Life Is Peachy Review

artist: korn date: 05/09/2011 category: compact discs
korn: Life Is Peachy
Released: October 15, 1996
Genre: Rock
Styles: Heavy Metal, Alternative Metal, Rap-Metal
Number Of Tracks: 14
With their second album, Life Is Peachy, Korn have enhanced their metallic influences.
 Sound: 9.8
 Lyrics: 9.7
 Overall Impression: 9.8
 Overall rating:
 9.4 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.8 
 Users rating:
 9 
 Votes:
 43 
reviews (6) 10 comments vote for this album:
overall: 10
Life Is Peachy Reviewed by: wireless89, on march 14, 2005
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sound: This album sounds basically like Korn have perfected the sound they pioneered on their self-titled debut. It's probably their most under-rated work, generally referred to by the media as a kind of awkward transition from underground to mainstream. But in many ways it is just an acquired taste, and once you've acquired it you can get so emotionally involved in it that you just have to listen to it when you're in a certain mood. For me, it seems to have different sounds for every shade of anger - hopelessness, rage, violence, despair, pleading, depression. Also, it had their darkest humour to date. I think they lost a lot of their edge when they became mega-serious about the technical side of things. So yeah, the sound is great on it. Only thing is, there are perhaps one or two too many songs in the same key, following the same chord sequence. Namely, A to A#. // 10

Lyrics: It's like what mood music would be if it were played by manic-depressive schizophrenic crack addicts, or something like that. A lot of bizarre comic stuff, a lot of totally in your face stuff, a lot of more reclusive, eerie feeling songs. All done in a very convincing and involving way. // 10

Overall Impression: 01. Twist - what an opener, all the hype of the debut, and the fact that this sound had never been heard before, built up so much anxiety among fans and the media about what their new record would sound like. Soon as you press play, the first track is 50 seconds of shouting. That's it. 02. Chi - the chorus is the nearest Korn have come to sounding like a scary Norwegian death metal band, really. The 'quiet-loud-quiet-loud' dynamic and the sudden tempo change halfway through mean it's somewhat disjointed, and it's quite slow and dirgey. I like it though, in a weird way. 03. Lost - never liked this song much, just a bit bland really. 04. Swallow - same as above, except for a brilliant bassline in the verse. Actually, I think the chorus is the only bad bit about this song. 05. Porno Creep - it does actually sound like the soundtrack to a porn film. Whispered lyrics, very atmospheric, nice bass again. 06. Good God - comes in on the back of a mini-drum solo at the end of Porno Creep. Fast, thrashy, screamy. A good example of how korn use semi-tonal chord changes to great effect. Angry in a very blatant way. No idea what the title has to do with it. 07. Mr Rogers - I think this is the name of the guy who raped JD when he was a kid? Don't quote me on that though. Has 3 parts to it, it's kinda like a more considered version of Good God, and a different subject matter. 08. K@#0%! - yeah, you read it right. Never mind the tune, the lyrics are all that matters here. So much swearing it's untrue, but in a really funny way. Not actually as repetitive as you might think. 09. No Place To Hide - man, I can't work this out. Why was this the first single off the album? It sucks! An island of suckiness in an ocean of goodness. In general, I dislike the songs where JD sings about the pressures of fame - he'd go on to do Beg For Me on Issues, which is possibly even worse - and thankfully this is the only one on the album. Egotistical, paranoid, annoying. Skip. 10. Wicked - ingenious. Came years after rap metal was pioneered, but sounds like something fresh and vital anyway. Good backing tune, great chorus, inspired. 11. ADIDAS - what can you say about this song? Proceeds to contradict self. It's only 2:30, real short, and fairly basic tune, but coupled with the video and that ending (technically the beginning of the next song, but still) it is a truly brilliant piece of music. Oh, and the lyrics as well. The rhyme scheme is actually fairly complex and the words are so cold, it's like you've almost gone full-circle to real intensity. Indescribable. 12. Lowrider - another mini-track. It's that really famous tune, played on bagpipes, with Cheech and Chong on vocals saying s--t every so often. And the bass intro is in a different key. Weird, a bit of a joke, but still funny. 13. Ass Itch - captures the pointlessness of, erm, everything really. Not exceptional but listenable. 14. Kill You - my personal favourite. Listen out in the chorus for David Silveria absolutely pounding the floor tom. A very scary song, it can't not affect you in some way. It's about his step-mother who sounds like a pretty evil bitch by all accounts. I think he really means it, he probably would kill her if he had the chance. This song closes the album and kind of fades out over a long time, like Daddy did on the first album. The whole thing leaves a deep impression on you, like all good albums. Best listened to when feeling angry or depressed, in a dark room. Lastly, the album cover is black, which fits well with the dark humour and subject matter. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Life Is Peachy Reviewed by: unregistered, on may 26, 2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is by far Korn's angriest album the sound of the instruments is the klassik Korn sound with Production from Ross Robinson you can feel each note, Jon's vocals disarm you with a soft melodic singing style then he destroys you with an unadulterated heartfelt scream. pioneering a new style and sound of music which would spring countless or imitators. The album starts off with "Twist" beginning with a scat style vocal from Jon which very few other singers of the genre can pull off, it then progresses on to "Chi" (the Bridge to this song has the Vocal style i mentioned earlier) each track demands your full attention especially "Kill You" its like "Daddy" part2 but its ten times better. There is also a Ice Cube Cover "Wicked" ft Chino from the Deftones and a cover of "Lowrider" which head the guitarist sings an istrumental "Porno Creep". The weakest song on the album is a song called "Kunt" musically its really good but Jon just rambles about all the bad bits of his past girlfriends, but seems to me hes just tryin to think of all the combos of insults, but has a well good chorus and bridge. // 10

Lyrics: Lyric's wise this album would be 5 but Kunt ruins it but other than that song every single word on this album is brilliant well thought and contains a peice of Jons soul except the cover songs cos he never wrote em. When the music builds up so does Jon so it complements the music well. Jon is defo the best singer of this style of music he can sing gently sing normally sing with just a smudge of rage do a weird scat thing let the anger take control and scream and growl like no other. // 8

Overall Impression: This is Korn in there prime before they became big rock stars, musically they have improved from their debut I love almost everything about this album with the exception of Kunt there isnt a week point to this album buy it any true KoRn fan would already have it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Life Is Peachy Reviewed by: playfielder, on october 29, 2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: I love Korn and this album is no different. Korn, founders of nu-metal avae done it again on their second album. I just love originality of Korn. // 10

Lyrics: I love the lyrics. Jon's lyrics arent about all this stupid sh--t that some artist bring out. I mean if you listen to "Kill You" you know what I mean. The music just brings out so much of the anger that Jon has and they work perfectly together. Jon's a great singer, if its screaming, singing, rapping, talking or gibberish (yes gibberish) he just masters them all. // 10

Overall Impression: This album is soo good, when I lost I had to buy it again. Most impresive songs would have to be: Twist, Chi, Good God, Mr Rodgers and Kill You. It's also great to play bass, guitar drum wise aswell. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Life Is Peachy Reviewed by: IbanezKorn, on may 12, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound on "Life is Peachy" is fantastic. The guitars have a sick, mean, heavy guitar tone, Fieldy, the bass player keeps a nice heavy groove. David Silveria keeps a great beat, and Jonathan Davis goes all out on this record. He sings, screams, raps, scats, you name it he does it. Here I'll go through and rate each individual track. 01. Twist: theres not much to this song. It runs at 49 seconds and features Jonathan scatting, and the rest of the band just jamming out. It is a great choice as the opening track considering all the energy it gives off. 8/10 02. Chi: the song starts out with a heavy, groovy, riff. During the verses Fieldy keeps the groove going with his excellent slapping technique, while the Guitar players Head and Munky are playing some high squealing notes. During the bridge it quiets down and takes a small pause, then the band comes back in with the heavy opening riff. 7.5/10 03. Lost: the song starts out with another heavy riff. It quiets down during the verses, and comes back with the same heavy riff the song opened with. It isn't to memorable but its still a good addition to the album. 6.5/10 04. Swallow: like all the songs on this album so far it opens with a heavy riff. Similar to Chi, Fieldy keeps the groove during the verses while Head and Munky add their unique sounding squealing notes. Like Lost, it isn't to memorable, but its worth a spot on the album. 6.5/10 05. Porno Creep: pretty groovy track. Opens with some sick wah heavy guitar work. Quiets down while Fieldy plays a funky, groovy bass line. Not much to the song its only about 2 minutes, but its really good and deserved a spot on this album. 7/10 06. Good God: this song is very good. One of the best on this album. It opens with some drums that lead to the opening guitar riff. The chorus is probably my favorite part of the song, although the bridge challenges it. The chorus is very melodic, and the bridge features heavy guitar work, similar to the opening riff but without the harmonics, and Jonathan screaming like theres no tomorrow. It was rumored he popped a vain recording that part. 9.5/10 07. Mr. Rodgers: flat out AMAZING song. The intro features Jonathan whispering, then comes the riff. During the verses there is some creepy guitar parts playing while the bass and drums hold the groove. The chorus is very melodic. The bridge features some creepy guitar notes that lead into a heavy breakdown. 10/10 08. K@#0%! (Kunts!): pretty funny song. The instrumentals are very good, featuring heavy riffs and weird sounding pitch-shifting during the verses and bridge. The vocals are standard singing/screaming you'll find in most Korn songs, but the lyrics are the funniest part. I can't say them on here but just look it up on youtube. 8.5/10 09. No Place To Hide: the first single off the album. It was a good choice because it really represents Life Is Peachy well. It has the heavy riffs, the grooves, the high-pitched creepy notes, the softer parts, the screaming, everything that is Life Is Peachy. 9/10 10. Wicked: a cover of the song Wicked by Ice Cube. Featuring guest vocalist Chino Moreno from the Deftones. It sticks out more then songs like Lost or Swallow, but I wouldn't call it one of the best songs on the album. 7/10 11. A.D.I.D.A.S.: A.D.I.D.A.S. (All Day I Dream About Sex) is a good song. I wouldn't rank it with songs like Mr. Rodgers, or Good God, but its a solid song. 8.5/10 12. Low Rider: a cover of Low Rider originally by War. Features Lead Guitarist Head on vocals and Lead Vocalist Jonathan Davis on bag pipes. 6.5/10 13. Ass Itch: solid song. It feaures some heavy riffs, melodic chorus', and squealing notes. 8/10 14. Kill You: very powerful song, and one of the most unique songs on this record. It features a clean guitar intro, something you don't usually see from Korn. Heavy riffs, of course, and Jonathan singing, screaming, crying, ect. Very reminiscent of Daddy off their first self-titled album. 9/10 // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics. Jonathan Davis is one of the most talented people in the world. Period. He sings, screams, raps, scats, crys, plays the bagpipes, plays the guitar, drums, and as in addition to all of those, he writes amazing lyrics. The lyrics are very powerful and can help you through tough times, or at times can be funny and full of dark humor. Overall, the lyrics, are a 10. // 10

Overall Impression: This album is a MUST have if you like heavy music. Everything about it is great, the songs, the lyrics, and the album cover is one of the coolest looking album covers ever. Overall it gets a 10. I don't even know if this is Korn's best album, their self-titled debut and Follow the Leader are to good to be rated 2nd, but at the same time Life Is Peachy is to good to be rated anywhere but 1st. If it was ever stolen I would find the guy who stole it, and beat the shit out of him. But, in a realistic scenario, where I couldn't find it, I would buy it again. As I said its a must have. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Life Is Peachy Reviewed by: obsolete2817, on november 08, 2007
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Life is Peachy is Korn's most unique album. It's the next logical step in the evolution of KoRn, and it hints at things to come (i.e. power house album Follow The Leader). This is Korn's most successfull fusing of metal and r&b. The two are thrown together seamlessly. Life is Peachy spews hatred and fury with an unrivaled passion, and at the same time it drips sensitivity and has undertones of hope for better days. This album is perfectly balanced in every aspect and is a straight ten. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are "Untouchable". Jon Davis pours his soul into this album and purges his demons with no delusions of grandeur. It's pain in it's most honest and ugly form. That and the way Jon Davis presents the lyrics are what makes this album so incredible. He again reaches a perfect balance with beautifull chorus lines filled with passion and and meaning, and then roars his deresion with unmatched brutality. Jon Davis is incredible. // 10

Overall Impression: Simply Korn's best album. It is so honest and real. If I lost the album or it was stolen I'd go buy a new one immediately. I listen to it at least once a day. I love covering songs from this album with my band because it's so intense and I can expel my demons and purge my pain without looking like an ass, this music is meant to freak out too, I love it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Life Is Peachy Reviewed by: Nirvanafan60, on may 09, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: So this would be my second favourite Korn album next to the self titled album. I thoroughly enjoyed this album it thought that it was an amazing balance of heavy and quiet parts in the songs itself. I highly commend the producer because he works the band to its limits and that's a factor in this great sound but the main factor is that the band members themselves. They really pushed themselves on this album. I love Korn's unique sound the aggressive snare on the drums is still dominant (Which is good). Munky and Head my two favourite guitarists yet again fed off each other they are amazing. Fieldy has some kick ass bass lines which are more noticeable in songs such as "Chi". Jon (Hiv) is the most amazing vocalist is voice has a great variety and he used it in this album. // 9

Lyrics: The lyrics are dark, twisted and fricken awesome! "Kill You" and "Good God" are my personal favourites lyric wise becuase they mean something to me. "Kill You" is about an abusive step mom (I'm guessing from the lyrics) and is a very emotional song for me. Compliance is great becuase Korn is Korn it is no genre so Korn makes its own genre. Jon is the most amazing singer ever. If I could listen to one person sing for my whole life it would be him. In this album he had the same intensity and explosiveness in the first album. // 10

Overall Impression: "Life Is Peachy" helped me trough some tough times and I still play it if I need to release some emotions. This very close to topping the self titled album but not quite. My top 5 songs are "Wicked", "Twist", "Chi", "Good God" and "Kill You", My favourite is "Kill You" though. I love it for its pure sound and it's meaning. The only thing I don't like is that the first 4 songs start to sound the same but its not that bad. If it were stolen or loss I would be so pissed of! And either steal it back or re-buy it. Overall its a great album... BUY IT! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Korn reviews rating latest review
+ Korn 9.2 12/11/2014
+ The Paradigm Shift 7.5 11/01/2013
+ The Path Of Totality 7 01/06/2012
+ Untitled 7.6 09/17/2010
+ Korn III: Remember Who You Are 7.8 07/20/2010
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect