Full Collapse Review

artist: thursday date: 05/15/2006 category: compact discs
thursday: Full Collapse
Released: Apr 10, 2001
Genre: Rock
Styles: Emo
Number Of Tracks: 12
 Sound: 9.7
 Lyrics: 10
 Overall Impression: 10
 Overall rating:
 9.9 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.9 
 Users rating:
 9.9 
 Votes:
 14 
reviews (7) 5 comments vote for this album:
overall: 10
Full Collapse Reviewed by: dscguitar, on october 08, 2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: On this album, Thursday takes a no-holds-barred, full-on approach to their music. The guitars are biting and peircing, and the lyrics are innovative and thoughtful. The sound of Full Collapse is very riff-oriented, lots of high end, fast-played screaming riffs with catchy power-chord fills. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics on Full Collapse really make you think. They speak out against the world with things that we all want to say but can't. The singing can go anywhere from an all out screaming attack to thoughfully melancholy. The song, "Understanding in a Car Crash" is about a friend of the band's death in a violent automobile accident. The song, "Autobiography of a Nation" could be interpreted as an attack on the tyrranical, overbearing nations that show no regard for anyone else. The singing isn't exactly Pavoratti, but it is full of emotion and meaning. // 10

Overall Impression: The most impressive songs on Full Collapse on Impact, in my humble opinio, are "Understanding in a Car Crash", "Cross Out the Eyes" and " paris in Flames". I love everything about this album, and there is nothing I hate. I didn't like it at first, it was very different from anything that I'd ever heard, but it definitely grew on me. If it was stolen, I would definitely buy it again. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Full Collapse Reviewed by: J0NNYBRAV0, on september 07, 2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Thursday has a very unique sound, distinct from all other emo/punk/rock bands. Geoff's voice sounds so desperate and passionate and you really get a sense of the feeelings he wants to envoke on the listener. Powerful stuff. Musically, this album is so awesome. With the two guitarists playing throughout each song, drums thumping in the background, the incredible booming of the bass (he has to be one of the best ever) and Geoff strong voice in the forefront, this album has a great sound. // 10

Lyrics: I was always amazed at Geoff's lyrics. I don't know how he can write such deep stuff. It's not the usual type of "I love you, but you broke up with me so I hate you" emo stuff, Thursdays lyrics have a deeper meaning and seem to flow smoothly like a story from beginning to end. He is a very skilled singer as well. From the elegant verse lyrics, to the powerful death screams, every bit sounds great. // 10

Overall Impression: Personally I beleive Thursday is the best band of their kind. There have been so many emo/punk/rock/screamo (whatever they call it now) bands coming out over the past year that the genre seems to have lost its appeal, but Thursday is one of the pioneering bands that brought it up to speed. The best songs on this album are Every song sounds incredible, Understanding In A Car Crash, Cross Out The Eyes and Paris In Flames, although (for the first time ever) I enjoyed every single song on this album my first listen through. It's truly an amazing album and you need to add this to your collection if your a fan of this genre. If it were stolen I would kill my self. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Full Collapse Reviewed by: unregistered, on march 04, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: To start I think this is the most constant album ive ever heard, every song is good and catchy as the next. The used there own styles that were somewhat unknown to most people but they flow really well. The guitar parts are very complicated-drums are very easy but the thing that makes thursday great is it isn't just a simple guitar riff then the riff over in palm muting, Its a constant flow of different rythyms that go well with each other. // 10

Lyrics: Awesome, In the vocal catagory I didn't think Geoff was the best singer yet he made the music great. The lyrics were more like poems and he never relies on ryming, He has a nice voice but in songs like "Autobiography of a nation" his voice isn't real constant. I still think though the lyrics are perfect. // 10

Overall Impression: It is my favorite CD, I've had it for almost a year and a half and I still listen to it, I've bought more than one copy because my first got smashed by my dad stepping on it, the most impressive songs were all of them not 1 bad song. You must go buy it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Full Collapse Reviewed by: I heart Alexxx, on may 08, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The drums to the second track, "Understanding in a Car Crash" on Thursday's sophomore album, Full Collapse, are incredibly sophisticated. The simple yet impressive guitars on the album's ninth track, "Standing On the Edge of Summer," (which the lead vocalist and talented songwriter, Geoff Rickly, wrote for his dying Grandmother) are enough to move any becoming-fan of Thursday off the couch and into their swimming pool to drown themselves for not listening to Thursday and the unbelievable talent the band withholds sooner. The basic sound of Thursday's in indefinite, though most would guess hard-rock/indie/post-punk. All in all, the music is amazing, with every trimmed guitar piece by guitarists Steve Pedulla and Tom Keeley, every balanced bass line, and every confusing, though perfect and clap-able drum beat. // 10

Lyrics: Geoff Rickly is one of the most profound lyricist in music, today. Track number three, "Concealer," smears its fast-paced beginning into its emotionally draining ending with the lines "You stopped the rain / And then you turned around and tore my life in two / Just like the picture / That once hung on the wall in the room that we used to share. "Rickly is the only hard-rock lyricist who can move me with his lyrics, alone. If you've never heard any of Thursday's songs, look up the lyrics to track six, "Cross Out the Eyes." One of the keys to being a good writer or lyricist is putting as much of yourself into your work as you want people to take out of your work, and Rickly cartainly lives by this rule. The lines "We can rise on the wings of the dove / See blue skies getting caught in a trail of all this smoke / We can rise like candles in the dark" should be enough to tell you about that rule. Thursday, if anything, should be known for Rickly's lyrical talents which are certainly highly underrated and under-appreciated. // 10

Overall Impression: Full Collapse is one of my favourite CDs of all time. I don't usually say that for modern bands, either. Many of you may not consider them modern, they have been out for a while. I highly recommend this band, and certainly encourage you to check them out at their site www.thursday.net or www.fullcollapse.com. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Full Collapse Reviewed by: unregistered, on june 04, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: I had been hearing a lot about Thursday, and decided to check them out. So I downloaded 'Porcelain','A Hole In The World', and 'Cross Out The Eyes'. I was impressed mainly by A Hole In The World, so I bought Thursday's first album, Full Collapse. The guitars blend well and the sound was new and refreshing. The bass could have been used more instead of just following root notes, and sometimes it was hard to tell their was two guitars. But the music was very good and it impressed me. // 8

Lyrics: 'Adjust the aperture to focus on the negative. Phosphors in this dark room ignite. Like dodging faces in the corner of the print. Frame by frame this hole is opening, and we fall in' That comes from 'A Hole In The World'. 'The broken watch you gave me turns into a compass It's hands still point to the same time 12:03, our last goodbye. Splintered piece of glass falls in the seat of gets caught These broken windows, open locks, reminders of the youth we lost In trying so hard to look away from you we followed white lines to the sunset. I crash my car everyday the same way ' from 'Understanding in a Car Crash'. Thursday has awesome lyrics (not up to Brandon Boyd's level though), and they are a vital part to what makes this cd great. Although the only part about the lyrics I do not like are the certain areas where you cant understand a damn thing the backup singer is saying and sometimes the lead vocalist. But overall, the lyrics deserve a 5. // 10

Overall Impression: I haven't heard much of the other albums from Thursday, so I can't really compare them. The most impressive songs on the album are 'Understanding in a Car Crash', 'A Hole In The World', 'Wind-Up', 'Concealer', and more pop-punk styled 'Cross Out The Eyes'. 'Autobiography of a Nation' I didn't really care for, but thats just me because it had a practically all screamo. I would suggest you buy the cd, they're a great band, and worth every penny for the cd. If I lost this cd, then I'd definitely buy it again. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Full Collapse Reviewed by: fatherlaffypant, on september 06, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound on this cd is great-its pretty hardcore yet very colorful there's always great effects on the pickings and great tones to the guitar. Theres never just a powerchord theres always additional octaves to add to give that sound you want. The bass basically follows the rythm then u have the guitar 2 who does alot of rythm but doesnt use you're traditional notes. I've noticed by looking at the war all the time booklet that tabs for these guys are wrong. They give you the right idea but they have so much stuff in the music/ very indepth/ that its just one of those things that amaze you people can make. The lyrics are overall the best you will find garunteed. So the singing thats put over the guitars is booming which just adds more to the sound. The drums sometimes are a litttle quite but the crashes that tucker always uses cut through great. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are flawless. Everyline is great. It's hard to beleive but actually there isn't a bad line or for that matter a line you think Geoff made just cause it fit in with the song. The singing blends great. Geoffs voice fits very well. He's not the best singer but he has a great voice and you understand what he is saying. The backup singers/screams are perfectley fit in. // 10

Overall Impression: This to me is a flawless cd. There isnt one track or a single measure that isnt good. Every song sounds alot different and has different techniques and are all great. I have bought 2 copys of it since my first one I bought a couple years ago skips. This is my favorite album of all time and I've had it for 2 years and listen to it like I bought it a couple weeks ago. Thats not exaggerating I honestly listen to it all the way through probably once a week. Sometimes I'm not in the mood but it wont last. This cd gave me alot of inspiration to play music and opened up alot of new music since I was in a Blink 182 faze since before I bought it. If you're a fan of music in general buy this and you will be amazed. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Full Collapse Reviewed by: crash_course, on may 15, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Full Collapse has just about everything you could want fomr a screamo band like Thursday. The instruments made the song flow so well. I could sit in the car and start listening to one song and look down a while later and not realize that another song came on. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics were great, very inspriational in my opinion. They have that edge I look for in my song writing. The lyrics blenmd in perfectly with the music, almost like you put the two in a blender yet they still are seperate. Geoff (singer) has so much talent in his singing. He also has a great contrast with the screams. // 10

Overall Impression: Full Collapse is my favorite of Waiting, War All The Time, and A City By The Light Divided, although the previous are all really good cd's Full Collapse is that perfect 10 compared to the others. The most impressive songs in my opinion are in no particular order: Understanding A Car Crash, Autobiography Of A Nation, A Hole In The World, Cross Out The Eyes, Paris In Flames, I am The Killer, Standing On The Edge Of Summer, and Wind-up. I can honestly say I love the whole cd. It never gets old and if it got stolen or lost I'd buy again and again and againg it is that good. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Thursday reviews rating latest review
+ War All The Time 9.5 04/20/2011
+ No Devolucion 8.7 04/13/2011
+ Common Existence 9.3 08/27/2009
+ Kill The House Lights 8 01/26/2009
+ A City By The Light Divided 8.2 01/19/2007
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect