Reload Review

artist: metallica date: 04/14/2014 category: compact discs
metallica: Reload
Released: Nov 18, 1997
Genre: Rock
Styles: Hard Rock, Heavy Metal
Number Of Track: 13
"Reload" is the seventh studio album by American heavy metal band Metallica. The album is a follow-up to "Load," released the previous year.
 Sound: 7.9
 Lyrics: 8.4
 Overall Impression: 8.4
 Overall rating:
 7.8 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.2 
 Users rating:
 7.4 
 Votes:
 183 
reviews (16) 44 comments vote for this album:
overall: 9.3
Reload Reviewed by: unregistered, on october 25, 2005
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Sound: Originally planned to be a double album (combined with 1996's "Load"), Reload continues where its predecessor left off. The overall quality of the sound is fully captured here more than it was on any other album, excluding Puppets. Who else but Metallica could make songs in Eb sound so bone crunchingly heavy? The heaviness and melody of Hetfield and Hammett is at its best, and the majority of the main and bridge riffs featured on Reload (Fuel, Prince Charming, Fixxxer are awesome examples) kick serious ass. However, while they fit right along with the E pedal, some of Hammett's solos seemed repititious and lacked the creativity he displayed on Metallica's earlier efforts. // 9

Lyrics: The lyrical content of Reload is superb. Hetfield, Ulrich, and Hammett have put together some amazing songs over the years, but they definately out-do themselves here. The lyrics fit the music perfectly, (no disrythmia here, perfect harmonies). When I first heard the close of Unforgiven II, I got chills. Still to this day, after hearing that song hundreds of times, I still get goosebumps. Other songs on the album have much deeper and darker meaning than the older subject matter found on previous Metallica albums of drugs, capital punishment, and even an Ernest Hemingway novel (For Whom The Bell Tolls). Overall, the feeling Hetfield puts into his singing on this album is much better than before, and the passion he has for what he is singing really helps to drive the songs' meanings home. // 10

Overall Impression: For Metallica, the '90s ushered in change: new views, new group cohesiveness, and new true Metallica f--ing attitude. Some say this was Metallica's downfall, and that they'd sold out, but in truth, Metallica sold out with 1991's Black Album, they just new how to make it work and put on awesome live shows that led their fans to say "maybe it is time for some small changes." All of the songs are impressive, but the ones that stand out for overall composure are Prince Charming and Fixxxer, both of which never got enough credit. I loved the sound on the album, and I absolutely shiver from the lyrics. My only complaint of the album was the slower tempo. A few of the songs came close to 150bpm, two went over 200, but the rest seemed to be more "bang your head against the wall slowly to really feel the pain" instead of "in your face, f--k it all and no regrets, bang your head against the stage like you never did before" like Metallica had done in the past. Nonetheless, Metallica put together an awesome album (I'm glad they didn't do a double because it would've killed the individuality of the songs). I have lost this album twice, so that means that I have bought it three times, and have loved it just as much today, if not more, than when I first heard the words "Gimme fuel, gimme fire, gimme that which I desire, oooh!" // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Reload Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 12, 2004
3 of 8 people found this review helpful

Sound: The music on this album is badass. Despite the fact that James and Kirk used some riffs quite frequently, this album still sounds very cool. I love all the heavy music and solos. This is definitely one of Metallica's best albums, if not the best Metallica album. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are creative and thought-provoking. Sometimes, the lyrics to some songs may even be soothing, which is kind of different for Metallica, but nothing ventured nothing gained. In the long run, Metallica gains a 5 from me on the lyrics. Good work, James. // 10

Overall Impression: This is my favorite Metallica album. The best songs are Fuel, Fixxxer, Low Man's Lyric, Prince Charming, Unforgiven II, Where The Wild Things Are, Slither, and The Memory Remains, so yeah, about half the album. There is not a one thing I dislike about it. The music, the solos, the lyrics, everything is cool here. I've only become interested in Metallica in the last year, and occasionally, I wonder why I didn't discover them earlier. Haha, I still remember the exact date I bought this CD. I remember I listened to it twice all the way through. That's how cool it is. I would be supremely disappointed if I lost it or if it were stolen from me. Should this unfortunate event happen to you, go out and buy another copy. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Reload Reviewed by: metOLIca, on april 21, 2004
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

Sound: Master of Puppets is Metallica's best and most famous album, it involves the genius songs from Battery, Sanatarium, Leper Messiah, and the album title Master Of Puppets, this album is almost perfect, its only downfall is the recording quality...this has nothing to do with James, Kirk, Lars and Jason's playing, just the lack of recording quality in the 80's, although it was better than that of the incredably disapointing quality in the their most recent album St. Anger...oh well besides the point Master of Puppets is a F**CKING AMAZING album its just the lack of good quality recording of the bass. // 8

Lyrics: As we all know James is a Lyrical god, and Master of Puppets Did not disappoint, I mean who can forget "Master of Puppets are pulling your strings"...and I think this has to be the best James sings on any album... he goes for the deep voiced sailor in St. Anger (still a f**cking kick ass album)... and in Kill 'Em All... well his balls hadn't quite dropped yet and he sounded like a small child... once again still a genius piece of work... going back to master of puppets, James did what Metallica is famous for Loud guitars and heavy yet meaning full lyrics. Nice f**king work James. // 10

Overall Impression: Master Of Puppets beats any album on the face of this or any other planet, every song is full of Loud Riffs, soft sentimental bridges, Genius Solos (Kirk did not disappoint once again), and head banging lyrics that will always get any crowd excited at any consert... Master...Master...Metallica you're f**cking Genius. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
Reload Reviewed by: Gopher636, on april 30, 2005
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound is good. I'm sure youve heard fuel before (the album's opener), and well, it just sounds good. It has nothing on the old 'Tallica albums (but hey, what does? ), but it's not a bad CD. This was the first 'Tallica CD I got, so I am kinda biased, but I don't think it's bad at all. 01. Fuel - good song, catchy riffs. 02. Memory Remains - good song except for the end. 03. Devil's Dance - good song. I like the bass intro. 04. Unforgiven 2 - heavier and slower then the first; not bad. 05. Better Then You - just f--k this song. The worst Metallica song ever. 06. Slither - good riffs, pretty good song. 07. Carpe Deim Baby - OK. 08. Bad Seed - I like it, especially the bridge. 09. Where The Wild Things Are - my fave on the album. Very good. 10. Prince Charming - close second fave. Cool riffs. 11. Low Man's Lyic - never really listened to it. 12. Attitude - 3rd fave. Cool intro solo-thingy. 13. Fixxxer - one of 'Tallica's Best songs. Easily pwns this album, but I think it's just as good as Where The Wild Things Are. // 8

Lyrics: Lyrics? Well, James has evolved from singin about violence and war (sadly), so the lyrics are deep and have some meaning. Fuel I guess is like about adrenaline rushes in a show or somethin. I haven't really bothered figurin out much else. Oh yeah, Fixxxer is about voodoo. That's all I can decipher. But the lyrics go good with the music, which is what matters. // 8

Overall Impression: I lost this album awhile ago, and lost it. So I rebaught it, and I still listen to it occasionally, mostly 'cause of Fixxer/Wild Things. I hate people sayin' that this album sucked: 1) they can't do better, 2) notihng compares to old-skool 'Tallica, so this obviously doesn't, and people rip it for that. Overall, its a good album, I'd give it 4.5, but I give it a 4, 'cause it's not excellent, but it's good. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Reload Reviewed by: unregistered, on july 27, 2005
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: A lot of people gave Metallica shit for this album, honestly though I think this is hard rock at its best! The dual guitar riffs have never sounded so awesome as in "Carpe Diem baby" and "Better Than You," James and Kirk are probably the best guitar team out their. It's pretty well produced and everything sounds rather clean and clear, drumming and bass were also excellent. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics were pretty cool, the Unforgiven 2 was probably the most poetic of their stuff in there. Fuel was pretty kick ass as well the lyrics on Prince charming. Hetfield's voice is nothing short of excellent, no one else sings the way he does. // 10

Overall Impression: Overall it's not their best album, I preffered Master Of Puppets, now that was a metal album. This album was good however, clean clear ditorted hard rock all through out the album. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.7
Reload Reviewed by: METSOAD, on april 15, 2006
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: People slate this album and rightly so, it is by far Metallica's worst album by a very long distance. The only problem is that still makes it a very good record. The soloing is spectacular as is most o the singing buit like "...And Justice For All." The bass is manily not there other than "Devils Dance." It is a mix of glorious metal and crappy alternate rock (btw, alternate rock rules as much as metal). // 8

Lyrics: The lyrics split into about 3 catergoires. The good (Unforgiven 2, Devils Dance, Carpe Diem Baby, Memory Remains, Fixxer, Where The Wild Things Are, Low Mans Lyric), The bad (Better Than You, Slither, Bad Seed) and the ugly (Fuel, Attitude, Prince Charming). The vocals are generally good and fit the songs very well. // 9

Overall Impression: It is a bad Metallica album but many bands would be happy with an album of this quality, it has hugle guitar solos and monster riffs and the odd lyrical gem to boot. But these are let down by songs like Fuel, Slither and Attitude. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Reload Reviewed by: dscguitar, on october 27, 2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: This album has caught a lot of flack. I have heard it called the beginning of Metallica's downfall. But I, Personally, like it. It doesn't have as much of the melodic undertones that their previous albums boasted. It has a more unrefined and ballsy attack. Yet, the intricate riffs and well thought out lines are still there. Songs like "The Unforgiven II" and "Low Man's Lyric" still display Metallica's softer, more poignant and mellower side. // 8

Lyrics: The lyrics aren't as subversive as other albums. They are more straightforward. Yet they are still very thought-provoking. They take on a darker tone and feel, but I very rarely listen to reLOAD without having to consciously stop bobbing my head. James Hetfield, as always, explores every aspect of his skills as a lyricist and vocalist. // 10

Overall Impression: Like I said, this album is very different from any other Metallica recording. My favorite songs are "The Memory Remains", "Devil's Dance", "The Unforgiven II", "Where the Wild Things Are" and "Low Man's Lyric". If reLOAD were lost or stolen, I wouldn't hesitate to replace it. It is definitly worth buying. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
Reload Reviewed by: PsychoWolfD, on june 08, 2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: As with Load, this album had a southern-rock twist that doesn't really get my attention. There are 7 out of 13 songs I like from Reload. Those tracks sound really good in the S&M live album. // 8

Lyrics: Here are my favorites: 1. "Fuel" is about fuelpower for fast powerful cars n' stuff. (Hetfield/Ulrich/Hammett), 4:29 2. "The Memory Remains". I don't understand the lyrics but they are cool. Marianne Faithfull contributes some female vox in parts of this song, like the ending. (Hetfield/Ulrich), 4:39 3. "Devil's Dance" is very cool and its NOT DEVIL-WORSHIPPING, by the way. Listen to the S&M version of this song. (Hetfield/Ulrich), 5:18 4. "The Unforgiven II". Remember "The Unforgiven" from the black album? Here's its sequel, sort of. Both "Unforgiven"s are great, and this one's somewhat livelier. "Never Free, Never Me, So are you Unforgiven, too?" (Hetfield/Ulrich/Hammett), 6:36 9. "Where The Wild Things Are" is something about "toy soldiers off to war". I like the riffs to this song. (Hetfield/Ulrich/Newsted), 6:52 11. "Low Man's Lyric" is about a homeless person. Features violin. Check out this song. (Hetfield/Ulrich), 7:36 13. "Fixxxer" is a song about voodoo. Very catchy riffs. (Hetfield/Ulrich/Hammett), 8:15 // 8

Overall Impression: It's an ok album. Those tracks are the ones worth being paid attention anyway. Yeah, buy it again if you want to, if it gets stolen or broken. This was probably a better album than Load, I guess. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.3
Reload Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 24, 2005
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound of this album is not too much different from Load, more alternative and southern rock based. Very different than what came in the Black Album, basically in the opposite direction. The songs for this album are the songs that didnt fit on Load. Overall the sound is ok, definitley better than Load but worse than everything prior to that. // 6

Lyrics: The lyrics are pretty good, not as deep as they were before in other albums. Some of the songs are good others, not so much. There are only three really good songs they are Fuel, Devil's Dance, and Bad Seed. The other songs are ok but not as good as the these. None of the songs match up to the earlier hits like Master Of Puppets, and Enter Sandman. // 8

Overall Impression: This not the album I expected from Metallica but It is definitley worth a listen and if you want to buy it go to best buy, they have cheaper prices. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Reload Reviewed by: unregistered, on october 24, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound was much more refined as a rock band, but not as a metal band. James worked much harder, as heard on the previous two albums, on the lyrical potency and melody. The guitar work was, as usual, Metallica grade, but not as intense as others before. The deffinate highlites of the album are Memory Remains, Devils' Dance, Fuel, Fixxxer, Unforgiven II, and Badseed. A well thought out and refined rock album. However, the sound could have been a little more agressive in some parts, but hey, the older you get, the less you tend to say "F--k you!" I give the album a 9 for refinement, intensity, and skill. Still a rocker, you need this rock album. // 9

Lyrics: Again, Het put more work than usual into the lyrics, and put a fine toothed comb to the clarity (something lost on their first couple of albums). Made the mood perfect in Fixxxer and Lowman's Lyric. I like the somber tone of Lowman's Lyric and really appreciate the views in Memory Remains. Good job Het. I give it a 9 for lacking intensity at times also. // 9

Overall Impression: This was the first CD I ever bought and still listen to it often, even after about seven years. The most impressive song, barnone, is Fixxxer. What an angry feeling riff, and the intro was more creative than almost anything I've ever heard before. Love it, man. Again, it lacks intensity, and could never hold a candle to the orchestration of Justice, the power of Puppets, the deadly insite of Ride the Lightning, or the intensity of Kill 'Em All, but hey, you've gotta grow up some time. I give it a 10 though because of the experimentation and hard work put into it. It has been stolen before and I buy it every time it is. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.7
Reload Reviewed by: unregistered, on october 24, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: This was the first Metallica CD I bought, and I got it when I was more into softer and more melodic stuff, so I appreciated this album much much more then than I do now. Don't get me wrong, this is great piece of work, but the more I listen to Master Of Puppets, the more I want another Master Of Puppets. But I do give Metallica plenty of credit for the experimentation. They lose points because a lot of the music and solos sound too much alike. // 8

Lyrics: The lyrics a written pretty well and go with the music well. Like I said in the last part, I would really like another Master of Puppets, but I'll give them credit for the work on this album. // 9

Overall Impression: Overall, this is a great CD. There aren't really any songs on this one that I don't like, but the ones that stick out the most are Fuel, Devil's Dance, Unforgiven II, Better Than You, Carpe Diem Baby, Where The Wild Things Are, Prince Charming, Low Man's Lyric, and Fixxxer. Whether it's the speed and and rage of Fuel or Prince Charming or the mellow, creepy nature of Where The Wild Things Are, this album pretty much hits home. They lose points because, as I said in the previous sections, I'd really like them to do some heavier and faster stuff sometime soon. Nevertheless, this is still a quality album. I'd definitely buy it again. Metallica forever! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 6.7
Reload Reviewed by: nirvana4lf, on october 25, 2005
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: Metallica is an amazing band with amazing music that went a little bit downhill from the self-titled, aka the Black Album, but not as much as people make it out to be. Reload is a pretty good album, although it's more of a hard rock sort of album than a true thrash metal CD, which can be disappointing, but the music is still great. As good the music is, it's still nothing very innovative, Metallica hasn't really been innovative since the self title, but it's still good music. // 7

Lyrics: The lyrics also went download after the self-titled. There is one line that I really liked, the famous opening lines of fule: "Give me fuel, give me fire give me that which I desire," that's a well written line. But then the other part of the song: "Oh, on I burn/Fuel is pumping engines/Burning hard/Loose and clean," that part's kinda lame. For James Hetfield, hes still a good singer. I always like how he sings. // 6

Overall Impression: If you compare it to other Metallica CDs, it's on the lower side, because the first great 4 (as I love referring to them as) and the self-titled are way better than this album. But this album is better than its prequal, Load. The music overall is not that special for Metallica, but if it was some other hard rock band playing this, it would be cooler. One weird thing was in The Memory Remains, the singing in that part where it goes "la da da la da da" or something, it's kinda weird and the fact they made The Unforgiven II is a dumb idea. Even though I mosly criticized Reload, it's still a pretty tight album because it has some cool rocky riffs that are fun to listen to, especially on Fuel. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Reload Reviewed by: boyan89, on july 20, 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound on this album is incredible. Sure Metallica tried to do something new but whatever this new thing was it was pretty cool. The guitars on this album are amazing, Kirk and James playing on the guitar is just incredible and the solos are just flabbergasting in songs such as Fuel, Devil's Dance, The Memory Remains, Fixxxer, Prince Charming, Attitude and The Unforgiven II. The drums on this album are just really good on this album sure they dont have the classic Metallica feeling but which new album does. The bass on this album is pretty astonishing especially in the songs Devil's Dance which has one of the most amazing bass lines I have ever heard. // 10

Lyrics: Well the lyrics have gotten a bit more mature. I really like James's voice on this album its just sounds really good. The lyrics on this album are like about Adrealine Rushes (Fuel), sons about great forgotten celebrities (The Memory Remains), The Unforgiven II is about forgiving no one and ending up alone. Where The Wild Things are descibes a child soldier's feelings, Low Man's Lyric is describing a drug addicted homeless person, and Fixxxer is about the voodooo. So you can see how Metallica have gotten a bit more mature in writing lyrics. // 10

Overall Impression: This album cannot compare to any other albums because Metallica made their own hard rock sound. I dont have a favourite song all of them kick ass. I love everything about it and hate nothing because this album just rules. If it were stolen/lost I would defenitely buy it again because it is a must-have album. I would recommend this album to any hard rock fans, Metallica fans and just anyone that would like to try Metallica and see what they are like. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Reload Reviewed by: unregistered, on july 01, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: This was my fourth metallica album, and after listening to MOP, RTL, and KEA, I just wasn't a fan. I pretty much ignored this CD for a few months. I felt it wasn't the thrash that put the metal in metallica, so initially I felt that ReLoad was a huge disappointment. Since metallica was my favorite band (still is), I thought I would just bear with the CD for a couple weeks and listen to it to try and appreciate and respect it at least. Once I did that I found amazing elements in Reload which make it my favortie metallica CD to date. First of all, the sound of the guitars. You can easily tell kirk hammetts influence on jimi hendrix really come out. The rythym guitar is like a fusion of jazz and metal, maybe blues as well. Kirks solos are amazing. They might not be the most technically strenuous lead he has played, but it is really easy to tell he is trying to do something different, trying to be more soulful and meaningful in his solos, and he soars. And lastly, Hetfields voices crush his previous cd's efforts that used to be so aggressive, and in your face (which still is a good thing). But now his voice has matured into a deep soulful voice. With these elements combined and understanding that metallica is not a static band, but a dynamic band who has the ability to change styles and soars very well in them. The sound has definitely changed from their previous efforts, and I respect the change to a more deeper, meaningful, and mature metallica. // 9

Lyrics: Metallica lyrics cover a whole gamut of issues and emotions. They have softer songs like low man's lyrics and unforgiven 2 that tell stories about tragedy of the unfortunate in peoples lives. They also have the typical aggressive, in your face songs like attitude, fuel, and prince charming. The lyrics aren't anything special that influence me or wow me, but at the same time they do limit the swearing, which I do prefer. But the lyrics fit well with each and every song. Their song writing on every level on this CD is almost impeccable. I don't know how they could have made these songs better, and thank goodness the lyrics fit in just fine. Hetfield pulls all of the lyrics with his singing beautifully. I don't know how to explain, I just recommend sitting in your room with the speakers up and listening to fixxxer, carpe diem baby, and unforgiven 2. You will see what I mean by his voice being top-notch. // 9

Overall Impression: Reload is a great album if you choose to appreciate it. A lot of people ay it sucks because it's not a typical metallica album such as KEA, MOP, RTL and ever AJFA. But if you are a musician and understand that musicians need to be dynamic with their music, that they need change, or even that sometimes they need to go to their roots, you would understand that this album is great. I define this album as a mature metallica. Hetfeids voice is deeper and more rich, while kirks solos are more soulful and bluesy. If you accept the change in this album you will find none like it and will thank metallica for not doing another MOP. Who wants another MOP? Not me, because each metallica album is greatly different than the other not only making each albummore creative and enjoyable to the ear, but it makes each album more special for being it's own album and not sounding like another. Honestly give this album a try, try to be an educated listener and understand the dynamic and maturing metallica. I don't know any other band who can go from crazy awesome thrash, to an album like Reload. If you do get the album check out, The Memory Remains, Unforgiven 2, Carpe Diem Baby, Bad Seed, and Fixxxer. I've already bought this album twice and would buy it again. Any true metallica fan should own this and at least appreciate it's depth. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 3
Reload Reviewed by: Rattlehead666, on november 14, 2005
0 of 6 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is follow-up to Load. I have to say if you think the first album which not many people liked which is known as Load, would you buy an album named Reload? It sounds like Load only worst. The only songs that I actually could stand listening to are Devil's Dance, Unforgiven II, and Better Than You. Like why did they change their look too. I think they could of have made an album 1,000,000 times better than Load but no they put out Reload. Then the thing with Lars and Napster kinda pissed off the fans a little to. // 3

Lyrics: All you hear when you play the album is "Give me fuel, give me fire, give me that much I desire" I though that was lame. Then another song called Prince Charming or something like that saying "Hey ma, hey ma look it's me" I though that was lame also. James Hetfield was a cool vocalist but then he ruined that too. // 4

Overall Impression: This album is just as bad as Load. There are not any impressive songs on the album. If you noticed the artwork is very similar to Load and the disc picture is almost the same. I don't like anything about this album. If I lost this I wouldn't care. // 2

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 4.7
Reload Reviewed by: benthegrunge, on april 14, 2014
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: The running time is easily half an hour too much. Every track follows a similar format - a slowish, doomy sound with wah-wah drenched blues overtones - barring "Low Man's Lyric," which I'd call the hidden gem, though the listener is comfortably asleep by this point. "The Unforgiven 2," although one of the more memorable tracks of this album, is dwarfed by the original and adds nothing worthwhile. I've heard a lot of people defend Metallica's late albums by saying that they at least have the courage to change direction. This might be true and there is definitely a dark, foreboding mood about Reload, which I normally like, most of these songs would be fine as background noise but you wouldn't return to them year after year or really sit down and get taken away to the same level as their older releases. The most interesting parts are some of the intros to songs where Metallica use reverberant guitar scrapes and unusual, spacey sounds. But these are basically novelty moments on the record, ideas that aren't expanded on and are too soon replaced by predictable chugging, or at best the jackhammer style of "Devil's Dance" and "Bad Seed." The first two tracks and "Low Man's Lyric" are definitely my favourites but none would challenge the band's greatest work. // 5

Lyrics: The lyrics are often mismatched soundbites with no narrative. Sound bites is perhaps generous since other than "Fuel" they don't stick in the mind. This is perhaps the album's biggest failing, as the uniformity of Metallica's riffs is arguably nothing new and could be overlooked if Reload boasted the melodies and anthemic qualities of the black album. Even "Load" had more memorable tracks due to this reason. Hetfield's vocals have become blighted by his trademark guttural barks, too often he feels like a self-parody. He would benefit from double tracking also. // 5

Overall Impression: The nineties saw Metallica reinvent themselves from being the holy grail of thrash to a second rate stoner metal band. This is the sound they've adopted by the time of "Reload," the culmination of their experiment in watering down which was perhaps successful with the black album but no further. Because they are Metallica, a lot of people will give the newer albums more analysis than they merit, but you have to ask, if the Metallica label was ripped off this product and you held it up against similar sounding records, would it be a strong record of its kind? No. My verdict is forget "Reload" and buy something by Kyuss, since there are plenty other bands who do this same sound but better. // 4

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Metallica reviews rating latest review
+ King Nothing [Single] 9.5 05/26/2014
+ Hero Of The Day [Single] 6.9 05/14/2014
+ Metallica: Through The Never (Music From The Motion Picture) 7.4 09/26/2013
+ Death Magnetic 8.5 09/24/2012
+ St. Anger 6.2 07/30/2012
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect