band is fanastic. Although in my opinion the bass could have been more fuller during recording, changing it's sound might not have created this clear-cut, sharp sound. // 10

Lyrics: I'm no expert on lyrics and vocals, but playing with the skill of Dave whilst singing must be an extraordinary sight. The vocals float above the instruments and knit together all the complex riff work in the songs. A sign that Dave's voice has developed is during the chorus of 'Myths and Photographs', where is voice seeminglessly glides above the full-bodied guitar. Another note is that Dave uses his clear voice much more which fits with the clarity of the songs. In songs like 'Daydream Anonymous', his singing seems effortlessly breathed out. This again shows the development of the band, displaying that there is more ways than one to show emotion in rock. // 9

Overall Impression: I'm very impressed with the whole album, rising above both 'Overgrown Eden' and 'White Butterfly' in terms of the skills displayed by all the bandmembers and the maturity of the songs. Although it seems a natural development for young bands to go from screaming their heads off to harmonising voices, this band does it in such a way that each album sounds better and better. My favourite tracks of the album are 'Far Reaching' and 'Soldier' for the amount of energy it gives off, 'Daydream Anonymous' for it's soft, gentle guitar work and 'In Loving Memory' for the tight technical work. The one thing that I miss from the previous albums is the raw emotion of screams and although there are a few, they aint as many as I expected from InMe. But that may purely be down to the maturing sound of the band, plus other bands like Enter Shikari now fill my need for moshing. If I lost this album, I would firstly cry, then run into town and buy it again because it is that good an album. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Daydream Anonymous Reviewed by: Underdose, on september 25, 2007
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is InMe's third album, and things have certainly changed. There is a lot more experimentation, and plenty of extremely technical guitar playing. The majority of the songs are quite hard metal, with a few quiter tracks reminiscent of some stuff from White Butterfly. Overall, an extremely impressive, and almost intoxicating, evolution of the InMe sound. // 10

Lyrics: Dave's lyric writing skills have clearly improved along with his guitar playing. Although they have a similar flaire to vintage InMe, with apparent non-sequitors and lots of metaphor, they have a much better impact and meaning then previous songs. Dave also has an excellent vocal range, from his usual mid-level siniging, up to impossibly high angelic notes and down to gravely shouting. Greg also provides nice, if slightly unnoticable, backing vocals. // 8

Overall Impression: This is definatley my favourite InMe album. If you have only heard the first two, you'll be in for a bit of a shock. The opening song, Myths & Photographs, sets the scene straight away, with an incredibly technical as well as catchy riff. All of the songs have their merits, although they use scale based riffs slightly too often. Songs of particualr note: Myths & Photographs: Brilliant riff, pre-chorus, chorus, just brilliant music mixed with brilliant lyrics. Cracking the Whip: an excellent tapping riff to open, with a powerful chorus. Soldier: One of the most memorable interludes/outros ever written by the band. As I said, all of the tracks have their own brilliance, and are a true evolution of the bands sounds, but still recognisable as InMe. Essential if you're a fan, and definately worth a look if you're not, it will soon make you one. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Inme reviews rating latest review
+ The Pride 9.1 02/21/2012
+ Phoenix: The Very Best Of InMe 9.5 10/07/2010
+ Herald Moth 9.1 10/06/2010
+ Overgrown Eden 9.5 11/27/2009
+ Won't Let Go [Single] 8.3 08/20/2007
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect