Dark Side Of The Moon Review

artist: pink floyd date: 01/13/2010 category: compact discs
pink floyd: Dark Side Of The Moon
Released: Mar 24, 1973
Genre: Rock
Tones: Brooding, Epic, Cynical/Sarcastic, Eerie, Sophisticated, Trippy, Hypnotic, Ominous, Ethereal
Styles: Psychedelic, Prog-Rock/Art Rock
Number Of Tracks: 9
 Sound: 9.9
 Lyrics: 10
 Overall Impression: 9.9
 Overall rating:
 9.8 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.9 
 Users rating:
 9.7 
 Votes:
 317 
reviews (10) 70 comments vote for this album:
overall: 10
Dark Side Of The Moon Reviewed by: unregistered, on april 27, 2004
28 of 29 people found this review helpful

Sound: There is little in this world that compares to the feelings of trepidation and tranquility aroused by a musical composition. Experiencing the awe-inspiring sound of any master composer causes it to flood through your very soul, fleeting in and out of your consciousness, demanding attention, and slowly allowing you to lose yourself in the complex patterns of rhythm-filled sound. What an amazing art, indeed! One of the most truly amazing opuses, Dark Side of the Moon, was composed by Pink Floyd and was originally released on March 24 of 1973, a wonderful year to be alive. The hazy landscapes expressed therein are the perfect setting for perceiving the mundane details littered throughout life. With ten glistening movements including an overture, an elegy, and psychedelic and neo-baroque styles ending with a superlative finale, Dark Side of the Moon is quick to become a favorite of all music lovers. The album cover accompanying the vinyl is truly a manifestation of creative ability. The design is marvelously simplistic. Light coming into the prism from the left and being refracted into a beautiful rainbow on a completely black surface fits the moods expressed throughout the work so remarkably. Color is a part of everything, whether it be gorgeous or revolting, and the prism represents how light from the sun is a combination of every radiant color. The rainbow of colors on the black surface show spectacular antithesis and make the album cover truly a wonder to behold. The Overture is a unique song and sets the mood for the rest of the piece so brilliantly. It begins with complete silence and slowly the percussion of a beating heart fades into the spotlight. The sounds of ticking clocks are added eloquently to the ensemble, followed by the clinking of change and the sounds of a cash register. Crazed laughter and voices can be heard off in the distance followed by the vocal talents of Clare Torry. All of the madness of sound crescendos to a large fortissimo, and is utterly swept away leading into the first peaceful chord of Breathe. The first chord of the second movement now has your mind floating through the clouds. Drifting easily along flowing through the mellow intro is an organ, accompanied amazingly by a peaceful bass line and the steely sound of an open-tuned stratocaster. Yet the most amazing feelings are whispered into your ears by the slide guitar. The mellow melodic voice of David Gilmour accompanies the tones expressed throughout the piece extremely well. The poetic lyrics written by Roger Waters seem to coincide effortlessly with the song and give the listener an overview of all that life is. The song starts with birth, Breathe, breathe in the air and streams through the smiles, tears, laughter, and work of life ending with Race towards an early grave, truly a graceful work of lyrical genius. The last word of the second movement seems to lead quite stunningly into the third, moving from a feeling of peaceful euphoria into one of grave stress and tension. The name of the movement seems to hint at this fact being that it's On the Run. You are in essence now racing toward that early grave. This song seems to capture the anxiety of everyday life so well. It begins with a low buzz and a percussive strumming on a high hat. The buzz fades and is replaced by a synthesized repetition of a stunningly fast eight-note sequence. Footsteps fade in and out of the ensemble of noise as does several different humming, buzzing, and whirring noises. Yet again the noise builds up for the closing moments of the movement. This time the ending sound creates an illusion of an airplane crashing into the ground followed by the peaceful billowing of thunder. The ticking of clocks in the distance joins into the peaceful billowing of thunder, and it's easy to slip out of reality after being so mercilessly bombarded with percussive sound. As your mind begins to wander and you begin drifting off, another barrage of sound hits you as masses of clocks all chime in at the same time, ripping you from the peaceful state you had just come to feel. The third movement, titled Time has begun. As this decrescendos, a steady tick-tock of rototoms and an added heartbeat fills the sonic landscape. The deep buzzing sound of a bass guitar blends in nicely which is then contrasted by the high chiming of a farfisa organ. The contrast between the buzzing bass and the high chimes creates an extremely eerie atmosphere for the listener. A drum roll leads off the lyrics, yet again written by Waters, which convey a message of lost time, and the frittering away of life. The fourth movement starts with a very serene piano melody accompanied by a melodious slide guitar. This movement is called The Great Gig in the Sky. A voice stating, Why should I be frightened of death? enters this wonderfully expressive elegy. The peaceful harmonious track is coupled with the belting voice of Clare Torry. It's presenting the emotions of Pink Floyd toward the occurrence of death beyond a shadow of a doubt. The creation of a peaceful, captivating landscape, through beautiful chord and rhythm shows how death being the end of life, leads one into a state of inner peace. Money is the next movement of the opus. It begins with the change and cash register noises that could be heard in the overture, to the background of silence. The most memorable bass lick of all time jazzes up the mix, and is accompanied by great rhythm guitar chords, which are put in at exactly the right times. The lyrics gravitate towards explaining money being the root of all evil, and how capitalism is disgusting. The improvisation of the screaming saxophone and whining guitar are some of the best solos in the entire album. The following movement entitled, Us and Them deals with the conflicts of life. The song begins with intense dissonance, which slowly blends tones coming into a chord followed by a delicate guitar riff. The bass accompanies it and the tones from everything blend together creating another sinuous bit of background music. This sets the perfect aura for the subsequent saxophone solo. The fluid sounds of the saxophone stream through your consciousness easily relaxing even the most discriminating of listeners. The conflicts expressed throughout the wonderful poetry of Waters go through the feelings of being a pawn in a war, to segregation, and finally end with the occurrence of passing a tramp in the street and not helping. The reverberations of the Uni-Vibe guitar rush over you. Coaxing you onward at first, but then flowing through your being. Any Colour You Like is by far the most extravagant, musically, of all the movements in the opus. This is where the themes of psychedelia and the neo-baroque style take hold. Each separate element would stand alone amazingly, but when put over each other, it makes such a complex sound that listening to each particular element becomes impossible. It's then necessary to focus on the overall feelings of amazement and carefree-bliss generated by this instrumental track. The tape effects are far ahead of their time, playing with the ears of the listener by switching staccato notes between the right, left, mid-right, mid-left, and center speakers. The sonic textures paint the dream world so well, that when you close your eyes and dream, your mind is filled with any and every color you like. The next movement, entitled Brain Damage deals with the topic of mental instability. The guitar and high hat give this song structure, and despite being about going insane, it's a very ordered song indeed. The parallelism of describing the placement of the lunatic throughout the song is wonderful, and when the lyrics become The lunatic is in my head the song has taken a most interesting twist indeed. The finale entitled Eclipse is the spectacular resolution of this truly breathtaking opus. It is a very thunderous and powerful piece, as a finale should be. The lyrics are one long sentence, the subject being everything that there is in life. It ends with the climactic phrase and everything under the sun is tune, but the sun is eclipsed by the moon. After this you can hear the heartbeat from the overture slowly fade out followed by dead silence. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are just excellent. // 10

Overall Impression: Dark Side of the Moon is a work of art. The sounds expressed by it seem to flow naturally and ordered yet complex and so interestingly that you'll listen to it over and over, yet never honestly catch every last detail in the work. This splendid piece is oozing with details about living your life. Peace, stress, time, death, money, conflict, beauty, and insanity are moods put into such graceful music through this wonderful work. Every statement, sound, and tone was chosen so eloquently to display the feelings of living. If you've ever lived, cherished, or been lost in your mind then you will be able to relate your life experiences to this superior masterpiece. And in closing I'd just like to say, There is no dark side of the moon, as a matter of fact it's all dark. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Dark Side Of The Moon Reviewed by: info2new, on july 31, 2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: Sound of the band is excellent, especially on certain tracks, ex. The Great gig in the Sky, it clearly shows a climax in certain stages, and it makes you wanna breath faster or slower, and makes your heart talk. More likely it was the band's chemistry and ability to make jaw-dropping, awe-inspiring, thought-provoking music. This is Pink Floyd at its collective finest, with everyone contributing. Unlike the band in 6 years, Waters did not do everything. Gilmoure took a huge chunk of the music-writing, laying down the chord progressions on "Breathe," "Time," and "Any Colour You Like," the singing on the album's best songs. Once in a while, a rock band or other musical entity puts out an album that, quite simply, changes the face of music history. And yet, Pink Floyd was a rather unlikely group of musical innovators. I can tell you that you will never listen to a record and a sound like that, ever. // 10

Lyrics: God, lyrics are so out of this world. As some of you already know, this album is about life itself, and has alot to say about life; for exampel "Time" has a part which goes like this, "Every year is getting shorter, never seem to find the time, Plans that either come to naught or half a page of scribbled lines" if you can reall yunderstand this line, then you can really understand the meaning of time, of life. Unlike other albums of theirs, Dark side of the Moon is probably the finest ever. David Gilmour (vocals/lead guitars) has great touch of lyric skills and awesome guitar climaxed solos and Waters on the other hand is the creative genius who always has the ideas to add. // 10

Overall Impression: One in every 20 people under the age of 50 in the United States owns a copy of this album *Dark Side remained on Billboard's 200 album chart for an amazing 15 years straight and then for another two when it was remastered back in 1994 *It is currently the most successful album ever with upwards of 40 million copies sold world-wide. The most impressive songs from the album. I say, can't really tell, the album is so perfect. I really love the Dark Side Of The Moon for it's words, emanings and creative solos. I really love it when your back is against the wall and climaxing right in that moment. If it was lost, I would definatley buy another one, even if I would have to steal money to buy it! And I encourage people who don't own it to buy it! And people who don't have the original copy; buy the original, be a Floyd fan, and be the one who climaxed like anyone else, I sure did! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Dark Side Of The Moon Reviewed by: someone_not_you, on may 31, 2007
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Pink Floyd finally established as one of the greatest bands ever. Emerging from the English art rock scene, the band released the "supposed-to-be" (after all, remember Sgt. Pepper's) greatest album ever, The Dark Side of the Moon. Hey, wait a minute, that's what everybody has said about it! It was their first US chart-topper album, and stayed there for decades. Statiscally, it is almost played either in it's entirety or in sections (like say the first or last two songs) everywhere, at any time, in the world. Is the best selling rock album (40 million copies), it gained hours of radio airplay, it contained the first US Top 20 single ("Money") in a few words, it was a massive breakthrough. If you haven't heard about it, or seen his iconic album cover, you know nothing about rock. It's one of the quintessential rock albums. OK, I suppose you know. But know, this is when we start analyzing the album to see how it is. Let's start. The album's kicks off with a sample of a LOT of special effects, basically, that's the "backing track" of most of the songs here. This "overture" is called "Speak to Me", and features a bass drum simulating a heartbeat while the register cash from "Money", the clocks from "Time", and talking people are playing over it. The best thing from it is that if you own the 1993 CD issue, it's not separated from the second song, but I actually own the 2003 SACD issue, ah, but that's not important. The important thing is that "Speak to Me" just can't stand as a track in it's own, but just assisting the following one, the atmospheric, evocative, and reminder-of-newborn-children "Breathe", with it's beautiful slide guitarwork courtesy of David Gilmour. "Breathe" is followed by a, er, "song" called "On the Run" which is basically an "EMS VCS 3" sythesizer playing along Nick Mason's hi-hat and lots of special FX. An interesting experiment, but not the type of song you'll really want to enjoy, after an explosion that gives an end to the track, clocks are waiting for you. A singular alarm explosion introduces easily the best passages of the album. First comes "Time", with a lot of great percussion on the rototoms and a pulsating bass simulating the sound of clock for the introduction. Then the song starts, with both powerful and reflexive verses, and your average great solo by Gilmour. After the fourth verse, we hear a reprisal of the themes of "Breathe", but this time more powerful but resigned. Seven minutes of genius. Perhaps the best song of DSOTM, but then, after a the reverberations of Rick Wright's organ play, you hear four of the greatest minutes ever produced, recorded, or heard in human history. "The Great Gig in the Sky" is absolutely gorgeous, beautiful, perfect, from the first B minor piano note to it's final G minor one, with heavenly vocals from a guest called Clare Torry. Is one of the standout single achievements on the album. End of side one. That is, of course, if you own an LP, which I don't, so the whole album is a 43-minutes epic suite. "Money" starts with the register cash loop, and then I have a question. Could even the song reach No. 13 on the US without the effect? It's not annoying, but it's just to distract you from the music. it's bass riff is catchy, and features a weird but effective tempo, plus, it features a great saxophone solo by a friend of the band, Dick Parry. Unfortunately, the jam section is boring. I mean, the solo is good, but this middle part is not particulary impressive and partially ruins the song. This sixth track it's not bad, but not so "classic" as many claim, either. After "Money" we have the relaxed piano shuffle of "Us and Them", that it's defnitely a highlight. It was based on "The Violence Sequence" a piano piece created by Wright as far as three years ago, for the soundtrack of "Zabriskie Point". it's slow-paced tempo, beautiful arrangement, nice rhythm guitar, and amazing sax solos make this another definite highlight. Then, a jam called "Any Colour You Like" comes in; it's a straight rip-off of the "Mother Fore" section of the "Atom Heart Mother" title suite. But, compared with the other one, I can't find something special about it. It's sometimes even skippable. But it's not really bad. Finally, we have a memorable ending, with another two-song medley that close one of the most memorable albums in history so well as only "Echoes" can surpass it as best Floyd album closer, I'm talking about "Brain Damage" and "Eclipse". They merge so well, that you might think of them as one. Period. OK, you thought when getting at the middle of the review that I was going to give this aspect less than 8 or something because of some tracks (particularly "Speak to Me", "On the Run", and the middle section of "Money"), but I gotta say that it's a BOLD artistic statement and an accumulation of previous musical succeses that surprised anyone at the time of the released. In three words: a great album. But there are three other better albums by the band. Hear them. Use your head. Don't overrate things. But please don't get anti-hyped either and give this a 3 or 4. It deserves this rating. // 9

Lyrics: "Lyrics by Roger Waters". It's their first conceptual album, and then we would see another 4 ones by the band and some others by Waters. Is a great concept I got to say, and if there's a good reason by which the album was so succesful, it was for the lyrical effort. The themes? One, basically: life. From the desperate passages on "Time", to the violent themes of "Us and Them" or the thoughts on mental illness (pretty inspired by Syd Barrett), the people in 1973 knew that they needed an album about life and related themes. And, still, it's not Waters best lyrical effort! But is amazing from beginning to end. // 10

Overall Impression: As I said it previously, DSOTM is an artistic and musical statement of sorts. You'll be trapped by it and it's inner "person", it's themes are timeless, heck, I just don't have the words to define it. It's basically one of the most obligatories purchases of classic rock. And it's great. But please, don't get obsessed by it. There are a bunch of Floyd releases that easily are better than it. Don't underrate (as some has done) or overrate (as nearly everybody has done) it. Please, just enjoy it. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Dark Side Of The Moon Reviewed by: Vendetta V, on november 10, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Pink Floyd's Dark Side of The Moon is one of the most famous albums. It got 10 songs. Some songs are instrumental. On the vinyl there are no rests between the songs as Pink Floyd thought that it will not let listeners to find their favorite parts of the album and it will help to discover the entire album. But on the CD the songs are separated. It is one of the first stereo albums. The album was #1 in the American charts but in England it was the second. Also they've beaten a record: the album was sold in more than about 19 million examples. Now about songs. The album starts with Speak To Me which is like an intro to the other songs. It's not a song at all. You can hear just heart beating, Time's clock sounds and Money's "splashes". After sounds a girl starts crying/Laughing (Great Gig In The Sky) and than starts the Breath. Pretty beautiful song. Gilmore used a lot of slide guitar effects. The rhythm is calm. It doesn't have solo. After starts On The Run. It's just like the Speak To Me, but it is more like a song. Pink Floyd just show their technology as well as they do in Speak To Me. After starts Time, a famous one. The intro is collected from clock/alarm sounds. In this song Gilmore used a bit Distortion and a lot Treble. The song got a really beautiful solo. After the second verse comes in the reprise of the Breath. The forth songs name is Great Gig In The Sky written by Richard Wright. It is kind of instrumental. The main "instruments" are piano and girl's voice. Beautiful. "Money is some kind of bluesy, you know?" says Watters. The solo is made from two parts: first, sax solo, and the second one, Gilmore. Us And Them has got a lighter rhythm like Breathe it got two solos too: first piano, second sax. The Any Color You Like is instrumental. Pretty beautiful song with god both guitar and keyboard riffs. The Brain Damage or as they used to cal The Lunatic Song got a calm rhythm with acoustic and slide guitars. The chorus is made from voices, organ, guitar, bass and drums. Solo pays Wright (I'm not sure). The last song Eclipse starts with organ riff and drums. The lyrics are very beautiful, but it is short, only two minutes. // 10

Lyrics: Well all the album's lyrics are very impressive as the music is. The singing skills are good though they don't have a single vocalist. But any way Roger David and Rick are singing pretty well. The best lyrics got Eclipse I think, pretty short and beautiful. // 10

Overall Impression: The album cover is simple but at the same time it's designed very well. The most impressive and famous song are Time, Great Gig In The Sky, Money. Almost whole album. And if it were stolen or lost I would buy it again for sure, though I've got it in my computer. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Dark Side Of The Moon Reviewed by: Vezdehod, on january 13, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is usually considered an odd album to put on a very guitar-orientated site, since the album itself is not very guitar-orientated. Many people yell 'Pink Floyd, rock on bro!!' and do the devil horns. These people are usually the posers, the kind of people that heard that Pink Floyd is pretty popular and therefore must be a metal band, and they decided to cash in. The majority of these people are mindless sheep who have never even heard this album, and what a pity it is. While it's been said many times, I'll say it again; this is one of the greatest albums of all time. You'll probably ask why. After all, there's no hard-driving riffs a la Rage Against the Machine, no material that will likely give you whiplash and party all night. But that's the brilliant part about it; this album proves that to be good, it doesn't have to be straightforward, in-your-face rock 'n' roll. 01. Speak To Me/Breathe: starts out quietly... then you hear the incoming roar of the noise, until you drop into a part that can only be described as light, blissful. Roger Water's vocals pierce through: 'Breathe....breathe in the air...don't be afraid to care...'. It's really beautiful, and haunting at the same time. 02. On The Run: hurry. That's the message thing song leaves you with. From the speeding keyboard to the airport announcement samples, to the ambient noises, you really feel a little disturbed. But the climatic moment comes in near the end of the song at around 3:00, when the laughter is too much, and you hear a plane fly by, only to crash in the biggest boom you will ever hear in your life. The song slowly fades out to the explosion, and in a way, the quiet sound is almost deafening... 03. Time: one of the greatest songs ever. Words can't describe how well this song is constructed. The fading boom is suddenly torn to shreds by a wall of alarm clocks. Then, a single bass note accompanied by guitar and toms. Then an eerie sequence is played.... the notes are seemingly random, but as you keep listening to it, I swear, the notes begin to make sense, as if you just understood an immensely complex story. The whole line just makes you think. You don't even realize it, but there is a keyboard meandering in between the bass. You only become aware of it when the final keys of the intro are played, like the sorrowful words of a very tragic poem. The song breaks into a kind of realization, one that really gets you thinking: time really does seem to slip away. When the guitar solo comes in, you can imagine yourself aging: the guitar sings in its own fashion, it cries and wails as if it has a soul of its own. After another haunting verse, the song breaks into a the reprise of Breathe. In a way, the only way the moment can be described is a gulp of fresh air, where it just hits you like a bucket of cold water. The song ends on a lingering B note, stretching on and on... 04. The Great Gig In The Sky: The B note hovers for a moment, before one of the greatest piano lines ever floats in. Similar chord playing as in Breathe, just as easy, laid-back... 'I am not frightened of dying, anytime will do. I don't mind, why should I be frightened of dying? You've got to go some time...'. The words linger for a moment... two drum hits, and a wave of sound hits you. It is not possible to say no words at all, but to say so much. Clare Tory just tries to emulate an instrument, mimicking the wailing of a guitar, as the song weaves a complex and beautiful story. 05. Money: starts with the melodic clinking of cash registers, then one of the most famous bass lines in history, supplied by Roger Waters. The song slips into the amazing verse, and as you try air drumming, you realize that you can't drum to the beat. You listen closer, and it comes to you that the song isn't the usual 4/4 time signature, it's something else! You figure out that the time signature is 7/8, and you wonder who invented such an unorthodox drum beat. The lyrics mock corporate greed and consumerism. The sax solo in this song is brilliant. 06. Us And Them: a very quiet song, with two brilliant saxaphone solos in it. There's a lot of great piano work in here by Rick Wright (R.I.P.), beautiful work. The song construction is very interesting too, with the somewhat rare D minor with a major seventh chord. 07. Any Colour You Like: the song drops in immediately with the keyboards, creating an incredible soundscape. Rick Wright and his keyboards put on an unbelievable performance in this song, creating images of swirling colors, changing endlessly. It's hard to describe, but if you close your eyes and imagine any color, it just seems to fit together. It really is amazing, the color that the song fits together with is different for everyone. For me, the color blue works best. The guitar solo after the keyboards is just as good as the one in Time, but this time, the guitar is happier, more relaxed. It just makes you feel good. 08. Brain Damage: the guitar solo segues into Brain Damage. The song is faint and quiet, and once again, the band somehow manages to encapsulate two feelings at the same time: weariness and a kind of happiness too. The lyrics tell the story about losing your mind. In a way, the story is a kind of epitaph for Syd Barrett, one of the original founding members of Pink Floyd. Sadly, Syd died in 2006 from pancreatic cancer. The song's chorus is moving, too: "And if the cloud bursts, thunder in your ear...You shout and no one seems to hear...And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes, I'll see you on the dark side of the moon..." 09. Eclipse: two words describe this song perfectly: rousing and philosophical. The lyrics are simple, but they make you think. It's quite an end to one of the greatest albums ever. // 10

Lyrics: Pink Floyd is definitely not the quintessential rock band, in terms of both their music and lyrics. The lyrics of this album generally deal with insanity, as the album's title may lead you to assume. Roger Waters is, in my opinion, one of the best lyricists of all time. When you listen closely to his lyrics, they really tell a complex story. You can tell that a hell of a lot of time was spent on writing the lyrics. // 10

Overall Impression: This album is often voted one of the best albums of all time, and I have to agree. It might take a bit of a spin for fans of heavier music, but in the end the decision is almost universally unanimous: this album is a masterful work of art. I think the weakest track on the album is 'On the Run'. It's probably the least moving, because it only instills a feeling of being in a hurry, nothing else. There isn't really any deep meanings in it, which after all this time, is generally what people have come to expect from Pink Floyd. If this album was stolen from me, I would definitely buy it again. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Dark Side Of The Moon Reviewed by: yin the yak, on december 28, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: It is the biggest selling and possibly most famous album of all time, the prism on the cover has become a musical icon, affording it an almost mythical status and ranking it alongside all-time musical greats. Written in between 1971 and 1973 at a point where the band had already released five albums, two movie soundtracks and had a considerable effect the UK rock scene. It is a concept album based around themes of madness and delusion, probably inspired by the mental demise of Syd Barret, Pink Floyd's initial songwriter and founding member. The album revolutionised use of sound effects, synth and human voices to create a wonderfully texturous sound with a uniquely human sound. The style itself shifts from Pink Floyd's earlier staple of psychedelic pop and epic space rock and moves into a diverse mix of blues, soul, and progressive rock, combined with their classic styles to create a different sound that sounds typical of Pink Floyd yet fresh and original. 01. Speak To Me - heartbeat introduction, combines with mad samples from the rest of the album before exploding into Breathe. 02. Breathe - beautiful, pastoral ballad, Gilmour's vocals compliment delay soaked chords and soaring slide guitar, making Breathe Dark side's melodic highlight. 03. On The Run - the sound of running combined with then revolutionary synth work from Roger Waters. It is hard to hear this track with fresh ears today and is one of the few segments of Dark Side to have dated. 04. Time - a symphony of clocks introduces this Pink Floyd classic, an upbeat rock sound with great contrast between the verse and melodic section, before blending back into a reprise Breathe, surely one of the highlights from the album. It sound is in similar vein to the songs on the Obscured by clouds soundtrack, the album preceding Dark Side. 05. Great Gig In The Sky - possibly Rick Wright's best composition, his underrated piano works with both ecstatic and mournful vocals simultaneously, to create a sonic atmosphere surpassed by none. 06. Money - released as a single in the US, Money is probably the catchiest tune on Dark Side, its unique 7/4 structure and iconic moneybag intro now legendary. The stadium rock outro provides an uptempo relief from the tone of the rest of the album. 07. Us And Them - another song built around a simple piano refrain, building into an orchestral masterpiece with Water's imploring vocals establishing himself as a competent singer in Pink Floyd. 08. Any Colour You Like - a synth based interlude, it, along with On The Run are the only tracks to have aged in over thirty years. Any colour however does include some great guitar work from Gilmour and works well in the context of the album. 09. Brain Damage - for many, the highlight of Dark side of the moon, from which the title was taken "I'll see you on the Dark side of the moon." Water's paranoid vocals, sung in a Barrett like style and perpetuated with seething laughter make this a bizarre trip at the same time as a majestic rock song. 10. Eclipse - any concept album needs a big closing number and Eclipse certainly provides that. It provides an epic closure to the album despite its simple structure, both poetically and musically but provides a rousing, optimistic end to an album occasionally deemed as depressing and negative. // 10

Lyrics: Lyrically the album is based around themes of madness and the pressures put on us by society. The piece was originally entitled "Eclipse: a piece for assorted lunatics" but was changed as the concept and lyrics began to develop. Previous to Dark Side of the moon the lyrics to Floyd songs were generally centred around imaginative childlike fantasy, or pondering around space-age mythology. Water's however was becoming more and more cynical with the pressures of fame and fortune and this is reflected in the Lyrics moving away from psychedelic innocence and whimsy of previous albums and onto deeper, more realistic matters. // 10

Overall Impression: Many first time listeners of Dark side will feel it is overrated, (perhaps any album that sells over 35 million copies has to be?) It contains only seven "real" songs and is possibly not even their best album. But it isn't. It just has something extra that few albums in history have had; the feeling that the album was created organically; well worked yet natural. It is so much more than just a collection of the best songs the band had written in the last few years and everything a record should be; sounding perfect in context yet alienated when standing alone. This album must be listened to in its entirety, preferably in the dark. It just doesn't work otherwise. Overall it is hard to pinpoint exactly what makes Dark side of the moon a huge success in both commercial and musical senses, perhaps because it seams to transcend all the usual barriers that rock n' roll is usually faced with: class, genre, politics etc. Or possibly because the music is so well produced and for the most part relatively easy on the ears (live performances aside). Dark Side Of The Moon stands as the closest rock n' roll has come to fine art, the fact that it is still selling in vast numbers is a glimmer of hope in an otherwise increasingly dull music scene. An unlikely triumph, equally unlikely ever to be repeated. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Dark Side Of The Moon Reviewed by: cantshreddave, on august 26, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The ingenuity and sound quality of this album is quite sensational. Every little overdub and note is timed just perfectly to enhance the sound. It sits right on the thin line between sparse and cluttered. The electronics and Gilmour's exquisite guitar tone are astonishing, particularly for the early '70s. The air and vibe this gives to a partially or unlit room or scene is awesome (it was voted the best album to listen to whilst having sex in Australia). Breathe is probably the most relaxing song ever written, Time is a ingenuitive brand of a slow funk grove. The Great Gig In The Sky is thought provoking and almost magical, Money is upbeat and a great sing along, with the solo being a great skanky type bit when played live. Us And Them has some awesome sax parts and a toned down sort of feel, whilst Brain Damage and Eclipse almost go together, the line "I'll see you on the dark side of the moon" really powerful considering its timing. // 10

Lyrics: Roger Waters wrote all the lyrics for this album. The language is simple yet it is still poetry and could have a million different meanings. I've read a lot of reviews trying to come to a conclusion about the lyrics, most get stuck up their own creative backsides. Gilmour's singing is sometimes considered weak but I believe it is soothing and fits excellently with the music (though he was straining at Live 8). I will take this oppurtunity to applaude to vocalist on Great Gig In The Sky, I believe it was all improvised and critics would hammer a song like that these days. // 10

Overall Impression: If there was a "best" album ever, this would be a contender, perhaps along with Sgt. Peppers, Are You Experinced, Led Zep 4, Back In Black, Tommy and maybe even Pink Floyd's other great glory, The Wall (Wish You Were Here is better). It's awesome in everyway except On the Run which isn't really easy listening unlike the rest of the album which is as easy or as hard to listen to as you like. This album must not be dismissed on first listening to be un its creative backside and to getting the listener lost, the structure is revealed in time. A great album, fully deserving of it's applause and greatness (the 35 million who have bought copies will probably agree). // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Dark Side Of The Moon Reviewed by: tommybear, on january 04, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: I had just bought this album after hearing the unanimous praise poured upon it by yours truly, UG. This was the first time I had ever heard a Pink Floyd record, and, WOW! Soundwise, there is a hell of a lot going on on this album. Every song flows beautifully into the next. The opener, Speak To Me, immediately gave an idea of what I was about to experience, beginning with a kind of heartbeat, followed by rattling tills, engines, manic voices and screaming. Sorry? It opens into Breathe, which left me bouncing with excitement, nothing to do with the tone of the song, but because it was just so goddamn awesome, that I knew I was onto something special. I instantly liked whoever it was singing's voice (I think its Roger Waters). After Breathe came the uptempo On the Run, which at first I disliked, but now I've grown to appreciate and enjoy a bit more. The next two songs, Time and The Great Gig In the Sky, are simply put, breathtaking. Time opens with an explosion of ticking clocks, while TGGITS opens quietly with a lovely piano melody, before Clare Torry soars in with some amazing screaming (don't be alarmed, it sounds great). I love the way in the second have of this track her voice takes backstage to the piano, even though she seems to be screaming as loud as ever. Song number five, Money, has definately got the catchiest riff of the album, and opens with the opening and shutting of tills and rattling coins. Its an excellent song, if not my favourite, and I have to say that I love the trumpet and screeching guitar solos. Us And Them, the next track, is certainly one of my favourite tunes. I love the pattern they have of having this long break in the middle, before the final verse. I especially like the pacing of this song, in particular the manner in which its sung. Any Colour You Like, to be fair, is alright, so far I would say that its easily my least favourite song on DSOTM. Brain Damage, on the other hand, IS without doubt my favourite song: I love the simple riff, the chorus's, everything! Finally, Eclipse is a suitably epic finish to this remarkable album. // 10

Lyrics: Lyrics are unsurpassed in my opinion. 'nuff said. The best lyrics are on Breathe, Time, Money, Us and Them, Brain Damage and Eclipse, can you spot a pattern here? The album ends with the brilliant line: "Everything under the sun is in tune, but the sun is eclipsed by the moon." Philosiphical stuff. // 10

Overall Impression: If this was lost, I would buy it again. Highlights include Speak To Me/Breathe, Time, The Great Gig In The Sky, Money, Us And Them, Brain Damage and Eclipse. That's seven out of nine, and the other two are pretty good as well, hell they're probably awesome, its just all above me. I love the way it's all put together, it doesn't like a collection of unrelated songs. I would say buy it, but then I'm probably the last person ever to have done so. Magnificent. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Dark Side Of The Moon Reviewed by: obey_yourmaster, on august 05, 2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Softer than most of the stuff I listen to. Very "spacey" guitar work, some songs are a little long, but you can't help to listen to the whole song because it's so mezmerizing. It's the classic Pink Floyd sound. I love the bass intro to "Money", which is my favorite Pink Floyd song of all time. Some of my favorite tracks on this CD are "Time", "Money", "The Great Gig In The Sky", and "Brain Damage". The solos in all the songs are phenomenal. David Gilmour bends when there needs to be a bend, holds when there needs to be a hold, and pauses when there needs to be a pause. The female singer in "The Great Gig In The Sky" is probably the best female vocalist I've ever heard. Not many people can solo vocally, but she sure can. Even though I love this album, I believe it is a bit overrated. It gets a 10 in sound, nonetheless. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics in the songs are exactly what the title of the song is. "Money" is about money. "Time" is about time. "The Great Gig In The Sky" doesn't have any lyrics, but I still love it. People have said to have seen "syncs" between "The Wizard of Oz" and "Dark Side Of The Moon". I, personally, have seen them, and the syncs are quite uncanny. If Pink Floyd did not plan it, I have absolutley no idea how it came to be that way. Others have also linked the lyrics to Judy Garlan's life, proposing that DSOTM is a tribute to Judy Garlan. I have checked this out, and it seems likely, also. If it is, in fact, a tribute to Judy Garlan and meant to be synced up to "The Wizard of Oz", then I believe that Roger Waters is the most musically/lyrically talented geniuses to ever live. Because if it was meant to be a tribute, and meant to be synced, it would turn "The Wizard of Oz" itself into a tribute to Judy Garlan. Just one word for the lyrics: Brilliant. // 10

Overall Impression: Contrary to my comment about Dark Side being a bit overrated, I still loved the album. I don't really enjoy the song "On The Run", because I don't really enjoy instrumental songs. The only reason I believe it is overrated is because it is considered Pink Floyd's greatest work. I, personally, believe that The Wall is Pink Floyd's greatest work. But I suppose that's all opinion. If lost, I'd buy it again for sure. I bought it in the first place because it was said to be brilliant. At first, I didn't agree. But after seeing the sync and considering for myself if it was a tribute to Judy Garlan, I have a new point of view on this album. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Dark Side Of The Moon Reviewed by: Busproof, on october 30, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: To this day, well over 30 years after its initial release, Pink Floyd's Dark Side of the Moon still finds it's way into the CD Players and IPods of a generation decades past the primary influence of Pink Floyd. Their epic use of studio effects, as well as the great lyrical and vocal input of its many members, has earned them the title of one of the single most influencial bands, not just of their decade, but of rock music in general. Dark Side of the Moon is the first of several concept albums created by the group, as well as one of their most famous. Their innovative use of effects was ahead of their time, and the instrumental work of all the members combined create a deeply psychadelic and mellow vibe that propels the album forward. // 10

Lyrics: Pink Floyd is famous for their highly philosophical and reflective lyrics, and this album is no exception. As a matter of fact, it's a prime example of the lyrical masterminds at work. The Dark Side of the Moon contains lyrics that are suppose to reflect on certain time periods and aspects of life, such as birth, religion, greed, and war, starting with the epic and mellow opening track, Breathe. Metaphorically talking about one's own birth, the lyrics lead the listener into the albums mellow and highly self reflective undertones, subliminally leading them along into the albums second track, a psychadelic instrumental called On the Run. With a plane crash, and the sounds of a man running, the listener is drawn into the third, and highly praised track, Time, which lyrically deals with the idea of growing old, with great lyrical and vocal work by Richard Wright. The Great Gig in the Sky, a second instrumental representative of the idea s relating to religion and the afterlife. Money, one of the albums most popular tracks, mocks the greed of the individual with catchy, and highly sarcastic, lyrics. The sequential track Us and Them speaks of conflict, using the metaphor of a soldier and a general. Onwards through Any Colour You Like, another instrumental, lies Brain Damage, yet another popular track off the album, which lyrically speaks about insanity. And then finally, Eclipse, which is essentially the second part of Brain Damage, and is rarely seen without Brain Damage or visa-versa, which ends the album with an epic, and highly poetic bang. The lyrics, as well as the vocals on this album are simply amazing. // 10

Overall Impression: It's next to impossible to compare Dark Side of the Moon to other albums, those of it's time as well as those of the new generation's, because it was so innovative and influencial in it's time. I love the whole album, track after track, and will not listen to it unless I can actually sit down and listen to the whole album. it's such a deep medley of philosophy and self reflection, carried to the tune of the mellow instrumental work of the band, that no other group, or album, can truly compare. This is single handedly my favorite album of all time, because it's the only album that can touch my soul with every line and verse. There's not a thing I dislike, and I suggest this album to anyone who loves music, any genre, in it's whole format. If this album was stolen from me, I'd hunt the thief down and beat them with their own shoe, because this is the album for me. This is it, rock's finest creation in my eyes, and I wouldn't have it any other way. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Pink Floyd reviews rating latest review
+ A Momentary Lapse Of Reason 7.7 10/17/2013
+ A Saucerful Of Secrets 8.9 01/20/2011
+ The Final Cut 8.8 04/19/2010
+ The Wall 9.2 08/17/2009
+ Animals 9.6 07/31/2009
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect