Live At Wembley Stadium Review

artist: foo fighters date: 07/17/2009 category: dvd
foo fighters: Live At Wembley Stadium
Release Date: August 25, 2008
The Foo Fighters: Live at Wembley is a testament to how far this band has come. Dave Grohl shows his emotional side through out, though he never forgets his own unique sense of humor (and cursing of course).
 Sound: 10
 Content: 10
 Production Quality: 9.5
 Overall Impression: 10
 Overall rating:
 9.9 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.9 
 Users rating:
 9.8 
 Votes:
 17 
reviews (2) 2 comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 9.8
Live At Wembley Stadium Reviewed by: TheDissident, on july 15, 2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: The Foo Fighters have always been a band to fall under the better-heard-live category. Though their albums are usually of good quality, this is one band that can truly be experienced best in a live setting. Live at Wembley delivers the raw power and emotion of the Foo Fighters in a raw and real setting, with an up close and personal feel one wouldn't expect to find at, as Dave Grohl eloquently puts it, the biggest f***ing show they've ever played. The band rips through five opening songs, including powerful versions of The Pretender, Learn to Fly, and No Way Back. The band slows down just a bit after Learn to Fly ends, allowing Grohl a chance to address the eighty five thousand screaming fans. The filming is masterfully done, with shots of the band, sweeping views of the crowd, and beautifully done close ups of the band. In this short interlude, Grohl promises the crowd that they'll see something the band has never done before. He then dives into Long Road to Ruin, pounding furiously with the band until reaching a stretch of acoustic songs (Skin and Bones, My Hero). The Foo Fighters really connect with the crowd during this part of the setlist, turning down the volume and enjoying the "85,000 back up singers" as Grohl says. Everlong is played on a huge walkway that extends out into the crowd, and Dave gets emotional as he talks about how great his experience in the band has been. These addresses to the crowd are few and far between, but when Dave speaks, the f word is thrown around enough to earn the DVD a Parental Advisory. Following this address, Jimmy Page and John Paul Jones are brought out, and Dave sits behind the drums on a rocking rendition of Rock and Roll. They continue with Ramble On, and the concert finally finished with Best of You, the entire crowd singing along. // 10

Content: This really is the Foo Fighter's at their best, live and loud before thousands of screaming fans. Sticking to that up close and personal feel, the DVD contains only the necessities. A song selection makes finding your favorite numbers easy, and an audio options selection makes the experience excellent, whether you're watching on a huge HD TV with blu ray and digital surround sound, or just enjoying it on your computer. // 10

Production Quality: The quality of the filming is excellent. In no way was it over produced, but the small things (lighting, panning shots, close ups) are done perfectly. The stage and setup of the lighting rigs are excellent, adding an extra layer of sensory pleasure to the DVD. Panning shots over the crowd quickly change to a close up of Grohl's fingers as he shreds in a mini guitar duel with Chris Shiflett. This insures that the viewer can really get into the performance, and the DVD does it's best to give one the illusion of actually experiencing the concert first hand. // 9

Overall Impression: The Foo Fighters: Live at Wembley is a testament to how far this band has come. Dave Grohl shows his emotional side through out, though he never forgets his own unique sense of humor (and cursing of course). The DVD is well worth the money, and for some, might even substitute for the more expensive option of buying a ticket to a live Foo's show. Most impressive is the band's flat out power. No matter what song you select when you first crack open the DVD, you should instantly feel the energy coursing through each song. The DVD is a great buy, and one you certainly shouldn't pass up. If it was stolen from me, I definitely would not buy it again: I'd have to get it in Blu-Ray instead. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Live At Wembley Stadium Reviewed by: carmen barlow, on july 17, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: First of all, I must say that I have been a huge fan and supporter of the Foo Fighters and their music, and was really looking forward to watching this DVD, as I didn't make it to the concert. For anyone that plays music, or for anyone at all, Foo fighters are likely to have inspired people with their music and style, as they have done so with me. From watching the DVD it dawns on you how far the Foos have actually come since 1995, and how far excelled in their careers as musicians. // 10

Content: The DVD comes with only the live concert and no 'extra features', but I guess there are loads of extra features and 'backstage footage' dotted around the internet and other DVD's. As well as playing the new stuff off the Echoes, silence, patience and grace album, they bolted out older favouraites such as Stacked Actors, Learn to fly and Everlong. However, one of the main factors in this live event was when Dave introduced John Paul Jones and Jimi Paige of Led Zepplin onto the stage in order to perform a couple of songs with them. The crowd were extatic, and Grohl himself even seemed overwhelmed. This absolutley added one of many climaxes to the event. // 10

Production Quality: One of the first things about this DVD I noticed was the quality of the filming by cameras and the pictures, and this itself makes it feel like you are actually there. (for people that were there, this will enable you to recall all of those treasured memories). The sound is also amazing, so as you crank up the volume, and as the Foo Fighters are great live, it sounds immense. // 10

Overall Impression: Overall, this is honestly one of the best live concerts I have ever seen, and I really recommend it. The energy and atmosphere created is just so hard to compare to any other as it is just so great. The thing I love about it, is just how the Foos come on stage, do their thing and leave everyone in such a high. Downsides? I really cannot think of any. For you Foo Fans that have not yet seen this epic concert I recommend you go to the shops now and buy it, get home, slap it on a TV, whack the volume to full blast and party hard! It's one thing you NEED to do in your life. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Foo Fighters reviews rating latest review
+ Back And Forth 9.3 05/25/2011
+ Hyde Park 8.4 01/14/2008
+ Skin And Bones 9.5 12/08/2006
+ Everywhere But Home 9 03/31/2006
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect