Use Your Illusion I (World Tour 1992 In Tokyo) Review

artist: guns n roses date: 01/20/2007 category: dvd
guns n roses: Use Your Illusion I (World Tour 1992 In Tokyo)
Released: October 28, 2003
DVD is excellent no need for bonus features go get it!
 Sound: 10
 Content: 9
 Production Quality: 8.7
 Overall Impression: 9
 Overall rating:
 9.2 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.2 
 Users rating:
 9.2 
 Votes:
 24 
reviews (3) 9 comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 8.5
Use Your Illusion I (World Tour 1992 In Tokyo) Reviewed by: unregistered, on february 05, 2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: With all the instrument's almost perfect set up the sound was incredulous. I only have one criticism - I wish they had turned Duff's volume control up a bit! Apart from that the sound seemed as I say perfect. Axel's singing was spot on and Slash's solo's literaly took the breath away! // 10

Content: The band started off with a bang their first few songs. They kicked off with Nighttrain - all in all this song got 5/5 as they didn't miss a note and they played it just as well (if not better) as on the record. It was followed by Mr. Brownstone which was played just as well. Then they played Macartney's Live and Let Die which was played so brilliantly and full of vigor that the tune is still ringing in my head! So easy similarily was played to GN'R's full standars. The next tune Bad Obsession wasn't played quite as well as the previous 4 but still I would give it a 4/5. Then Duff takes the mike and then G n' R play 'Attitude' which (having never heard them play it before) was spectacular (5/5). Pretty tied up was ok but not that great (3/5) But Welcome to the Jungle was played brilliantly (5/5). However this is followed by 2 not so well played songs - 'Don't Cry' and 'double talking jive' which weren't so good (3/5). In civil war Axel goes through a quite ridiculus number of clothing changes but none the less it was played well (5/5). Wild Horses and Patience were ok. but nothing spectacullar (3/5). The final song 'November Rain' despite my hopes wasn't played that well - it seemed more of a classical piece than something from the Roses and is played a lot better than on the record but still Axel's piano playing was good (4/5). Unfortunatly the DVD is interjected with clips from interview's with band members - I don't no why they didn't just put them in a Special Features Section. // 8

Production Quality: The production is reasonably good qualities but doesn't really roam to see the audience's reaction much but none the less it is a good quality DVD. // 8

Overall Impression: I didn't think the DVD filming was that great (but then again I mostly only watch my AC/DC DVD which has a heli camara) but the sound was spot on. I also was a bit dissapointed at the consistency at which they played well. It seemed that they had played all their best songs at the begining of the evening or maybe they good a bit tired I don't know. But none the less it's a good DVD. And if you are a fan of Slash, Guns N' Roses or even Velvet Revolver I would advise you to buy this DVD. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Use Your Illusion I (World Tour 1992 In Tokyo) Reviewed by: unregistered, on july 06, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: The band really pulled out all the stops for this concert. The whole band were on form and the sound was excellent from Axl on piano to Slash kneeing his guitar. Their first few songs they just got the Japs In A Frenzy with some high frequency s--t. // 10

Content: The DVD is subject to their live concert in Tokyo in 1992 when the guys were a fair bit younger. It is full of little extra songs which are fantastic and full of some hard rocking. They blasted out the songs in this order: 01. Nightrain 02. Mr. Brownstone 03. Live And Let Die 04. It's So Easy 05. Bad Obsession 06. Attitude 07. Pretty Tied Up 08. Welcome To The Jungle 09. Dont't Cry 10. Double Talkin' Jive 11. Civil War 12. Wild Horses (with new boy Gilby Clarke) 13. Patience 14. November Rain The content of this DVD is second to none. I feel you wont find a better GN'R DVD. // 10

Production Quality: Basic really! No fancey stuff. Just the basics, all you need. Always focused on the action happening on the stage, and Slash's fingers (though we can hardly see them move they are going so fast). // 10

Overall Impression: Although many say that the band were in their prime during Apitite For Distruction I feel the band put on a show of very hight standards. I love every thing about the DVD from the extra songs and guitars to the excellent stage presence. If my DVDs were stolen I would first buy some new ones, and then find the bastard that stole them and rip his arms off and beat him to death with them. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Use Your Illusion I (World Tour 1992 In Tokyo) Reviewed by: AdamDK, on january 20, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound crew done an awesome job at this gig, because the sound is great. Perfectly set up for the musical needs of Guns N' Roses. As for the DVD, the sound quality is awesome. Axl voice is outstanding on this performance, and the rhythm section of the band was great. With the addition of Slash's solo's and lead work, everybody attending was in for a show they'd never forget. // 10

Content: The setlist on this DVD is great. People who own it are always in for a good time when they watch this. The setlist was as follows: 01. Nightrain - amazing. For me, this was one of the best performances of this song that the band has played. Note-for-note perfect. Axl voice was great, and the solo's by Gilby and Slash were awesome. 02. Mr. Brownstone - a great performance of this song. I didn't like the start of the intro, when Slash was playing some stuff on a expression pedal (pretty sure it wasn't wah). But, the rest of the song rocked. The solo's were spot on, and again Axl's voice was excellent. 03. Live And Let Die - the gunners' performaned an awesome rendition of this Paul Mcartney classic. Axl's voice was at his best for this song, and the rhythm section of this song was great. 04. It's So Easy - one of my favourite songs of this performance, Axl's voice was amazing! He really hit the notes well. The rhythm section of this song was fine, and Slash's solo's were outstanding! He was running all other the place, and leaping accross the stage while playing the solo's. This was definately one of Slash's best performances of this solo he has done. 05. Bad Obession - another good performance of this song. Axl's voice and Slash lead's were good, and the rhythm deal was perfect. Top notch performance. 06. Attitude - this song Duff McKagen sang, and he was great. His voice really matched this song well. Lead + rhythm were perfect. Awesome performance. 07. Pretty Tied Up - wasn't the best song of the night, but they all done well with it. 08. Welcome To The Jungle - an epic performance! This was definately one of the highlights of the night. Everything was perfect in this song, nothing to fault with this. 09. Don't Cry - some good stuff with this song, some nice melodic lead work from Slash, and his solo was fantastic. Rhythm wise, this song was great. Axl's voice was good too. 10. Double Talkin' Jive - I didn't like this performance too much. Axl's voice could have been much better, and the rhythm section wasn't as good as it previously has been. The lead work was pretty good though. 11. Civil War - I loved this song. They all played this really well. Axl's voice was top notch, and the solo's were great. Rhythm section was good too. 12. Wild Horses/Patience - both these songs weren't too my liking. The whole band didn't really play these as well as they could of. The highlight of these was Axl's voice in patience, it was very good. 13. November Rain - this song was great. Some awesome piano + vocal work from Axl is this song. The rhythm was fine with the flutes, etc, and Slash's solo's were great. His tone was a bit down in the outro, but it was pretty much excellent. The DVD includes some band interviews in between songs, which gave us a breath of air from the rocking the band was giving. // 9

Production Quality: Nothing too big here. There isn't any special booklets or anything inside. The cover print was good, and the back was okay. The back cover contained images of the band around the setlist, which was in the middle. But there wasn't nothing too fancy here. the background was black, which was kind of boring, but apart from that, it was fine. // 8

Overall Impression: Overall, this was an excellent DVD. For me, this was one of the gunners' best live performances, and although they were without Izzy and Steven, the band still pulled off the Appetite era' songs just fine. This is definately a must have for big gunners' fans. If I ever had this stolen, I'd be straight down to my music store to pick up another one. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Guns N Roses reviews rating latest review
+ Welcome To The Videos 8.5 06/05/2009
+ Appetite For Brazil 7.1 08/08/2008
+ Live At The Ritz 9.5 02/27/2008
+ Live Rarities 6.1 02/23/2008
+ Guns N' Roses Master Sessions 7.6 08/31/2005
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect