Clarity Review

artist: jimmy eat world date: 08/29/2006 category: compact discs
jimmy eat world: Clarity
Released: Feb 23, 1999
Genre: Rock
Styles: Punk-Pop, Emo
Number Of Tracks: 13
Clarity mixes introspective balladry with power-chord punk rock, elements of chamber pop, and subtle doses of electronica to create a remarkably unique album.
 Sound: 10
 Lyrics: 9
 Overall Impression: 9.7
 Overall rating:
 9.6 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.5 
 Users rating:
 9.6 
 Votes:
 27 
reviews (3) 17 comments vote for this album:
overall: 9.3
Clarity Reviewed by: unregistered, on november 02, 2004
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound isn't your modern day Jimmy Eat World. Much quieter but in a good way. There is some heavyer stuff on there like the tracks: "Your New Aesthetic," "Blister," "Clarity" and the first bit of "Goodbye Sky Harbor". Calmer songs like "Table For Glasses" and the other part of "Goodbye Sky Harbor". It's the ultimate "Emo" album. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are hard to understand due to the tricky way they were written but very good if you actually look at the lyrics while listen to the songs. The song meanings range from the problems with record labels to watching your crush play in the snow. What makes this album amazing is that every song isn't about how "she dumped me" and things like that. // 8

Overall Impression: This album is amazing. This sound is missing from Bleed American, but there is a trace of this style in Futures. The most impressive tracks on this album are "Lucky Denver Mint" and "Believe In What You Want". If your not a big fan of the big guitar riffs and flashy garbage, pick this up. You wont be disapointed. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Clarity Reviewed by: thisisamystery, on august 14, 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound of this album is great. The overall sound quality is excellent but at the same time some of the guitar tones have a very raw feel to them. So it ends up being an amazingly well produced album without being overproduced. With little glimpses into electronic music (12.23.95, Goodbye Sky Harbor), some very beefy guitar parts (your new Aesthetic, Crush, Clarity, Goodbye Sky Harbor), catchy songs (Lucky Denver Mint, Blister), and just beautiful epic pieces (Just Watch the Fireworks, For Me This Is Heaven, again Goodbye Sky Harbor), this album has something for everyone. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are definately not cookie cutter and range from everything from love and relationships to the state of modern day radio and the music industry in general. The lyrics fit along with the music perfectly and Jim Adkins is a great singer. Tom Linton does a great job of harmoninzing and sings most of the song Blister. I love the lyrics on this album and could just sit and read them without even listening to the music. I love that the lyrics are easy to understand but at the same time don't tell you the exact meaning of the song. This allows a person to draw their own conclusion and relate the songs to their own lives. // 10

Overall Impression: Overall, this album sounds more like their album Futures and the EP Stay On My Side Tonight. The best songs to me are A Sunday, Just Watch The Fireworks, For Me This Is Heaven, and Goodbye Sky Harbor. Goodbye Sky Harbor has about 3 minutes of actual music and singing and then has another 13 min of electronic samples of the music and vocal melodies. It's quite possibly one of the most beautiful songs I've ever heard. I love everything about this album. Whether it be the perfect amount of production or the great lyrics, this is just a perfect album. If it were lost or stolen, I would be at the store in minutes to buy a new copy. This is pretty much my favorite album of all time and is just perfect from start to finish. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Clarity Reviewed by: Mike17, on august 29, 2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Jimmy eat world's second full-length album after their self titled album is probaly the best one ever. In this album, the band have used Alternative and emo rock as well as normal rock. Although not one of the genres of the album, there is some pop-punk used in songs such as Crush. This album is something to listen to when you are excited, sad, angry or just wanting to sleep. This is what forms the Emo genre of the album! The balladry is high in this album, and is used in songs such as A sunday, 12.23.95 and Just you watch the fireworks. Emotion is very high in songs such as Crush, Clarity (the title track), Ten and Believe in what you want. // 10

Lyrics: This album probaly has the best lyrics in any Jimmy eat world album. They are easier to remember than a lot of other albums, as they are repeated quite a lot. In some cases, being repetitive does not make an annoying song, and this is one of them. Songs that include lyrics stressed enough to help people learn them include Ten, Table for glasses, Lucky denver mint, blister and A sunday. The singer, Jimmy Atkins, is not terrible. One of his bad points is he holds on some of the lyrics too long and it eventually gets annoying, this mainly happens in Table for glasses and blister. // 9

Overall Impression: Clarity does compare to Comfort in sound (feeder) in the sense it has soft ballads and a keyboard playing. The non-comparable side is the fact that there is also guitars playing along with the keyboards. The most impressive songs from the album are Your new anesthetic, Crush, Ten, For me this is heaven and the title track of the album. I would get this album again if it was stolen or lost. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Jimmy Eat World reviews rating latest review
+ Bleed American 9.1 08/22/2013
+ Damage 7.2 06/10/2013
+ Futures 8.8 07/19/2012
+ Invented 8.1 10/01/2010
+ Chase This Light 8.6 07/14/2008
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect