All Excess Review

artist: avenged sevenfold date: 11/13/2008 category: dvd
avenged sevenfold: All Excess
Release Date: July 17, 2007
Prior to the release later this year of the band's next explosive album, the DVD All Excess brings fans up-to-date with a visual and aural history of the group. This is only the beginning for A7X.
 Sound: 8.3
 Content: 7.7
 Production Quality: 8.3
 Overall Impression: 7.7
 Overall rating:
 8.5 
 Reviewer rating:
 8 
 Users rating:
 9 
 Votes:
 102 
reviews (6) 44 comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 10
All Excess Reviewed by: razorblade666, on october 25, 2007
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Sound: What a great way for A7X to psych everyone up about the new album. If you didn't know, All Excess is a DVD chronicling the early days of the band and eventually leading up to what they are today. There are interviews with each memeber on a number of topics. The bonus features are amazing. This DVD is a must have for any true A7X fan. // 10

Content: The DVD shows what the band went through. How times got rough and they didn't have money or food. They tell you a lot of great stories about them before they were "famous". I can not get enough of this DVD. They have live performances, music videos, and behing the scenes stuff. There are a lot of hilarious parts throughout the whole DVD. One part in particular, there just driving around Cali showing you were they hung out back in the day and they tell some amazing stories. I'm not gonna say anymore because you have to buy the DVD, if you want to know. // 10

Production Quality: The quality of the production was amazing. It was well put together from my point of view. The menus are easy to navigate. The quality of the entire movie is probably the best yet to come. I can truly say that they worked hard on this and they acheieved the best quality. // 10

Overall Impression: My overall impression of this DVD, is that it couldn't have been better. Who doesn't wanna know what happend to there favorite band before they were big. The maind story is the most impressive thing. All the hardships they had to go through. Amazing. I wouldn't have asked for anything better. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 4.8
All Excess Reviewed by: humanchipmunk, on july 24, 2007
2 of 8 people found this review helpful

Sound: As an Avenged Sevenfold fan who has been with them since before Waking The Fallen, a DVD has been long anticipated. Expecting to see the concert I attended a year ago at Soma in San Diego they filmed to later show on MTV2, I was somewhat saddened to hear it was strictly a documentary. // 5

Content: It certainly is not a live concert DVD, but more of an homage to the many places the band has gotten hammered, plastered, shit faced, etc. The first half shows the coming together of the band and where they grew up and went to school. They also made sure to mention the many bars, fights, and arrests that also occurred in their growing up. However, the second half was slightly more interesting with their discussing the coming together of City of Evil and the very brief shots in the studio showing the orchestra that played on a couple tracks. As a musician I would have much rather seen footage of them in the studio recording tracks or just jamming rather then seeing them in bars drunk off their asses. To be honest the special features were more interesting than the documentary as a whole. // 3

Production Quality: The quality of the DVD as a whole is quite good. The live concert shots, though far too few, are professionally done with multiple angles as opposed to a stationary camera that doesn't pick up everything well. There were shots of each individual band member interview style talking about certain things which weren't spectacular but well put together. // 8

Overall Impression: My overall impression as someone that appreciates the music more than anything was the DVD was disappointing. They briefly talk about at the end how much they admire Metallica, however Metallica has a few live concert DVDs, and even on "Some Kind Of Monster" there is a lot of footage of them in the studio. Perhaps somewhere down the line A7X will follow in the footsteps of their heroes, but as for now I don't think the DVD was worth the money or the time spent watching it. Sadly if it was stolen I would just let it go. // 3

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.3
All Excess Reviewed by: axenoob, on august 06, 2007
0 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound quality is well DVD quality. it's what you'd expect from Avenged Sevenfold on their DVD. One thing I particularly liked was the background music during the documentary is the instrument tracks from their songs, with the vocals taken out for the most part. // 9

Content: When I first heard about this DVD I was expecting it to be similar to Tenacious D's Complete Masterworks disc where it had a complete concert, all the music videos, all the tv appearances and a short documentary. But I was disappointed when I found that the main emphasis on this disc was the documentary. Don't get me wrong, it has some good stuff in there but the initial shock that it was so far off what I expected made it seem worse than it actually is. The documentary tells about how the band met and formed and then goes into how the band rose from garage punk band to the platinum record making band (for Waking the Fallen, give City of Evil some time). It also has the band going back to places they hung out when they were just starting out including the now infamous "this is where we got drunk" spot. It also showed them walking the campus of their high school and sharing stories. As for the live performances, they were spot on and awesome, but it was too short and the song selection wasn't that great. They should have had more songs on there and I would have killed to have Second Heartbeat on there instead of Trashed and Scattered. The music videos section was great. It had optional commentary by the band or the director on all of their major music videos, Unholy Confessions, Bat Country, Beast and the Harlot and Seize the Day plus the "making of" that was released online for Seize the Day. The last section in the DVD is the outtakes section. I don't really get why they called it outtakes when it really was more of a deleted scenes section. // 7

Production Quality: For the most part this was a straight documentary with some bonus features. You can really tell that they wanted this to be something the fans would like because the documentary is very well done. There really aren't any fancy tricks or special effects. It's really just a straight up documentary/music video/live disc. // 8

Overall Impression: This is their first DVD and I'm sure with all the negative feedback about not having enough live footage I'm sure their next one will be better. The most impressive thing about this DVD was it basically showed what it takes to make it in the music business. If you want it to be your life then you have to put your life on hold and get out there and get noticed. It's something I'd like to get into someday but I don't know if I have the patience/determination/motivation to go through all they've done. My favorite thing on the DVD is obviously the 4 live performances, but I hate that there are only 4 songs and the main emphasis on this disc is the documentary when I really would have rather had a concert dvd. This disc really isn't too terrible but it takes a while to get over the initial shock that it's not a concert DVD. If it were lost or stolen I probably wouldn't mind too much because one, all the concert footage is on youtube and two, the documentary isn't really something you need to see repeatedly. Bottom line, this disc isn't that bad, but when you realize that it's not a concert DVD then you'll be pissed. // 5

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
All Excess Reviewed by: shabutie86, on january 25, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound was very good in the DVD. There were always clear and good production valued concert footage, however usually throughout the DVD when there was concert footage they would generally play the actual track over the video, much like the music video for "Unholy Confessions". Most generally people would call Avenged Sevenfold "metalcore" or as more conservative metal heads would sneer "nu-metal". Either way Avenged Sevenfold is a nice callback to the earlier days of metal when it was about rocking. Period. // 9

Content: The content of the DVD, being what the DVD actually is, which is more of a behind the scenes of Avenged Sevenfold, then actually AX7 concert, is very good. The main chunk of the DVD is a camera crew following around Ax7 while they tour and discuss their past present and the future of their releases. The time frame is sometime, perhaps a year after City of Evil was released and gave Ax7 the mainstream light that they wholly deserve. They show how they each got their names, go back to places where they went to high school. Old romping places and bars. Shows a little of behind the scenes in Green rooms and all the trouble the boys get into. As for extras there is not infact a WHOLE lot of extras but there is a few tidbits to chew on for hardcore fans. There are Music Videos of their current and former releases as well as commentaries the boys from the band give during the music videos, and one in which the director gives a commentary as well. There is also a "Making the Video" for "Seize the Day" which follows a store robbery, jail time and a pregnant woman getting hit in a car by a truck, all very cool stuff. A slolid 8 for content! // 8

Production Quality: The production quality for the DVD was top notch, no point at any time during the DVD did I ever think that I was watching anything short of a high budget MTV style behind the music show. It was just about 2 hours long which is the only thing that gave it away. One thing they do is imitate a bit of Hunter S. Thompson influence, which comes heavily from their hit son "Bat Country" a tribute to the book and movie "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas" as well as Hunter Thompson and the art styles his personal artist Ralph Steadman incorporates in all of the artwork. This would include the splattered ink, disfigured people, druggie looking effects. As far as the production goes, this one would have to get a 9, as the menu was impressive and constantly active. // 9

Overall Impression: As far as I've seen from some artists and the DVD's that they have put out, this one has defiantly have to be one of the more top notch DVD's one could tell it wasn't just put out to appease fans between Cd's however conveniently enough it serves that purpose. But it chronicles Ax7's struggle from being a no-name band from Huntington Beach to super stars with legions of loyal fans, music videos, rock n' roll songs and the lifestyle. Throughout the DVD many members of the band appear to be, or are under the influence of alcohol. Best part of the DVD for me was Synaster Gates crawling across a table full of guiness beers full to the brim, knocking them over just to give the man sitting across a shot. Brilliant! A must buy for a serious fan! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.8
All Excess Reviewed by: dan4ftball14, on february 09, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Well first off this DVD isn't one for a tour or live concerts or anything, but rather a behind the scenes story of Avenged Sevenfold. It does include, however, a collection of shots from different shows while performing 'Bat Country.' The music you hear is a live version of bat country, you just don't know which show was the one they recorded it from. // 7

Content: This DVD is basically a full history of Avenged Sevenfold with a bunch of other random facts thrown in there. Did you know The Rev lived in a laundry mat for 6 months? I bet you don't care, but if you do, then by god you should buy it. If you are a real Avenged Sevenfold fan, you will probably enjoy it, but if not you would think it was a waste of time. If your thinking about buying it, remember that it's more of a one or two time see kind of thing. Once you have seen it, you will already know every little thing you could possibly know about Avenged Sevenfold already. It's more of collectors item after that. // 8

Production Quality: Most of the DVD was actually shot with hand held camera's, so the quality isn't necessarily the best. Although a lot of it was shot with hand held cameras, I think it was better that way. It would have felt like you were watching the History Channel if it was all interviews and past shows. I do applaud how they can take these shots, combine them with some old pictures and cell phone videos of past concerts, and some good quality interviews and turn it into quite a decent production. // 7

Overall Impression: Overall it was a pretty good video. It really makes you feel more connected with the members of Avenged Sevenfold by knowing there struggles and such. There's nothing I really hated about this DVD, but if your not a real Avenged Sevenfold fan, but might not like it. It's not like just a bunch of shows and there songs, but more of an informational DVD. Just on a subject you might pay attention to. If it was stolen I probably wouldn't buy it again, though. It's more of a one time see movie, and after watching it serves as more of a collectors item. If your really into collecting Avenged Sevenfold merchandise, though, I would totally advise you buying this DVD once more. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
All Excess Reviewed by: Avenged_Matt, on november 13, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Well, If my profile hasn't given it away, I'm in love with everything about Avenged Sevenfold. This isn't going to be a very long review because, Well, I'm not gonna lie, I'm just doing this so that I can see all the tabs that need approval. The sound of the DVD is absolutely immense. It shows that Avenged Sevenfold really are proffesional musicians and that they are indeed all unique at the instrument that they play. A story that is attatched to the DVD is the story of how Avenged Sevenfold started. Like, they started in high school, and each member went through various different bands before they all came together to form A7X.. I'm not gonna give anything away for people that want to see it though. City Of Evil is a really intruiging record it'self because there is just an absolutely variety of sounds heard in each different song. Some have violins, mixed in with the crash cymbols from the Rev, giving some songs a real dramatic, operatic effect, an example of this in the bridge of 'The wicked end'.. Right before 'As the prophets shedded light' The fact that Shadows can really get messages across with out having to scream the lyrics shows just how talented song writers they all are. They still keepp they're old style of rock in there too, with songs like 'Beast and the harlot', 'Bat country'.. And a kick ass song called 'Sidewinder'.. But the softer songs like 'Sieze the day' show their more affectionate side. One song definately worth listening to is 'Betrayed'.. This is a song devoted to Pantera's late lead guitarist 'Dimebad Darell' R.I.P.. The lyrics in this are absolutely immense and if I wern't such an insensetive p***k, I'd cry. This guy was their role model and they grew up listening to him, he meant a lot to them and I'm guessing the only way that they could express how they felt was through song, Well it certainely shows. // 10

Content: The DVD it'self is all about the Life of Avenged Sevenfold, what goes on behind the music. What happened before the music. Who looked out for them, and who helped them make it to fame. It isn't a live concert (See Live at the LBC) or a 'best of' compiltaion, but extras include certain songs from the Album 'City of Evil'. I was extremely satisfied when I bought the DVD and watched it, Knowing that I had definteky gotten my moneys worth. // 10

Production Quality: To be honest, the production quality really was just like any other Music DVD you would see, there was nothing special about it, but it certainly didn't look ameteur.. But then again, I don't really see why production quality should have an effect on your judgement of the band, it's out of their hands. // 8

Overall Impression: The most impressive thing about this DVD really, Is that you realise just how much they have all been through together, and this DVD emphasizes just how much are still al best buds. I love the fact that it tells you everything about A7X.. because I'm one of those fans who just can't seem to get enough of his favourite band and isn't satisfied until he knows everything. I don't hate anything about the DVD really. I dislike the fact that it didn; t show you a full live performance. But it does show you glimpes of performances. If the DVD was to be lost or stolen, I'd most likely hunt the guy down who stole it and tear them to pieces, because everyones knows how much I love that DVD, and A7X.. I'd buy another indefinately, because they're my favourite band and it's impossible to get bored of them. I would reccomend this even if your not a fan of A7X, it tells you a lot about them as people, Them as musicians, How they are constantly developing. it also tells you a lot about the music industry it'self. Other reccomendations: Waking The fallen (Album) Self-titled (Album) Diamonds in the rough (Album with bonus side) Live at the LBC (DVD number 2) // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Avenged Sevenfold reviews rating latest review
+ Live In The LBC 8.9 02/26/2010
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect