Get Your Heart On! Review

artist: simple plan date: 06/24/2011 category: compact discs
simple plan: Get Your Heart On!
Released: June 21, 2011
Genre: Alternative Rock, Pop Punk, Power Pop
Label: Lava, Atlantic
Number Of Tracks: 11
This album was different than their previous albums. This album had a few fun songs, but it mostly showed to more mature side of Simple Plan.
 Sound: 6.3
 Lyrics: 8
 Overall Impression: 7
 Overall rating:
 6.9 
 Reviewer rating:
 7.1 
 Users rating:
 6.6 
 Votes:
 41 
reviews (3) 19 comments vote for this album:
overall: 7.3
Get Your Heart On! Reviewed by: RaysGotThis, on june 24, 2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Simple Plan came out of the gates in 2002 as a straight pop-punk band, and has spread into other styles in their 3 releases since then, including alternative, hip-hop, pop, and even emo-esque elements at times. "Get Your Heart On!" features the same catchy guitar-driven sound meshed with a more pop-styled aesthetic, but shows clear signs of growth its songwriting. Simple Plan has clearly gotten more skilled and more comfortable in what they bring to the table, and it shows in "GYHO!"'s diversity. The song topics aren't anything unfamiliar, and generally stay true to pop-punk convention, but the perspectives in the songs are interesting, and don't read like a high school student pining away for an unrequited crush, as 2002's "No Pads, No Helmets... Just Balls" did at times. Album opener "You Suck at Love" describes a frustrating relationship with a person who is only interested in one-night stands; "Loser Of The Year" is about the perks of celebrity only to find out that it's not as enjoyable without someone to share it with; and "Anywhere Else But Here" is about wanting to get away from daily life and simply enjoy yourself. Even more so than the song topics, the new sounds that SP incorporates into "GYHO!" are what makes the album feel fresh and interesting. There's still your standard pop-punk sound, but many of the songs have a noticeable pop production to them, and several songs branch out into mellower genres; "Summer Paradise" is an acoustic reggae-influenced number that SP pulls off pretty well, and "Anywhere Else But Here" feels like a mellow dance club song. "Last One Standing" is a more straightforward alternative/punk number that feels like a bonus track from 2004's "Still Not Getting Any..." "And Gone Too Soon" and "This Song Saved My Life" would fit right in with 2008's self titled album. "GYHO!" is still Simple Plan, but with more exploration into different genres and evident signs of being comfortable with themselves as musicians. // 7

Lyrics: The lyrics for "GYHO!" step it up from their prior releases, and while they could fit fairly well into your standard pop-punk fare, the songs approach them from a point that feels fresh. There are songs about infatuation, sour relationships, loss, loneliness, and so on, as well as a track that stands out as unique in its writing -"This Song Saved My Life" is made up of tweets, messages, and emails from fans and talks about how SP's music has helped deal with their lives. Considering SP comes from a pop-punk background, the lyrics fit the new sounds in "GHYO!" well, and don't really feel strained whether the song is a ballad, reggae-esque acoustic, dance-pop, or their trademark guitar-heavy sound. Each song brings a little something new, and the lyrics, while not incredibly impressive, rarely disappoint. Pierre Bouvier's singing on "GYHO!" has improved markedly from SP's early releases, much the same as it was on 2008's self-titled Simple Plan. There are times when the singing boarders on whiney, but for the most part the vocals are sincere, fun, and well delivered. "GYHO!" also has guest appearances by Natasha Bedingfield on "Jet Lag", Alex Gaskarth of All Time Low on "Freaking Me Out", and K'naan on "Summer Paradise", which changes up the dynamic every few songs in an interesting way. // 8

Overall Impression: "GYHO!" is pretty comparable to SP's first two releases, "No Pads, No Helmets... Just Balls" from 2002 and "Still Not Getting Any..." from 2004, but with more diversity in topic and genre, and with more of a progression toward pop-style production. Fans of All Time Low, New Found Glory, Yellowcard and the like would probably enjoy the record. At its best, "GYHO!" is a fun, catchy, modern-sounding album that meshes genres and features several appearances by well-known guests. At its worst, the pop production is rather heavy, and can distract from the guitar-driven sound that SP has focused on in the past, especially for longtime fans. It grows on you, though. Standout tracks include "Loser Of The Year", "Summer Paradise", and "This Song Saved My Life". As a SP fan, if this CD were lost or stolen, I'd buy it again. The light-hearted fun of the record outweighs the poppy sound, and at $13, I wouldn't feel like my money was wasted. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.3
Get Your Heart On! Reviewed by: Russcool, on june 23, 2011
1 of 10 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound was more similar to their 2008 album, "Simple Plan", but it kept a fast pop rock pace. It was kind of all over the place, but in a good way. They went from a hard rock song, to an acoustic song, to a techno song, to a sad song, then repeated. // 6

Lyrics: Simple Plan's lyrics are always life changing. In fact, in their last song, "This Song Saved My Life", they got their fans to help them write lyrics of how Simple Plan saved them. Pierre Bouvier's vocals are always incredible. He's what makes them incredible to watch live. // 9

Overall Impression: This album was different than their previous albums. Who can forget the cool riffs, catchy choruses, and fun that "No Pads, No Helmets... Just Balls" gave to the world? This album had a few fun songs, but it mostly showed to more mature side of Simple Plan. It's not my favorite SP album, but I would give it a thumbs up. My favorite song from "GYHO!" has to be "Loser Of The Year". The whole idea of the song is just really cool. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 6.7
Get Your Heart On! Reviewed by: djae_punk1, on june 24, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Simple Plan have moved towards a pop-punk sound in this album and their so-cal sound is no longer present. Nonetheless, the record as a whole is quite catchy and although die-hard Simple Plan fans may be a bit bummed about the fact that they have changed, it's still an enjoyable record to listen. Simple Plan have gone for a very poppy sound in this album and songs such as "Anywhere Else But Here" show this. Sadly, this record has a very digital sound and is hardly as raw as the material we heard in "No Pads, No Helmets... Just Balls". However it has some redeeming songs such as "Summer Paradise"; though acoustic and very mellow, it is easily one of the better tracks of the album. The song "Last One Standing" is somewhat similar to their former sound, though more mature. I personally enjoy the simplistic values that punk rock artistes thrive under, such as Simple Plan's earlier works. This record, as their last, is not what we would hope to hear from a punk band of such calibre and ability. // 6

Lyrics: The lyrics maintain Simple Plan's themes of personal strife, perhaps the only aspect of the band that has stayed constant throughout all their albums. The lyrics maintain their themes. Bouvier's singing is as brilliant as ever as his vocal prowess is felt throughout every song. His ability to song both fast paced and slow paced songs as well as hold notes without struggling and cracking show his vocal ability. This can be heard in "Gone Too Soon". This singing is perhaps the most redeemable aspect of the record as an entirety. // 7

Overall Impression: Not their best sadly, lacks feeling and emotion in my opinion. As harsh as that may be, any Simple Plan fan will understand what I mean due to the simple fact that this album is difficult to relate; the songs cannot be used as a means of venting as compared to. The songs that stand out are the acoustics, and because of their simplicity. Perhaps what I disliked the most about this album was the use of synthesizers and other digitally oriented instruments, they made the record all to "poppier", if that's even a word. Everyone will have their own opinions on an album so I'd love to hear the opinions of other Simple Plan fans. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Simple Plan reviews rating latest review
+ Get Your Heart On - The Second Coming! [EP] 4.8 12/13/2013
+ No Helmets, No Pads... Just Balls 5.6 04/08/2010
+ Simple Plan 5.4 03/04/2008
+ Still Not Getting Any... 7.2 11/23/2006
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect