Live At Donnington Review

artist: ac dc date: 11/11/2010 category: dvd
ac dc: Live At Donnington
Released: Nov 11, 2003
This DVD is great and will be the video to make all you non AC/DC fans eyes pop open and hear a sound unlike no other.
 Sound: 9.9
 Content: 9
 Production Quality: 9.1
 Overall Impression: 9.7
 Overall rating:
 9.4 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.4 
 Users rating:
 9.4 
 Votes:
 82 
reviews (14) 26 comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 9.5
Live At Donnington Reviewed by: Dammit Missed T, on august 26, 2004
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Sound: It's some of the greatest AC/DC hits as performed at 1991's "Monsters Of Rock" festival. We are given the usual AC/DC sound, hard rock, with power chords everywhere. Nothing particularly new or flashy, just back to basics Hard Rock from the ultimate hard rock band. The remastered sound is fantastic quality, especially when listened to on a 5.1 surround sound system - the makers of this DVD (Epic Video) have completely remixed the sound using the individual channel recordings of the actual concert, and it almost sounds as good as live! // 10

Content: The song list is pretty good - It features many of the greats such as Back In Black, Let There Be Rock and Highway To Hell, and not only that, but through the special features, you can focus upon certain members of the band during certain songs. Unfortunately, there are only a few songs featuring Angus, but his constant running on stage must have made it quite difficult to focus on him! There is also a full commentary from the Young brothers and also an audio annotated discography, featuring some interesting anecdotes on the stories behind the albums. // 8

Production Quality: With regards to special effects, once again, there's nothing extra-special added, but then, it's not really required - some of the things that happened during AC/DC's set spoke for themselves. For example the appearance of the Hell's Bell at the start of Hells Bells, or the giant inflatable that suddenly appears behind the band during one of their songs. The quality of the video and audio are surprisingly good, considering the fact that the recording is now 13 years old, and we are given shots from many angles of the stage, showing us exactly what is happening. However the constant camera changes can get a bit irritating after a while, but that doesn't change the fact that the quality itself is brilliant. // 10

Overall Impression: The only other DVD of this type I own is the GNR Welcome To The Videos, and although good, it pales in comparison to this DVD. Apart from the music - which is brilliant by the way - it is the special features that really make this DVD able to stand tall amongst its competitors - Welcome... can't even come close! The thing I really love is the performance AC/DC puts on for the crowd - Angus obviously really feels the music and runs around like his pants were on fire! This is equalled by Brian Johnson's throat tearing lyrical talent, and when this is combined with the music and special effects, it adds up for a truly mind blowing performance! All in all, this is a spectacular representation of a live AC/DC performance, and at 9.99 definitely worth it's cost. This is one I would never want to lose! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Live At Donnington Reviewed by: SGThunderstruck, on september 25, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Sound is good, choice of 5.5 Dolby Surround, or Stereo. AC/DC always sounds good, though. Huge crowd, kind of amazing how anyone could play for that many people without shitting their pants. // 10

Content: The DVD features all the band's most popular songs, a commentary by Angus and Malcolm, Discography. Live at Donnington Castle, in front of 80,000 people. Filmed August 16, 1991. Which is the day after my birthday, has some special meaning to me, because it makes me feel like they were celebrating my birth. I am not going to give the content a 10, as the commentary is a bit annoying, since it is only audio and is played over the performance, of course that is optional. But I would like to see angus and malcolm speak, as well as hear // 8

Production Quality: Many camera angles are used, you have the option of locking camera angles on certain band members for certain songs, which is great if you are trying to mimic a musicians style on stage in your own performances at home. // 10

Overall Impression: It is the best concert DVD I own, out of 6 DVD's. Most impressive thing is the intro, when they play Thunderstruck, and Angus comes out from the tunnel and the crowd goes bizzerk. You just get this rush of blood throughout your body when you see something like that, the kind that makes you run to wherever you keep your guitar and practice for hours. Totally worth the $12. I would re-purchase it if it was lost. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Live At Donnington Reviewed by: Azdogga, on march 21, 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is a DVD of AC/DC at their best. In front of one of the biggest crowds I have ever seen, they belt out some of their old favourites. They start in true form with 'Thunderstruck', Angus' fingers dancing over the frets, pulling off a huge variety of notes, acknowledging the crowd with two-fingers salutes. They stretch each of the songs out until they are all at least 3 minutes long, but it never once sounds repetitive. The sound is superb and the band never makes a wrong note the whole way through. The tunes have been worked on and improved, with Angus soloing better in his old age. It's a true AC/DC sound with a fantastic line-up of songs. // 10

Content: The DVD hasn't got a lot of features, just a commentary and a showcase of their CDs and tapes. But the 3-hour performance more than makes up for the lack of extra bits in the menu. One of the more memorable songs in 'Jailbreak' where Angus' takes a huge solo and drops his pants to the delight of the crowd. They have a huge blow-up balloon of Angus in 'Let There Be Rock' where a barrage of notes is fired at the screaming audience. In true style, they finish with the fabled 'For Those About To Rock' with cannons firing and lights working overtime. It is a fantastic concert that may well have your folks joining in too! // 10

Production Quality: Like anything AC/DC do, they worked over this concert until it shines. Everything is spot-on, and the picture quality is quite clear. The camera work is fabulous, including the ones underneath the glass on which the band plays on. They have used 3 blow-ups in total, and at one stage, Angus dissapears, and then rises out of a platform somewhere at the back of the crowd, does a solo, and goes back into the floor. A minute later he's back on stage. These are just some of the things that make AC/DC such a fun band to watch live. // 10

Overall Impression: This is a fantastic piece of heritage that AC/DC can lay claims to. The overall stage presence of them is totally in-your-face and you just can't get enough of it. Everything about this DVD is pure gold and if you ever see a copy, make sure you grab it, because that night was the night of the best rock band to ever come out of Australia. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
Live At Donnington Reviewed by: Rocker_94, on october 15, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: I really like this DVD. The guitars sound great and raw, and the drums sound nice and crisp with Chris Slade never missing a beat. Brian Johnson sounds great aswell. I really liked the sound of his voice at this point in time. It's kinda hard to describe it. Of the AC/DC DVDs, he sounds the best in this one. He hit his rough patch for No Bull (worn out) and Stiff Upper Lip Live (throat infection), and is really forcing some notes. His voice has been back on top since about 2003, so that's good. One more thing I wanted to mention, the crowd is in it. They are a 6th member. // 10

Content: This is a really good set list, and it doesen't leave out many great AC/DC songs. Would of liked to hear maybe Who Made Who or Problem Child in there too, but I'm satisfied with the way it was. There is a descent amout of features in here too. There is commentary with Angus and Malcolm, and also them talking about every AC/DC album until Stiff Upper Lip. There is also what is called iso-cam versions of every current member of AC/DC. One dissapointment here is that there is nothing of Chris Slade. Even if he's not currently in the band, he deserves a video of himself. Another complaint is for Malcolm (TNT), they don't show enough of him. For Angus, they show nothing but Angus. For Brian, they show as much as they could. They also show a lot of Cliff in his. But for Malcolm, most of it is either Angus or Brian. // 7

Production Quality: Since this video was taken in 1991, the production ain't that good. It's not cristal clear like No Bull or Stiff Upper Lip Live. You see the black dots or blurred image on the screen just like an old movie or at the cinemas. Despite this, it's amazing how many camera angles they have. I think they had about 26 cameras, including a helicopter. Another thing with the production, many people tend to say they took the audio from other concerts. Evidence from this is during Back In Black, Brian sings Ooh I'm Back, but the video shows he has both arms raised, making the crowd cheer. They went wrong somewhere. // 6

Overall Impression: There is nothing that I hate on here. Not many features, but what were you expecting to have? There's just those little things I mentionned above. If it were stolen or lost, I'd surely buy it again. I watch it fairly often, and would miss it if it was gone. It's near perfect. And by the way, it's written Donington, not Donnington. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Live At Donnington Reviewed by: rockfan, on december 13, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: AC/DC's sound is always great. On this DVD the sound is amazing, it's almost like you're really at the concert. When the song Hell's Bells starts and you hear the bell, then you see the huge bell come down over top of the band. It is great. // 10

Content: It is a live concert, It doesn't come with many special features. Although it has a lot of commentary from Angus and Malcolm. And the interactive menus are cool. You can also look at their entire discography. I wasnt expecting many special features though. So overall I was satisfied. // 8

Production Quality: The production was pretty good. There aren't many tricks used in it. The different angles that they use are pretty cool. They use a helicopter for a lot of the shots too. And the close ups of Angus and the band are also awesome. // 8

Overall Impression: The DVD is a typical AC/DC concert. The most impressive thing on it is the sound. If you turn it up loud its like you're there, watching them. The set list is also great, its all of their best songs. If it were lost then I would buy it again. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Live At Donnington Reviewed by: Ziplin, on april 07, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Sound? AC/DC. Enough said. The most explosive and powerful sound you'll ever hear. Angus does not hit one bad not on his SG. Brian doesn't have any singing flaws. Chris Slade just played drums amazingly to say the least. All the songs on here sound teriffic. The only thing that I somewhat don't like is Brian doing TNT, Highway To Hell, ect. Those are Bon's songs and just aren't the same. He did do a good job with 'Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be' and 'Jailbreak' though. Amzing sound quality. // 10

Content: This is AC/DC Live At Castle Donington at the '91 Monsters Of Rock fesitval. Playing along with Metallica, Motley Crue, Black Crowes and Queenschrych (None of those bands are on the DVD though). The DVD opens with Chris on drums chicking his high hat to get 'Thunderstruck' going, the Angus comes on, fist punching the air and unleashes that awesome Thunderstruck riff. It then goes on to Shoot To Thrill, Back In Black, Hell Aint A Bad Place To Be, Let There Be Rock, You Shooke Me All Night Long, TNT, Dirty Deeds, Highwayt To Hell, For Those About To Rock, High Voltage and everything else you fans enjoy. It has some bonus stuff, nothing really impressive but I don't care, I don't worry about bonus stuff ever. Commentary is also available though you can hardly hear it. // 10

Production Quality: Put together amazing. They filmed it so perfect. The quality isn't the best but not far from it. I'm not at all saying its bad quality, it's not VHS quality or anything but not as good as other DVD's. // 10

Overall Impression: I love this DVD. It's the best item I own. Every song was played great. They played all the my favorites (Thunderstruck, Back In Black, You Shook Me All Night Long, ect). I love everything about it. I don't dislike anything about the DVD. If it were stolen (I definatly wont lose it, I keep it close alaways) I would buy it again for only being $12. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
Live At Donnington Reviewed by: metallica4evr, on april 20, 2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: AC/DC will always be AC/DC. This is basically a greatest hits one a dvd. If you are a big AC/DC fan you'll probably know most of the songs on this DVD. The song is perfectly clear and digitally remastered. You'll love it! // 10

Content: This is a 'best of' DVD. Being an AC/DC fan I was pleases with the dvd since this was the first time I saw AC/DC performing their songs. There are no extra features except a discography. And most of the videos are just performances so it is really close to being a live DVD. There are 40 videos on this DVD, pracrically all AC/DC songs ever released. // 8

Production Quality: There are no outstanding technological developments in this DVD. The set out is just cool. There is really nothing outstanding in this DVD but the quality is excellent. // 8

Overall Impression: This DVD is a classic videos DVD. It has nothing more than DVD's other bands released and nothing less. It would really appeal to hard core AC/DC fans. People that are now starting to listen to AC/DC will not find much on this album. Then again it is the only substitute for a greatest hits album as AC/DC is yet to relaese one. I don't hate anything about this album. I was a bit disappointed that most of the videos were live videos but you have to remember that in those days that was what all rock videos were like. I would buy it again if it were stolen. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Live At Donnington Reviewed by: geetarman3421, on october 05, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: AC/DC, unless you've been living under a rock for the past two decades, you should know that they are a straight up hard rock band and this DVD gives ample proof of that. The DVD footage is from the 1991 concert at Donington Park in England which AC/DC headlined and also included acts like Motley Crue, Metallica, and Queensryche. // 10

Content: The DVD is a live concert DVD and it has all the AC/DC classics like "Thunderstruck," "Highway To Hell," "Back In Black," "Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap," "TNT" and other great songs. The DVD has a discography on the band, interviews with the members, and iso-cam sou you can focus on one band member for an entire song. // 10

Production Quality: The production is top knotch. The footage is clear and you can see everything, the sound is also excellent. The camera is always steady and never bothers you or gets off focus. There is also a camera angle from a helicopter. // 10

Overall Impression: This is a must have DVD, there are no faults in it like there are in most concert DVDs and the band's performance is beyond electricifying. I mainly liked the performance and the stage props like cannons, the giant inflatable Rosie, and the Hell's Bell. If it were stolen I would just get a new one because the DVD is pretty cheap. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Live At Donnington Reviewed by: unregistered, on november 22, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound of this is great. Put on some surround sond and you can really get a feeling like your there. Angus barely misses a thing in this show. It's amazing. Has a really nice rock sound. This will really open up people's eyes and show them how good AC/DC really is. // 10

Content: There's definietly a lot of cool things. There's the audio commentary on the show with Angus and Malcolm. There's the dicography with commentary on each album. And then there's the special camera view focusing on one person in the band. I'm a little disappointed that they couldn't get more Angus, because I'm a huge Angus fan, but it must have been pretty hard with him running around. Still, some pretty cool features. // 9

Production Quality: It looks good, in a old time sorta way. It looks like an old movie. You sometimes see the little black dots pop up every once in a while. But it's great. And I, personally, like it very much. It is definitely good. But sometimes you get a weird light on the camera, but they usually change it right away. There's also some really cool camera angles, including a camera under the stage like in the "Thunderstruck" video. I think this show had the most cameras AC/DC has ever used. And of course, theres all of the blow up things they have, the Hells Bell, and some of the great things Angus does. // 9

Overall Impression: I think this DVD really brings out the true AC/DC. It shows how well they play, and how fun and exciting their live shows are. The albums don't give this band justice, because you can't see Angus running around in his schoolboy outfit on the albums, or you can't see lighting effects. This DVD definitely is a must-have for any AC/DC fan. It is probably the best live DVD of them out right now. I love everything about it. If it was lost or stolen, I would buy a new one in a heartbeat. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
Live At Donnington Reviewed by: Mr. Legato, on december 23, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Sound is incredible. Some songs are overdubbed (so I've heard). But does not take away from the experience of AC/DC live! It sets the bar for recorded live concerts. Great sound, everything is in great balance (maybe due to the overdubbing). The voice, the guitars, drums, and audience nothing drowns out anything else so you hear everything like you should. // 8

Content: The DVD contains the concert which is around 2 hours in length. Like the name implies, its a live performance at Donnington, England in 1992 I think but I'm not 100% sure on when it was in fact recorded. It has some cool features. My favorite being the Angus cam, which is a camera that stays on Angus the entire time. So if Angus is all your interested in its a wonderful feature. The concert contains something that make all AC/DC concerts complete. Angus's strip tease which he performs to a beat provided by his bandmembers. It's a very entertaining concert and makes you feel like you have the best seat in the house. // 9

Production Quality: The quality is quite good. The cameras are in focus and you are fully aware of what's going on. The editing does a good job of showing you what you want to see at the right time (like it doesn't show Malcolm when Angus is in the middle of a lead line). // 8

Overall Impression: This is a great DVD, of a great concert! If your an AC/DC fan, get this DVD, it's wonderful. This is the concert the AC/DC live! CD was recorded from. So if you have both great! It's just an amazing example of recorded concerts and like I said sets the bar. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Live At Donnington Reviewed by: JustinYap, on august 01, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: I am a big fan of AC/DC and consider them to be one of the greatest rock bands ever. And this DVD is a testament to that. This is nothing short of what AC/DC is all about, with the big inflatable Rosie, Hell's Bell, and the infamous canons. This concert was performed and filmed on the 17th Of August 1991 in the middle of their Monsters Of Rock tour alongside the likes of Metallica and Motley Crue. The sound quality of this DVD is excellent for a live concert, where you can barely hear the crowd when you're not supposed to, and can hear them loud and clear when you are. // 10

Content: This DVD is a film of their 1991 Donington show. It has the actual performance in full, it has a special "Iso-cam" version where you can choose among a few select songs, where the cameras are only focusing on one of the bandmembers throughout the whole song which is a pretty cool feature. It also includes a commentary from the Young brothers on the show (which generally lasts as long as the concert) The set list would probably all of AC/DC's greatest hits, songs picked from as many of their albums as possible, stretching back to the Bon Scott with songs like TNT and Highway To Hell. Now in a little more detail, it starts with of course, the build up of the intro songs, Thunderstruck. And almost every signatures by the members of AC/DC are in this. Malcolm with his Gretsch and missing Pickups, Angus and his many antics (strip show, the "Fit", his SG, and of course his playing), and Brian, with his Bell, his instantly recognisable voice, and the cap. If you're a big fan of AC/DC, or someone that wants a good example of AC/DC's live performances, this would be it. // 10

Production Quality: Again, the sound quality is excellent and the video is very clear. The audio, like all other AC/DC recordings, have angus' lead guitar playing on the right speaker/earphone, and malcolm's rhythm on the left, a trick AC/DC have always used. The band uses rows Mesa Boogies and Marshall stacks for their amplificiation. Generally, you can hear every bandmember very clearly, and this DVD has nothing short when it comes to production quality. // 10

Overall Impression: Overall, an excellent DVD! I'd have to say what I find most impressive about this would have to be the band's music, the band's stage presence, and actually being able to see their interactions with each other and their fans. It was everything a good rock concert was supposed to be, and I don't think there were any problems with it at all. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Live At Donnington Reviewed by: AngusYoungsheir, on december 23, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: This DVD marked a pivitol point in the bands career. They were seen as one of the greatest Rock bands in the world, and not without good reason. With a setlist filled with some of their best boogies, most brilliant blues, and riveting Rock anthems, you could go no wrong with a statement like that. The sound is almost as good as the reviews (Which were brilliant). AC/DC used more overdrive in their live concerts then, than they have in more recent concerts, such as the stiff upper lip tour. They solos are played pretty much the same as the recorded version, except noticably on "Fire Your Guns", but who can find fault in a little bit of improvisation. It is Angus Young anyway. The sound is great for a live concert. // 10

Content: As far as I know, there isn't any hidden tracks or anything, mind you it is supposed to be hidden. As I said it's a live DVD so it doesn't pause between chapters the way family jewels does (another AC/DC DVD), so it has Angus and Malcolm Young commentary which always good to listen to. There is also a full AC/DC discography which also has a commentary from the Young brothers. As I said before, the setlist couldn't be better, with great tunes from different great albums, AC/DC done it again. // 9

Production Quality: The production quality is really good. Even though Angus' lead transmitter conked out durind Let there be rock when he spins about on a rising platform in the middle ot the audience. The firing cannons at the end are never a disappointment. And the inflatable Rosie is an absolute treat. AC/DC neve let you down at a live concert such as this. // 9

Overall Impression: This is my favourite of the AC/DC DVD's, and if this were lost or stolen, I would definetly buy it again, because there is absolutely nothing else like it. No other artist even comes close to being as electrifying as AC/DC when it comes to a live show. So instead of rabbling on, I have only two words. Buy it! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Live At Donnington Reviewed by: Rockstar112, on january 05, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: AC/DC is a legendary hard rock band known for delivering the best of the best when it comes to rock music and an exhilarating live performance. You can see why they are know for that in this DVD.The band sounds and plays just like on the CD and even better on some songs. // 10

Content: The DVD features AC/DC's live performance at Castle Donnington for the Monsters of Rock tour. They played for over 2 hours with many of their hits in the setlist. Some of the songs played include: "Highway To Hell", "Back In Black", "For Those About To Rock", "High Voltage" and many great others. The songs played ranged from the earliest Bon Scott years all the way to the date they played. // 10

Production Quality: The show was completely over the top with flames erupting during "Highway to hell", a giant inflated Rosie on the stage during "whole lotta rosie", and an armada of cannons firing during for "those about to rock", just to name a few things. An amazing performance with amazing effects. // 10

Overall Impression: This DVD shows AC/DC at their best. Their showmanship and ability to put on such a good show is a valuable asset that they use to the best of their ability. If you want a great performance by a great band then get this DVD. If this gets lost or stolen go buy another one it's that good. Everytime I watch the DVD it makes me wish I were actually there. I loved it. No doubt about it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Live At Donnington Reviewed by: RickStorm, on november 11, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: It's one of the best live movies in the world, just pure rock N roll, from one of the greatest rock bands in history ever. AC/DC never dissapoints the fans, Live At Doningtong is a show icluding all their legendary stuff like Highway To Hell, Back In Black, Hells bells, T.N.T, etc. And the non-stop energy of angus young and fast riffs never ever stops, angus does everything entertain the audience, he even has hes own little "strip-tees". // 10

Content: This is a Live DVD. And the setlist from opening 'til end is perfect, thunderstruck is a perfect opening song by the way. They play some of the classic songs from the Bon scott era (1975-1979), and the stuff brian Johnson did too ( 1980-1990), Brian Johnson actually sings Bon's songs pretty good, he's a very talanted singer with whole lotta rage in he's voice, so to speak. // 10

Production Quality: They used over one hundred cameras when they shot it, so yeah, the quality is very good. I think it's was trendy at the time maybe, I mean it's been a while, 19-20 years I think, but it still looks pretty new to me, but "trendy"?... I don't think AC/DC cares about trends, they just wanna rock n roll. // 10

Overall Impression: The most impressive is just thats it's so god damn good, you better watch it if you haven't already. The concert never slows down exept when they plays The Jack, but otherwise it's just 100 percent fast rock n roll and catchy songs that all can sing along to. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Ac Dc reviews rating latest review
+ Live At River Plate 7.6 11/23/2012
+ No Bull The Director's Cut 9.1 12/26/2008
+ Lick Library: Learn To Play AC/DC 8.1 06/27/2008
+ Family Jewels 8.8 04/25/2008
+ Plug Me In 9.1 04/12/2008
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect