1984 Review

artist: van halen date: 01/05/2010 category: compact discs
van halen: 1984
Released: 1984
Genre: Rock
Styles: Synth Pop, Hard Rock, Pop/Rock, Heavy Metal, Arena Rock, Album Rock, Pop-Metal
Number Of Tracks: 9
1984 is a timeless hard rock masterpiece, which eventually sold a staggering ten million copies.
 Sound: 9.3
 Lyrics: 9.1
 Overall Impression: 9.6
 Overall rating:
 9.4 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.3 
 Users rating:
 9.5 
 Votes:
 40 
reviews (7) 12 comments vote for this album:
overall: 9.3
1984 Reviewed by: SGMAN911, on july 28, 2006
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sound: This album is by far one of the greatest albums put out by Van Halen, the insane guitar by Eddie Van Halen inspired many other guitarists such as myself. He even stepped out of the box the keyboard on 1984 and Jump. David Lee Roth, is just one of those singers that you get this vibe of greatness. Michael Anthony and Alex Van Halen are also great one this album, but I think Michael is a sloppy on the bass. I give it an 8 for this reason. // 8

Lyrics: The lyrics are well thought out. If you really pay attention to songs like drop dead legs and Hot For Teacher, you really start to feel what Van Halen is trying to say. The lyrics are all in alliance with the music. As I said before DLR is insanly talented and his voice goes great with Eddie's guitar playing. // 10

Overall Impression: This album is great, it does not compare to any other artists at the time. The guitar work just blows my mind. The most impressive songs on this album to me were Hot for Teacher, Drop Dead Legs, Panama, and Jump. I love that Van Halen really tries to connect with people with there lyrics, they dont just write a song about a pretty girl, they describe her and what they would expect a girl to look like. If it were stolen I would be mad, but then I would remember that I have it burnt on 30 other CDs. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
1984 Reviewed by: TheLlamaMan, on august 20, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: 1984 is hard rock band Van Halen's sixth studio album. If you're looking for a great heavy band with lots of guitar solos and catchy songs, then this is probably the album you want. I would consider this album Van Halen's greatest, it's full of straight out rock that will get you hooked in seconds. It's hard just to listen to one song without wanting to listen to more. Almost (if not every) song on this album is very well constructed, from the balance to the song structure. The album contains 9 tracks, which doesn't seem like it's too little. But a closer look will reveal that the albums total time is just slightly over half an hour. It's quite dissapointing considering how great each individual song is, and it is obviously one of the bigger flaws with this album. The band however sounds incredibly close, and almost everything fits together like a charm. Every member of the band seems to know exactly what the other one is doing and reacts accordingly to create a sound that's really great. The band consists of four members; Eddie Van Halen on guitar and keyboards, Alex Van Halen on percussion, Michael Anthony on bass, and finally David Lee Roth on lead vocals. Eddie Van Halen has already proven himself a true master of the electric guitar, from his crazy tapping skills and amazing ability to create wicked solos. This album lives up to his expectation, but on top of just playing guitar he also proves to people that he is not limited to it by playing keyboard as well. It really adds another dimension to the band and it's music, and adds a bit of an unexpected twist to the album. Alex Van Halen's drumming skills are also great as usual, always keeping time even when doing a solo or complicated fill. Finally, Michael Anthony's bass playing is decent. Fairly straight forward for a rock song.. He keeps the beat perfectly, there's no doubt about it, but that's all he seems to do. Overall, this was a great album with almost every song a great hit that you'll listen to a lot. The length of the album is dissapointing, and there are other small little flaws with it that make it just a bit off of being perfect. // 8

Lyrics: The lyrics are fairly simple, but that's not to say they're bad. For the most part, they're just the normal rock lyrics you've heard thousands of times, but it suits the style of the songs and helps contriubute to what makes the album's songs feel so smoothly done. On actual vocals we have David Lee Roth. He's a great singer, who has a wide range that he uses very well, and is obviously very energetic sounding, which really helps add that extra bit to the songs. Overall his vocals are amazing, and anyone who likes any form of rock should have no trouble getting into them. // 9

Overall Impression: 1984 is a fantastic album, full of tons of hits that you won't stop listening to for a long time. In my opinion the first time you listen through the album will be the same as the next and the next after that. It's great, but it's not the type of album with deep amounts of depth, it's just good for fast paced rock. Some of my favourites from it are "Jump", "Panama", "Hot for Teacher" and "I'll Wait". In my opinion it's definitely Van Halen's best album to date, but the length and the straight-forwardness of the songs can be a bit annoying. If you're to buy any Van Halen album, this is the one to buy. It's great. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
1984 Reviewed by: Swiggles, on january 05, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: From the moment you hear the overwhelming but calming wave of Eddie's synthesizer, you know that the new step into a modern generation of keyboard-based music has begun. Van Halen's 1984 is the single-greatest compilation of all styles the great band has ever gone through. Eddie's brown sound is crisp, loud, and filled with emotion. Alex's double bass creates a stronger and wilder beat to fit to each and every song. David's vocals are definitely improved and yet he has not changed from the usual formula of party-based lyrics. Michael Anthony's backing vocals are still on key, as is his basslines though they are never very complex or noticable. All in all, Eddie's new keyboard-based songs mixed with some songs with classic taste (House of Pain) fit into the perfect Van Halen album. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are just as you'd expect, but this time around they can be juggled around. Jump, developed after Roth saw a man on TV about to commit suicide, is the fun filled synthesized song of the album, and definitely brought the band onto radio play. However, Hot for Teacher, about a childhood crush on a teacher, had a familiar flavor bringing back songs about girls. Panama, surprisingly, is about a car though the lyrics can sound as if they pertain to a girl. House of Pain and Girl Gone Bad, are personally the instrumental-heavy songs with powerful solos that Eddie never unleashed before. Drop Dead Legs, though catchy, was probably the most missed song though lyrics are well in place here, and I'll Wait was the least rock-heavy song of all while the lyrics were clever and more meaningful. Overall, MOST of the lyrics were fun, catchy, and somewhat unique in the band's archive. // 9

Overall Impression: Van Halen was the most successful band of the 80s, and this is their jewel in the crown. Second to Thriller, 1984 packed the guitar-crazy, fast paced music while surging the new keyboard craze which filled the rest of the 80s songs. Each song was a succinct but powerful statement of who they are, and though it bid DLR farewell, it reminded us of how great each member was when together. Although the zenith of improvement, 1984 lacked a full-fledged guitar solo from Eddie Van Halen, who juxtaposed a "eruption" with keyboard-solo "1984". If it were stolen, I would buy it again remastered to get the full experience in better quality. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
1984 Reviewed by: JackWhite1988, on july 19, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Definately an 80's rock sound. A first for Van Halen, synthesizer/keyboard on various tracks including hits "Jump" and "I'll Wait". Rock shuffle on "Hot for Teacher'. The sound is real clear. // 10

Lyrics: Clearly a Diamond Dave inspired album. Eddie Van Halen and David Lee Roth really came together on this album to create some immaculate material. The lyrics really flow with the type of sound they went for on each track. Dave Roth really puts up a great effort on his last album with Van Halen. // 10

Overall Impression: Just like the Van Halen "brown sound", this whole album has its own distinct tone which set it apart from other hard rock bands of the 1980's. The album sets off a handful of memorable songs. Three of those being "Jump"- a 'jump' into the new tastes in the 80's music scene (anthmeic) "Panama"- an AC/DC inspired song that really rocks out. "Hot For Teacher"- Immediate hit with one of the bands most recognizable riffs. I really enjoyed this album out of all of the pre-Van Hagar albums for its diverse creativity. However, I hate the fact that this was the bands last album with David Lee Roth as the lead singer. I have bought this album a few times. Lost it on casseste and then I bought it in its remastered entirety on compact disc. Yes, I would buy it again. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
1984 Reviewed by: unregistered, on march 24, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Fantastic sound which really presents 80's rock/metal in a good way, unlike some other bands like Poison. Eddie Van Halen's sound has really evolved since Van Halen's 1st release in 1978. This is mainly due to the Floyd Rose tremelo which Eddie only started to use to it's full effect on this record. Eddie also started using synthesisers a lot on this record, of the nine songs three are on synthesisers: "1984", the hit single "Jump" and "I'll Wait." However the album has it's fair share of traditional Van Halen guitar rockers like "Panama," "Hot For Teacher," "Drop Dead Legs" and "House Of Pain." The fantasic thing about this album is it did fantastically well in the charts spawning the hit single "Jump" which hit the number 1 spot for a while as well as the other singles "Panama," "Hot For Teacher" and "I'll Wait," as well as being a fantastic hard rock album as well. The most important aspect of the sound however are the guitar solo's: every one is fantastic! The best are the ones on "Jump," "Hot For Teacher" and "House Of Pain." Every guitarist should own this record. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are great and just typical Van Halen. The lyrics on "Jump" are the best and maybe the reason for the song doing so well in the charts. The lyrics are also fantastic on songs "Panama" a song about a race car called the panama express. As well as "Hot For Teacher." The lyrics are exceptional on the album except fot two songs "House Of Pain" and "Drop Dead Legs" both of these songs have hardly any vocals and Eddie's lead breaks lead off from the middle of the songs right to the end. // 8

Overall Impression: If this record was stolen or lost I would buy it again, it is without doubt one of the best records in my CD collection and one of the best records of the '80s. It won Kerrang's album of the year in (guess what year) 1984. This album has to be Van Halen's best album along with "Van Halen" the bands debut which is another gem of a record but for different reasons. The most impressive songs on the album are "Panama," "Hot For Teacher" and "Jump" which all had fantastically recieved video's back in the early days of MTV. I would check them out. Some of the lesser known songs are fantastic as well like "House Of Pain" and "Top Jimmy" which will fascinate today's guitarists who have never heard of Van Halen and listen to emo and other sub-genres of rock which need no talent to play/write. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
1984 Reviewed by: E V H 5150, on february 16, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is a classic, Grade A++ Van Halen album with distinct Van Halen sound, as was expected of them during the time. This is by far THE BEST non-"Best Of" style album I own. Besides Van Halen, of course. Sadly, despite the greatness that is this album, and the David Lee Roth era, there are only two downsides that immediately come to mind. The first is obvious to almost anybody who knows about Van Halen. This is the last album featuring David Lee Roth. It was released Jan. 1st, I believe, on what other year but MCMLXXXIV (1984)? The other downside is the length. 30 minutes. 30 very well spent minutes, yes. 30 minutes of the best Van Halen has ever done since Van Halen (album)? In my own eyes, yes. But it's 30 minutes that could have been a lot longer. Maybe they omitted some of the not-as-good songs, and waited until 1986 for Sammy to sing them on the 5150 album? This album also presents a first for Van Halen: synthesizers. Not just Mike and his bass synth, mind you. 1984 (intro) is a great beginning to this album, with a little synth bass, and EVH's synth. And the perfect lead into Jump. They don't go too heavy on the synth. It's only on 1984, Jump, and I'll Wait. So you still get to hear Eddie's amazing guitar skills. // 9

Lyrics: Jump - it seems a lot of people think that this song is about physically jumping. As my knowledge goes, it's about a guy who's basicly telling a girl that she "might as well jump" into a relationship with him, or something to that effect. This has the first synth solo Eddie does. And it may be the only Van Halen song with a synth solo, but don't quote me for that. It also has some nice harmonies from the guitar, and the guitar solo is also pretty darn fine. Panama - from my knowledge, it sounds like this song is about some kind of motor vehicle. I just like this song. The guitar work is great (as is expected), and the solo makes sense. I also like the drum beat. Drop Dead Legs - I love this song. I like the intro, especially. It's got a nice sound to it, and Dave's singing on this songs is great. It's a classic Van Halen song about sex/girls. I don't like the solo, and it doesn't seem to make sense, in terms of fitting the song. Girl Gone Bad - I like the intro to this song, mostly for the nice bass line. Also how the guitar does it's own thing, and then kind of follows the bass line for a little. I really like the bass work on this song. Dave does yet another great job with the vocals, and as always, Eddie steals the show. Alex also carries the beat very well as usual. The song goes into the solo smoothly, unlike other songs on this album. // 9

Overall Impression: This is a very fitting end to Dave's career as Van Halen's singer. This album has a nostalgic feel to it. Those glory days of Van Halen. How they just kicked total ass. That unique energy each of them put into their music. It makes you wonder: What if Dave didn't have to leave? It is my opinion that every song on this album is impressive. Each one is rather catchy. It's got a much different feel and energy to it than any other album I own. The only other album I've heard with that raw, edgy Van Halen sound is Van Halen. This album takes you into the glory days of Van Halen before Sammy Hagar and 5150. But that's another review. This album is very easy to listen to, seeing as it's only 30 minutes. Which is also the biggest downside of this album. Kinda like a wham-bam-thank-you-m'am. But with class, effort, style, and closure. Yes, closure. For David Lee Roth. For Van Halen. And all of their fans. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
1984 Reviewed by: Page/Rhoads, on december 24, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is, in my opinion, the best Van Halen album. It is a great rock album that shows Eddie's talent, on guitar and keyboard. Alex Van Halen also gets his chance to show off his drum skills. It contains about 3 or 4 classic hits that every rock fan should know. The quality of the recording sounds like it was made this year. This is a great rock album that was very innovative during its time. It's also the last Van Halen album Roth did before leaving Van Halen for a solo career. If you are looking to become a Van Halen fan, start here. // 10

Lyrics: Diamond Dave does it again. The vocals are great. Every time he does his little high pitched screams, you've got to smile. The lyrics are not just focused in one area and range greatly. He'll go from singing about jumping to singing about hot teachers. This album reminds you why Dave was, and still is, the best voice for Van Halen. Very good. // 9

Overall Impression: I think that this album is tied for best Van Halen album, along with the first one. The best songs are Jump, which everyone knows, Panama, my personal favorite on the album, Hot for Teacher, which displays the Van Halen brothers talents, and I'll Wait, a nicer song with a great Michael Anthony bass line. The album only has one or two songs that I don't care for, but otherwise it's great. If it were stolen, I would buy another copy, and then burn a copy of the other copy. Just incase. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Van Halen reviews rating latest review
+ A Different Kind Of Truth 8.3 02/28/2012
+ Van Halen II 9.3 02/14/2012
+ Van Halen 9.5 02/10/2012
+ For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge 8.8 06/21/2011
+ The Best Of Both Worlds 9.1 04/12/2011
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect