Dr. Feelgood Review

artist: motley crue date: 01/19/2009 category: compact discs
motley crue: Dr. Feelgood
Released: Sep 1989
Genre: Rock
Tones: Reckless, Thuggish, Rowdy, Confident, Boisterous
Styles: Hard Rock, Heavy Metal, Hair Metal, Pop-Metal
Number Of Tracks: 15
 Sound: 8.6
 Lyrics: 8.8
 Overall Impression: 9.2
 Overall rating:
 9.2 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.9 
 Users rating:
 9.5 
 Votes:
 27 
reviews (5) 5 comments vote for this album:
overall: 8.7
Dr. Feelgood Reviewed by: munkych33z, on january 19, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Well, I love motley crue. And I love every one of their songs. they're one of the only bands that I can listen to every song strait through and not skip the track. this is probabaly my favorite album. On this album you can really hear the effort put into it, and it was the first one to have the instruments recorded seperately. It's sounds more clear, like, you can understand it way more. There is lots of bass on the album, and lots of screaming guitar. mick, nikki, tommy, and vince do a great job on this one. And also this album has a lot of hits on it, like "dr.feelgood", "kickstart my heart", "without you", "same old situation","she goes down". I just love it. // 9

Lyrics: The lyrics are great, and on most of the album, it tells a story of jimmy, a drug dealer who gets famous selling drugs in hollywood. Nikki wrote the lyrics about one of his drug dealers. The lyrics go great with the lyrics. vince sings them perfectly. Vince is really good at singing really high notes for really long times. he's really good. // 8

Overall Impression: well, motley crue ruled the 80s, and the early 90s. I love everything about it, nikki's bass lines, micks guitar riffs, tommys drum beats, and vinces right on vocals. if it was stolen or lost, I'd buy it again. it's awesome. I've already said the most impressive songs. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Dr. Feelgood Reviewed by: slash is a guit, on march 16, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The Crue really have their own style with heavy drum beats and huge sounding choruses and noone can copy them it can only be them. They really set themselves aside from the other "hair metal" bands of the 80s and it shows here how on top they got after they getting sober their sound is raw despite being produced by Bob Rock they sound as dirty and aggressive as they did on "Shout At The Devil" and Mick Mars guitar sounds awesome with his shred blues style(check out the talk box use on "Kickstart My Heart"). // 8

Lyrics: THe lyrics are great they make sense and they often have deeper meanings that become obvious as you listen Nikki Sixx is on top form as a lyricist but the best tracks come with help from Guitarist Mick Mars (title track Dr. Feelgood is brilliant). Vince Neil stays on top form as a singer managing to have power in his voice yet hit ever note perfectly. // 10

Overall Impression: This is through very close call the best of the Mtley albums (followed closely by "Girls, Girls, Girls" and "Shout At The Devil") The best songs are easily "Kickstart My Heart" and "Dr. Feelgood" its one of the few albums I listen to all the way through regularly with only one track below average ("Without You" a crap power ballad that Motley did better on "Theatre Of Pain" with "Home Sweet Home")It's a really special album and often forgotten since the Cre have been gone and metal has died out but it amazing and well worth any price. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.3
Dr. Feelgood Reviewed by: canucksrule, on february 10, 2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: I've never really been a big fan of metal. However, Motley Crue seems to come somewhere in between what I'd class as metal and Guns N' Roses, i. e. glam rock/hair metal. I love it. Well at least I love the singles. The singles on this album, "Dr. Feelgood," "Kickstart My Heart," "Without You" and "Same Old Situation" absolutely rock. There are a few other good songs as well. I don't like how they put the original versions of a few songs on, like "Dr. Feelgood," "Kickstart my Heart" and "Without You" as most of these versions were terrible. The guitars are fantastic pretty much throughout, and I love the drum work and the bass lines of Nikki Sixx. However, some of the songs just do not appeal to me. // 8

Lyrics: There is one thing about this area of the album: though I like Vince Neil's voice at times, he is in no way talented in my opinion. Sure he can screech, but Axl Rose was 100x better than him. That being said, I don't think some of the lyrics in meaning are all the great, but Neil does sing them well enough to go with the song. If I could give this a 3.5, I would. // 6

Overall Impression: This album is pretty distinctive. They are a lot better than any of the other hair metal bands, and this was their greatest effort. As mentioned before, "Dr. Feelgood," "Kickstart My Heart," "Without You" and "Same Old Situation" light it up on the album. Definately a must have if you love great guitar work, but heavier than classic rock. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Dr. Feelgood Reviewed by: razor_rokz, on february 10, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound and music of band is just the best ever! All the songs in this album were great, this was Mick's favorite album as stated in "The Dirt." Mick is great with his blues/heavy metal. This is still one of the best albums their ever was. These guys did a great job on making these songs! // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics were great, Vince Neil has an awesome voice! The lyrics fit with the music and it talks about real life stuff. I love the song with Steven Tyler in it, that is just a great song, you know Slice Of your Pie and the lead for that song is just blast to play! // 10

Overall Impression: This album is one of the greats for me and it will always be apart of '80s music! All the songs on this album rule, I can't pick a favorite, cause it's just that good. I love everything about it, there is nothing that I hate about it! I would definetly buy it again, if someone stole it, they would definetly be in some real trouble! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Dr. Feelgood Reviewed by: ElThomas, on august 08, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound is very '80s. High-pitched singing, gnarly guitar solos, unforgettable bass lines, and some kick ass drumming. My favorite part of the whole album is the zipper sound followed by the girl's laughter at the beginning of "She Goes Down" just because whenever my girlfriend hears the zipper, she laughs exactly like the chick in the song. Despite the typical '80s-ness, the Crue pulled off some really good riffs and fills. // 8

Lyrics: The lyrics are very plainly about sex, drugs, and rock and roll. You don't have to look very far beyond the titles to figure that out too. The lyrics are provocative and, as a group of people in the '70s said about the song "Louis Louis", pornographic. Most of the songs, such as "Hell on High Heels", "She Goes Down", "Sticky Sweet", and "Slice of Your Pie" (note the repetition of the letter "s"), deal with hookers and crazy sex, just like many other 80s songs. "Dr. Feelgood" (the song) is about a drug dealer. While "T'nT (Terror 'n Tinsletown)", "Don't Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)", and others deal with plain ole rockin out and bein a rockstar. // 10

Overall Impression: In general, this is a classic rock and roll album. Some people might think it's just another run-of-the-mill 80s hair metal album, but it totally trumps anything in that era. I think the only better 80s metal album is AC/DC's Back in Black album from back in 1980. Everything else is subordinate to Motley Crue's provocative 89 record "Dr. Feelgood". Definitely back it up on your computer or iTunes or something because you always wanna have this album. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Motley Crue reviews rating latest review
+ Too Fast For Love 9.1 01/27/2012
+ Girls, Girls, Girls 8.7 10/22/2010
+ New Tattoo 7 03/08/2010
+ Theater of Pain 7.7 01/22/2009
+ Shout At The Devil 9.1 10/24/2008
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect