Live At Budokan Review

artist: dream theater date: 11/20/2007 category: dvd
dream theater: Live At Budokan
Released: October 5, 2004
Disc One is the complete live concert. Disc Two is packed with special features, including a Japanese tour documentary, guitar/keyboard/drum solos.
 Sound: 9.8
 Content: 10
 Production Quality: 9.8
 Overall Impression: 9.8
 Overall rating:
 9.5 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.9 
 Users rating:
 9.1 
 Votes:
 80 
reviews (5) 10 comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 10
Live At Budokan Reviewed by: danielreid, on october 11, 2004
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Sound: Dream Theater are a very talented group of musicians making their own style of music by forging together rock, prog rock, metal and about a million other genres into one very distinct sound. Dream Theater are true musicians and sound as flawless on stage as in their studio albums, this DVD is no exception. // 10

Content: This 2 DVD set comes with one disk with the full live concert with lyric subtitles and the other is a collection of special features including documetarys and a multi angle version of a medly played in the concert on Disk 1. The set list of the concert is a fair pick from their previous albums and of course a fair few from their latest release: 01. As I Am 02. This Dying Soul 03. Beyond This Life 04. Hollow Years 05. War Inside My Head 06. The Test That Stumped Them All 07. Endless Sacrifice 08. Instrumedley 09. Trail Of Tears 10. New Millenium 11. Keyboard Solo 12. Only A Matter Of Time 13. Goodnight Kiss 14. Solitary Shell 15. Stream Of Consciosness 16. Disappear 17. Pull Me Under 18. In The Name Of God // 10

Production Quality: The production of this show is great. The picture quiality is great and the lighting used in the show was great. The best part about the production was that the camera mainly focused on the instrument being played at that time, so we can be blown away with John and Jordan's solos! The whole gig seemed a lot more real as we got views of the crowd and the stage from far away, and also there were no split screens/visual effects infront of the band to distract you. // 10

Overall Impression: This DVD is much better than their last release in the way it makes you feel like part of the crowd, and less of a distant viewer at home. The selection of songs may have been a little better with a couple more tracks from earlier albums and Scenes From A Memory, but was still a really good choice. If this dvd were lost/stolen I would have to go out and get it again ASAP! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Live At Budokan Reviewed by: BaXTeR403, on february 03, 2006
3 of 6 people found this review helpful

Sound: I have been a Dream Theater fan for about a year now. When I first got into them I was like "Woah! These guys are pretty good." Of course I had only listened to A Change Of Seasons. I thought it was cool because it was over twenty minutes long, and I heard the version where John Petrucci plays the Simpsons theme song. Anyways after listening to A Change of Seasons for about a month I went out and bought Live At Budokan. I was absolutely blown away. If you are just now getting into Dream Theater this is a great DVD. // 10

Content: It is a live concert featuring great songs like As I am, Pull Me Under, Solitary Shell, Instrumedly, Endless Sacrafice, etc. I could not recommend a better DVD than this. // 10

Production Quality: The production quality is absolutely perfect. There doesn't seem to be any flaws. It's a great buy. // 10

Overall Impression: This DVD totally rofl pwns any other live concery DVD. The most imprssive thing on the DVD is probably everything. They make the music fuse together so well its unbelievable. I loved all the solo's from Portnoy, Petrucci, Myung, and Rudess. I kinda hated the way Lebris' voice sounded without the help of a studio but it was still alright. If mine were stolen or lost I would buy it again in a heartbeat. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Live At Budokan Reviewed by: «ÃFireÏnside», on january 03, 2006
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: So, this DVD is Dream Theater, live at Budokan. This DVD is a show during their tour following the release of 2003's Train of Thought studio album. 5 of the 7 songs off Train of Thought are on this album, as well as 13 other tracks. Much of the material produced by the band pre-1997 is not played here with the exception of their 1991 hit Pull Me Under, which is why some fans alienate this DVD. However, the sound quality on this DVD is simply amazing. There are some small tiny parts that you have to strain to hear a bit, but for the most part I was impressed with the sound production. All instruments and the fans are heard quite clearly througout. // 9

Content: As mentioned before, 18 songs played, 5 of 7 from Train of Thought. Beyond This Life off of Scenes From A Memory is a highlight here, as the band makes it into a 20 minute show of instrumetal prowess, Petrucci shines here. Other vivid stand-out tracks for me included Hollow Years, Stream And Conciousness, and In the Name Of God. Disc 2 has much bonus material, a lot I found quite interesting. There is a Japanese Tour Documentary, a Tour Opening video, a bonus angle views for the Instrumedley track found on disc, etc. To the delight of guitarists, John Petrucci goes through his set-up for the show and shows you how he gets all his presets and everything together for the show. Similarly, Jordan Rudess takes you on a trip through his unique rotating keyboard setup, and also Mike Portney shows off in drum solo. All quality material. // 10

Production Quality: This part of the DVD really excelled. Multiple camera angles showed many different shots of the band, much to my liking. Instead of using a lot of faraway shots, or focusing on the audience too much, a lot of the time the camera is focused on the band, and during an instrumental passage would focus on the masters at work, so you could really get a good view of Petrucci going to work, or Rudess's fingers flying over his keyboard. Really amazing job on this part. // 10

Overall Impression: This is the only Dream Theater DVD I own, so though not much to compare to in terms of the band, compared to other artist's DVD's I think this one was quite good. The fact that it had a lot of bonus material really appealed to me, as being a guitarist I found it really interesting to see Petrucci's set-up. All the songs are heard clearly, production/sound/lighting was fabulous, I can't say more about it. If it were lost, I'm extremely sure I would buy it again, as well get the Scenes From A Memory DVD. Small little things I didn't really like keep this from being a 10, and the fact that a lot of early DT material I wouldn't liked to see wasn't on here keep this from being a 10, but it is definately recommended to all DT fans. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Live At Budokan Reviewed by: JVDumarC, on april 18, 2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Man this DVD is really awesome, the sound it's great, it's perfect for Dream Theater's fans, the life performance sounds perfect there's no artist mistakes at all, it sounds as recorded, all the instruments are at the perfect volume, you can hear each of them clearly. Overall it's an excelent masterized product in sound. 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound System. // 10

Content: Well it's a 2 discs DVD, live performance show at the Budokan Colosseum, Japan. Features a tour documentary; guitar, keyboard and drum solos; the 2004 tour opening video, and a multiangle bonus for "Instrumedley," so it's great you have the option to focus a camera just for John Petrucci and you'll be amaze of his performance or John Myung, Mike Portnoy, Jordan Rudess. John plays with his Ernie Balls Signature guitars and with a 2 neck guitar (6 strings, 12 strings), Mike plays with his mountruos drums, John plays with several kind of basses and one its a 12 string bass, and Jordan plays with a custom keyboard. Live song list (disc one): 01. As I Am 02. This Dying Soul 03. Beyond This Life 04. Hollow Years 05. War Inside My Head 06. The Test That Stumped Them All 07. Endless Sacrifice 08. Instrumedley 09. Trial Of Tears 10. New Millenium 11. Keyboard Solo 12. Only A Matter Of Time 13. Goodnight Kiss 14. Solitary Shell 15. Stream Of Consciusness 16. Disappear 17. Pull Me Under 18. In The Name Of God Disc two (bonus material): 01. Riding the train of thought japanese tour documentary 02. John Petrucci guitar world 03. Jordan Rudess keyboard world 04. Mike Portnoy drum solo 05. The Dream Theater chronicles 2004 tour opening video 06. "Instrumedley" multiangle bonus So what else can you ask for? I'm extremely satisfied. // 10

Production Quality: High quality masterized DVD, the image quality it's great it's like if you where actually watching it at the moment. They really knew how to manage the angles and camera positions as well the editing process. Really great. // 10

Overall Impression: Well overall it's an awesome DVD I really love it, Dream Theater it's an excelent band with great musicians and they really know how to perform live. Impressive stuff for me it's John Petrucci's technique and accuracy. If it get stolen I'll be raging, try to have it again, or stole one cuz I live in Panama that DVD here it's not original I think I'm one of the few persons that owns one original copy at my country, so it's special. Every dollar it's worth for the DVD. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Live At Budokan Reviewed by: petrucci_owns86, on november 20, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is a great DVD, their best one in my opinion. It was recorded at Budokan in Japan. This concert was filmed shortly after the release of their album Train of Thought. Dream Theater plays progressive metal, with often times multiple keyboard and guitar solos per song. The only thing their other DVDs beat this one at is the quality of James LaBrie's voice. His voice on Live at Budokan sounds awfully ragged on a couple of the songs. But the instrumentalism makes up for that. // 10

Content: The first disc contains the entire two and a half hour show at Budokan. The second disc has the special features, such as a tour documentary and a drum solo by Mike Portnoy. Setlist: 01. As I Am - great way to start the show. Totally ass-kicking riff to kick things off in the right direction. Contains a face-melter of a solo. 02. This Dying Soul - awesome heavy song. John Petrucci wields his seven-string on this 11 minute 44 second song. Crazy guitar/keyboard unisons. 03. Beyond This Life - probably my favorite song of the concert, even though all the songs are great. It is extended to over 19 minutes from the original 11 and a half minute length. Insane eight-minute improvisation interlude. You have to see it to get the full effect of what the hell those guys are actually doing. This song just reinforces the fact that they are some of the best musicians in the world. 04. Hollow Years - one word: amazing. The original album version was ok, but it wasn't a standout. But on this live version, John Petrucci adds a clean solo at the beginning and a distorted solo in the middle to make this song incredible. The middle solo that lasts almost two minutes is practically tear-jerking. You can see (and hear) that JP really loves playing his guitar. 05. War Inside My Head - cool little song, pretty heavy. Lasts less than two and a half minutes. 06. The Test That Stumped Them All - another heavy song. Great guitar solo here. 07. Endless Sacrifice - switches from mellow to heavy almost effortlessly. Another great soloing section. 08. Instrumedley - combines elements of some of the most memorable instrumental sections DT has ever written. Includes exerpts from songs like "Overture 1928", "Hell's Kitchen", and "A Change of Seasons". Also includes sections from "Paradigm Shift" and "Universal Mind" by the Liquid Tension Experiment, a side project featuring members of DT. A multiangle bonus version of this song is included on the second disc. 09. Trial Of Tears - fairly mellow song, from the album Falling Into Infinity. Great solos by John Petrucci and Jordan Rudess. 10. New Millenium - cool song from Falling Into Infinity. This song is unique because John Myung gets out his Chapman Stick for it, and John Petrucci uses his silver seven-string again. Eight minutes and two seconds long. 11. Keyboard Solo - astonishing. That's it. Period. 12. Only A Matter Of Time - very cool song from DT's very first album, When Dream and Day Unite. However, this is the worst James LaBrie sounds in the entire concert. 13. Goodnight Kiss - pretty mellow song from Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence. John Petrucci does another jaw-dropping solo on this track. 14. Solitary Shell - very nice song, the opening keyboard line reminds me of the band Yes. Cool clean guitar solo that switches over to a distorted lead riff after the piano solo. 15. Stream Of Consciousness - this song really shows off the instrumentalist's skills. Several fret-burning guitar solos here. 16. Disappear - kind of a boring song. No real solos from any instruments on this one. It picks up midway through, though. 17. Pull Me Under - DT's first real hit, great rendition of it. James LaBrie's voice does go a little haywire at times, though. 18. In The Name Of God - unbelievable way to end the show. Totally incredible solos and unisons from John Petrucci and Jordan Rudess. There is also an intense improvised guitar solo at the end from JP, not found on the original album. In all, DT played five of the seven tracks from their album Train of Thought. They played three of the eleven tracks from Falling Into Infinity, one of the eight from Images and Words, one of the twelve from Scenes From a Memory, and one of the eight from When Dream and Day Unite. They played one full track from Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence, and played four of the eight parts of the song Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence. The bonus features are: riding the Train of Thought: Japanese Tour, documentary; John Petrucci guitar world: a walk-through and explanation of his guitar rig; Jordan Rudess keyboard world: a walk-through and explanation of his keyboard set-up; Mike Portnoy drum solo: an unbelievable drum solo from Portnoy. He gets a few fans to help him out. Watch it to see what I mean; the Dream Theater chronicles: 2004 Tour opening video; instrumedley multiangle bonus. // 10

Production Quality: The production quality is pretty good, but Score is a little better. The camera wobbles a couple of times during the show, but that's not too much of a problem. The thing that DOES bug me is that the camera angles change too quickly. But overall they did a good job producing this DVD. // 9

Overall Impression: Overall, this DVD edges out Score just slightly. Score may have my favorite song (Octavarium), but Live at Budokan contains six more songs than Score. The high points of this DVD are "Beyond This Life", "Holloe Years", and "In the Name of God". James LaBrie is more on his game in Score than in this DVD, but that doesn't really bug me. I have both Score and Live at Budokan, so it doesn't really matter! If it were lost or stolen, I would most likely get it again when it's in stock. I got the last one! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Dream Theater reviews rating latest review
+ Breaking The Fourth Wall 7 10/13/2014
+ Panem Et Circenses: Live In Rome, Italy 7 08/16/2012
+ Chaos In Motion 2007-2008 8.6 04/01/2010
+ Score 9.4 06/23/2008
+ 5 Years In A Livetime 9.1 12/06/2007
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect