The Game Review

artist: queen date: 08/22/2005 category: compact discs
queen: The Game
Released: Jun 30, 1980
Genre: Rock
Styles: Hard Rock, Prog-Rock/Art Rock, Pop/Rock
Number Of Tracks: 11
Along with A Night At the Opera, The Game is one of their best and most commercially successful records.
 Sound: 10
 Lyrics: 9
 Overall Impression: 10
 Overall rating:
 8.7 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.7 
 Users rating:
 7.7 
 Votes:
 7 
reviews (2) user comments vote for this album:
overall: 10
The Game Reviewed by: Hevoc, on january 15, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Freddie sound as good as always, so do the music. // 10

Lyrics: There is not one single bad track on here, literally. Every song on here is a smash in it's own right. It features funk (i.e. "Another One Bites The Dust"), The Elvis-like, "Crazy Little Thing Called Love", and hard rock ballads like "Save Me". "Play The Game", and "Save Me" are at their usual greatness. But there are 3 other tracks that need to be recognized also: "I Need Your Loving Tonight", is fabulous. Freddie's vocals are terrific, the choiral vocals are incredible, and the song flat out rocks. John Deacon actually wrote that song. "Prime Jive (Rock It)", another song that I don't hear to many people talking about. This time the credit goes to Roger Taylor, who wrote the song. 80's music never sounded better than this. and last but not least, "Sail Away, Sweet Sister" written by Brian May is a beautiful ballad. Overall, fabulous album, not to be overlooked by fans of Quenn's earlier material. // 10

Overall Impression: As a hard-core Queen fan, I love All of their albums, but for a new fan, or someone who's not yet very well acquainted with Queen's work, I find The Game to be an excellent. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
The Game Reviewed by: DownDark, on august 22, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Same old pop/rock and hard rock but without the extravagant vocals that Queen made themselves famous for. Also introducing synthesizers into their music. Queen said hello to the '80s with a more raw but professional sound which landed themselves another global and commercial smash. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are great and vary from subject. 01. Play The Game - a nice way to welcome the '80s and a great way to open the album. A big hit and a highlight of the album 4/5. 02. Dragon Attack - a great rocker that has a guitar solo, bass solo, and an amazing drum solo. The choir vocals sound great in the middle of the guitar solo. Great bassline 3/5. 03. Another One Bites The Dust - this song, written by John Deacon, needs no introduction! Everybody knows this song! The chorus is catchy, the bassline is fucking hard to get outta your head and the song is their biggest single to chart in the US. Groovy Bassline! 04. Need Your Loving Tonight - another great song written by John Deacon. I love the riff, the drums and the choir vocals during the chorus! Great highlight 4/5. 05. Crazy Little Thing Called Love - this catchy rockabilly number sounds like something you'd expect Elvis Presley to sing 4/5. 06. Rock It (Prime Jive) - a catchy song with vocals by Roger Taylor who introduces his version of a New Wave song. Not the best track on the album, but still good 3/5. 07. Don't Try Suicide - Queen brings a little humor to their music with this silly song. Groovy bassline and annoying guitar chords won't save this song. The lyrics send a good message but sound a little silly that will probably cause people not to take it seriously. The weakest track on the record. Pure filler 2/5 08. Sail Away Sweet Sister - a touching ballad about heartbreak with great vocals by Brian May and Freddie Mercury. The choir vocals are amazing and the guitars are cool! Another highlight 5/5. 09. Coming Soon - another groovy song with great drums and quirky lyrics, but another weak track off the album. This song is another piece of filler but better than the other bad tracks. Good vocals by Freddie and Roger 3/5. 10. Save Me - another touching ballad about heartbreak written by Brian May. The lyrics reflect on Brian May's diforce at the time. A great way to close the album 5/5. // 8

Overall Impression: It's Queen's strongest since "A Night At The Opera." The most impressive song on the album are "Sail Away Sweet Sister" and "Save Me." I love that Queen still stuck to their roots at times with this album. I hate that they incorporated synthesizers into their music. If it were stolen/lost, I would definately buy another copy. It is definately worth buying because it holds some of Queen's best hits and other gems. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Queen reviews rating latest review
+ Greatest Hits I 9.4 04/24/2012
+ Hot Space 6.9 09/28/2010
+ Greatest Hits II 9.1 07/23/2008
+ A Night At The Opera 9.3 02/25/2008
+ Queen 8.1 09/03/2007
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect