Kill 'Em All Review

artist: metallica date: 05/28/2004 category: compact discs
metallica: Kill 'Em All
Released: 1983
Genre: Rock
Tones: Hostile, Angry, Bleak, Visceral, Aggressive, Malevolent, Nihilistic, Menacing, Confrontational
Styles: Thrash, Heavy Metal, Speed Metal
Number Of Tracks: 10
 Sound: 9.4
 Lyrics: 8.6
 Overall Impression: 9.4
 Overall rating:
 9.2 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.1 
 Users rating:
 9.3 
 Votes:
 319 
reviews (39) 104 comments vote for this album:
overall: 10
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: PsychoWolfD, on may 28, 2004
17 of 22 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is Metallica's debut album consisting of 10 awesome tracks. As it is 1983, the sound is not very detailed (I wish Metallica would start releasing re-masters), but is very thrashy and satisfying. Almost every track features thrash sound except track 5, "(Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth", which is a bass solo with some drums at the end. The Hit single is "Jump In The Fire" (Track 4) but I think there should be more hits than that. Kirk's solos are great, despite the fact that every song (except 5, of course, written by the bassist) was written by either Hetfield/Ulrich or Hetfield/Ulrich/Mustaine. James Hetfield is vox and rhythm guitar, Lars Ulrich is drums. Dave Mustaine, who left and formed Megadeth, was their original lead guitarist. Kirk came from Exodus. Back then, I think they were the kings of thrash metal alongside Slayer. Kirk did the best of solos, too. // 10

Lyrics: Hetfield (master of lyricists) wrote lyrics that fit the thrashiness of their style in this album (they show a soft side on their next album).
1. "Hit The Lights" is more of an introduction of what Metallica is going to be doing. Mostly on live performances.
2. "The Four Horsemen" is about doom for a person: 'the horsemen are drawing nearer on leather steads they ride, they come to take your life',etc. This sometimes became a nickname for Metallica.
3. "Motorbreath" is a song Hetfield wrote all to himself. How he lives his life? Motorbreath, meant to take your breath away.
4. "Jump In The Fire". The hit single for Kill Em All. Something about a fiery hell-like home.
5. "(Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth". Bassist Cliff Burton wrote this bass solo track, which features drums on the second half of the track.
6. "Whiplash" is about acting like a maniac and crazy psycho and all. I still like this song.
7. "Phantom Lord". I can assume that this song was named after one of Hetfield's previous bands. 'fall unto your kness, bow to the Phantom Lord.
8. "No Remorse" is a song about fighting and destruction. I like the riff to after where Hetfield goes "War Without End!" Keep your ears peeled for that.
9. "Seek And Destroy". You got to hear this one! This should have been the actual hit single. Awesome lyrics, awesome riffs. A song about staring up a fight and elliminating people. Contains a great solo.
10. "Metal Militia" wraps up the album. This is like a message to the audience to help take on the world with metal music. You'd be surprised how in 2003 all their work turned to a pile of crap like St. Anger. // 10

Overall Impression: If you are looking for real Metallica, this is a great start. Metallica were great through Kill Em All through the selftitled Black Album (6th album). This shows what Metallica were about and should have kept their roots. Not some grunge wannabe nu-metal junk. If it was lost, go through extreme measures to find it, if it were stolen, steal it back, otherwise, buy another copy. Get a lethal dose of Metallica with Kill Em All, man! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.7
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: unregistered, on september 26, 2005
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sound: There are two very noticible differences between Metallica's debut and the others. One is the obvious: the production. Not top notch, but enhances the quality of the album as a whole. Hetfield's voice is much, much, much different, the trademark growl is more like a yell on the album. The guitars are slurred and distorted, and sometimes hard to make out. Unlike some of the later albums, the bass rings loud and clear. The drumming is fast and ferious, not cool and calculated. Basically, its thrash at its very best. The second is the more subtle presence of former bandmate Dave Mustaine. Though he does not appear on the album, his writing on four of the tracks (The Four Horsemen, Jump In The Fire, Phantom Lord, and Metal Militia) are also the hardest, crunchiest, and fastest tracks on the album. His playing was an huge influence on this album, and to a lessar extent on Ride The Lightning and Master Of Puppets. It's thrash, thrash, and more thrash. // 9

Lyrics: Never the strong point in thrash, Kill 'Em All is no exception. Though the lyrics are pretty good, Hetfield has not developed his growl, and rather yells and screams on this album. It still kicks ass. Tracks like Seek & Destroy and The Four Horsemen show that he is actually quite good at that kind of singing, but it still isn't the best. It's metal, what else can I say? // 7

Overall Impression: 01. Hit The Lights - one of the more popular tracks of the album, the song was original written for Hetfield's previous band, Leather Cream. Good riffing, but I don't much care for the lyrics or vocals 6/10. 02. The Four Horsemen - possibly one of the thrashiest thrash song ever, The Four Horsemen was originally written as Mechanix by Dave Mustaine (Mechanix can be found on Metallica's rare No Life 'Til Leather demo with Hetfield singing) and was rewritten by Hetfield after Mustaine was fired. Amazing riff, great solos, spectacular lyircs. Best song on the album 10/10. 03. Motorbreath - this song simply proves that Hetfield is the God of Riffs. Not so good when it comes to lyrics, but good all the same 7/10. 04. Jump In The Fire - this song simply proves that Mustaine is the Better God of Riffs. Written by Dave, it was Metallica's big hit off the album, and it's riff is considered one of the best in metal history. Great, great cut 10/10. 05. (Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth - a bass solo by the late Cliff Burton, this trach shows his expert technique, use of pull-offs and hammer-ons, and use of the wah pedal. Any experienced bass player should be fluent with this track 10/10. 06. Whiplash - Metallica's signature mosh song. Kick ass riffs, and lyrics about a mosh at a Metallica concert. Kick ass 8/10. 07. Phantom Lord - another one written by Mustaine, this is one of those great thrash songs. Not really memorable, but still good 7/10. 08. No Remorse - not remarkable, which is strange, since this is one of the better cuts off this album. Just great overall 9/10. 09. Seek & Destroy - and Hetfield returns to reclaim his Godism at riffage with this track. Seek & Destroy has one of the most recognizible, memorable riffs ever. Great, catchy lyrics, and impressive vocals. Not as amazing as The Four Horsemen, but very close 10/10. 10. Metal Militia - a great way to close an album, with speed metal supreme. Written by Mustaine, this is one of those anthemetic "F--k all those who do not rock" songs. Great 9/10. Kill 'Em All is simply an explosive, dropkick way of saying "We're here!" One of the greatest debuts in history, Metallica's Kill 'Em All has influenced millions and will influence millions more. Great album. Buy it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: metallica4evr, on may 16, 2005
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sound: Turn up the distortion and pull out all palm mutes! This album is definitely Metallica at their finest. Normally when a band releases their first album it isn't all that and needs some fine tuning but this album is an exceptional exception to that rule. This album is entirely speed metal and thrash with a little regular heavy metal in the mix. The slowest song on this ablum is an instrumental called Anthesia-Pulling Teeth which is played entirely by a bass. That's right, it's a bass solo (Cliff Burton was Metallica's best bassist, rest in peace Cliff). Practically every song on this album is based on palm muting. This is most evident in songs like Hit The Lights and Metal Militia. And since Dave Mustaine co-composed this album you know you are in for some face melting riffs. This album just makes you feel like to demolish everything around you (in a good way). You would want to learn to play every song on this album and give your guitar a good workout. This is definitely Metallica's fastest album though (which is saying alot since it is being to compared to their other albums like Ride The Lightning and Master Of Puppets). The only draw back on this album is the lack of slow songs 'cause some of Metallica's best song are their slower ones like Fade To Black, Sanitarium and One. But nevertheless this album has a great sound and is Taylor made for speed metal fans. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are good but not great. They are straight forward. For example, "Lookin for you to start up a fight" and "You will die one thousand deaths," but who the hell cares! This is speed metal! When your are headbanging you dont have time to decifer lyrics! Most of the songs are about killing people and about fast stuff. And that's what metal should be about. // 8

Overall Impression: This is not Metallica's best album but it's definitely way up on the list. I love the fact that it is speed metal and not just plane old heavy metal. The riffs are great and the lyrics are easy to understand. I would definitely buy it again if it was lost. The most impressive songs are Seek And Destroy, Metal Militia, The Four Horsemen, Anthesia and Whiplash. As a matter of fact, they are all great! Every speed metal fan shuold get this album. If you want to start listening to Metallica Kill'Em All, Master Of Puppets or Ride The Lightning should be your first album. You should follow which one you got first with the two others I mentioned or get the black album (not Jay-Z, Metallica has an album called The Black Album too. Jay-Z ripped them off). Bass players will find themselves in heaven here as they finally have a bass solo. Bottom line is this album is great. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: Rattlehead666, on october 26, 2005
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: Well as many thrash metal fans know is this the debut album of one of the most influencial metal bands of the '80s, Metallica. This album has a few songs with the credits of former lead guitarist Dave Mustaine who is currently in Megadeth. I noticed that the music in this album is very different from any of the four original Metallica albums. This album has no songs on it such as Fade To Black, Welcome Home (Sanitarium), and One. The solo's to each song are great to. // 10

Lyrics: Well unlike Ride The Lighning, Master Of Puppets, and ...And Justice For All the lyrics in this album are very clean meaning that they have hardly any swearing in them. I find that James Hefield's vocals are bit different from their second album Ride The Lightning but he is still a great vocalist. // 10

Overall Impression: This is one of the best metal albums of all time (in my opinion). The most impressive songs on the album are Motorbreath, (Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth, Whiplash, Phantom Lord, Seek & Destroy and Metal Militia. The four songs are good to but I like these best. I don't hate everything about this album. I think Cliff Burton is one of the greatest bassists of all time and it's very sad that he had to die around the Master Of Puppets tour. I hope that you like Kill 'Em All or any of the four original Metallica albums as much as I do. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: METSOAD, on may 20, 2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: The first of example of what trash metal was to become via the likes of Slayer and these 4 men, the mighty east bay thrash giants Metallica. Technically, this album blew most over records out of the water. The soloing is bonkers, the most over the top, elaberate and insane shredding seen since the days of hendrix (when it wasn't even called shredding) by Kirk Hammet. Cliff Burton provided one of the answers to the question: Is anyone better than Steve Harris of Iron Maiden? James Hetfield is the master of rhythm guitar playing with blistering riffs that defy an logic whatsoever. Lars Ulrich is the best drummer in the world and his raw ability, which is shown on this album is quite frankly remarkable and a change to the jazz and blues style that was being taken up by most drummers. // 10

Lyrics: James Hetfield, at this time had a raw song writing talent that was unharrnesed until the writing of this record. All the lyrics he has written are similar but all good despite the similar themes. "No Remorse", "Seek and Destroy" and "Metal Militia" seem to follow a sort of mini concept album based on Urban warfare while "Whipslah" and "Phantom Lord" is sort of 2 parts of the same song. "The Four Horsemen" is the lyrical peek, with niced simple but incredibly good lyrics. // 10

Overall Impression: Hit the lights is the very first Metallica song and displays an example of raw energy and talent being transferred into one blast of unrelenting energy. The Four Horsemen is a staple thrash metal song in the vien of "Creeping Death" with huge riffs and a major league breakdown and many cool solos. Motorbreath is basiccaly a song about James Hetfields life and it shows with fast paced riffing and drumming. Jump in the fire is the single of the album and it appears to show, it is, in my opinion, the worst song on the album. Anesthisia is the bass solo from the mighty Cliff Burton. It has a bit of drumming by Lars but it truly is a one man show. It sounds more like Hendrix than a bass guitar and is truly remarkable. This track runs nicley into what is basically the mission statement. Whiplash is the very fibre of what all Metallica stand for, insane riffs, raw lyrics and blistering guitar solos that defies the laws of physics. Phantom Lord is another one of the racous speed freak songs with one of the best breakdowns and simple riffs ever, but the highlight is the scream of "Fall to your knees and bow to the phantom lord". No Remorse is the start of the mini concept album at the end with basically the best solo on the album, one of the best riffs and that legendary call of "Attack". Seek and Destroy has the albums best riffs and some stonking guitar solos and one of the most brutal solos ever. Metal Militia is blistering, unrelenting and unrepenting ending to this unrelenting, unrepenting record. Overall, this is one of the most brutal records ever written with ever song with huge riffs from guitar and bass, shred solos at any oppotunity for guitar and bass and some of the best drumming ever. It is just as good if not better than "Another Perfect Day" by Motorhead and "Peice Of Mind" by Iron Maiden which were released in the same year. This was a sign of things to come with the release of "Ride The Lightning" and "Master Of Puppets" in the next 3 years this became an important marker in the history of music. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: GooGooFluffers, on june 05, 2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Kill 'Em All is Metallica's breakthrough debut album. Released back in '83, this album blew people's minds, and still does today. If this isn't your first Metallica album, you may be surprised that it hardly contains Metallica's signature "Thrash" sound. In fact most of the album sounds like it could be from many different bands. Songs like "Hit The Lights", "Phantom Lord", and "No Remorse" sound easily as if they could have come from an early Iron Maiden album, and "Motorbreath" sounds very similar to Motorhead. You can see Metallica's thrash sound come out in "The Four Horsemen", "Jump In The Fire", "Whiplash", "Seek And Destroy", and "Metal Militia". "(Anesthisia) - Pulling Teeth" is Metallica's first attempt at an instrumental, and the entire song is basically played by the bassist, and it works pretty well. "The Four Horsemen" is truly epic and is almost worth buying the album for the one song only. // 9

Lyrics: The lyrics that Metallica write are some of the best in the biz. Their lyrics are very powerful if you look into them, (and they use lots of big words). The lyrics fit with the music perfectly, hard and elaborate lyrics for hard and elaborate music. One listen to the album and you can pretty easily tell that the album is about killing someone (if you couldn't tell by the album name, that is). James Hetfield sings wonderfully, and has a raspy, but easily understandable voice. // 10

Overall Impression: Compared to other Metallica albums, it may not be as good as Master of Puppets, ...And Justice For All, or The Black Album, but it still belongs in everyone's Metallica collection. Compared to other artists, it is one of the greatest debut albums to ever come out. "The Four Horsemen" is the greatest song on the album, but the others are very good as well, and if you don't get singing along to the chorus of "Jump In The Fire", then there is something wrong with you. The weakest track is probably "(Anesthesia) - Pulling Teeth", because it is a bit repetitive. Overall though, the album is great and every metal fan should own it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: TempoTantrum, on september 10, 2003
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is a straight up trash metal record, and also one of the first of it's kind. Influenced by the sounds of the NWOBHM, Metallica produced a masterful debut album. Although the whole CD was speed track after speed track after speed track, with no ballads or anything of the sort in sight, I consider this one of my all-time favourite albums. And I LOVE ballads, so that should tell you something right there. Also, just the fact that in many tracks [I'm lookin' at you, "Four Horsemen"] the bass is just as loud as the guitar is, adds to the over quality and impression this album gives. // 10

Lyrics: James Hetfield, need I say more? The Metallica frontman has spit out some of the best lyrics the metal scene [or any scene for that matter] has ever heard. Just listen to Motorbreath, and bow to the master. // 8

Overall Impression: The most impressive songs on this album would definatley be "Hit the Lights", "The Four Horsemen", and "Motorbreath", without a doubt. The only thing I can say about this album that I don't like is the lack of clean guitars. Slow songs make fast songs actually sound fast, and after a while of listening, don't be surprised if you think "Whiplash" could be considered a slow song. If it were stolen I would definatley buy another copy. Wait.. nevermind, because I already bought 10 :D // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: Mantiscabinet, on april 04, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: I already own Master Of Puppets. This CD, while not as good as Master Of Puppets (should I remind you, arguably the metal album) this still delivers. Although some parts were a little rough around the edges (switching riffs in a few songs, and the sound quality of Anethesia) it was a great album to listen to. Kirk's solos were probably some of his best (but not the most recognized). Although he got kicked out before the band recorded, Dave Mustaine (now frontman and lead guitar of Megadeth) showed just how strong his riffs were in the songs he wrote. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics didn't do it for me. I know it was their first album and all, but some of the lyrics were quite lame (dare I say?) Whiplash and Hit The Lights especially front the songs of so-so lyrics. The rest were quite good, especially Four Horsemen, Seek And Destroy, No Remorse, and Jump In The Fire. Hetfield sounded quite good in Four Horsemen, Seek And Destroy, and Phantom Lord, but other songs his voice was less of a croak, like the rest of Metallica, and more of a semi-high pitched scream (not too high pitched, but definitely an octave higher than usual). I guess that lower voice comes with age, eh Hetfield? // 8

Overall Impression: Overall, this was a very good album. Seek and Destroy and Four Horsemen are definitely master pieces, especially the solos in Seek And Destroy. If it was stolen or lost, that wouldn't happen, because I take very good care of my CDs, especially my more favourite ones. I might not buy it again though, because the music store had it priced quite high. The funny part about the pic of Metallica is that you can see acne on all of the band members faces, cept for Hammett. Overall, I'd recommend even a so-so fan of Metallica to by it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.7
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: Brenton Allen, on april 14, 2005
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: When I first heard this album I was very suprised because it is a lot different to Metallica's other albums. Some of the songs remind me of The Offsrping and the Living End however there is alot more variety in this album than those bands tend to produce. Kirk Hammet's solos were absolutely amazing and they varied right across the whole album. Another thing that I loved in this album were the use of the drums. In other Metallica albums the drums tend to get lost with the guitar riffs and solos however in this album they really stand out well. // 10

Lyrics: James Hetfield sounds very young in this album. The lyrics sound great and fit in really well with the music. However Hetfield could of improved on what he was actually singing. In other albums the lyrics made you think and really spoke to you however these lyrics were just well sung and that was it. // 6

Overall Impression: Overall, I think this album is no doubt one of Metallica's best albums. I would encourage anyone to buy it. The things I like the most in this album are the use of the drums, the guitar solos, the consistancy in the songs and the fact it is very different from other metallica albums (almost new age punk rock). The best songs on the album are: Hit The Lights, The Four Horsemen and all of them! I would definetly buy the album again if it were stolen. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: unregistered, on may 14, 2005
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound on Kill'Em All is mostly speed metal which is of course the best kind of metal the I love. Kill'Em All in my opinion is the best album out of all the albums that Metallica ever made since of coruse it was their first. Songs like Jump In the Fire or Hit The Lights are some of the best I've heard. // 10

Lyrics: One word to describe him is "alcholic" he uses the power of alcohol (wierd huh) to write his lyrics for this album, his voice can s--t from melodic to more of a monster which is a cool trick. // 10

Overall Impression: This album is the bomb man, even though bands like motley crue or Ozzy Osbourne made good albums, Metallica was an underground band launchin an attack at the '80s metal. '80s metal back then was all about hair and girls, Metallica didn't use hair spray, they didn't get that many girls, all they did was wear waht they had, like boxers (lol Lars) and drank a lot of beer. Overall this album is very godlike compared to the others comepared to those "metal" bands back then. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: Punk_Must_DIE!!, on june 01, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Metallica have to be the best metal band ever. With heavy riffs and kirks fast yer strangely melodic solos. Hetfield and Hammet mainly use ESP guitars and they sound great. Most of the tracks were written by Dave Mustaine of Megadeth before being sacked whilst on tour. He is an amazing songwriter and this albums contains very catchy powerful riffs and solos. The drumming is excellent too and if you like bass riffs anaesthia is one huge bass solo. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are probably the worst aspect of this album but they still f--kin' rock. They aren't as catchy as from albums such as Master Of Puppets and the Black Album. James Hetfield's singing is croaky at times but dont let thtat put you off. // 8

Overall Impression: This is one of their best albums but doesnt stand up to Master Of Puppets but with some classics definately buy it. The best songs are Hit The Lights and The Four Horsemen. If it was stolen I would buy it again and while I'm there I'd buy ride the lightning to complete the collection I suggest you do the same. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: Beau W, on june 20, 2005
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Kill'Em All is one of my favourite albums of all time, I really like the "old school" feel of the album, the really fast guitar riffs, like 5 guitar solo's in one song and the little drum solos. The bass is almost as loud as the guitars! There isn't really one song on this album I don't like, they are all great, its got some pretty catchy riffs! As I said, there are alot of guitar solo's in just about every song, and they all sound very impressive and obviously very fast, they were all written by dave mustaine by the way (Dave deserves a bit of credit for this album). I like the guitar settings they have (the way they used distortion and stuff), I think they used Gibson guitars in the recording. For it's age, this album sound's very good. // 10

Lyrics: There isn't really much behind the lyrics, example: "Sacnning the scene in the city tonight, looking for you to start up a fight!" Most of the lyrics are about killing, and the rest are about playing/gigging (like Whiplash and Hit The Lights). Some of the lyrics I thought were kinda funny, like hit the lights: "No life til leather!" James is kinda screaming through most of the album, his voice is ok in Kill'Em All but it's best in "...And Justice For All" (which is also an album I recomend). That's pretty much all I can say about the lyrics. // 8

Overall Impression: Overall, I definately recomend this album and I think it's way up there in the best of Metallica's albums. The best songs I reckon are: Hit The Lights, Four Horsemen, Motorbreath, Jump In The Fire, Whiplash and Seek And Destroy, but they are all f--in' amazing! If it was stolen or lost I would go to record shop and but 20 more, and then go to the gun shop and get a big scary gun just in case it happens again. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: tml492, on february 01, 2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: I thought the sound quality of this CD was amazing. I really like how the songs changed throughout. I thought the song "(Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth" was a really cool idea, considering it was a bass solo. I think the sound of this album is really unique. I was quite impressed with it. // 9

Lyrics: As many of the Metallica songs, it is hard to hear what they are saying because of the screams and such. But if you take the time to look up the lyrics and listen to what he is singing, the lyrics are really amazing. I think that James Hetfield's voice is great for the kind of music that they play. // 9

Overall Impression: I think this is one of Metallica's best albums, but not their best. I enjoyed every song on the album especially the ones "Metal Militia," "(Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth," "Seek And Destroy," "No Remorse" and "The Four Horsemen." I really enjoyed all of these songs. If this CD were to be destroyed or stolen, I would definently go out and buy this album again. I enjoyed it trememdously and hope you do also. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.7
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: SethMegadefan, on february 24, 2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Released in 1983, Metallica's debut album truly shows the band's potential at the time. At the forefront of an entirely new and previously unprecedented genre of metal-thrash Metallica set out to change the face of music forever. And they got that. But they got more. A lot more (pardon the Spinal Tap reference). Though not Metallica's best album by any means, "Kill 'Em All" still stands today to be one of the most relentless and pure rocking debut albums of all time. In terms of great debuts, I know nothing comparable to it except Ozzy Osbourne's "Blizzard Of Ozz." Rough but crisp (and unmercifully fast) guitar work intertwines with Lars Ulrich's blistering drum loops and James Hetfield's adolescent yet pleasing shrills and screams. Though the production value can't necessarily match that of the band's later albums, in my opinion it was produced perfectly for the thrashy phase of music Metallica were going through at the time. Though the album lacks a ballad (or any type of song that would even be remotely considered slow, for that matter), the band are already experimenting with intricate breakdowns and memorable instrumental passages in songs like "The Four Horsemen" and "Phantom Lord." Not until later albums such as "Ride The Lightning" and "Master Of Puppets" did Metallica really expand their sound, but as far as pure thrash goes, I don't think you can really go wrong with "Kill 'Em All." // 9

Lyrics: During the time of its release, Metallica really weren't at the top of their lyrical game, but the album still shows traces here and there that they wanted to break out of their thrash shells, and as I mentioned before, they did so in subsequent releases. So, in short, the lyrics are more than good for thrash but less than stunning for the standards that the band had later set and consistently lived up to. // 8

Overall Impression: It is no doubt that Metallica were one of the most important pioneers of the thrash genre, and ultimately the entire metal genre in general. "Kill 'Em All," though nowhere near as good as "Ride The Lightning" or "Master Of Puppets," still manages to be a very important album in terms of innovation, and is certainly a worthy addition to any headbanger's collection. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: myampgoesto11, on february 27, 2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Their first album is one of the greats. Metallica, sadly, has gotten worse and worse over the years. But, let's focus on Kill'Em All. The awseomeness of their guitars can not be typed into this review. Kirk Hammet and James Hetfield are tuned to their finest. The solos are some of the best I've ever heard, and it's all fast paced. The songs are long (3:03 seconds for the shortest) so there is plenty of sound to go around. Cliff Burton Is an awesome bassist, and Lars Ulrich is one of the best drummers. // 10

Lyrics: James can sing. For metal, this is some of the finest singing I've heard today. I have no complaints with his skills, thoguh seemingly, the lyrics have grown better over the years as the sound has gotten worse. His voice seems to be high-pitched in some sings, but I don't care. // 9

Overall Impression: Metallica has inspired countless bands and sprung even more cover bands, which I look down on. Dammit, I want to hear Metallica, not some hip-hop tribute that probably made some people hate Metallica. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: unregistered, on april 29, 2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Metallica are the greatest metal band to grace our ear drums and earth. Metallica's sound has changed so much over their long career, but nevertheless their sound is always distinctive. I like to call it the Metallica crunch, because it dosan't matter if they are playing, thrash, country or straight metal, you instantly know it's them and you enjoy listening to them play. I mean evey note is distinctive. Kill 'Em All is where it all began. It was 1983 and the genesis of thrash metal was upon the world. As most people are aware Dave Mustaine was fired from the band just a few months before Metallica went into the studio in May 1983 to record their debut album. Dave Mustaine wrote many of the songs on this album, and was an equally talented member of the newly forming band. However Dave was a heavy drinker, and his behaviour forced Hetfield and Ulrich to fire him from the band. Poor Dav, oh well at least he went on to sell 15 million records with Megadeth, he deserves his success. Anyways, Metallica's thrash metal period begain with Kill 'Em All and what a beginning it was. This album is full of fast riffs, mega distortion and storming solos... you can feel the age of the album, the atmosphere of early '80s metal. Yet, also when you listen to it, it feels so fresh, it almost feels like you are back in 1983 listening to a fresh recording of a distorted album. This album rocks. // 10

Lyrics: Lyricly it's a double-edged-knife. On one side the subject matter is a bit limited, i.e. killing and fighting. But on the flipside, the lyrics themsleves are pure metal. When you listen to James Hetfield on this album you instantly picture the scene, "Searching, seek and destroy." // 9

Overall Impression: This is the album that started the band that started it all (ok maybe they didan't start thrash... but they stamped it with a quality gold seal). This is true of this album and their follow up work. If you like Metallica buy this album, if you don't like Metallica then it's your loss. This is a band that has the ability to change its music styles, but produce quality music wherever their music style roams (forgive the pun). In summary Kill 'Em All is a landmark album, if this was a mainstream album, it would definatly feature in the top 100 most influential albums off all time, as it stands it is not in that list, it wrote the list. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.3
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: lekym_l337Crew, on may 01, 2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Kill 'Em All is Metallica's first album. This is one of Metallica's least heard albums, and probbally would have never been heard of if Cliff Burton wasn't in it. // 8

Lyrics: Featured songs: The Four Horsemen - probbally my favorite song on the album, it takes you through 7 minutes of what Metallica is yet to come. Starting off with a fast riff with guitars+bass, it then breaks for a solo guitar riff, simular to the intro of "Master Of Puppets". The song is then what Metallica became famour for, the thrashing metal sound with fast paced guitars and bass. Suddenly, the song goes into the interlude with a slower pace, which will later enter into the speedy verses and a guitar solo. Song is oddly simular to the song "Master Of Puppets". Whiplash - a short song compared to what Metallica is yet to come up with in the years, but it gets the job done, with again highlighting on fast paced guitars. Anesthesia (Pulling Teeth) - the song that made Cliff Burton who he was, it's a 4 minute bass solo on the CD, using effects such as distortion and wah. While the song it self is good, the effects do get a little scratchy here and there, and don't sound the greatest. But the solo overall is a great solo, and the fast paced ending with drums is just something you can rock out to. // 8

Overall Impression: Good thrash sound. These songs are you can just rock out to and love, while Jame's vocals are scratchy (I'll get to that later), they just add to the thrash sound Cliff Burton. Metallica's legend (who died shortly after the release of Master of Puppets) is featured here with his solo, and how he can use the bass wisely. While Jason (the bassist featured on later albums) is good, he's no Cliff Burton. Cliff just knew how to use the bass where and how to make that great sound. The vocals are scratchy, most likely due to lack of high quality recording material. They do add to the thrash sound, but an improved vocals would be better. Great bass, but the bass seems to be turned a bit too high in recording process. But if your a bass lover, you won't question it. // 6

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.7
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: unregistered, on may 03, 2006
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is the album that began the genre we know as thrash metal. What seperates this genre is the extremely fast guitar riffs that are almost percussive due to the very frequent palm muting and walloping or hitting very hard of the strings. It's also characterized by the extremely fast guitar solos with plenty of hammer ons/pull offs. The vocals in the sound are like in other forms of metal very rough and aggressive but unlike in many other forms of metal what they are saying is discernible. There's also very fast drumming with heavy use of the bass drums. The bass is usually not very audible. This is a very guitar and drum driven genre. Just listen to AFJA you can't even hear the bass. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics aren't the pinnacle of brilliance but they are definetly above average considering the other stuff that was out at the time. At the peack of glam metal talking about "making love" and "being with my baby" these guys come in with messy hair ripped up jeans and t shirts singing about moshing, going crazy, and getting into fights. Not brilliant but for the time decent. // 7

Overall Impression: A very good album. One of the strongest debut albums for any band. Many of Metallica's most popular songs are from this album like Seek And Destroy and Hit The Lights. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: Metallifan2k5, on june 14, 2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: The album that started a legacy still (somewhat) alive today. This is Metallica's debut album which featured the classic line-up which (and I'm sure many will agree with me) was also the most kick-ass line-up: Kirk Hammett, Lars Ulrich, Cliff Burton(RIP) and James Hetfield. Growing up I unfortunatly did not have this one and I didnt aquire it until I was about 14 or 15 (I'm 20 now), and once I popped it into my stereo, I developed a newfound love for Metallica's sound and overall skills in the world of thrash metal. Although a bit muddy, Metallica's sound on this album could have been much worse. Aside from the slight muddiness this album was awesome with some absolutely killer solos by kirk, and james seems to scream the most on this album compared to others. Awesome starting album. On a different note, Kirk Hammett did not join Metallica until after this album was written as Megadeths evental lead guitarist/singer Dave Mustaine is credited with a few of the songs, and Cliff wasn't the original bassist either, they had a guy named Ron Mcgovney playing bass, but I'm pretty sure he didn`t contribute to "Kill 'Em All" and that was back while they were still paying thier dues out in small clubs. // 9

Lyrics: Considering it's their debut, the lyrics on "Kill 'Em All" were pretty good. A younger, more aggressive and angry James Hetfield screames a lot of his lyrics out on this one. As I usually like to do, I'm going to give a song-by-song breakdown of what I believe the song may be about and what I find kick-ass (or horrible) about it (by the way they're not in the exact same order as the album). 01. Hit The Lights - sort of fades into this song. I'm not sure what its about but I thought it was just killer and the soloing through-out by Hammett is amazing especially the last one to end the song. 02. The Four Horsemen - a classic tune and riff. Longest song on the album at over 7 minutes in length. Talks about the apocalypse. 03. Metal Militia - great tune to headbang to with killer riffs and drumming. Another I wasn't sure on for the meaning. 04. Whiplash - almost sounds the same as "Militia", but its a cool song nonetheless. Talks about Metallica ruling the heavy metal world and all its ups and downs. 05. Phantom Lord - not sure what its about (possibly the name of a band James was in before Metallica) but it's got a cool intro and a pretty cool solo. 06. Pulling Teeth - bass and drums are all this song is with Lars (or Cliff) at the beginning saying "bass solo, take one". Killer track and its a shame that cliff only did this kind of song once, I would have liked to hear him and Lars jam more like that. 07. Seek And Destroy - every Metallica fan knows this riff to either hear it or play it as its one of Metallica's coolest intro riffs. Talkes about mass destruction, fighting and just overall kicking ass. Fav song on this album by far. 08. No Remorse - 2nd longest song on this album. Reallly great solo to start this one off. 2nd fav as well. I'm not sure but I think this song was titled after a Motorhead album. 09. Motorbreath - cool but a little short compared to other Metallica classics. Another song talking about life on the road as a heavy metal band. Good songs throughout, short but one of thier sweetest albums by far. // 10

Overall Impression: This was a great debut. As a band, they had it bang on from the beginning and well this is technically thier beginning (I've heard their demo with Dave Mustaine and Ron Mcgovney, thier bassist before Cliff). Well done, albiet a bit muddy on the overall sound, but hey it's thrash metal from 1983, 3 years before I was a twinkle in my old mans eye, so I really can't (and won't) hold that against this work of early heavy metal art. Before "Kill 'Em All" was brought forth, lead guitarist Hammett took guitar lessons from the living legend Joe Satriani and it seemed to have helped in bringing forth this awesome but kinda short Metallica album. Good work on this one. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: AngryGuitarist, on july 12, 2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is an old CD! It was made in the late '70s! The sound is somewhat low quality, so you cant hear the vocals sometime. But the guitars play catchy riffs, and there is a nice bass solo with a dab of distortion, it sounds great. This CD is exelent, you can tell that this is Metallica's roots! // 10

Lyrics: James hetfield is a unique singer, and a decent guitar player. Like I said, since this CD is so old, you can tell the recording technology wasn't as great as it is today, and you can't hear James's voice at sometimes becuase it is drowned out by the guitar etc, the lyrics are basically the same thing over and over. In Jump In The Fire it goes " So come on, jump in the fire!" over and over. It gets kind of annoying but hey, I like it. // 9

Overall Impression: This is a great CD, one of Metallica's finest, I do believe because Dave Mustaine helped produce it. I'd think this would be number 2 on my favorites from Metallica, which would be ...And Justice For All, Kill 'Em All, Master Of Puppets. I love this album, I love the fact that there is a real bass solo with distortion, you don't hear alot of that today (R.I.P. Cliff). If this CD where stolen or lost, I would buy another copy immediately. Buy this CD, you will love it! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.7
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: Mustaine 4 Prez, on july 17, 2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound is groundbreaking, for early thrash. The best way to desribe this is what I call Mustallica. I say that because Dave Mustaine of Megadeth fame (and superiority, may I add) was an original Metallica member, and if you look at the lyrics, you'll see Mustaine on quite a few of the songs. You'll also notice that these are the best songs on the album. And Kirk Hammett did not write those solos. That would be Mr. Mustaine. And Kirk had to be stoned on coke to play that fast. Kinda tells you something. // 7

Lyrics: The lyrics are kind of cliche in today's context. But at the time, there were relatively new and refreshing. They aren't bad, but nothing too spectacular. // 8

Overall Impression: It makes for a good thrash album, but if you want real raw, aggressive, technically brilliant thrash, go for at the very least, Ride the Lightning, and if you want it more so, go for Megadeth. Especially So Far, So Good, So What! Pure unbridled aggression. I'd say I liked the bass work best on this, Cliff Burton is a fucking GOD. But the guitar work was alright, for a guy having to be jumped up on coke to be able to play fast enough to keep up with how it was originally written. If I lost it, I'd download it. Metallica has enough money as it is. They don't need my 10 bucks. All that selling out should have made them a few bucks, shouldn't it? A good album nonetheless, as much as I bash Metallica, this is from back when it wasn't about money or any other bullshit. It was all about playing metal. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: Dancing Fool, on august 11, 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: This was the sound that launched Metallica's career. It was and still is very fast and aggressive. The guitar sound is very in-your-face, and it seems like the next song is faster than the last. The sound may be the line between thrash metal and speed metal. But there are some drawbacks to the sound that is Kill 'Em All. The sound seems far away, so to speak. As if the guitars were being played through small speakers which they probably were. And even with Cliff Burton backing James Hetfield and Kirk Hammet with his phenomenal bass work, it still seems empty. But don't let that prevent you from taking a listen. The solos are very impressive, ranging from as fast and as far down the fretboard as possible The For Horsemen, to a very talented, well put together bass-solo by Cliff Burton. The sound, in a nutshell, is fast, aggresive, in-your-face, thrash-meets-speed metal. The only drawbacks are the seemingly low production quality small speakers and empty sound as a result of small speakers. // 9

Lyrics: The lyrics would be the weak point, if any, to the masterpiece that is Kill 'Em All. I feel that way because of something that is more because of the timing regarding James Hetfield. His voice hasn't really "matured" yet. It seems rather high-pitched not squeaky, but high-pitched, compared to later works. However, the choice of lyrics was well tought-out. My personal favorite being The Four Horsemen. Fit right in with the song. It seems as if not one word was out of place. // 7

Overall Impression: This CD stands among the greatest CDs of thrash metal, and music eas a whole. It gave birth to a band who would give of several timeless Cds, singles, and songs, to base our inspiration. Metallica is very hard to compare to other bands, because simply most bands you try to compare them to have been inspired in some way by Metallica. The most impressive songs would have to be The Four Horsemen for the fast-paced, finger-bleeding solo. Another song that is a complete masterpiece is (Anethesia) Pulling Teeth. The bass solo demonstrates Cliff Burton in all his glory, and this is what he would have wanted to be remembered for, I'm sure. A must for Metallica fans, if you don't already have it for some obscure reason. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: gravensuicide, on april 04, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Metallica's Kill 'Em All is quite possible their best album in my opinion. From what I've heard(tv/websites/so on) Kill 'Em All means to pretty much destroy the Pop/Hair Metal that was really big at that time (1983). I myself am not a fan of guys dressing up like chicks and trying to be "Badass" about it. The quality might not have been their greatest, but the style of the music and the meaning behind it is awesome. It has a very underground/rebel feel to it. It's one of those cds that just get you pumped up and want to jump into the closest mosh pit. "(Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth" is a bass solo by Cliff Burton, and it's one of the most amazing things I've heard played on bass. The way he uses Wah and various other pedals/sound effects, it's crazy. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics on Kill 'Em All are very awesome and orignal. The song "The Four Horsemen" refers to the band themselves and how they want to take revenge. James Hetfields vocal abilities are not their best at this time, compared to what he has today, but on this album with this music, it really fits. // 9

Overall Impression: "Seek and Destroy", "Hit The Lights", "Metal Milita", "No Remorse" and "The Four Horsemen" are the best songs on the album in my opinion. They seem to bring out the albums message the most. Like I said before, the album is about ending all of the crappy hair metal music of the '80s and clearly, Metallica (and the other bands that shared the same views on "hair metal") got something write, because it's not really around anymore. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: Optimus Switch, on october 25, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Well first things first, this is the debut Album by Metallica, it has a Thrash/Speed Metal sound with Harsh yet Melodic Vocals and Lyrics focusing on Ass Kicking with a little bit of Political flair. In my opinion I highly enjoy there sound, it's Gritty, Fast and the songs flow extremely well, All the Musicians on the Album show there Ability highly well with the Harsh Vocals and Excellent Rhythm Guitar of James Hetfield, the Speeding, Face Melting Solos of Kirk Hammett, The damn right amazing Bass playing and Soloing (Anesthesia Pulling Teeth) of Cliff Burton (RIP) To the fast hard hitting Drums of Lars Ulrich. // 9

Lyrics: The Lyrics in the songs are generally quite interesting, it is for me hard to make out what is song sometimes because of the Speed of the songs and the Clarity of James Hetfields Vocals, but other than that, very good. The Lyrics fit fairly well with the Music, however I think more attention was payed to the Music instead of the Lyrics, but they suit there purpose and don't become annoying or impossible to listen to. // 7

Overall Impression: Overall this is a very very good album, It defines what Thrash Metal was and it's good to see how one of the best Metal Bands of all time Started out. I would say for me the most impressive songs would be Seek and Destroy, (Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth and Am I Evil? The only thing I don't like about this Album is the Thin sounding Guitar at parts, but I don't really notice it much. If it was stolen I doubt I'd but it again because I have it copied to my Pc, but yeah I suppose I would buy it again actually. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: sabata777, on december 17, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound of Kill 'em All is, well "hardcore," and "angry." The Kill 'em All album is what true heavy metal, and what true speed metal is all about. Metallica has always been a hardcore band, ever since they started in the early '80s, but it seems like the older they have gotten, the slower, and less intense they have became. This, being Metallica's first album, may sound a little garage, but nonetheless it is the best by standards of what "Metallica" stands for. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics of this album are probobly heavier than the rest, and more aggresive and threatening. I love the lyric mastermind of this album almost as much as the music. You can tell James is young here, but even though his vocal's skills had yet to reach their peak, he sang the hell out of this entire album. // 9

Overall Impression: This, I believe, by Metallica's own standards is the best album. It may not be my favorite, but you have to appreciate the true rawness that this album has. The album starts with "Hit The Lights," and from it all the way to the end is nonstop ear-pounding metal. This is the album that established Metallica, as well as songs like "Seek and Destroy," and "The Four Horsemen." You don't even have to listen to this album to already tell just how hardcore it is. My favorite part of the whole album is looking into the future from this album into how much this album created the foundation, and how it is the definition of Metallica, on of the only bands in the world that can get a positive response from saying "F--k you." We salute you Metallica. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: unregistered, on may 23, 2008
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is when Metallica were still a thrash metal band, unlike the pop rock band they have become. Their raw sound, fast riffs, and awesome solo make it the best album they ever made. I found with most bands the first album they make is the best, and Metallica is the prime example. Before this album was made Metallica had just fired Dave Mustaine, who would go one to found Megadeth, and they had recuted Kirk Hammet. It is wierd to think, what if? Like what if Dave was never fired? Where would Kirk be? Where would Marty Freedman be? Would all those Megadeth songs be Metallica songs? Who would be the singer? But luckily we don't have to worry about that. Back to the Album, Every song is great this is an album where all you have to do is hit play and listen. As some of you may know early Metallica albums have an instrumental song, and Kill Em' All has one of the best thay can only be done by one man, Cliff Burton. Unfortunately Cliff is no longer with us but Pulling Teeth is a bass solo that is second to none. Now all of the songs are great but if I had to pick my favorite 3 it would be Metal Milita, Four Horsemen, and Seek and Destroy. // 7

Lyrics: As far as lyrics, I think a band should set an equal amout of attention to music and lyrics and the way they fit the lyrics to the music is perfect. Now for younger rockers the lyrics might be a little gruesome or violent but it has such a great sound. As far as my opinion on James Hetfield's singing ability I wish he would go back to singing like he did on this album. Now a days he acctually sings but it doesn't fit with the songs he used to scream on. // 7

Overall Impression: Today I am more of a Megadeth and Slayer fan because they have stuck with the same style since they started. Metallica has become a more mainstream band. On the other hand I love Metallica's first two albums and didn't hate the next four. If you get this album just start from the beginning you pick your favorite. And to any guitar players the first gig I ever played, people jumped up and screamed when we started playing Seek and Destroy. If I lost this album I'd just listen to it on my computer, but if that was lost I'd buy it all over again. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: StratZatch720, on march 04, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Ah... Kill Em' All... First CD of it's kind. I love this album's overall sound. I had never heard any music this fast and furious before this. Drummer Lars Ulrich is always bursting with energy and throws in wonderful drum fills here and there, such as in Whiplash. The guitar written and played by Dave Mustaine, with Kirk Hammett's name slapped on the CD is amazing work. LOVE the solos that come from the guitars of Metallica, and I think among the best solos on the album are the 2 from The Four Horsemen and the solo/fills from Hit the Lights. Cliff Burton (R.I.P) is a god of the bass. As evident by Anesthesia (Pulling Teeth), he has mastered all the aspects of playing the bass well and my only complaint is that the bass follows the drums, not the guitar (they fixed this in later albums). Favorite songs on the album are Four Horsemen, Whiplash, Seek and Destroy, and Hit the Lights. The story of originally calling the album "Metal up Your Ass" is a pretty cool story. Definately would describe the album's ferocity and intensity. Overall, I love the sound. How can you not? It's Metallica! // 10

Lyrics: The low point (which is still pretty high) of the album is the lyrics. I don't mind them, I actually like them, but they are all about death, depression, war, something to that effect. That's not a bad thing, but there isn't much variety in lyrics and I would like to see a bit more. James Hetfield sounded better on later albums, but his younger, more wild singing fit's perfectly with the rest of this album. So I think this deserves an 8, not a bad score at all. // 8

Overall Impression: It's no Master of Puppets or Ride the Lightning, but Kill Em' All should definately be mentioned among the top metal albums of all time. It was monumental and started metal as we know it today. To me, the most impressive song overall is The Four Horsemen. I just love that song. Also Anesthesia has the most impressive bass playing I have ever heard. I love the guitar being a guitarist like almost everyone here is, and also the wild intensity of the album. I don't really hate anything on the album, but there is room for improvement in some aspects. If it was stolen, I would definately buy it again. But luckily, I don't have to worry about that since I have it on iTunes. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: steelrebellion, on august 05, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: This album has a brilliant sound, it is nice pure thrash but some of it is kind of bluesy it is truely magnificent. Cliff Burton(bass) usies alot of guitar distortion with his bass which makes it sound strange, brilliant and unique, this is best shown in the song "(Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth". A few of the songs on the album where written by Dave Mustain before he left the band after having personality conflicts with James Hetfield. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are great, there are a few really catchy songs aswell. The song "Whiplash" is about headbanging and this is shown through the lyrics "Bang your head against the stage", "Make it ring, make it bleed, make it really sore" and "You're thrashing all around...acting like a maniac". I personaly beleive that this is some of James Hetfields best vocal work, I think alot of their early stuff was better than some of their new stuff, but this is by far one of the best. // 9

Overall Impression: I personaly believe that this is their greates album. I just really like the lyrics and the overall sound of this album. My favourite songs from the album are "Seek and Destroy", "Jump in the Fire", "The four Horsemen" and "The Four Horsemen". I love everything about this album and if I lost it then I would definately buy it again. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: breadfan82, on december 13, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is Metallica's first born. Don't be fooled, this is one of the best metal albums ever made. Influenced by the new wave of british heavy metal, Kill'Em All has a thick, crunchy sound in the rhythm riffs, and also some pretty sweet sounding bright solos. The music definately displays Hetfield's love for metal. Metal guitarists playing with punk-rock energy sounds pretty innovative to me. Though Dave Mustaine (currently with Megadeth) is owed credit for his guitar contributions to the album, he never played a note on it. This is one of those albums that makes you think about why it took so long for you to buy it. // 10

Lyrics: Even though Hetfield was only 18 or 19 when this record was written, the songwriting is still pretty damn solid. It shows some lyrical inexperience, but you'd never know that if you were buying this album 20 years ago. With patience comes better lyrics, as James has proven. "The Four Horsemen" is probably my favorite track on the album, as opposed to the much more radio-friendly "Seek And Destroy". 'Horsemen' has those chunky riffs and blazing solos, and is arguably the most lyrically sound song on the album. Hetfield's screams and shrieks are perfectly suited for the environment that the music creates for the listener. // 10

Overall Impression: When Kill'Em All was released, 80's metal consisted of your Ratts, Motley Crues and their spin-offs. It provided a little insight to the world of underground metal. The most impressive songs are probably (in no particular order) "The Four Horsemen", "Hit The Lights", Cliff Burton's bass solo "Anesthesia (Pulling Teeth)", "Phantom Lord" and "No Remorse". I can't say that there's anything I dislike, this album rules! If my copy of Kill'Em All ever got stolen, I'd hunt down the f--ker that did it and pull his tongue through his ass. If I were to someday be so retarded as to lose such a jewel of a record, it would mean that I've lost every last thread of my sanity, and I'd tell my girlfriend to commit me to an asylum. If you love good, fast, raw metal that kicks your face in, buy this album! Metallica fans who don't own this album, go and get it so you can grasp the essence of Metallica's mission: world domination. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: ukdudeinuk, on march 28, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is Metallica's first album, and compared to their later albums, this seems kind of primitive, which, in a way, it is, since primitive means from very early times, and this is their first album. But, the sound is still excellent, although sort of samey throughout the album, with the exception of Cliff's bass solo on Anesthesia. The best part of the sound is, in my opinion, the thrashy, speedy sound. Kirk's high energy solos are awesome as well! // 10

Lyrics: I am more of a music person than a lyrics person, if that makes sense. So, I haven't paid alot of attention to the lyrics of any songs other than in Four Horsemen, but only that one because I was learning it and sang along to help keep in time. James style of singing is more throaty and hard to understand throughout the album, but it fits the music style perfect! // 10

Overall Impression: This is oe of my favorite CDs. If it were lost or stolen, I would definately buy it again! Like I said, this sounds a little primitive compared to Metallica's later releases, especially when I listened to And Justice For All after listening to this. It is more of a sign of good things to come, but it is still excellent! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: unregistered, on april 04, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The band's sound is amazing in this album. This is what Metallica should've stayed as. The music is very thrashy, and thrash - awesome. Another reason why this album's sound is great is due to the fact that Metallica included Dave Mustaine in this album, before they hired Kirk. In my opinion, I like Dave better than Kirk. James Hetfield's voice is even better due to Dave's help in back-up vocals. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are amazing in this album, especially when compared to other Metallica albums. As with the sound, the lyrics are even better since Dave Mustaine co-wrote, and even fully wrote a few songs. Half of the album's lyrics have Dave Mustaine's name on them. // 10

Overall Impression: This is the album that got me into metal. This album is so much better than other Metallica albums. If this album were to be stolen or I lost it, I'd buy it again. But I never use the original albums when I listen to CDs. I burn copies to take with me to places or to let people borrow. That's just my precaution, and this album deserves that precaution. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: boyan89, on july 13, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Wow just wow the sound on this album just blew me away from beggining to end no boring songs whatsoever. The guitars on this album are outraging in every song there is an amazing solo well except (Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth since its just bass and drums. The drums on this album are amazing especially in that kick ass intro in Motorbreath gotta love, gotta love it. The bass is insance on this album especially in (Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth it is the craziest bass riff I have ever heard rip cliff burton. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics on this album are really, really intilligent and I really, really like the songwriting structure they used on this album. I think that Kirk is one of the best singers ever and he always will be because who sings about the stuff that he does no one absolutely no one. // 10

Overall Impression: This album cannot compare to any other albums because wow just wow it is an amazing album. Every song on this album blew me away which mean I dont have a favourite song. I love everything about it and hate nothing absolutely nothing about this album. If it were stolen/lost I would defenitely buy it again, I am charging to the store and buying this album because every single second on it rocks. I recommend this album to any fan of metal because if you are a true headbanger then pick this album up. I would also recommend this be the 2nd album you get but 1st get the Black Album or in other words "Metallica". // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: unregistered, on february 26, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Metallica's Kill 'Em All was a revolutionary new album and changed the face of metal forever by introducing a new genre thrash. Songs like "Metal Militia" and "Hit The Lights" had never been heard before. Incredibly fast solos, great screams (without overdoing it), and some of the greatest riffs of all-time like "Seek and Destroy" and "No Remorse." Also, people complain about the "terrible production quality" and I really don't find anything wrong with it, if anything, it adds to the CD and makes it's unique. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics, while not astonishing, get the job done and are genius in their own way. Now Hetfield may not sing as well as he does later on, but he defintely can scream better than he ever does on any of his later work. He never really showcases his voice on this album but it doesn't matter, this album isn't about singing/screaming, it's about solos, riffs, and Cliff Burton. // 10

Overall Impression: Even though this is Metallica's first debut album, it has some of their best songs and could possibly be their best. 01. Hit The Lights - great opener, nice drum intro, fast riffs, about 2 little guitar solos in their and 1 full length thrash solo in there. 02. The Four Horsemen - one of Metallica's best on the album. It was on "No Life 'Til Leather," but it was titled the mechanix and the only differences were the lyrics and The length. Has a few new solos, some good screams, and a nice guitar riff or 2. 03. Motorbreath - Hetfield wrote this entire song by himself. It's about his life and how he lives it. Good drum solo opening and some thrash guitar work. 04. Jump In The Fire - demonic song, very simple, only 3 guitar riffs and a solo, good lyrics. Not much to say that hasn't already been stated. 05. Anesthesia Pulling Teeth - 4 words, "bass solo, take one" and off he goes. At the 2:28 mark, it picks up a little from the scales and the Lars comes in with a simple drum beat. Real showcase for Cliff to show what he's got. A must-know song for any bassist out there. I've never heard anything like it. 05. Whiplash - back to the norm. Fast guitars. It's about going to a Metallica show, and how crazy it can get. Crazy solo, when I first heard it, I was blown away. 06. Phantom Lord - not quite sure what instrument is used in the intro, but I like it. Fast guitar riff, cool fills. Fun Fact- Phantom Lord was the name of a band James was in during high school. 07. No Remorse - one of the best openings on the album. Amazing riff, amazing solo, amazing song. Metallica's first war song. 08. Seek & Destroy - best song on the album. Bar none. One of Metallica's most famous songs. They play it at ever show as their anthem song. Cool riffs. And there's something they have in this song that I just love. The solo and how they kind of break it down. Kirk solos for 4 seconds, James play 3 chords, and Kirk solos again. I don't know why, but I just love that kind of solo. 09. Metal Militia - fastest riffs on the album, loudest/best screams and one of the best solos all wrapped into one great song. There's a little foot stomping noise at the end that makes it sound like a real army, pretty cool. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: Pacifica112J, on may 19, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Sound: There's no other way I can think to describe this record, than to say that it's absolutely furious. Sure, it lets up in a couple of places, like in Cliff's bass solo, "Anesthesia (Pulling Teeth)", but overall, it's one of the heaviest records I've ever heard. I'll break down the tracks for you: 01. Motorbreath - this song is about living your life fast, and taking risks. It's not one of my favorites, but it's a good song, with a great message. 02. Whiplash - now this is what I'm talkin' about! It starts off deceptively slow, then justs kicks you in the face when James starts up his signature "chugging" rhythm guitar. Like the song's name implies, it's about going to a Metallica show, and banging your head so hard you get whiplash! This is one of my favorite tracks not only on Kill 'Em All, but of all time. 03. Anesthesia (Pulling Teeth) - there isn't much to say here. It's one of Cliff's lead bass solos, that I'm sure any Metallica fan worth his salt will be happy to hear. About halfway through the song, Lars starts up on the drums, which makes this track a lot better. Overall, I'm not much for this track, but it's a great bass solo nonetheless. 04. Hit The Lights - this is the first track Metallica ever recorded. They reference their demo tape "No Life 'Til Leather" in the opening lyrics to the song. It's a pretty good song, but not one of my personal favorites. Anyways, I'm not sure what the song is about. All I know is that they got the idea for the name from a Diamond Head song titled "Shoot The Lights". 05. Jump In The Fire - as far as I can figure out, it's about Satan tempting men to do evil. I may be wrong, but that's wht I gathered from the lyrics. It's a pretty good song, and the main riff sounds radically different from everything else on the album. It's definitely worth a listen. 06. Phantom Lord - now this is where this record starts getting good! Phantom Lord was the name of one of James's previous bands, so that's probably why they titled it the way they did. Anywho, this song is about the power of heavy metal! It talks about how metal sweeps through the land, and dominates everything in it's path! Couldn't agree more, guys! This is one of my favorites. 07. Metal Militia - this is not only my favorite track on this album, but one of my favorite songs of all time! This song is absolutely furious. It opens with a thunderous riff, and never, ever, ever stops throughout the entirety of the song. This song, as it's title implies, is about a metal army. And if you thought it couldn't get any better, James's wailing vocals are incredible. If you only listen to one track on this CD, make it this one! 08. No Remorse - this song is about war, and how only the strong survive. It's a great song, and is definitely a good one to give a listen to. 09. Seek And Destroy - this is another incredible track! The opening riff instantly sticks in your head, and keeps your attention long enough for the song to get good. It's about how if you cross them, Metallica will come find you, and kick your ass. Another one of my personal favorites. 10. The Four Horsemen - one of the best tracks on here! It's an awesome track. It's about the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, and how we'll all die at their hands one day. Metallica have also been known as the Four Horsemen. Another one of my personal favorites. Overall, I could find very little, if any flaws in the sound of this record. It's everything a great thrash record should be, loud, heavy, fast, and angry. James' and Kirks' dual guitar work is great. James's chugging rhythm and wailing, banshee like vocals, paired with Kirk's blazing solos make for a match made in Heaven. Or Hell. Lars's drum work, like always, is absolutely incredible. Other than Sepultura and Testament's drummers, he reigns king. Lars' drum work is something that truly needs to be heard, in order to comprehend what a great metal drummer he is. And last but not least, is Cliff. Cliff is probably one of the greatest metal bsssists of all time. Period. Aside from Steve Harris, of Iron Maiden, no body could even hope to touch Cliff's monstrous fingerstyle bass playing. R.I.P to a metal god, and legend. // 10

Lyrics: What can I say about the lyrics? As always, Metallica's lyrics are second to none. On Kill 'Em All, they're out for blood, and domination, and it's made very clear in their lyrics. The lyrics, coupled with James's partially undeveloped voice, make for a skull crushing ride that won't soon be forgotten. // 10

Overall Impression: If you're a fan of thrash, or just heavy metal in general, you have no excuse not to give this one a try. It's everything a great metal album should be, and more. In conclusion, if you ever need a record that will scare old people and small children, then give Kill 'Em All a try. Well, what the hell are you wainting for? Go find a copy of it, now! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.7
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: my creators, on december 03, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound in this album isn't quite as good as with other albums Metallica has brought out probavly beause of their in experience. It does though sound a lot of like Ride the Lightning their second album, having a very fat sound to it in some songs but with others like motorbreath it sounds like Motorheads unique sound. // 8

Lyrics: In overall James Hetfields voice hasn't developed all that well at this stage in Metallica's career. The screaming was happen most of the time near the end of the song. He definitely isn't the best singer of all time but it is an original style trying to compromise screaming with actual singing. Metal Militia is to do with some kind unstoppable army, Jump In the Fire is about people from the devil's prospective, No remorse is about just that. Not looking back, Anesthesis (Pulling Teeth) is base solo by Cliff Burton with no lyrics, Whiplash is to do with headbanging, Four Horseman is about the apocalypes and the world blowng up, Seek and Destroy my personal favourite is about going around fighting people for the sake of it, Hit the Lights is about going for it and just doing something, Phantom Lord is about some kind of monster (no pun intended) and Jump in the fire is about pretty much the same thing to Hit The Ligthts. // 6

Overall Impression: I love in tis album the use of the alternate picking techniques used for songs like whiplash, Metal Militia and Hit The Lights but though they sound a lot like each other. The album does need to be listened too quite a few times to get used to the fast riffs and overall scope of it even with metal fans. I don't like the use of the same scale for almost every solo in the album and the continuous use of solos instead of riffs. The best songs would be Seek and Destroy being a fan favourite, Jump in the fire with relatively slow tempo and Metal Militia as being one of the fastest songs Metallica have recorded. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 6.7
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: PcaKes, on january 12, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: This album is truly the start of thrash metal. There are heavy, speedy guitar riffs, powerful drum beats and ominous bass. This was a giant leap forward in the metal genre and this album (among other Metallica classics) has paved the way for many of todays metal bands such as Trivium and Slipknot. The tone is almost exactly the same for almost every track and even though the songs are high in quality you may find yourself thinking that they sound repetitive. There are ten tracks on this album and the only one that is noticeably different is the bass solo "(Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth". There are some exceptions in the songs were Metallica does throw some different sounds in. This only happens in the guitar solos however (which left me air-guitaring my heart out). In the whole album, I found that the songs that I couldn't wait to be over with were the longest and the better ones didn't last long enough. // 7

Lyrics: The lyrics are nothing to write home about. They give off a very angry impression, but not in the way that St. Anger sounds. It's indescribable the way they are written. It's as though the band members just sat around and completely exhausted their ideas on the first few songs that they wrote. However, no Metallica fan became a Metallica fan for the lyrics so this probably isn't a new concept to anyone. Nothing is sung but nor is anything screamed in a death metal sense. Sometimes you have to listen to the track several times before you truly know what Hetfield is trying to say ("Metal Militia" comes to mind). The lyrics in this album come no where near masterpieces such as "... And Justice For All" or songs like "Nothing Else Matters". If lyrics are a big part of your preferences then this may not be the album for you. // 5

Overall Impression: There is no doubt that Metallica has had a maaaaaaajor influence on todays metal music scene. Although this is Metallica's first album and a milestone in music, it isn't for everybody. If you're a fan of "Death Magnetic" or the black album (which I refuse to cal "Metallica") then this isn't the album for you. If you enjoy "Master of Puppets" then run out and pick this up as soon as possible if you don't already have it. There are songs that every fan should enjoy however. Such as "Seek and Destroy" or the bass solo "(Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth". The Lyrics are sometimes below pare but not to the point that it effects your listening experience. What really bites me is the repetition. You WILL be skipping tracks to get to your favorite songs, no matter what you start of thinking. I love the solos and the thoughts that come to mind when you realize that your listening to a piece of history. If I lost this album I probably wouldn't buy it again, but that's not to say that it's not worth buying at all. I can't stress enough how amazing some of these songs are. The only problem is that you're probably better of downloading select tracks from itunes. Bottom line: if you consider yourself to be a Metallica fan, you owe it to yourself to pick up this album and at least give it a try. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: Mad Mike 829, on january 28, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: For a cd recorded in the early eighties the sound quality is not as bad as other cds from that era. Its definatly easy to hear the bay area thrashy sound in most of the tracks. 01.Hit the Lights: perfect way to open the album. Fast, agresssive and heavy. great way to catch and keep attention. 02.The Four Horsemen: one of the best song on the cd in my opinion. Insane riffs and awesum lyrics. DEfinatly a great song for a single. 10/10 03.Motorbreath: one of my personal favs. Talks about living life fast and taking risks. 04.Jump in the Fire: really, really good song, but not good enough to be a single. But overal great song. 05.(Anesthesia)- Pulling Teeth: perfect example of why Cliff Burton was one of the all time greatest bass players to ever live. RIP. 06.Whiplash: another great song off this cd. Very fast and very easy to headbang to. 07.Phantom Lord: another very fast and agressive song. Useually on other cds this is were the ballad would be. But thats why this cd is so great because there is no ballad, just all fast all the time. 08.No Remorse: once again another awesum song. Fast and very heavy, pretty much like the enitire cd. 09.Seek and Destroy: if any song on this cd were to be a single, this is the one. very catchy intro riff thats sticks in you mind and makes you come back for more. By far the greatest song on this cd. 10.Metal Militia: perfect way to end the cd. A fast song thats leaves the listener begging for more. // 10

Lyrics: Its easy to tell that this is a very young James Hetfeild and that this iss an early eighties album. Mostly screaming but that's what makes this CD stand out, no one has a voice and can sing as fast as he can. The lyrics are beyond awesum. Most every song has a story behind it, either something that happened to them or an event (like the apacolypse). // 10

Overall Impression: For a CD produced in '83 the sound quality is great. Although Jame's voice doesnt't reach it's perfection intil Master of Puppets (in my opinion) his voice goes with the rest of the cd. Fast, agressive, and heavy. If it were lost or stolen I would get another one imediatly. My favorite CD in my collection. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
Kill 'Em All Reviewed by: mqsand2112, on november 20, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: This album is very unique, mainly becuase of Dave Mustaine. His presence in th band, though very short, was what made this album so "different" in terms of sound and playing style compared to some of the other albums by Metallica. I personally believe that this album is one of Metallica's best. Mainly because it is so raw, James is a lot younger here so you see a little bit more passion and spirit. A lot more of this punk, metal attitude. Thus far in Metallica's career most of the songs consisted of heavy riffage but simple, speedy solos, and no funky transitions. They keep it simple, but with that simplicity comes well composed numbers with a good, solid rythym. Soundwise this album was really metal, but there is a certain lack of variety in the album as well. Best songsoundwise is Hit The Lights. // 8

Lyrics: Lyrics are fairly standard, somewhat simple, but that is not a big factor in this album, its the delivery that counts. James Hetfield makes the lyrics work, the wat he delivers the lyrics is so potent. Pure metal, that is how the singing sounds. Not like death meatal or black metal. No, this is just plain, raw metal! The lyrics aren't profound in this album either, but they don't have to be. The lyrics deliver a simple but powerful message in each song. Again kudos to James Hetfield here, this album wouldn't be nearly as good w/out him. Best Song lyrically is The Four Horsemen. // 8

Overall Impression: To me this is the album that started it all for Metallica, getting an album out that really states what they are about. It really is a little different, specifically becuase of Dave Mustaine and the fact that Metallica had not yet established a certain style at the time, so it was really just kind of seeing what works and what doesn't. I definitley prefer this album over the new Death Magnetic, which in my opinoin was a direction Metallica should not have gone. Kill Em All is not Metallica's best album but it is a very good compilation in general. Best song on the album is Seek and Destroy. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Metallica reviews rating latest review
+ King Nothing [Single] 9.4 05/26/2014
+ Hero Of The Day [Single] 6.9 05/14/2014
+ Reload 7.8 04/14/2014
+ Metallica: Through The Never (Music From The Motion Picture) 7.4 09/26/2013
+ Death Magnetic 8.5 09/24/2012
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect