Based On A True Story Review

artist: starting line date: 12/27/2005 category: compact discs
starting line: Based On A True Story
Released: May 10, 2005
Genre: Rock
Styles: Punk-Pop, 13Emo
Number Of Tracks:
Throughout the album, the band dilutes its passion in layers of status-quo production and the kind of melodrama that's making emo a mid-decade cliche.
 Sound: 8.6
 Lyrics: 7.7
 Overall Impression: 8.6
 Overall rating:
 9.2 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.3 
 Users rating:
 10 
 Votes:
 6 
reviews (9) 2 comments vote for this album:
overall: 8.7
Based On A True Story Reviewed by: weezer713, on may 26, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: I bought this record knowing nothing of Starting Line and hearing nothing besides "Bedroom Talk" and "The B-Sides." I took a chance and a good one. I really enjoyed the CD alot and being a new fan, I didn't think I would love it like I do. It reminds me of Jimmy Eat World's Clarity. // 8

Lyrics: The lead singer (Kenny, I belive) sings very smoothly and has a pure sound. It's not scratchy or anything. The lyrics are awesome, they are not immature or too general. I know "Bedroom Talk" is about Kenny losing his virginity, it is a really good song and the lyrics are perfect. I think he's a great singer. // 10

Overall Impression: I haven't heard their first CD so I don't know if it's better or not. My favorite songs are: "Bedroom Talk," "Photography," "Autography," "The World," "The B-list" and "Inspired By The $." The other songs are great too! If the CD was stolen, I would buy it again. I thing this is a good band to try out if you are looking for another alternative/emo band. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
Based On A True Story Reviewed by: konfusion1111, on may 26, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Compared to the band's first CD, Based On A True Story is inferior. Two years away from recording and writing left Ken Vasoli gasping for air. Instead of keeping with the sound that almost made them famous, The Starting Line ventured away from any stereotypes at all, but it cost them. Overall it still gets 4 stars for originality. // 8

Lyrics: Singer/songwriter Kenny Vasoli had two years to start writing songs. It sounds like the lyrics were more of an after-thought. But with lyrical talent like that, who needs to think. The lyrics are diverse as any album you will ever hear. It ranges from Ken writing about losing his virginity ("Bedroom Talk"), to a harsh breakup that cost him two weeks in Seattle ("Suprise, Suprise"), to a harsh fight with the band's record label ("Inspired By The $"), and even including the band's rise to fame ("Making Love To The Camera"). Overall, I'll give it 4 stars. // 8

Overall Impression: Overall, not as good as Say It Like You Mean It. But it still can compare. As a fan of the band's though, I would say that it is still a good album. If you have never heard of the band before, I would advise going to get Say It Like You Mean It, before this album. Overall, 4 stars. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.7
Based On A True Story Reviewed by: indiecult99, on may 27, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: With songs like Bedroom Talk, and Making Love To The Camera, the guys of The Starting Line put together a great album. I had this demo since last summer. I fell in love with it, and couldn't wait for it to come out. Then it somehow got scratched to the point of no return and I was heart broken. Although some of the songs are slower than the other, it's still a great album, and in a way, a ride of emotions. There isn't really anything new as far as guitar work, or bass. It's an average sound but they pull it off to throw in that Starting Line sound. // 8

Lyrics: Kenny, has a great voice, not hardcore, not punk, not Indie. It's The Starting Line. His lyrics are relatable to mostly any teens life. Break up with first loves, falling in love, being away from home, anything that gets young guys down. From listening to kenny's voice, I can't really imagine he would have a great range but he hits some fairly high and low notes. His voice is only recognized with The Starting Line. // 8

Overall Impression: The only other Starting Line CD I have, is Say It Like You Mean It. This album is much better than the previous, and I will rate it a 5 with no hesitation. I missed the chance to see The Starting Line locally and I regret it still. I love the sound and I love the stories. I love Based On A True Story. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 4.7
Based On A True Story Reviewed by: unregistered, on may 30, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: This CD is basically all pop-punk. There are a lot of catchy riffs and creative chord progressions throughout the whole CD. All the music is very bright and melodic. The musicianship is excellent (for a pop-punk band). The guitarists in this band probably make up one of the best guitar duos in pop-punk. Both guitars always sound well with each other. // 8

Lyrics: Unfortunately, the lyrics on this album are absolutely horrible. On the band's previous CD (Say It Like You Mean It), the lyrics are very well written and sung. This CD is a totally different story. The singer has a distinctively bright voice that is a perfect compliment to the rest of the music, but I think that he tried to make his lyrics sound more "tough" on this cd and still used his bright voice. So basically what you have is bright, happy music singing lines like "I'm gonna tear your ass up like you just got married" and "Harder than a drama, softer than a porn." It just doesn't fit to me. // 2

Overall Impression: I wish that The Starting Line had stuck with their old themes and lyrics. I was a huge fan of their album Say It Like You Mean. It was excellent and this album just doesn't compare. The musicianship is good, but the lyrics just really tear this album down. The problems with the lyrics are hard for me to explain, but if you listen to this CD, I think you'll definately see what I mean. I personally find this CD as nothing more than a pathetic, failed attempt for a pop-punk band to gain some respect. I would never buy this album again. However, I have read a lot of articles on Absolute Punk that reviewed this album very well, so it must sound good to some people. I think that if you're the type of person who pays no attention to lyrics and only to music then you would like this CD, but if you pay even the slightest attention to lyrics do not buy this album. You will regret it. // 4

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.3
Based On A True Story Reviewed by: Cory116, on june 07, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Based On A True Story was a big step from Say It Like You Mean It. Based On A True Story is more powerpop instead of pop-punk because The Starting Line added some heavier stuff, some different lyrical ideas. I personally loved Based On A True Story just because it is so different then Say It Like You Mean It. They have grown a lot sense With Hopes Of Starting Over, and you can tell they have with this CD. // 8

Lyrics: The lyrics on Based On A True Story still talk about relationships but a lot of bands do so Kenny looses some points there. But they are all not about loosing the girl like most emo songs. Kenny sings about how much he hates his ex-girlfriend, and then they're are two love songs about his current girlfriend. Then they're is "Autography" then isn't the typical pop-punk/emo lyrics. Allow I liked the lyrics it wasn't all that special just typical lyrics, maybe because it's all they know or too afraid to try something new. Who knows? // 6

Overall Impression: My favorite song on Based On A True Story is "The World." I love it so much, because it is different. My other favorite song would have to be "Photography." I love the lyrics and the music fits perfectly in it. I loved how much The Starting Line showed maturity on this CD, and how well the two guitarists sound together. Also Kenny's voice fits perfectly in all the songs I think. I hated how typical some of the lyrics were, when I know Kenny could write a lot better lyrics. I listened to this CD a lot, usually when walking around town so I would probally buy another one if it got lost/stolen. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Based On A True Story Reviewed by: ataris101, on june 13, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The Starting Line's previous effort, Say It Like You Mean It, was quite a good release. It had a bright, fresh, pop-punk sound and lyrics teens could relate to. But Based On A True Story is a totally different story, for the better. TSL's sound has definetly improved over the years, with harmonious gutiars, right-on-the-spot drums, and crisp, fun vocals delivered by Kenny in high and low tones. I'd recommend "The World," "Stay Where I Can See You," "The B-List" and "Cut! Print It." // 10

Lyrics: I don't know what the others were thinking when they said that the lyrics in this album weren't good. TSL has lyrically matured in ways unimaginable. Just give a listen to something like "Inspired By The $" or "Surprise, Surprise" and you'll see what I'm talking about. // 10

Overall Impression: If you liked "Say It Like You Mean It," you might like this, but if you didn't like SILYMI, you still might like this, as it sounds completely different. All the songs on it are strong, with the exception of "Making Love To The Camera," and "Artistic Liscence," which are skippable. I'd never lose it because it'll always be either in my CD player or locked up in a secure place. Buy this record and I swear you wont regret it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
Based On A True Story Reviewed by: soXlittleXtimeX, on october 17, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound itself is pretty much like "Say It Like You Mean It." They use the same pop-punk kind of style in this one. Although "Ready" and "Photography" were the 2 slow (but awesome) exceptions. If you like that kind of mild/sensual punk, then you will like this. // 8

Lyrics: The lyrics, I thought, were very meaningful in the way he talks about his relationships and feelings. The only one thing I didn't like was that "Ready" is a slow song, but doesn't really have lyrics that go with that. Other than that though, the lyrics were great! The band did a great job of fitting the lyrics with the song. // 8

Overall Impression: In comparison to the other albums I think this one is best. I like the occasional band with this kind of music and Starting Line does a great job of portraying it. My personal favorites from the album were "Inspired By The $," "Artistic License" and "Ready." If it were stolen or ost I would definitely buy another right away! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Based On A True Story Reviewed by: asongforthegirl, on november 19, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: I'm not going to lie. At first I didn't really like the sound. I was to attached to Say It Like You Mean It by them. But it has grown on me so much. The Band is very decent, nothing original, but their catchy riffs and catchy vocals keep you wanting mroe. Many of the songs are about the musical industry (mainly bad stuff). He keeps some songs about his girl friend. His slow songs are nice and fairly nice. The CD has an all out darker view. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are good. But nothign that I can relate too (most of it). The singer has really good singing skills, and writing skills, but man I can't relate to the music industry taking down my ability to write what I want. The lyrics really fit nicely with the music, on Say It Like You Mean It, this wasn't as much the case. // 8

Overall Impression: I love this CD. It compares to a lot of other CDs though. Just buy it, it's cool. The best songs are Making Love To The Camera, Ready, Suprise Suprise, Aritistic Liscense. I can't explain why it I like it so much, probaly just the catchy riffs and lyrics. I don't like songs that are super dark. If I lost this CD or it got stolen I would def. buy this CD again. I was thinking about buying one day on my way home and I had my CD at home, talk about sad. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Based On A True Story Reviewed by: alanis_alisson, on december 27, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: I love the sound of this band, and this album. I sometimes find myself blocking out some of the lyrics just to listening to the guitar. Not that the lyrics are bad, or anything. The band doesn't do what Good Charlotte or Simple Plan does, and make it seem all horrible, and whiny, and so on. It's hard to put a label on their sound, (punk, emo, etc). But I do know that they are definatly not pop or anything of that sort. // 9

Lyrics: These are some awesome lyrics that I love. The lyrics and songs just remind me of random media things. In a good way. In a good way. The lyrics go perfectly w/the sound. The lead singer pulls it off when his voice goes a little too high for the sound. I took me forever to relize that his voice did that. Some of my recent inspiration has come from these lyrics. It's amazing for me to think that these songs were actually written. It must have took a lot of thinking of how to put these songs together. // 9

Overall Impression: The Starting Line reminds me of The Ataris, but that's just me. The sound and lyrics, and everything is just perfectly mixed and is really awesome! I've had Photograghy stuck in my head for the longest time. They don't make it seem like music is just to be written about being in love, or being heartbroken, or complaining about worthless and meaningless nonsense, like a lot of modern bands do. This whole CD is really amazing, and if it was stolen, or lost, I would do nothing less than to go out and track down this CD and buy it again. I advise people to go get it if you like. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Starting Line reviews rating latest review
+ Direction 7.6 08/14/2007
+ With Hopes Of Starting Over 4.8 11/21/2005
+ Say It Like You Mean It 9.7 10/21/2005
+ The Make Yourself At Home EP 9.9 04/09/2004
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect