Feel The Steel Review

artist: Steel Panther date: 05/25/2011 category: compact discs
Steel Panther: Feel The Steel
Released: Jun 8, 2009 (UK) / Oct 6, 2009 (USA)
Genre: Hard Rock / Glam Metal
Label: Universal
Number Of Tracks: 12
With their big hairsprayed do's and lots of skintight clothes the image they present is extremely comical.
 Sound: 9.5
 Lyrics: 7.8
 Overall Impression: 9.8
 Overall rating:
 9.1 
 Reviewer rating:
 9 
 Users rating:
 9.1 
 Votes:
 107 
reviews (4) 40 comments vote for this album:
overall: 8.7
Feel The Steel Reviewed by: guitar_hero999, on september 07, 2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: The 80's are long gone, theres no doubt about that. The days fo big hair and lots of make up are behind us. So there is only one thing left for the 80's...to take the piss out of it. And thats exactly what Steel Panther have done. With their big hairsprayed do's and lots of skintight clothes the image they present is extremely comical. Enough about the image, it's time for the music now. With lots of synth keyboards, outright guitar solos and people calling this band "Disgusting", they certainly know how to create an image. It is your typical 80's hair metal band, except we're not in the 80's anymore. Many have compared their songs to the likes of Bon Jovi and Van Halen. // 9

Lyrics: Being only 15, when my mother listened to this for the first time she commented on the lyrics as "Absoloutely vile". With frequent references to sex and the lack of decent music in the 21st Century, this seems to be the only inspiration this band has. However, saying that, the way Micheal Starr sings the vocals is utterly brilliant. He can belt out any tune with such a pitch perfect voice you wouldn't believe that he can do this live. But he can, and with the sheer number of guest vocalists on the album (Corey Taylor, Justin Hawkins and M Shadows for example) the way they duet with him is absoloutley fantastic. Justin (The Darkness, Hot Leg) and Micheals voices complement each other perfectly. // 8

Overall Impression: As an overall impression, this is an absoloutly fantastic album. I can listen to this album over and over again and never get tired of it. Signature anthem Death To All But Metal is a brilliant song about how rubbish Noughties music has become. New single Community Property is a good laugh along ballad about how Micheal Starr likes sex with anything that moves when he tours, but he is in love with one woman. Other tracks worth giving a listen to are: Aisan Hooker, Party All Day(F**k all Night) and Turn Out the Lights. Definately worth the money. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.7
Feel The Steel Reviewed by: Vinyl Countdown, on june 21, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: First off, this is a great idea. Steel Panther themselves have tried to get noticed on the music scene under a few different alias' before settling on their current alter ego. Who knew that the power of 80's music would launch them into the spotlight? Finally, a new band that everyone can enjoy... Any hair-metal rockers will adore Steel Panther and their harmonic guitar solos, catchy basslines and pounding drum fills. Songs such as 'Fat Girl' and 'Party All Day And F--k All Night' mirror those of previous artists, but somehow add a little flair that makes them special and unique. // 9

Lyrics: If you're easily offended, don't bother with Steel Panther! With titles such as Asian Hooker and Eatin' And Cheatin', the graphic nature of their songs makes them unsuitable to anyone who is unfamiliar with sexual innuendo. Aside from that, there is just the matter of their language. The word 'f--k' is used no less than twenty times in their first song, Death To All But Metal and is spoken many more times throughout the album. However, the situations described by the charismatic Michael Starr are hilarious and witty, with tales from his various sexual conquests being the subject of a number of their songs. All of this is part of the act, of course, but regardless it is still impossible to resist cracking a smile as he screams about his lifestyle resulting in numerous STDs and consequences. The only downside is the fact that it is politically incorrect to play music about a grown man shagging a fat chick full blast in your room. If you really want to enjoy their music loud, then please plug in your headphones (lest the neighbours will call the cops). // 7

Overall Impression: There is no comparison to Steel Panther (unless you look at older bands) in this current period. They are four men who have worked hard to gain fame and are lapping up their time in the limelight. Hopefully if they spend more time in the studio and record another album, it will be just as special and original as this one. My favourite song is admittedly 'Asian Hooker' because of the fact that it will offend almost everyone who hears it, but will make a select few like me laugh out loud (after hearing it a few times). Overall, their sound is fantastic. If you love 80's rock, then dust off your platform shoes, spike up your hair and get yourself to the next Steel Panther gig! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Feel The Steel Reviewed by: Reesy666, on september 02, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Where to start? Round up the best bits of Van Halen (lee roth era, of course), Motley Crue, Guns N Roses, Extreme, Def Leppard and Judas Priest, then throw in some spinal tap-esque comedy to the lyrics- you have Steel Panther here. They are all great musicians and as a band they have a solid sound that doesn't seem to lack much at all. The bass could be a little louder so it's slightly more audible but most hair metals bands have a quite-ish bassist as the whole sound is based around lead singers and guitarist. // 10

Lyrics: This is the category where it could fall.. To say the lyrics are a bit obscene would be the understatement of the century, and I know that people will pass this album off for it's lyrics. When the first words on the album are, "F*ck the GooGoo Dolls, they can suck my balls", you know what you're in for straight away. STDs, sex & drugs are what pretty much every song is about. The singer (Michael Starr) has a great voice and sounds reminiscent of Axl Rose, Joe Elliot and David Lee Roth at their peaks. I'm going to give this an 8, and I know that a lot of people will argue with that, saying that the lyrics aren't really song material and should stay in the brains of teenagers but it would simply be unfair to reduce the overall score of the phenomenal album because some people would be offended by the lyrics. // 8

Overall Impression: It's a great album, no questions. Satchel is a tremendous guitarist and throws out solos that EVH himself would be proud of. As far as hair metal drummers go, Stix Zadinia is definitely one of the best- maybe because most of them aren't very imaginative- but he is a great drummer regardless. Michael Starr is a great singer and covers the whole spectrum of hair metal, you couldn't ask for more off him. As I've mentioned, it would be nice to hear a little more of Lexxi Foxxx, bassist, but what you do hear really fits the music and he has some good groove. If so many people weren't offended by the lyrics this would be a perfect album, to me it still is but it's already lost marks for that so I'll put up with the abuse for not knowing good lyrics or whatever; but this album is a classic- I personally (and know a load of people that agree) that this album is brilliant. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Feel The Steel Reviewed by: pepsilawson, on may 25, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Ever since I stumbled across Steel Panther, then known as Metal Skool I had been waiting for an original album with eager anticipation. Now I may not of been waiting the "30 years" that they have to release it but they have fast became the break out band of 2009. Now you wont hear anything on this album you haven't heard before, but what you will hear is it done better then you could ever imagine. The infusion of the 80s drips from the case as you look at the back of it with all members clad in leopard print and hair spray and with a name that just screams hair metal it is easy to see that they are filling the void left open by bands such as Bon Jovi and Def Leppard. But these guys aren't just a tribute band, they're the real deal and once you dive into they're back story this band will just click for any fan of the 80s whether you where there or not. // 10

Lyrics: Now personally I love the lyrics and it is one of the things I love about them. However I understand that they will offend some people and that some just wont "get it" but those that do will find them selves going from head banging to fits of laughter to pausing with their lighters in the air, right back to laughter for example during "Community Property" one finds oneself pausing to reach for the lighter when the crucial lyric is hit that changes it from emotional ballad to a song that all men can worship accordingly. Now although the lyrics are someone immature what cannot be taken away from it is Michael Starr's vocals. A journey man of the music scene he has been a member of LA Guns, a small roll in "Rockstar" and the only formerly in The Atomic Punks, a Van Halen tribute band to be praised by Mr Lee Roth himself. It only takes one song, any of them to realize that he has been a hidden gem that the world need's to hear he has all the snarl of Taime Downe of Faster Pussycat, the delivery of Lee Roth, the falsetto peaks that would make Justin Hawkins (The Darkness/Hot Leg) blush and the ability to draw out emotions from the ballads that resemble Poison's Bret Michaels or Warrant's Jani Lane. I would love to score them a perfect 10 for this, however I can understand that the lyrics somewhat bring it down from everyone been able to enjoy it (I wouldn't play this around my parents but hey isn't rock about rebellion?) so I will deduct points for the crudeness but the vocals on all tracks even with guest stars as Corey Taylor, M Shadows and Justin Hawkins drags it up to a very respectable 8. // 8

Overall Impression: It would be impossible to review this album without mentioning the comparisons to other artists. It rains down pastiche's like they are going out of fashion, "Community Property" ("Home Sweet Home"), "Stripper Girl" ("Every Rose Has Its Thorn"), "Fat Girl" ("Here I Go Again"), "Party All Day" ("Livin On A Prayer", "Runaway") to name just a hand full. But it doe's them extremely well and to be honest if any other band had played these songs I would of laughed in their face but Steel Panther get away with it because they do it better than anyone and at some points better than the bands they pay homage to. Stand out songs are the crowds Favorite "Death To All But Metal, the anthem "Party All Day" and "Community Property". But out of everyone I know who has this album they like me find it hard to choose a favorite and find are selves changing it constantly. To conclude this, Steel Panther's album ruined my past relationship after I bought a copy my then partner demanded I copy it for her, I flat out refused and demanded she buy it. Now as some self stand against illegal downloads but because Steel Panther truly deserve the support they are gaining and I am proud to of helped as this album is incredible and I am glad I purchased it... Twice. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Steel Panther reviews rating latest review
+ All You Can Eat 7.8 04/11/2014
+ Balls Out 8.8 01/06/2012
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect