Perhaps, I Suppose Review

artist: rufio date: 10/01/2008 category: compact discs
rufio: Perhaps, I Suppose
Released: June 12, 2001
Genre: Rock
Styles: Punk-Pop, Emo
Number Of Tracks: 15
All of the songs are catchy and great. Great lyrics, great sound.
 Sound: 10
 Lyrics: 9.5
 Overall Impression: 10
 Overall rating:
 9.8 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.8 
 Users rating:
 9.8 
 Votes:
 10 
reviews (4) 8 comments vote for this album:
overall: 9.3
Perhaps, I Suppose Reviewed by: hockeyplayer168, on may 25, 2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: First of all, after listening to this record, I don't know if anybody can deny that Clark Domae (lead guitarist) is one of the best punk, rock, emo, or anything guitarists in the modern rock era. He shows outstanding talents with about a dozen ridiculously speedy solos. By listening closely as well, you can easily notice that Domae is not playing simple power chords like millions of other simple bands, but he writes individual creative riffs for each and every song. He is not the only talent musically for this band. Their lead singer, Scott Sellers matches a couple of Domae's solos creating a double guitar effect that is mind blowing. Drummer Mike Jimenez provides a similar, very fast and consistent showing of excellent fills and other beats. assist Jon Berry is not left out of the swing of things, opening songs with very quick bass solos setting the tone for the listener. The band comes together very well to provide a great sound along with the harmonic vocals and fast-paced action. // 10

Lyrics: Rufio seems to be a slightly Christian band with a "No Crap" tone. In songs such as "Dipshit", Sellers complains that he wants to be "On His Own." In more religious songs, such as "Save The World", they attempt to show people that it is their responsiblility to love God and no one can force them. The singing is very catchy and Sellers has a good voice (only when singing high, his quiet, laid back voice is breathy and lacking volume) and harmony by Berry and Domae gives the band a full sound. // 8

Overall Impression: This band sets a great fast tone for the whole record with the first song "Above Me" (my personal favorite). Other great songs featured are "Dipshit" with great intro on guitar (lead and backup), and "One Slowdance" which shows a slow side to the band and is perfectly done. ufio can be compared to other bands such as "Up and Go" by The Starting Line, "Twenty Three" by Yellowcard, and "M&M's" by blink-182. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Perhaps, I Suppose Reviewed by: unregistered, on september 24, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: This album starts off so amazing it's not even funny. Rufio's Above Me has to be one of the best if not best Pop-Punk/Post-Pop Punk song ever. These guys are all amazingly talented and once you get over Rufio's singers clogged nose sound reminiscent of New Found Glory and listen to the music, it is heaven to your ears. Many people like to call them "Horrible", "A Stupid Pop Punk Band", and "Just another New Found Glory" but I dont blame them I was like them at once. I thought Rufio was a NFG knockoff but once I watched them live and popped in Perhaps I Suppose my jaw dropped. This album is perfect from beggining to end give them a chance and I promise you'll be singing their songs all day and night! // 10

Lyrics: First of all, I think their singer's voice is great and very unique even though he gets compared alot to Jordan from NFG. The lyrics are amazing "Above Me" is like the pop-punk love song to give to your girlfriend for Valentines ("To look at the mountains vast and great. Is one step above in seeing your face.") I mean and so is "Slowdance" an amazing song that reminds you of your high school prom ("And your standing there alone and so am I, But I want you here by my side.") And the amazingly beautiful and honest "Face the Truth" ("You take a look around, and dont like what you see, There's people you don't know, But you know they care"). and Tears... Wow the Emo fan's sad song of the cd ("Tears are feelings we can't say. Tears mean that you care. Tears are mixed emotions Tears are more than tears"). This album is perfect. // 10

Overall Impression: Ok, At first I hated Rufio and I thought they lacked originality, creativity, talent, and anything that would make a band stand out. But once I heard Above Me and the talent they possesed it made me more interested. Finally watchin them at Warped Tour sealed the deal I was their fan. I picked up the cd for 10 bucks and went home. The next day I played the cd and I was amazed. Buy this cd you won't regret it and give them a chance they'll amaze you and this cd has a song for every emotion you have and will help you out. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Perhaps, I Suppose Reviewed by: _RockOnForever_, on october 13, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The first CD, Perhaps, I Suppose was a great debut album for Rufio. However, where the band excelled in musicianship in all areas, they lacked in depth of sound and recording quality. For those who indulged themselves in the original CD but wished for a little better quality, this is your wish granted. Not much has changed from the original CD in terms of the music itself, maybe a change here or there, a slight variation once in a while, but nothing to drastic. The Deluxe Edition packs the same punch as the original but with a little more kick, bringing out Rufio's full talent. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are superb; they show that songs don't have to rhyme in order to be great or fun to listen to. The lyrics are the same as in the original but once you hear them, you'll never be able to get them out of your head. Singer Scott Seller's voice fits perfectly into the pop-punk sound of the band and really drives home the meaning within the lyrics. // 10

Overall Impression: The most impressive songs on the Deluxe Edition (due to the improvement of recording and sound) are "Above Me," "Road To Recovery," "Tears" (where there is a bit of screaming) and the instrumental song "The Wrath." In addition, not only do you get the remastered songs, you also get more for your money with the original recordings of "Above Me," "Road To Recovery," "One Slowdance," "Just A Memory" and "Save the World." If you love Rufio as much as I do, you should buy the Deluxe Edition even if you have the orginal Perhaps, I Suppose CD. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Perhaps, I Suppose Reviewed by: James TH, on october 01, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: My Grandma got me this CD on the advice of one of my cousins many years ago. I thought that I would be cool listening to heavy, fast tempo punk! I was very wrong because when I listened to Rufio I thought that I had made a mistake by buying the CD. Over time, my listening became much more thorough and I picked out the unmistakably heavy feel that comes with most of the songs on this album without going over board and straying from the fast punk that they are known for. Key song for me were "Above Me", "In My Eyes", "She Cries", "Save The World" and "The Wrath" (which is quite a melody heavy driven riffs). Their sound is undeniably unique and none of the songs sound too similar to be annoying to listen to over and over again. A definite 10. // 10

Lyrics: Scott Sellers (singer/guitar) has among the most unique style of singing I have ever heard. it's quite relief to know that Rufio aren't a whiny band and furthermore have a lot of fun with their lyrics, some of them are quite deep and poke fun at things in life, love, and spirituality. The lyrics go so well with the music that they meld together in seamless beauty. // 10

Overall Impression: This really is a perfect album by indie/punk-crew Rufio. What makes this album most important is the legacy that it will leave behind of a now disbanded Rufio. There is no doubt that if this album were stolen I would go out and get it again. There is a tight assembly of acoustic riffs, slow melodic solos, prestigious drums track, and a more than ordinary bass line in every song. there's too much to love and nothing to hate about Rufio's 2001 release of Perhaps, I Suppose. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Rufio reviews rating latest review
+ The Comfort Of Home 9.9 04/29/2006
+ MCMLXXXV (1985) 9.2 10/13/2005
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect