All Hope Is Gone Review

artist: slipknot date: 01/20/2011 category: compact discs
slipknot: All Hope Is Gone
Release Date: Aug 20, 2008
Label: Roadrunner Records
Genres: Rock, Alternative Metal
Number Of Tracks: 12
Slipknot explores everything from thrash to ballads on its 4th studio release, All Hope Is Gone.
 Sound: 8.6
 Lyrics: 8.9
 Overall Impression: 8.9
 Overall rating:
 8.6 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.8 
 Users rating:
 8.4 
 Votes:
 634 
reviews (21) 242 comments vote for this album:
overall: 8
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: UG Team, on august 26, 2008
26 of 30 people found this review helpful

Sound: The members of Slipknot have ventured off to various side projects over the past few years, so it was inevitable that we might hear a slight change in any fresh material that might come afterward. And considering that we have to add in the fact that Slipknot's new album, All Hope Is Gone, was the first time that the songwriting was truly a collaborative process, the resulting product is surprisingly a solid album that goes to extremes on both ends of the musical spectrum. While there are a few tracks that don't really go anywhere that interesting, the majority of All Hope Is Gone is full of brooding riffs and plenty of pounding double bass pedal. The album begins with .execute., which sounds like a combo of static, muffled voices and feedback. It's not necessarily a song in the traditional sense (you can't necessarily make out any specific notes), but it definitely lures you in -- particularly when Joey Jordison enters in with building drum beats in solo-like fashion. It's a fascinating intro that makes for a nice transition into Gematria (The Killing Name), which is full of fantastic intro riffs in the intro and an intense breakdown about halfway through. It's a truly heavy song that mirrors the aggression heard on more than half of the record. You may have already heard the first single from the album, Psychosocial, which is at it's best during the intro with it's chugging guitars and pinch harmonics. While the track does have radio appeal, there are tracks on All Hope Is Gone that do take the band's sound to a much more aggressive level. This Cold Black is one of the angriest tracks in the bunch, and packs a punch without even having to add in an abundance of double bass pedal or intricate solos. The winner of heaviest track, however, goes to the closer, All Hope Is Gone. That song brings Slipknot closer to being a thrash band more than anything, which is actually a pleasant and unexpected surprise. Vocalist Corey Taylor walks the line between his persona in Slipknot and his side project Stone Sour, adding in his clean vocal style to a few of the tracks. Sulfur and Dead Memories do feature prominent parts with the clean style, but it's Snuff that turns out to be more of a ballad than anything. Taylor has never sounded better when he sings in a traditional manner, and it's not too surprising that Snuff was brought into the band pretty much as a finished song by Taylor. It fits Taylor, but the perfect match for the aggressive side of Slipknot comes in Gehenna. Although it's slow to build, Gehenna manages to still sound dark and evil amidst the clean vocals. When you add in the 1950's horror movie favorite sound effect/instrument, the theremin, it makes Gehenna one of the best tracks on All Hope Is Gone. // 8

Lyrics: Given the fact that so many of the tracks on the album are filled with menacing guitars and vocal growls, you might expect Slipknot to have a little venom in their lyrics. While All Hope Is Gone does features lyrics you do follow that line of thinking, you'll also find that the band focuses it's anger on not just abstract ideas. The title track points it's finger at the Bush administration with lyrics like, Fifty seconds, a hundred murders; The Bill of Rights is a bill of sale; What will you do when the war is over? What will you do when your systems fail? But this is more than just a political album, and apparently Taylor stated in an interview that All Hope Is Gone was a good avenue for bitching about what's wrong in life. // 8

Overall Impression: Given the fact that Slipknot's 4th album marked a few different milestones (namely the first time on a major label that they recorded in their home state of Iowa, the addition of producer Dave Fortman, and collaborative songwriting), it's perhaps not shocking that the end result would mark a musical change in direction as well. They take things to the next level in terms of both aggression and balladry. It's definitely a trip to hear Slipknot go from the melodic, laid-back Snuff to double bass extravaganza that is All Hope Is Gone. The band certainly explored various extremes on the new album, and they deserve credit for not maintaining the status quo. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: Fool Dominhated, on august 26, 2008
15 of 20 people found this review helpful

Sound: After 4 years of inactivity, in which the various members of the band have dedicated themselves to their other projects (Corey Taylor and Jim Root's mainstream success with Stone Sour, Joey Jordison's stints with Korn, Ministry and 3 Inches of Blood, Shawn Crahan's side project Dirty Little Rabbits and Sid Wilson's solo project), the band from Des Moines back with a new album, All hope is Gone. Since title is understood that the band has not changed it's personality and ideology, but unlike previous albums where the lyrics were completely written by Corey Taylor, now the whole band helped write. Obviously in these 4 years there have been no changes in line-up (fortunately). The sound of "All hope is gone", follows the recent past, both the remote past, because there are elements of the first album (Slipknot, Iowa) as songs almost entirely screamed, "All hope is gone" and "The cold black", and elements of the latest album (Vol: 3) as the great melody of some songs" Snuff "and" Dead Memories "or even elements almost psychedelic as in "Gehenna", psychedelic sound experienced in "Danger Keep Away" of Vol:3, but there are also innovative elements, of which I was very pleased, that finally, in this album, there are long guitar solos, as in "Gematria" and "Gehenna".This type of sound could disappoint old fans of Slipknot (The Maggots ^ ^), like me, that is, fans of the masterpieces of "Slipknot" and "Iowa", remained a little surprised by Vol: 3 ( but I have reconsidered it a masterpiece listening after listening). I think that this change of direction, the heavy sound of "Iowa" to the melody of "Vol: 3", it was a choice of the band, because in my opinion doing other albums with a sound similar to "Slipknot" and "Iowa ", might make horrible Album-copy, that could make albums with the same sound and the same anger, but could be repetitive, instead changing sound have tried to create masterpieces using everything we have inside and especially taking advantage of their huge capacity of musicians. Of course, this is a my thought and can easily mistaken about this. What say, also this time Slipknot not disappointed me, as have evolved in their sound without forgetting their origins. However "All Hope is Gone" remains much closer to the album of the band "Vol: 3" that the other 2 prior to the latter. Excellent! // 9

Lyrics: This paragraph of my review is at the same time the easiest and most difficult to write, because this is the easiest to write as talking about the singing, I can only enhance (again) the great voice of Corey Taylor, which has proven to be able to sing both growl, Scream, melodic way, everything. Therefore I can safely say that Taylor should certainly place in the lead-singer's Olympus of the current metal scene. Speaking of lyrics, those of Slipknot are among the best in the current metal scene, if not the best ever, and remain on the same level as in previous Albums, this is the reason why this paragraph of this review I still easy to write, because those who have already heard the previous albums of the band already knows what I'm talking about, while remaining to me at the same time difficult, because describe the lyrics and their interpretation to those who have never heard a work of Slipknot is impossible in a few lines; then try to describe the essence of all this. First of all the texts of Slipknot talk about various topics, but in particular try to bring out all aspects of our dirty and corrupt society, and all the hypocrisy that pervades it, caused by the money, the state, religion and other institutions, that obscure our view (hence the alleged misanthropy of Slipknot); All this from the personal experiences of the band, consequently there will also lyrics that speak of love as "Vermilion" (love in Slipknot's way), but this last aspect is present in very small (my apologies to all maggots for this reductive analysis of the lyrics of Slipknot). The aspect that makes raising a lot of Slipknot lyrics, are the emotions that you give when you sit on the ground in your room, with one of their albums just bought, with little light from the shutters that allows you to read the lyrics, with the stereo at maximum volume, whether songs as "[sic]", "The Heretic Anthem", "People = Shit", "Three Nil", "All Hope is Gone", etc., Slipknot can send you an inner anger, to go out and you split everything you see, because they are able to express perfectly the disease that leads our society; obviously you do not have to interpret the lyrics of Slipknot as "the schoolboy (18-year-old Morn Harmse) who stabbed a fellow student to death with a sword in Krugersdorp, South Africa Monday morning (August 18) was dressed like SLIPKNOT drummer Joey Jordison.(or the Iowa's mask of Corey, the news are unclear about this)". Slipknot with their lyrics want to make their fans an inner rage, which makes open our eyes to the reality that surrounds us, not like this IDIOT, which goes around to kill people with a sword. In doing so, only stain the name of Slipknot and nothing else. While they are melodic as "Circle", "Vermilion Pt.2", "Danger Keep Away", "Snuff" or "Dead Memories" Slipknot can send you a sense of melancholy and unease interior. Someone I understand someone else will not, but I know it is difficult to explain, the fact remains that Slipknot for this are unique.You have to try. Even in "All Hope is Gone" Slipknot manage to convey the same feelings but at the same time in a different way than in previous albums. I give a 10, only because we can not give higher ratings. // 10

Overall Impression: The impressions of this album were immediately positive from the first 2 singles extracts from the album, namely "All Hope is Gone" and Psychosocial (of which we have shown an edit version of the song, compared to album, as they cut, Inexplicably, part of lyrics in which Corey screams "Limit of the Dead!"), Which immediately made me understand how Slipknot presenting their new work, then with the release the album I had a feeling even more positive (as I described above). In this section we look briefly every song of the album, to try to give you a overall idea of "All Hope is Gone." Execute - the usual intro that Slipknot bring into every album, almost entirely instrumental, rather than "instrumental" say noise "melodic", perfect for diving in their world of hardship and to let you awaken the maggot that is within each of us, after 4 years of rest. Gematria (The Killing Name) - one of the best songs of the album, presents a lighter vein of trash metal, is better to say Slipknot's trash metal, the longest of the album after Gehenna, almost entirely in scream... Awesome! The lyrics talk about the our beautiful society and the uselessness of religion, but the chorus says: America is a Killing Name. I am not American, and on this I cannot say anything, I do not have the competence and the right. Sulfur - musically perfect usual excellent interpretation of Corey and Lyrics talking about the hypocrisy in people and the difficulty that this implies in life, "Like Breathing in Sulfur... " Psychosocial - surely one of the best riff of Slipknot (at least for me), the lyrics resurrect the appearance of misantropo Slipknot; because disgustati by most of the people who live on this world and even from themselves (as stated in "People = Shit" ) say: "And the rain will kill us all." Dead Memories - this is one of the songs in which Corey totally sings with a melodic voice, not using the ever scream. This song speaks (I think, if I understood correctly) a story of love gone wrong, for reasons of money. "But you asked me to love you and I did. Traded my emotions for a contract to commit." Vendetta - in addition to repeat myself for the beautiful instrumental and vocal performance, the title of the song is the key to reading the lyrics. Butcher's Hook - this song besides containing a beautiful solo guitar, is one of the new anthems of "All Hope is Gone" against society... carry over some line... "Contrite - Commercial - Arrogance - Leprosy Consume The Bitch - The f--ker - Mindless - Like A Child For Pity's Sake - I've Had All That I Can Take We Try - But In The End We'll See There Are No More Codes Only Who Is Shit / And Who's Still Free I was gonna change the world with Honor and Aggression No one listened - no one cared All they saw was misdirection Go ahead and disagree / I'm giving up again I don't want you anymore I don't need you anymore " Gehenna - the longest song of the album, even more musically particular, almost psychedelic, with Corey which makes it perfectly the unique atmosphere of the song, for those who have not known Gehenna is the paradise in the Jewish religion, with a sung for most melodic, but with the parties sung scream, short but intense ^ ^ This Cold Black - if "Bucther's Hook" is one of the new anthems of "All Hope is Gone" against society, "This Cold Black" as well as being one of the heaviest songs of the album, is another anthem like "Butcher's Hook" for the lyrics, this song expresses all the pessimistic view that Slipknot have the world in which we live. Carryover the first line. Mother Nature is a Coward (Mother Nature is a Whore) Werein Lies Continue - even in this song the title is very cleverly, I believe that the "lies" to which they relate, are those derived mainly from religion, especially for these lines. "Confuse a liar with a savior from fear Create a Separate Myth and the Chosen Ones Adolescent Independence / Dominion I only want to believe in f--kin 'anything But now my conscience is contradicting everything " But for most of the song we suggest as "react" to this social situation. Snuff - come to the song that surprised me most of the other songs along with "Gehenna" as a song is totally unexpected, "Gehenna" is surely the most particular for the part instrumental, while "Snuff" is unexpected especially for the lyrics and the way in which the Slipknot have expressed. It is perhaps the most melodic song ever written by Slipknot, is a ballad Rock, but this scares us not long after "Vermilion Pt.2" and "Circle". What I was left petrified is the lyrics, is written almost like a poem, and is a song that transmits a great melancholy (especially in people who identify in the lyrics). I am not saying anything about lyrics, go to read as to understand 'll have to read everything. Although this song represents the portion of Slipknot that I like less, but is one of the songs of "All Hope is Gone" that impressed me more, perhaps because I lived a story essentially identical. All Hope Is Gone - the Song of the homonymous album, "All Hope is Gone" is the last hymn with which Slipknot conclude this masterpiece. Besides the usual and repeated several times by myself perfect execution of Slipknot both musically, that the vocals of Corey, the lyrics of this song speaks of how all the hopes we had in a change of this world are now gone up in smoke. Awesome point where it says: "We're the problem, but we're also the solution." This sentence should reflect many people, but now I do not believe in that. All Hope Is Gone! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 4.7
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: xxieatbabiesxxx, on august 26, 2008
6 of 28 people found this review helpful

Sound: Let me start off this review by quickly stating that I am all for bands innovating and changing their style, and I ask that the reader does not go under the impression that I am simply writing this poor review because Slipknot decided to change their style. Now that that's out of the way, let me get to the review. In promotion for their next album, "All Hope Is Gone", Slipknot decided to have listening parties at all hot topics today. Being that I work there, I got to hear the album in it's entirety. Now, I've been a fan of Slipknot for several years. When I was younger, they were a sort of gateway drug into metal for me, as I had no introduction to the genre at the time and knew nothing of how vast the whole genre really was. Even after discovering other bands in the metal world that are more technically and musically proficient, I have stuck by Slipknot's music. Despite the fact that the songwriting is often simplistic and rhythm-oriented, I have had a definite appreciation for the way in which it was put together. The way each member (or well, at least most of them) contribute to the music puts together a sound that I still believe is entirely original. I even had a strong appreciation for Vol. 3 when they toned down the aggression and focused more on the instrumentals. My first introduction to this album was with the single "All Hope is Gone," which I quickly became addicted to. Good song, good instrumentals, a very catchy chorus, and a badass guitar solo. Joey Jordison still managed to drive the song home on the drums, and even Sid Wilson was still able to contribute his DJ skills. Once I heard this, I was more than stoked to hear what else they were planning on releasing. Then after that, I heard Psychosocial. This disappointed me a bit. The riffs were much more simplistic, and it seemed like Slipknot was definitely going much more in the direction of a more Stone Sour-ish type of sound. What upset me even more was the hardcore-esque breakdown in the middle of the song, which just seemed like at that point they were trying way too hard to match up to what's popular in the metal scene right now. So I was sitting on the fence when the clock struck 7 to play the album in the store. I was sincerely hoping the band was going to put together something new and innovative that had some of the aggression of their self-titled album and Iowa along with the musical innovation of Vol. 3. After the first few songs, I was already getting more and more disappointed. What I heard was not Slipknot, but very bad and very generic alternative rock. The tempos were all slowed down, the guitars doing very little musical innovation, a complete absence of Sid Wilson, and Joey Jordison doing a very steady and uninspired drum line. Corey Taylor was barely screaming and focused more on singing. Now, as I said, I am all for bands expanding and innovating. I am a huge fan of all of Metallica's softer works up through the Black Album, but the major difference there is Metallica's softer songs were innovative and original. This music is not. Then I started hearing some of their heavier stuff. Again here, I was not impressed. The guitars were doing some more complex riffs, but barely anything to qualify as innovative. Still very little contribution from Sid Wilson. In fact, the only thing I felt driving these songs at this point was the drums. The thing I loved about Slipknot's original style was the use of effects, samples, and DJ. They weren't necessarily playing anything complicated, but the use of those things together helped to create a unique sound. What I heard sounded more like sludge metal than anything else. // 3

Lyrics: Unfortunately it's hard to recall everything Corey Taylor was singing about, being as though I was also trying to work at the same time I was listening to this album. I will comment on the fact that I do believe his vocals have gotten increasingly better though. His screams are improving and he's still managing to maintain the kind of sound he used on the old albums. He also has a fantastic singing voice, but decided to use it way more than he should have. // 7

Overall Impression: This album stands very poorly next to their previous works. If any of you enjoyed the single "All Hope is Gone" as much as I did, your best bet is to stick with that single and not listen to the whole album, because none of the songs on there sound anything like it. This album won't have the opportunity to be stolen from me, because I won't buy it. I would have been able to buy it on pre-sale today with my employee discount, but after hearing it, decided to get something else instead. Some of the customers who came in just to hear the entire album decided to go in the same direction. I'm going to stick with the one song off the album that I do like and hope if I ever decide to see Slipknot again in concert that they don't start sticking too many new songs into their set-list. // 4

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: kmceric1004, on august 26, 2008
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Sound: When Slipknot blew up my earlobes for the first time with their smashing debut album, 'Mate.Feed.Kill.Repeat', I have been clinging onto their songs. This may sound like a confession of bias, but I try my best not to be biased when criticising is the focus. 4 years after their third studio album (Vol3), Slipknot produced something that literally will 'rip your face off'. All Hope Is Gone, has been succesful in manifesting their much-anticipated imagery of darkness (well, obvious through their use of masks). With songs like 'Gematria (The Killing Name)', 'Psychosocial', 'This Cold Black', 'Wherein Lies Continue' and 'All Hope Is Gone', Slipknot manages to track back to their old 'headbang until your neck is ripped off' way. These songs are much heavier and darker, compared to the songs from Vol3; and to the fans that were pulling away for them not being as hardcore as they used to be as in Iowa, it can be seen to be a good enough turning point for them. They easily manage to bring back their uniqueness. Even though the song 'Vendetta' might be counted as going back to their old ways of dealing with 'insanity in music', listeing to that song, somewhat replicated the riff styles that were written by a death metal band 'Cannibal Corpse' or 'Cradle Of Filth'. Some of you might disagree, but the use of fast and consecutive notes in the intro sounds similar to Cradle Of Filth sort of riffs. Moreover, to the side where Slipknot promised on this album. The 'melodic' and 'experimental' side of things. Well, with songs such as 'Snuff' and 'Dead Memories' their melodic capability is aptly present. 'Snuff' had a presence similar to 'Vermillion Pt.2' in Vol3. Personally, 'Snuff' didn't sound as emotional/dark as Vermillion Pt.2 and compared to the whole 'impression' of the album, Snuff didn't really fit in to the picture. It is wierd. It is experimental in melodic sense. But it just simply 'doesnt't fit'. On the 'experimental' side, (well, all the songs do tend to exploit both sides) we have 'Butchers Hook'. I sensed a bit of metalcore influence in this song. Dark, swinging riffs accompanied by Corey's newly-enforced darker screams and of course, Joey Jordison full-on spine-breaking drumming. One of the best aspect of this new album was that many songs now featured solos; it seems like a compensation for Mick and Jim being accused of lacking 'talent'. Well, there you go doubters, you have extreme mind-boggling, yet, melodically fit (which is to say, ear-pleasing) solos that will rip your doubts to ribbons. In overview, the sound Slipknot have created on this new album is simply amazing. They have finally proven their capabillity to the full in my opinion. They now show us their talents more than ever, yet keeping the songs ear-pleasing and just purely enjoyable to listen to. Guitars, drums, vocals, turntables and keyboards were, in my opinion, to the full extent to virtualise the possibility of Slipnot's limit to their limitless sound. // 9

Lyrics: Lyrics are usual stuffs. Indeed, they are dark. But Slipknot isnt really a band that require complex and metaphoric lyrics. All they needed was effect and the pure message conveyed in them. Although they need effects-only lyrics (such as 'if you're 555 then I'm 666 or SICCCCC SICCC SICCCC), they still bring forth the absurdity and often what we'd call 'insanity' into the lyrics. Most notable would be lyrics in 'Psychosocial'. You can read it and just realise how insane the lyrics actually feel. Reciting such lyrics casually as if you are saying it would cause a stir, wouldn't it? Besides that, as I said, Slipknot blends in lyrics into a right rythm, maximising the effect of them, without them needing to be overly metaphoric. Corey Taylor has develped a darker way of screaming and his representation of his change in vocal style is consistent throughout the album. Even though Slipknot achieves their goal, their lyrics are tidious on their own. // 8

Overall Impression: As mentioned, some original Slipknot, metalcore influences and other sorts of metal influences is present in their new songs (excluding melodic songs). As for me, the whole album blew me away, or it 'melted my face' in cliche. Most notable song would be 'This Cold Black'. This song had so many variations to their diversity in tone and their ability to write amazing songs. The intro riff is thrash, the solo is just awesome, the chorus and verses are metalcore/hardcore/original Slipknot and with all that blended in into one big formidable mass, how could it not be so bold? But, all the tracks on this album is listening to. They did achieve what they have promised, and IMO, they achieved even more. Every single song is notable, worthwhile to listen to and moreover. A Slipknot fan would not want to miss this. Even other metalheads who 'despise' Slipknot for various ignorant reasons should also have a listen at this album. This album is a pure attack on our ears and this, surprisingly, is a pleasant attack. Because of these reasons, I will never allow it to be stolen. I pre-ordered a limited edition and a normal one. So I won't really lose it, will I? but hypothetically speaking, if it was, then I would most definitely replace it ASAP. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: SabbathFlames88, on august 27, 2008
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Many are going to say this album is just another Vol. 3, but those people probably only listened to a few songs and labeled SlipKnot as sellouts. Just because a band has a CD where not every song is cranked up to eleven doesn't make them soft. "Snuff" will get the most negative feedback even though one of the best things about SlipKnot is they can be calm one second and rip your face off the next. Which brings me to Gematria (the killing name) which kicks in after the intro.execute. that sounds like the speech from pulse of the maggots. Gematria sounds like something they wrote between self-titled and Iowa. Also, listening to this song makes your wonder how all Joey (Drummer) has broken on this tour is his ankle. Many of the guitars on this CD by Jim and Mick make me want to just throw my guitar out the window cause I can't play them. Shawn and Chris seem to have a much bigger part in this album along with Sid and Craig but it doesn't feel forced like they wanted everyone to be part of a song. The backing vocals from Chris and Paul and very prominent in This Cold Black which is a straight forward SlipKnot song, no questions asked. // 10

Lyrics: Corey Taylor is in my opinion the best singer in metal. All Hope Is Gone has him sounding the best he has in years on every track. He does do some weird singing in Gehenna, this albums Iowa but shorter, that at first I thought sucked, but after a few listens it makes sense in the song. Corey said in an interview that he wasn't going to pretend he coulden't sing and he doesn't. The lyrics are in someway one of this albums only faults. I will be listening to one song but I'll have another stuck in my head. It's not really a fault but I get confused easly. Also he does bring swearing back but it's not pointless with him just saying "F this, F that". a lot if not all the songs are easy to find something in common with and that is very important to me in music. // 10

Overall Impression: Reading this might make you think I'm getting paid but I'm not I swear. I was scared like many other maggots that this album would just bomb and I would have another couple years of "SlipKnot Sucks" or "SlipKnot Sold Out". Then I remembered, it's SlipKnot, and even a bad SlipKnot album (which this is not in any way) is better then most if not all other bands. My favorite songs are Gematria, Psychosocial, Dead Memories, and like 6 others. There are only a few songs that I don't like as much as others but no glaring bad songs, all either solid or just plain kick ass. Their best CD to date. If someone stole this CD from me, I would beat them with a DVD player then give them $10 to buy their one once they come to. Many people will probally tell me SlipKnot sucks but thankfully now I have the CD on so loud I can't hear them. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.7
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: HarvesterOfDeth, on august 28, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Slipknot's new album finally dropped and I have been looking forward to it for a while. It starts out with '.execute' which in itself is an intro. most of the time I skip intros but this is very foreboding and dark and gives you a feeling of what's to come. Gematria (The Killing Name) is a great first song. it's kind of long for a Slipknot song at just over 6 mins. but it really shows off the heaviness. 'Sulfer' is still hard but has a chorus that is sung in a StoneSour esque feel however it's still pretty Slipknot. I'm sure everyones heard 'Psychosocial' by now but everytime I hear it's intro I get pumped. And while the guitars are pretty simple it's very heavy and this song also gives us something that's not on a whole lot of their songs, a solo. The chorus is sung as well but in a way all their chorus's should be sung. Here's where my opinion starts to change. tracks 5 through 8 are the worst on the CD in my opinion. While they still have some heaviness to them the sound as though Corey Tayler came to the band and said 'Hey guys, I've got 4 tracks left over from the StoneSour recordings that we should use to save time'. That being said there not bad tracks just not very Slipknot. And before you bring the 'bands evolve and change sound' argument let me say that's fine but when you front 2 bands and you do the same thing with both why have 2 bands? If I was to play any of tracks 5 through 8 to someone who has listened to both Slipknot and StoneSour I bet that 90% of the time the would think the were StoneSour NOT Slipknot. Track 8 titled 'Gehenna' is my least favorite of all the tracks on the CD. although getting back to a slipknot sound the chorus is a terrible attempt and when he tries to hit the high note I really just wanted to shut off the disk. It is in fact my least favorite Slipknot song off all 4 of their albums. Also it might be their longest track ever at just short of 7 minutes. 'This Cold Black' the ninth track is one of the best songs they've done in a while. It has a very angry feel and gets right to the point. 'Wherein Lies Continue' and 'Snuff' are both good and then the album ends with another high note with 'All Hope Is Gone'. // 7

Lyrics: Lyricly a few songs stand out. Gematria has a very political stand to it's voice and seen with a lot bands lately "America is a killing name, It doesnt't feel or dicriminate" lines like this make up for the most part but arnt so overbaring that you will think they hate their right to free speech. again seen in 'Psychosocial' with lines like "I did my time, and I want out" and "Go dig your deserts, go dig your graves, Then fill your mouth with all the money you will save" Obviously their thoughts on the war in the Middle East. Another standout lyrically for me was 'Snuff' while it's mostly sung it doesnt't remind the listener of StoneSour, it retains it's Slipknot sound. 'Snuff' is this CD's 'Vermillion pt.2' sounds as though he's writing a letter to someone he hates but loves at the same time saying line like "If you love me, let me go, and run away before I know" and "I can't destroy what isn't here". You would think that the lyrical content of this song would be weird for a band like this but they have proven again they can make it work. Corey's vocal talent is present throughout showing his range from singing to outright growls and screams but the vocal low point is 'Gehenna'. It wouldn't have been so bad except when tries to hit the high note at the middle of the chorus. "Free my severed heart. Give me you" when he sings "you" he changes pitch and it is not something he should do. // 8

Overall Impression: Like I've said 8 of the 12 tracks are really good and 4 are not to my liking at all. most of the time I don't like it when an artist releases a short CD but I would have been happier if they only put those 8 on the disk. I really enjoy it overall but if you couldnt tell I really don't like StoneSour. If you really like both bands you will be pleased with this album. However if your on the fence and only like Slipknot's heavier stuff Download 'Gemetria (The Killing Name)', 'Psychosocial', 'This Cold Black', and 'All Hope Is Gone'. These are the standout tracks and definetly worth your time. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: execution_666, on september 01, 2008
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Slipknot's sound is and always has been unique. There is something about it where you would recognize it wherever you are. This is a very experimental album, being heavy and melodic at the same time. There is some soft parts in the album as well (snuff). From the crushing riffs made my Mick(7) Jim(4) and Paul(2), the thunderous beats made by Joey(1), All The Way To Clown(6) and Chris's(3) percussion, Sid's(0) turntable work, 133's(5) sampling, and Corey's(8) roaring vocals, every member does their part in All Hope is Gone to make it as experimental as possible. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics, you can say, are based around politics. But there are some explanations of what's wrong with life and how "All Hope is Gone". Corey yells and sings melodic. Unlike their self-titled, there is no rapping. The lyrics go very well with the music in the background. They can be brutal, they can also make sense and melodic. // 9

Overall Impression: This album is great. Slipknot did an awesome job. I won't say it's their bast album, because for me nothing will beat self-titled, but they did their best. A lot of solo's and a complex approach made by the band. There isn't anything you could say they just half-assed. Some songs to check out: of course Psychosocial, Snuff, This Cold Black, Sulfer, All Hope is Gone, even the intro is kick ass. I love the fact that they did a lot of work to make this album the way they wanted. If it was lost or stolen I would get it again. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: Metallica_AC/DC, on january 05, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Now, the good news. The excited violence of their debut is (in-part) back: 'Vendetta' is pure Pantera strut, 'This Cold Black' is a riot of hate driven by Joey Jordison's blastbeats, leaving these two songs among the finest in their canon. Lead single 'Psychosocial' is the perfect marriage of light and shade, but the title track astounds most: gloriously sludgy and frantically light-fingered at the same time, it's a relentless assault which confirms that, when their backs are against the wall, Slipknot can hew stunning riffs from the heaviest metal. But by letting their off-beat creativity fester, Slipknot have missed their chance to finally silence the doubters; confusing considering they conquered the world without a shred of compromise. No-one's been scared of them since last century, but 'Vol 3' shocked because it was so unexpected. They needed to up their innovating significantly but haven't, leaving 'All Hope Is Gone' above-average. And for a band used to being loved or hated, the middle ground can't be where they aimed for. // 9

Lyrics: try not to shiver when Corey Taylor growls Let me watch you as you sleep - 'Snuff' emotes so hard it recalls post-Bizkit mopers Staind. The lyrics are well written and show Corey's skills as a singer. Corey's skills however are shown off more when he sings 'Bother' or 'Through the Glass' with his other band 'Stone Sour'. // 10

Overall Impression: f--k it all, f--k this world, f--k everything that you stand for spat Slipknot in 1999 on 'Surfacing', helping them become an international phenomenon in the process. Nearly a decade on they're one of the most recognisable bands on the planet through, the cynics say, a combination of shock marketing and exploiting the f--k-you-I-won't-tidy-my-bedroom angst dollar, but beneath the masks lies an insatiable desire to innovate musically. 'Iowa' (2001) added cold, bold tinges of black and doom metal to the scorched-earth template of their debut; the brutality of 'Vol 3 (The Subliminal Verses)' was so garlanded with dark ambience and shards of melody it prompted even the sniffiest of detractors into grudging respect.Yet while their antics have, perversely, allowed Slipknot to quietly become one of the most interesting bands operating on such a commercial level (their two platinum and one double-platinum records sit on a rotting mantelpiece next to their Grammy), 'All Hope Is Gone' is a mis-step, albeit not a fatal one. The catchier elements of 'Vol 3' felt brave while retaining their trademark filth, but the FM choruses of 'Butcher's Hook' and 'Wherein Lies Continue' jar next to Mick Thomson and Jim Root's gunshot guitars. And though 'Gehenna' is an attempt at unsettling atmospherica. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: ColbyDTD, on march 03, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: SlipKnot, as a band, and as people, have evolved since their 1999 release. It started out as, lets be as angry and crazy as we can, just to make people see that we are serious. Now that they've done that, they've stepped it up. They are creating longer songs, and compiling ALL of their material into one. This is not the SlipKnot found on the 1999 release..this is something new..this is now the Knot at the prime. // 10

Lyrics: Corey Taylor and Joey Jordison are the main producers in SlipKnot..but on this album, Jim, Clown, Paul, and Craig all put in their 2 cents. All of the songs on this album have a great meaning, and a great(or not so great, depending on your views of the world) message. The lyrics fit the music, and the lyrics make the music. Corey really stepped it up here, along with the rest of the nine. // 9

Overall Impression: This is nothing like metal today. SlipKnot created somehting different..as the do every record. All the songs on are amazing, but the songs that really stood out to me were, Gematria, Sulfur, This Cold Black, and Snuff. My favourite songs because of the lyrics and how the lyrics fit the songs so well! I love this album so much. It really opened my eyes to things. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: alexnis1, on september 01, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: For this album, Slipknot decided to continue the sound of their 3rd album "Vol. 3: The Subliminal Verses" by making some slower songs with acoustic and clean guitar effects with slower drums etc, but then there are the awesome heavy songs where you just want to headbang without caring whos looking. Usually I don't like slow songs but I loved the way slipknot presented the slow songs. I was expecting the album to be heavier but I loved it all the same. Great instrumental work. When it comes to guitar, Mick and James chose to do a lot more pinch harmonics to get a nice squeal and joey as usual put the cherry on top with his insane drums. The sound of this album was different but definately awesome! // 9

Lyrics: Suprisingly, Corey chose to sing a few of the songs from start to finish, such as Dead Memories, Child of Burning Time (Bonus Track) or Snuff. I used to think Corey couldnt sing the best in the world going by previous albums, but his voice blew me away with his strong powerful voice. This album is clear proof that he can sing. The vocals went well with the music as well such as in Psychosocial in the bridge/outro when the guitar is jammin away corey screams "The limits of the dead". I thought pumped so much more energy into the song. // 10

Overall Impression: I managed to buy the Special Edition with the 3 bonus tracks and the making of "All Hope Is Gone" DVD. I personally think that this album is their best yet so if this is slipknots last album (which I'm assuming will be) then I know they will have gone out with a bang. I love everything about this album other than the fact that some songs can feel repetitive. The best songs on the album would be Psychosocial, Vendetta, Sulfur, Child of Burning Time, Snuff and Butchers Hook. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.7
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: unregistered, on september 03, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: So, finally it's here. The long awaited successor of The Subliminal Verses which saw the nine-piece beast push into a slightly more melodic and adventurous approach than with previous albums. The record offered that Slipknot didn't compromise with their image and attitude while diving head first into uncharted territory. All Hope Is Gone continues the style of The Subliminal Verses, with a little more productional space gained by now legendary mixer Colin Richardson and the absence of Rick Rubin's ultra-dry and tight production. // 10

Lyrics: Corey Taylor is by now one of the most respected frontmen in all of heavy metal and his venture with "time-off band" Stone Sour, being his main focus in the last couple of years, has surely matured him as a lead singer in terms of range, style and melodic sense. On All Hope Is Gone he goes from his trademark roaring, a few growly moments to complete clean singing in the style of the Stone Sour single ''Through Glass''. Lyrically, All Hope Is Gone being the title of the whole record, one can rather quickly draw the conclusion that Mr. Taylor doesn't write nursery rhymes about clear blue skies and teddy bears. While his lyrics, as ever, works tremendously on soaring tracks like Gemetria (The Killing Name) and This Cold Black, and even when his voice is only on somewhat half-overdrive as on Vendetta and Sulfur, the most bits of clean singing, Gehenna being a nice exception, simply generate an estranged feeling. When the lyrical themes are so dark and depressing as on All Hope Is Gone, Taylor sometimes sound a bit whiny, complaining about "Dead Memories" or something else. Those moments are quite honestly the closest Slipknot have come to being emo, and must throw off one or two fans along the way. By no means, does this mean that they cannot make experiments within their music, but this path is a bumpy ride at best. // 6

Overall Impression: All Hope Is Gone is a really all or nothing-record. There are songs that certainly qualify themselves as new Slipknot classics. Stand out tracks of the more traditional (if that's a word that can be used in the same sentence as Slipknot) sounding songs, are Gemetria (The Killing Name), This Cold Black, All Hope Is Gone and Vendetta while the experimental pieces work rather admirably on Sulfur and Gehenna (a slow, doomy Alice In Chains-y track. The in-betweens are first single, Psychosocial, with it's monstrous kick-ass groove turning a bit moody getting through to the chorus, and Snuff with it's almost hopelessly beautiful chord progressions and melodies but with lyrics a bit too depressing, even though Corey Taylor really shines. Overall, there are enough tracks to keep us satisfied, but Slipknot must be careful with their experiments and must realise that with full artistic freedom comes great responsibility. However, if Joey Jordison plays this great on all 'Knot albums to come, we should never get to hear the complete disappointment. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: Nghtcrawler5, on september 16, 2008
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Ah, yes. Slipknot. Somehow I get the feeling they were looking for an alternative name for a noose but found 'slipknot' instead. Ah, well. Onto the fun. Now, I like Slipknot. Not because they're an angry band, or metal extraordinaire. No, no. It's because of the masks. They want you to hear the music, rather than see the beauty. It makes me feel there are actual talented artists out there that don't rely on beauty to win fans. So Slipknot, unlike those damned pretty Jonas Brothers, wear the masks, a reflection of themselves, to douse the idealistic thought of their fans liking them because they're handsome. Oh, far from it. And I love anything non-conformist. But I'm missing the point. Slipknot. Metal. Hard rock. Yadda yadda. You know how it goes. Add some lyrics, put some fast, crazy music. And we're done. Congrats, everyone. // 7

Lyrics: One thing I've always had against Slipknot is their sense of rhyme. They seem to think rhyming from verse to verse opposed to line to line works out perfect. Uh... huh... Right, then. Whatever you please, boys. As long as it works. And one thing I've noticed is no one can agree on the correct lyrics. Just a few moments ago, I attempted to look up the lyrics to Psychosocial (my favorite on this album). I found about fifty bloody different versions. Luuuuuckily, I know what the song is about, so I made my own interpretation. Thanks to the big man for that. And one last thing, maggots. Corey Taylor's skills as far as singing goes are pretty damn impressive. He goes from pseudo-angry screaming to clean singing in mid-line. That's really impressive in my book. He has such a good voice. My throat hurts just imitating the chap. // 9

Overall Impression: Well, to be honest and quick to the point, this is the best Slipknot yet. But I do think I've come up with a reason as to why they're so bloody angry in their songs. They're from Iowa. And what is there to do in Iowa? Start fires and tip cows (no offense to any of you Iowa-dwellers out there). Anyway, as far as the songs go, Psychosocial and All Hope is Gone are best. The rest are the usual Slipknot goings. Angry, fire, angry, cow tipping. And yes. I will resort to that joke for every Slipknot album to come. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: xero_wickham, on september 17, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: It is easy to listen to this CD and say, "Shit another band that sold out, this doen't sound like Slipknot at all." While that may be true, if you have only ever listened to the first album, if you have heard all of the albums and heard the bands progression and slowly evolving and changing sound it is no real surprise of the directin that they have taken with this album. There are still moments for the 'old-skool' die hard fans with songs like All Hope is Gone and Gemtria staying true to the old thrashy sound. The newer sound shows to me that they have improved musically and are now able to do more musically than just hammer strings as hard and fast as they can. That being said there is notrhing musically brilliant about this album, there never has been in Splipknot their beauty comes from the lyrics. // 7

Lyrics: Corey Taylor stays true with his lyrical brilliance in this album, while the style of getting his message across has changed. The violent angry lyrics have gradually disappeared from his writing the messages that he has remain the same and are as clear as ever. While Corey can't scream and shout like he used ot be able to the clean singing adds a certain element to the music that has never been there before and allows for more emotion, rather than just anger. I presonally feel that the emotion that you can feel from a song is key to developing an attachment to it so this helps greatly. I am, however, looking forward to seeing them live to see if Taylor can reproduce the same shouting that he has in the album because last time I saw them his singing was a little sub-par because, as I mentioned earlier, he is unable to shout like he used to. One of my favourite songs on the album is ironically enough the least heavy song on the album, Snuff. Even though it is slower and more melodic the emotion and composition of the song are not matched in my opinion anyway. // 9

Overall Impression: This SLipknot album proves that they are smarter than people give them credit for, it slips right into that genre betweeen MTV music and underground, which is where I think they want to be. It is not so heaby that it won't get media play and heavy enough that people won't think that they have sold out. The final thing I will say though is when listening to this album don't go in with the frame of mind that it is a typical slipknot album. You need to suspend that belief and just listen to it by itself and seperate it from the other efforts of the band and I'm sure you will be happy with your purchanse. I know I was. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: jeromyrb, on december 08, 2008
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: After having this album for a few months I finally feel that I can review it. Slipknot had stated that they wanted to take elements from iowa and vol 3 and mix them together, while being more experimental. I had my doubts that they could go back to the sound they had in iowa, but I was confidant they could create a very experimental album. it turns out that slipknot did everything they wanted to do and more for this album. From song structure to solos to longer songs to acoustic, they have done it all. I could not be "prouder" at all. Yet, it seems that it lacked a certain energy that previous albums had. Their self titled album, while far from being musically perfect, was so full of energy and aggression, that I just can't help but to crank it up and scream along with it. A similar situation would be the new bullet for my valentine album, which I just can't help but to compare with all hope is gone. so while slipknot has become more musically sophisticated, they have lost a lot of their drive and power. Not to say I don't like this album, far from it, it all depends what I am in the mood to listen to. // 8

Lyrics: The style of lyrics hasn't changed much over the years, aside from covering a broader range of topics. Corey even sings about politics! His voice hasn't hardly diminished over the years. I'd say his screaming was at peak in Iowa, yet his singing is as good as ever. It must be hard to find something to scream about these days, but Corey manages to, and his singing still works with the rest of the band. // 8

Overall Impression: 01.execute: typical slipknot intro. It works very well with as the beginning of the album, and really give a sense of anticipation. hearing Corey yell ALL HOPE IS GONE amidst the drum beats and static really sets the stage for the album. As an intro I give it a 10/10 02.Gematria (The Killing Name): track one immediately gives way to Gematria, with a guitar riff that really has been beyond slipknot until now. At around six minutes, this song is all screaming, with a guitar solo to go with it. A perfect "heavy" song on the album. 10/10 03.Sulfur: this song has a tone of forbearing that I really can't describe. it seems to give a sense of impeding doom, at least to me. this song gives heavy double bass pedal, chugging guitar, and not-quite-screaming vocals along with clean singing. 8/10 04.Phycosocial: the "biggest hit" of the album. I have seen people who really don't like heavy metal still like this song, which means that slipknot has really attracted a mainstream audience. Which I suppose is something to be proud of. But it is definitely a powerful song, and I find the beat to best part of the song. 8/10 05.Dead Memories: one of my favorites. this song has no screaming, and really is quite beautiful. I love the contrast of the heavy drums and guitar with the clean vocals. this song proves to me that corey taylor still has one of the best voices around. 10/10 06.Vendetta: starts by showcasing the drums, this song is average to me. the part of the song that sticks out the most is the chorus, which is quite catchy. Sometimes this song seems really good to me, others it is mediocre. 6.5/10 07.Butcher's Hook: not one of the best songs on the album. the verses seem like they don't fit together. Everything seems just out there, like different people wrote the different parts and threw them together. 4/10 08.Gehenna: I love the sound of this song. it seems very flat and downtuned. at above six minutes, it doesn't waste space. the song doesn't get boring. the chorus really shines in this song, especially coreys "give me youoooouuu" along with the really low chord. 9/10 09.This Cold Black: the slower, softer sound fades into this fast, aggressive, all-screaming song. it seems to be the most angry and heavy, and that's all there is to it. 7.5/10 10.Wherein Lies Continue: this song just seems, well, cheesy. Between the main guitar riff and, the generic metal lyrics, this song kinda fails, until the neat chorus. Which has better riffs and singing. 4/10 11.Snuff: um, beautiful. some people might get mad at slipknot for this song, but I praise them for it. they show that they don't need distortion, screaming, and tons of drums to right a good song. this song sort of sounds like a christmas song, probably because of the bells. I love the build of the song. it never gets as far as you want it, if that makes sense. It leaves you wanting more. 9/10 12.All Hope Is Gone: this and Snuff seem like complete opposites. this is one of the heaviest slipknot songs to date. Although after a couple of listens, I get bored with it. However, it is a decent song. A very fitting conclusion. I should mention a very special bonus track to me: Vermillion pt 2 (Bloodstone Mix). This song is great. Give it a listen. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: unregistered, on december 19, 2008
0 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sound: All Hope is Gone is for those who enjoy Metal! It has a mixture of all of SlipKnoT's previous albums with the screaming for verses and clean for chorus. For this album SlipKnot decided to record the album in Jamaica Iowa. The line up is also the same since the last album with: Sid Wilson (DJ) Joey Jordison (Drums,) Paul Gray (Bass/ Backing Vocals) Chris Fehn (Percussion/Backing Vocals) James/Jim Root (Guitarist) Craig '133' Jones (Media) Shawn 'Clown' Crahan (Percussion) Mick Thompson (Guitar) and Corey Taylor (Lead Vocals/Songwriter). // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are good but in some songs they are a bit wierd. The lyrics do suit the music well especially in songs like 'Sulfur, 'Psychosocial' and 'Snuff.' Corey Taylor's voice has healed after it's break while recording Vol. 3 and he is at his best! Corey Taylor is still the Baritone Voice. // 10

Overall Impression: This album is a lot better then some of the other metal albums to be released this year. If you have my taste in music I would say it isn't as good as Death Magnetic (Metallica, ) it is way better then Shogun (Trivium) and Indestructible (Disturbed.) The only thing I don't like about this album is track one (.execute.) because it is just wierd noises probably done by Craig Jones/Sid Wilson. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: morello#2, on january 05, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: All hope is gone is slipknot's new release and it is definitely a return to form. The drumming in particular is brilliant, so tight but still containing the aggression that made slipknot what it is. The guitar playing on this record isn't as good as other albums especially the solos and although Root and Thomsom introduced more shredding to this album, the guitars still lack something. All hope is Gone is definitely a change for slipknot but it is also a huge step forward for this band. You can also hear some of the elements of stone sour in this record and it goes to show that the time that some of the band members put into their side projects helped their development as musicians. // 8

Lyrics: Corey taylor's lyrics are mainly political and less about nilism, Misanthropy etc that have been the main subject of other albums.Taylor also introduces some more melody into his vocal range and his screams and growls seem to be improving.His lyrics fit in perfectly with the mood of the music itself. it's a vast improvement for taylor. // 9

Overall Impression: Overall this album is great, a definate must have for any metal fan. It inroduces some much needed new elements to Slipknots sound but it still contains some of Slipknots best old features. If it were stolen or lost I'd buy one again without any hesitation.It is such a good album it's worth the album. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: kurtcobainsucks, on january 23, 2009
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Slipknot has always made each album very different from the others, but at the same time; they keep their core sound. This album was no exception. With a mix of heavy songs (Dead Memories, Psychosocial), and acoustically driven songs (Snuff); Slipknot has mixed 2 styles to make a complete masterpiece. // 9

Lyrics: The lyrics on "All Hope Is Gone," are impressive. From the apocalyptic title track to the emotional "Snuff," Corey Taylor really shows his lyrical talent. He also exhibits his range of vocals from soulful singing to low-pitched growls. The backing vocals on this album were amazing too, everyone seems to be able to come together to make a vocal masterpiece. // 9

Overall Impression: "All Hope is Gone" is altogether a great album, however those who are just starting to listen to Slipknot, this may not be the album to start with, it is a little more in-depth than their other albums. If you love Slipknot though, this is definitely an album worth buying. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: wareuph, on february 26, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: First of all let me say I am not a big slipknot fan. Actually, I'm not a slipknot fan at all. I bought their last CD, and was "converted" but I never enjoyed their previous material because I didn't hear much of it, and what I heard wasn't really my cup of tea. Fast forward to the present. I am hopelessly in love with All Hope is Gone. I really wasn't ready for this CD... it's got the amazing drumming, killer riffs, and passionate vocals of an outstandingly talented band at their prime. That's not even mentioning the tight grooves of the slightly overshadowed bass and intricate background melodies of innumerable electronic instruments. I gave the fury of this album's production and sound quality a 9/10 because of the sheer volume of audio information being thrown at the listener at all times: Sometimes it's not a good thing. The bass is very weak in the mix and the coolest little keyboard or turntable "diddies" can only be heard by throwing on some headphones or putting a hold to the headbanging - not exactly great news. Besides from that you've got to give credit for managing to fit all of this instrumental real estate in a workable production template so that the listener can hear the unadulterated fury of what is my favorite metal album of the year so far. Now, on to the important bit: The guitars. Never before has dropped tuning sounded so downright devilishly appealing. Root and Thompson have SERIOUSLY given Lamb of God's Adler and Morton some dangerous competition. Delightfully original breakdowns, chunky, unpredictable choruses, and playful verses put these two guitarists in the spotlight at all times, and that's not even including the solos. Usually not lasting more than a few seconds, you'll giggle to yourself in appreciation of the freedom and enjoyment that shines through the fiery fretwork like a beacon of guitar hope. These guys are shredding, and lovin' it. And so will you. But hands down my favorite part of the dual chops lovingly recorded here is the sheer originality of it all. Most songs have heaps upon heaps of riffs, always changing, ever evolving, and never tiring the listener out with "easy" escapes of predictable chords or overplayed pentatonic runs. Every riff, solo, interlude, and melody is massively unique and artfully and more importantly TASTEFULLY done. Bravo. Encore! // 9

Lyrics: Absolutely zero complaints with the lyrics. Corey's lyrics are hotly debated for being genius and contrived by two different viewpoints. I'm going for the genius one. I don't mean to sound corny but his lyrics really connect with my emotions and this material really hits close to home. The subject matter can be debated whether its about a person, or a place or a thing ... I don't really care. I usually relate it to things close in my heart and that's the important part - I can really appreciate and connect with these lyrics. This is probably my favorite part of the album ... aside from the insane guitar work of course. // 10

Overall Impression: This slipknot CD actually tops their last one, something I thought was probably an impossible feat. The funny thing is I remember reading in a guitar world interview that Jim Root was saying this CD was written and recorded in a disjointed way and he was not thrilled with the outcome ... if this is slipknot's worst than I am scared by what could be their best. I don't think the "maggots" are ready for the awesomeness of majesty that will be their defining album. This album will always be remembered for its insane guitar work: Not impossible to play by any means, but meticulously crafted in such a way as to disprove any naysayers of the dual guitarists song writing chops. Sheer guitar perfection. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: unregistered, on march 03, 2009
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Slipknot's fourth album comes like a middle finger to everybody who thought they could predict the band. It's heavier than it's predecessor Vol3, but yet contains melodic parts and guitar solos. Some would say it's a middle term between Vol3 and Iowa, but again they'd be wrong. Guitar techniques, vocal styles and even the songwriting itself hold almost no resamblence to the other albums, sounding entirely fresh. Also, Slipknot has shown in this album why they are a nine piece. Every member of the band plays an important role in the sound of every song, what hasn't happened in previous albums. "All Hope Is Gone" is odd and brutal, but has feeling in some parts, so that you can say the band accomplished their goal to make their heaviest yet most experimental album in their career so far. // 10

Lyrics: Slipknot wears masks and jumpsuits, so it's not akward to see aggression, swear words and some shocking horror in their lyrics. But still, the lyrics for "All Hope Is Gone" show that the band grew up in the past ten years. Even though there are still "I'm-gonna-kill-f--ker" songs, you can surely note some social and even political engagement in songs like "Gematria (The Killing Name)", "This Cold Black", "Wherein Lies Continue" and the awesome title track. When not dealing about the world, Slipknot shows a point of view about self-image that had it's first light in Vol3. There aren't anymore "I'm-shit-kill-me" songs like those from their debut album, but rather "I'm-good-and-I'll-show-you" songs. And there is room for feeling in songs like "Snuff" and "Dead Memories", what shows that the band is growing up. // 9

Overall Impression: One of the characterists of Slipknot that is hardly found in the land of alt-metal is that they manage to make every album of theirs sound completely different and yet one will always know that those songs could have been made any other band Slipknot. "All Hope Is Gone" isn't different. They improved their brutal style in songs like "Gematria (The Killing Name)", "This Cold Black" and the title track. But they broadened their style enough to include odd pieces as "Gehenna", "Vendetta" and "Wherein Lies Continue". But surely the most impressive feature of this album is not how heavy Slipknot can be in heavy songs, for we know that they are going to be always more brutal, but it's rather their ability to make songs like "Dead Memories" and "Snuff". They are somehow slow, ballad-like songs, that even with an usual structure and clean vocals you can feel the pain, the rage. This album shows to everyone that Slipknot can be heavy and, most important, true to their fans whether they're screaming and blast-beating or strumming acoustic guitars. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: mchugh92, on october 27, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Slipknot's newest album will definitely shock hardcore fans in that it is their most melodic effort to date, but unlike their previous effort Vol. 3: The Subliminal Verses, when they decide to go heavy it begins to sound much like Iowa, though Vol. 3 was a great album, at times when it was agressive it felt forced and it wasn't as abrasive or disturbing as Iowa was. The album begins with "execute" an intro full of noise and nifty drum solos by Joey Jordison, it's very reminscent of "(515)" from Iowa, then everything rounds itself up and the first proper track on the album, "Gematria (The Killing Name)", this song alone shows that even though the members of the band were either taking a peaceful break or off playing in their side projects, they still had that same anger, hatred and agression they became known for. We then find ourselves listening to "Sulfur", the first track with melody in it, though it still has that agressive sound, the chorus has Corey singing in it and I have to say, Corey is a damn good singer and I'm happy to hear him singing on this album. But let's focus on the music now, the riffs that Mick Thompson and Jim Root provide on the first 2 tracks are brilliant, as are the solos, we finally get a Slipknot album where the talented duo get to show off their skills. When Sulfer ends we find ourselves with Pyschosocial, the first single, everyone is bound to have heard this song by now, it is definitely much more restrained than the rest of the album, it is a great track and definitely stands out. Now we come to "Dead Memories" a song that is bound to have hardcore fans scratching their heads, though I don't think it's a terrible track, it could fit on either this album or a Stone Sour album, the guitar tones are definitely Slipknot, but the melody and subject matter are Stone Sour, it was rather brave of them to put this on the album, especially so early on in it. Vendetta begins and shows a lot more promise, it is definitely closer to the old Thrash metal acts in style and arrangement than anything Slipknot has written. "Butcher's Hook" is definitely a stand out track, it is agressive and emotional to a relentless extent and definitely cements Slipknot as a top metal act of today. "Gehenna" is a restrained little piece with a haunting melody and atmosphere that is reminiscent of "Gently" from Iowa. "This Cold Black" is arguably the heaviest track on the album, I don't find myself listening to this track as much as the others' though, it's heavy, but a tad bit uninteresting. "Wherein Lies Continue" has a great anthemic chorus, but it also has some highlight heavy moments as well, another stand-out track for me. "Snuff" is without a doubt the most daring track on the album, it's a power ballad, and a good one too! A lot of fans will probably hate it, I don't care, I like this track. "All Hope is Gone" ends the album on a high and powerful note, it's heavy, fast, agressive and contains some of Joey Jordison's best drumming in years and I should also mention the guitarwork is phenomonal. // 9

Lyrics: Slipknot have had a really great track record when it comes to lyrics in my opinion, and this album is no exception. This is the first Slipknot album to truly say without remorse that "THIS is how we live today, look what we have done, we need to do something about this", it is definitely the most political album Slipknot have released, but it also contains some nods towards social issues as well. // 10

Overall Impression: All Hope is Gone is definitely a great effort by Slipknot and it is a step in a good direction, many metal acts today find themselves becoming repetitive when they get to their 4th major label album, but not Slipknot, somehow they still manage to remain fresh and original after all these years, and they blow away all of the competition. 2008 was definitely a good year for me, because three of my favourite bands were releasing a new album, we had Death Magnetic by Metallica, Shogun by Trivium and neither of those albums disappointed me. This album will probably dissapoint a few fans who were expecting the entire album to be as heavy as Iowa, I wouldn't have minded if it was, but I am satisfied with the way All Hope is Gone has turned out so I won't complain. There isn't a weak track on this album, but a few weren't as impressive as the rest, though they were still good tracks. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.7
All Hope Is Gone Reviewed by: Hemsschauger, on january 20, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: This CD is a new way in the musical history of Slipknot.It has got songs that are comparable to old ones like `wait and bleed' or `duality'. And some new songs that are more like ballads or songs that been affected by the modern hard rock. Well, after 4 years of waiting for the new Slipknot album, I hoped for an epic album, that would continue the fantastic serial of previous Cd's. The album begins with an 2 minutes long, Slipknot typical intro called 'Execute`. The 2nd song `Gemetria(the killing name)' is one of the harder and faster sort of songs withvery cool guitar riffs and drum beats. The Following song `Sulfur' is one of my favourite on this album, hard riffs, a really badass bass and the musical dabauch of DJ Sid Wilson plus the background vocal are mixed to an highlight of this Cd. After that the two best songs of the album are coming `Psychosocial` and 'Dead Memories`. 'Psychosocial' was the first single of the album and just the 'the limit of the dead` break stops the whole power in this song a bit.'Dead Memories` is a big opposite to the first songs, the guitar riff reminds me a bit on `wait and bleed`and it's more like a metal ballad. Song 6 and 7 are typical power songs of Slipknot and two of the 'not so special` songs, but they are still good. `Gehenna' is one of the psychedelic metal songs with a low speed and a cool guitar solo.Song 9 and 10 are simply hard fast metal songs with very clever guitar riffs and a very good corey on the vocals. As the musical way of Slipknot forecasted us there is finnaly a accoustic ballad with touching lyrics and a sad sound. `Snuff` is a very good song that is now often played in memory of Paul Gray(R.I.P). The last song of the album is the title song. `All hope is gone' is again one of the fast songs with a great double base of Joey and the hard fast gutar riff plus the sampling and a heavy chorus. There are 3 bonus songs on the special edition 'Child of burning time', 'Vermillion pt.2(Bloodstone Remix)' and `Till'we die'. All good songs which fitted into the attitude of All hope is gone. "All Hope Is Gone" has got very much good sites and just a few bad ones. The Sound quality is very good and is pretty awesome with 5.1 sound system. // 9

Lyrics: Like on the previous Cd's Slipknot or mainly Corey Taylor are doing a great lyrics and singer job. As alyays most of the lyrics got an hidden sense and this time Corey sings with his growling and his melodic voice. Just some bad things are destroying the very good work. Example: All hope is gone (the Song) In the chorus corey losts his voice a few time and you can hear his breathing too loud. Not a big thing but I'm sure that he could have done it better during the first albums. Also in the song is the very short part when they are screaming ALL HOPE IS GONE. That really blew me away becouse of it's power. What I liked, too. Are the lyrics of `Snuff': So save your breath I will not hear I think I made it very clear You couldn't hate enough to love Is that supposed to be enough? I only wish you weren't my friend Then I could hurt you in the end I never claimed to be a saint My hope was banished long ago It took the death of hope to let you go I love these lyrics and the whole work Corey does on the album. He just gort a few lows, and he is still one of my favourite singers. // 8

Overall Impression: Finally an awesome album of an awesome band. Some people are saying that it is the worst album of Slipknot, and maybe it is, but it is still very good and powerfull. I can suggest this album to anyone who likes metal or similar music genres, and I'm happy that I've got it. I hope that my English wasn't to bad to understand, and I still hope that there will be a new Slipknot album and that 'All hope isn't gone`;) // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Slipknot reviews rating latest review
+ Slipknot 8.7 05/28/2012
+ Iowa 9.1 11/02/2011
+ Vol. 3: The Subliminal Verses 8.8 01/10/2011
+ 9.0: Live 8.4 04/16/2007
+ Mate Feed Kill Repeat 7.9 01/06/2006
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect