The Last Supper Review

artist: black sabbath date: 07/04/2011 category: dvd
black sabbath: The Last Supper
Released: January 11, 2000
The Last Supper is the first-ever live DVD from legendary metal superstars Black Sabbath, which includes all of Sabbath's biggest hits performed live. The Last Supper features all of the original members of Black Sabbath on their sold-out 1999 Reunion tour, and includes behind-the-scenes interviews and tour photos.
 Sound: 9.5
 Content: 7.8
 Production Quality: 8.5
 Overall Impression: 8.8
 Overall rating:
 8.8 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.7 
 Users rating:
 8.9 
 Votes:
 8 
reviews (4) 2 comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 8
The Last Supper Reviewed by: don spurway, on june 15, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: The album was recorded in the '90s, quite some time after they disbanded. The original line-up get together for classic Sabbath. Each member sounds good as ever, it's amazing to think that Ozzy is so messed up from drugs, he still puts on a good show. // 10

Content: The set list is fantastic, but stupidly, they put interviews halfway between songs, for example the solo in 'Ironman' is interupted by a rediculous interview with Geezer Butler. Totally ruins a good experience. There is a cool documentary as one of the special features. // 6

Production Quality: Filming throughout is very good, cold have perhaps had more extra features, otherwise quite good. Also contains footage of Ozzy and Tony Iommi rehearsing 'Paranoid.' // 8

Overall Impression: As I said earlier, the rediculous interviews in the middle of songs take alot away from the experience, but still, the set lists is awesome and the guys play with as much power and tightness as always. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
The Last Supper Reviewed by: ilovemyepi, on march 14, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Although they are old and have dealed with many drug addictions during their lives, Black Sabbath sounds as good as ever on this album. Ozzy, surprisingly, can still sing very well, and Iommi and Geezer sure can play. // 9

Content: The DVD doesn't really have any special features, but it does have little interviews in between (and sometimes in the middle of) songs. I do not really like it when they have interviews right in the middle of songs, as it kind-of ruins the experience of watching the song. The interviews are great, however. This live concert DVD has all of the old Sabbath favorites, ones that fans old and new will know and remember. // 8

Production Quality: It was actually produced very well. Especially during the concerts, the camera seemed to fit the songs perfectly. What kind of gets me a little mad, however, is that during the interviews it is hard to hear what Ozzy is saying. I think they should have put in subtitles for help, although most of it was understandable. // 8

Overall Impression: This DVD is probably one of the best live ones out there today. It's from a great band with great members. The most impressive thing on this DVD is probably seeing Sabbath out there playing and rocking hard even at their old age. We salute you, Black Sabbath! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
The Last Supper Reviewed by: Johnny Blade, on june 22, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The bands sound awsome! This is by far the best I have ever seen Sabbath live on stage. Ozzy's vocals sound amazing and better than ever, Geezer's bass sounds fantastic on the Basically track before N.I.B. Bill Ward looks like he is having a ball up there behind the drum kit. What can I say about Tony's guitar it is absolutely legendary. He improvises the solo to Black Sabbath with a wah and sounds great. Everything is played the old ways, detuning the guitar and bass. I noticed that Electric Funeral, Iron Man and War Pigs were played with a C# tuning when they were originally recorded using a D tuning. N.I.B, Black Sabbath, Fairies Wear Boots and Paranoid were played with a D tuning. Either way it still sounds good. // 9

Content: This is a compilation of the best Sabbath songs of all time. It is a live concert. I think that songs like Tomorrow's Dream and Thrill Of It All could have replaced songs like After Forever. On annoying thing though is that halfway through songs there are interviews with the band members. This is very annoying seen as though most of them are done when Tony is just about to go into a blistering solo. They are very interesting interviews but I think they should have been saved for a special features or something. There is a very cool short documentary included in the special features. // 9

Production Quality: The picture and sound quality is great. I just don't like the idea of the interviews in the middle of songs. // 8

Overall Impression: I think that this would have to be one of the best live Sabbath concerts ever recorded, although I havn't seen the Never Say Die concert from 1978 yet. The most impressive thing for me on this DVD is probably solo Tony plays during the Black Sabbath song. If it were lost or stolen I would buy it again. I would reccomend this to any Sabbath fan, although if you are truly a Sabbath fan you have probably already got it or went and seen the concert. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
The Last Supper Reviewed by: PerryJett92, on july 04, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: This DVD is a great documentation of the sabbath comeback tour in 1999. They sound as heavy as ever as if the 25 or so years since Ozzy's departure had never happened. The band is a well oiled concert machine. // 10

Content: "The Last Supper" is a live concert DVD featuring 13 songs spanning the bands career while the four original members were together. The set list of as follows: "War Pigs", "N.I.B.", "Electric Funeral", "Fairies Wear Boots", "Into The Void", "Sweet Leaf", "Snowblind", "After Forever", "Dirty Women", "Black Sabbath", "Iron Man", "Children Of The Grave", "Paranoid". The footage is gorgeous! Also, small interviews with members if the band are woven into many of the songs. They are interesting, but honestly take a little away from the cinder footage since they cover up some intros, stage banter, and even Tony Iommi's guitar solos on occasion. // 8

Production Quality: The sound is amazing. Wouldn't change a thing here. No flashy overdone effects, just live rock 'n' roll. // 10

Overall Impression: It is among the better live dvds I have owned. Definitely worth the money. If stolen, I would buy it again. My favorite part of this DVD is the song selection and the footage itself. Sabbath is really at the top of their game here. My least favorite thing would have to be the fact that the band interviews completely interrupt the concert. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Black Sabbath reviews rating latest review
+ Live... Gathered In Their Masses 8.4 12/10/2013
+ Tony Iommi - Inside Black Sabbath 8.7 06/22/2006
+ Never Say Die 8.4 03/30/2006
+ The Black Sabbath Story, Vol. 1 9.4 03/29/2006
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect