Family Jewels Review

artist: ac dc date: 04/25/2008 category: dvd
ac dc: Family Jewels
Released: March 29, 2005
This is a superb collection of Bon Scott period songs. The audio on both discs is superb beyond belief. Some things never change and some things never should. Both of these apply to ACDC who never compromised on the hard rockin' founding principles of the band.
 Sound: 9.5
 Content: 8.9
 Production Quality: 8.7
 Overall Impression: 9.9
 Overall rating:
 8.8 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.3 
 Users rating:
 8.2 
 Votes:
 69 
reviews (11) 16 comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 10
Family Jewels Reviewed by: dooda, on january 03, 2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound in this DVD is very good. Except in TNT the solo is faded out a bit but besides that is very good. There live performances also sound good and it sounds like the same on previous dvds. The only way to listen to it is to have it at full bore. // 10

Content: Family Jewels dedicates one disc to the Bon Scott Era and the other disc to the Brian Johnson Era. In the first disc there are plenty of AC/DC hits such as TNT, Dirty Deeds, Highway To Hell, Whole Lotta Rosie and many more. On the second disc there aren't as many live film clips compared to the first one but nonetheless it is still chockerblock full of good songs. Songs include: Thunderstruck, Who Made Who, Back In Black, Hells Bells and Moneytalks. // 10

Production Quality: I really like the Jailbreak film clip on the first disc, it doesn't have the best special effects but it really is really fun film clip. I really like the Thunderstruck film clip with all the people hanging off the balconys cheering. I also love the It's A Long Way To The Top film clip in which they they are riding on truck down the streets of Sydney or Melbourne, not quite sure which. // 10

Overall Impression: This probably doesn't to other AC/DC DVDs because it has a good mixture of live performances and film clips. I really love how the AC/DC boys went about on stage and the energy they put into it. I love everything about this DVD there is really nothing wrong with it. If it got stolen or I lost it I would buy it again or stealit off my mates. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Family Jewels Reviewed by: AC/DCrocker13, on april 29, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound on this has to be one of the best yet on Hells Bells & and Back In Black are a little scratchy. The DVD is pretty much a time line through it which is cool yet at the beginning there are no word with rock n roll damn nation. // 10

Content: The DVD has it so that the Highway To Hell and Girls Got Rhythm are take place ten day before he dies. The Brian part are also pretty good. I wish they could have included the Highway To Hell music video. // 10

Production Quality: The picutre of Hells Bells, Back In Black, What Do You Do For Money Honey, ahd Rock N Roll Ain't Noise Pollution videos are a little bad. The Jail Break music video is pretty good. // 10

Overall Impression: The DVD is way better than live in Donnington, the fact that the 1975 Baby Please Don't Go picture is awsome. The fact the finale is Are You Ready. I don't like the fact the song The Jack isn't on there and it doesn't have the Ballbreaker or stiff uper lip on it. I would hurt him severly if I fond the guy who stole it I make him buy me another one. Please go buy this it is great at Walmart for $15. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Family Jewels Reviewed by: Will Summers, on april 25, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: If you've heard AC/DC before, then you already know that they are one of the best hard rock bands to grace the planet. Inside the DVD set is a 23-page booklet that talks about how the band was formed, Bon Scott's death, and much, much more. I'd have to say that Angus Young is one of the best guitarists in hard rock today, though AC/DC hasn't put out a record in almost a decade. // 10

Content: There are 2 discs in the DVD set. The first one is the "Bon Scott" era, spanning from 1975 to 1980, and the second one is the "Brian Johnson" era, which is from 1980 to 1991. I would classify "Family Jewels" as a 'Best Of' DVD and a live concert DVD, mainly because you could find at least over half of the songs on a "Greatest Hits" album and that a lot of the songs are actual live recordings. In the song list, there are 40 songs, 20 to each DVD. There aren't much for extra features, though the DVD does offer a complete discography of the band. // 9

Production Quality: Overall, the production quality is excellent, except on some songs, such as "TNT" or "Back in Black" where the quality is sort of scratchy and doesn't sound the best, as compared to the original recordings. There aren't any technologies or tricks that I know of, just sheer awesomeness. // 8

Overall Impression: I think that this is one of their best DVD sets to date, mainly because the songs list is incredible. What is most impressive about this DVD set are the 40 videos/live recordings. Basically, I love everything about this DVD set, except the quality of some songs. Other than that, there isn't anything else to not like about it. If it were stolen someone, who is obviously jealous of this find, I'd probably buy "Plug Me In", which is another AC/DC box set, just because there are more songs and features in the set. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Family Jewels Reviewed by: unregistered, on april 04, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The two disc Family Jewels is a must own DVD for any AC/DC fan. (For only ten bucks). Their sound is lengendary, and Sony went to great lengths to retore that sound from the '70s. It truly is DVD quality. You will be thunderstruck the first minute you watch Family Jewels and listen to their raw live unparralled power. // 10

Content: The content of the clips and footage are great. The Bon clips have great picture and sound. It's great to see over 20 videos with Bon that capture his unprecedented charisma onstage. Some clips are those seen with the CD connected feature. It's cool that they included the whole Fly On The Wall video, but why didn't they include the Live In Paris? They could have included some extra content besides the video but for ten bucks I'm not complaining. // 8

Production Quality: The overall quality of the video is excellent. The video's with Bon are definetly better, and not as corny as the video's with Brian. // 8

Overall Impression: The overall value of this DVD is excellent. The Bon clips are worth the ten dollars. The video and sound are superb. As any fan would know a chance to see AC/DC on TV is an extremly rare occurance. For the masters of Dirty Deeds to comprise a two disc set of rare footage and sell it for ten bucks is something that you need to take advantage of. The only thing I hate about it is the lack of extra content and they left some of my favorite songs out. (Bad boy boogie). If some idiot would steal this I would first hunt him down and beat him then buy a new copy. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Family Jewels Reviewed by: pvpredator5682, on may 11, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound was pretty good, I meen when does AC/DC not sound good. // 8

Content: AC/DC Family Jewels ruled, you're not an AC/DC fan if you don't have Family Jewels, it's eccentual. Basically it's a bunch of songs with videos starting when they started. All the videos are in order. The first disc is with the original lead singer Bon Scott (RIP) and the other is with Brain Johnson, it has most of there hits like Hells Bells, Back In Black, Whole Lotta Rosy, and Shook Me All Night Long Along with 36 others. // 10

Production Quality: Production quality was awsome. They really captured it great. It's like an inside look at AC/DC when they were just starting and when they were huge (not that they aren't still now). // 10

Overall Impression: I have Live At Donnington and it's awesome but this is way better. It also comes with a small color booklet with a ton of sweet pics. The best thing about it is how it's like a time line. If it were lost I would by a new one, if stolen I would find that person and get it back and take some money and get a Zep DVD. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Family Jewels Reviewed by: unregistered, on july 09, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: As we all know AC/DC are the godfathers of metal. Thier sound needs no introduction from Malcom's thundering power chords to Angus' scratchy riffs and screeching solos packing a wicked tone that can only come from custom created pedals and several powerful Marshall cabinets. So genuinely AC/DC's live shows are even better than recordings and this dvd brings it all to you in crisp high definition sound from the best view in the house, the cameras eye. // 10

Content: Not much of a menu and no special features at all but with all the juicy footage you could ask of concerts from bon scott through the modern stuff and even the full version of AC/DC's short film Fly On The Wall from the '80s you cant really complain. After all what did you expect? It's just concert footage and all the special features can be found in the included 24 page color booklet written by David Frickle which covers the history of ac dc and explains most of the clips in detail. // 8

Production Quality: The menu is very nice loking and has an animation of the Famiy Jewels swinging back and forth with a neat little intro to each clip, but this is mostly just the history of AC/DC caught on tape, so there isn't really much need for special effects. // 8

Overall Impression: For the hardcore AC/DC fan this DVD is an absolute essential and with 2 discs and 40 songs including live television performances, music videos, even all the footage of bon scott and live concerts. If your not willing to dish out for $14 for this then don't call yourself an AC/DC fan. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
Family Jewels Reviewed by: xanderLesPaul69, on august 26, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: This DVD sounds the same as most of the other DVD's that are from this time with no story. The styles they use is the regular AC/DC, older heavy fun rock. This is the best DVD that I own. // 8

Content: The 2 disk set has 40 songs with all the best of AC/DC live and regular videos, a booklet with all of the bands info, and a silver case. On the first disk is all the older songs; on the second disk is the newer songs. The second disk also includes all the names of the albums with what songs are in them. // 8

Production Quality: On the newer songs they use some cool tricks for that time, and the older ones are the same as all the others. As far as I can tell they were pretty good about the production of this. // 6

Overall Impression: This is the best of best collection that I have ever seen or heard of. The best thing about the set is that they use up all the space they can with as much AC/DC that they can fit. The things that I do like about the set is that they have the most AC/DC I have ever seen in one place; the things I dont like about it is when you touch the case and the booklet it leaves your finger prints on it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Family Jewels Reviewed by: jimmiew, on october 03, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: For those of you who haven't heard AC/DC they have a very interesting sound. As soon as you hear them you can tell they were around in the '70s and '80s but they're a little different from the normal. They have a very high pitched guitar sound, a semi-high bass and the vocals are interesting somewhat with a English accent and some American. // 10

Content: This 2 DVD set is better than any DVDs AC/DC has ever done before. It has a lot more of their hits than their others. I must say that I'm surprised that it doesn't have Razor's Edge. Other than that I would have to say this set is very good. It has a lot of good videos and in concert recordings. A lot of this has also never been released so there is a lot of stuff many AC/DC fans havent seen. In total the set is 2 and a half hours long and also includes a complete discography. I recommend this to anyone who likes the band. // 9

Production Quality: The production is pretty high quality especially figuring most of the videos were from the '70s and '80s and most of it is in color but there are a few black and white. // 10

Overall Impression: This is a very good set from the band. If it was stolen I'd beat down the person who did it and if it was messed up I'd buy another. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Family Jewels Reviewed by: MaAal_MaAan, on october 27, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Relive the great classic AC/DC sound with Family Jewels! Think that line is just a stupid line from a TV ad? It prolly is, but it's a true one then. This DVD produces the beautiful sound of the original AC/DC albums and live performances. This is just a music DVD, no story or anything, but, who cares? It is really well done over the 2 discs (disc 1 with Bon Scott and disc 2 with the other dude). // 10

Content: The only real extra feature is the discography, pictures of the album covers and the songs the albums contained, I found that interesting, but unfortunatly it was the only special feature, so, I was a bit bumd out by that. This is kinda like a "best of" DVD because there are some video clips on it, I like it how they linked fly on the wall, sink the pink, and others 2gether without skipping songs in between because thats how it goes. I really the music on this DVD. // 8

Production Quality: Nice. I dunno what to write here, it was really well done with all of the song names before the song with the ball on chain thingo they've got going. // 9

Overall Impression: I was really happy with this DVD, if someone stole it I would buy it again, and again, and again. There's nothing really to hate about this DVD only they left out the song "Rock N Roll Singer" thats a really good one. I really like the bit where Bon Scott is singen Dirty Deeds and the two chicks come up and grab him and he stops singing for a bit, and he doesn't even lose a beat! How cool is that? // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Family Jewels Reviewed by: unregistered, on november 22, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound quality is excellent. I have had no problems with it. You can hear everything. It's just the classic, heavy rockin' AC/DC that we all know and love. // 10

Content: 40 songs on 2 discs. A "best of" collection. First disc contains videos of all Bon Scott. Second disc is all Brian Johnson (personally, I like Scott better). It's definietly cool to see some of the Bon Scott videos that you would never see (most of which are live performances). There's lots of good songs. Almost all of the hits are there. A couple of songs aren't there, though (The Jack, Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be, and a few others). The second disc also has a discography. All in all, it's really awesome. // 9

Production Quality: Very good. The styles were all top-of-the-line at the time of the video creation. Sure it's not great now, but they didn't have this crazy stuff we have now back then. So we deal with what we get. Still, it is excellent. No problems. // 10

Overall Impression: This is an excellent DVD for any AC/DC fan. It really gives the fan a good look at the early years of AC/DC with Bon Scott in it (something that isn't seen very often). Overall, it is just an excellent DVD to own, especially if you like AC/DC. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
Family Jewels Reviewed by: nonconformist1, on june 04, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: AC/DC is classic in your face rock and roll. with songs about sex, violence, and more sex, who doesn't love them. their simple riffs, ear piercing vocals, and guitar solo's to die for, their un deniably the best classic rock band ever. (behind Zeppelin of course). plus it features "flick of the switch", "fly on the wall", "shake your foundations" and "sink the pink" videos which go in sequence. This is definatelt the CD to buy. and it's pretty cheap, too. I only paid like twelve bucks for it. // 8

Content: the first CD is Bon Scott doing the vocals, but Bon Scott died on account of drowning in his own puke after a night of partying (not joking). But that didn't stop AC/DC from rocking, Scott was soon replaced with Brian Johnson. In my opinion, Bon Scott was a little bit better of a vocalist, but Brian Johnson made a great replacement. Their lead guitarist, Angus Young, however, was a differant story. His riffs and unbeatable solos made him one of the best guitarists ever. // 9

Production Quality: now, the DVD has no features or anything else besides discography. but it's jammed with great songs. Plus, who doesn't love the music video to you "Shook Me All Night Long" (if you know what I mean). These boys from Austrailia definately revolutionised rock as we know it. And I think that their schoolboy of a lead guitarist deserves an A+. I totally recommend you buy this DVD and see for yourself how great they are. These DVD's are two disks chocked full of heaven (or hell). // 7

Overall Impression: My personal favorite music video on this DVD is the song "Baby Please Don't Go". Because it shows their sense of humor. And hey, who doesn't like to see Bon Scott in a wig with pig tails and a dress showing his whitey tighties and beating Angus Young with a toy sledgehammer over and over again. Or when Bon Scott gets tackled by a group of girls on the music video for "Dirty Deads Done Dirt Cheap". Or how about when Angus hops on his shoulders in the video for "Riff/Raff" I wouldn't lose this DVD because I never let this baby out of my sight. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Ac Dc reviews rating latest review
+ Live At River Plate 7.6 11/23/2012
+ Live At Donnington 9.4 11/11/2010
+ No Bull The Director's Cut 9.1 12/26/2008
+ Lick Library: Learn To Play AC/DC 8.1 06/27/2008
+ Plug Me In 9.1 04/12/2008
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect