The Triumph Of Steel Review

artist: manowar date: 06/25/2012 category: compact discs
manowar: The Triumph Of Steel
Released: Sep 29, 1992
Label: Atlantic
Genres: Heavy Metal, Power Metal
Number Of Tracks: 8
Loyalty is a rare human attribute, and on "The Triumph Of Steel", Manowar demonstrate plenty of it to their fans, their craft, and themselves.
 Sound: 8
 Lyrics: 7
 Overall Impression: 7.5
 Overall rating:
 8.5 
 Reviewer rating:
 7.5 
 Users rating:
 9.5 
 Votes:
 17 
reviews (2) user comments vote for this album:
overall: 6.7
The Triumph Of Steel Reviewed by: unregistered, on september 28, 2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is a damn good manowar CD. Not their best, but still pretty good. The sound is pretty basic, the only time they really kick it up a notch is on "Achellies, Agony and Ecstasy" which is a half an hour long! But the riffs are amazing through out the entire CD! Personaly I think the only thing wrong with the entire CD is that the music level is to low compared to the vocals, and that it's not really mastered all that well. // 7

Lyrics: Lyrics are decent for the most part. Could be better though. On Spirit Horse Of The Cherokke "When we do the ghost dance the buffalo will return." That one almost made me gag. But they do have some good ones on the CD. // 6

Overall Impression: This isn't Manowar's best work. I would recomend Louder Than Hell instead. But if you do get this album, which I'm not saying yo shouldn't, I'd recomend, "Achellies, Agony And Ecstasy," "Metal Warriors" and definatly "Ride The Dragon." // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
The Triumph Of Steel Reviewed by: Zaqq, on june 25, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: On the album you hear only one guitar (on the right channel), distorted bass guitar (on the left channel) and drums, but the mix is very heavy and tight, especially due to the fast double bass drumming by Kenny "Rhino" Earl. However, I don't like that there are almost no bass solos by bassist Joey DeMaio, which were a major part of the previous band releases. The 28 minute long epic song "Achilles, Agony And Ecstasy" is very well done, it is complex and consists of 8 parts: there are melodic parts, played with wind instruments and organ, and fast dynamic metal parts. The ballad "Master Of The Wind" (which completely isn't a heavy metal song) is a great ending for the album. // 9

Lyrics: The best lyrics are in the song "Achilles, Agony And Ecstasy", which is based on the poem "Iliad". Lyrics on the other songs sometimes may sound pretty cheesy though. Eric Adams' vocals are amazing and are great for aggressive metal songs and for melodic ballads. His voice is low and strong, but he is capable of singing very high notes too. // 8

Overall Impression: Overall it's a well made record. The album has both slow heavy metal songs and fast power-metal-like songs, so it really doesn't sound the same from beginning to end. The most impressive songs are epic "Achilles, Agony And Ecstasy", fast "Ride The Dragon", slow and powerful "Spirit Horse Of The Cherokee" and the ballad "Master Of The Wind". "The Triumph Of Steel" proved that heavy metal still could have original ideas, too bad that Manowar turned to a simpler style on the next album "Louder Than Hell". // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Manowar reviews rating latest review
+ Kings Of Metal MMXIV 5.9 03/05/2014
+ Battle Hymns 9.2 08/05/2010
+ Thunder In The Sky 8.2 06/18/2009
+ Into Glory Ride 8.7 07/10/2007
+ Sign Of The Hammer 9 05/21/2007
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect