Welcome To The Videos Review

artist: guns n roses date: 06/05/2009 category: dvd
guns n roses: Welcome To The Videos
Release Date: 1998
There isn't much more to say about the sound of Welcome To The Videos other than it has what the people want, Guns N' Roses.
 Sound: 9.5
 Content: 8
 Production Quality: 9
 Overall Impression: 8
 Overall rating:
 8.5 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.7 
 Users rating:
 8.2 
 Votes:
 10 
reviews (4) 6 comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 7.5
Welcome To The Videos Reviewed by: belavista man, on april 25, 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: In this DVD, the sound is literally the same as it is on the GN'R CDs. There isn't really much to differ what is on this DVD to what you hear on 'Use You're Illusion 1 or 2'. There isn't much more to say about the sound of Welcome To The Videos other than it has what the people want, Guns N' Roses. // 9

Content: The DVD contains this track list: 01. Welcome To The Jungle 02. Sweet Child O' Mine 03. Paradise City 04. Patience 05. Don't Cry 06. Live And Let Die 07. November Rain 08. Yesterdays 09. The Garden 10. Dead Horse 11. Garden Of Eden 12. Estranged 13. Since I Don't Have You A dissappointing thing about this DVD is that there isn't a single special feature (other than track select). This DVD would have rated higher (in my oppinion) if there was a mini video documentary displaying the making of some of the videos or something along those lines. // 7

Production Quality: You can easilly tell that the production team who made this DVD havnt tried their best with this one. As soon as you open the case, you see the disc, with corny but bold writing on it and an awfully blurry, pixilised GN'R logo on it (there is also a small green box on the DVD, I havnt a clue as to what it says). The front cover is ever so slightly, well, dull, it makes the back with its track listings look interesting. The mood changes slightly as you play the DVD. The videos are great, from the comical 'Garden Of Eden' to the dramatic 'November Rain', there is bound to be a video on this DVD for everyone. // 7

Overall Impression: If you had a choice between buying 'Guns N' Roses' Greatest Hits' CD and this, I'de go for the CD. I'm not saying that this DVD is all bad, but it could have been better. If you want my oppinion, buy something you can listen to and not get bored of instead of buying a DVD you'll watch a couple of times and never watch again. This is really for die-hard GN'R fans, unless you are a die-hard GN'R fan, then, keep your money in your wallet. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
Welcome To The Videos Reviewed by: Robman2k9, on august 09, 2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Guns N' Roses are the ultimate Heavy Metal/Hard Rock band, from 4 minute rockers to 9 minute ballads, this DVD has everything you'd expect from them. Not much can be said about the DVD, it contains music videos and comes in a DVD box. That's about it. No special features or anything, but I'm not complaining, it's a brilliant DVD. // 10

Content: Welcome To The Videos is supposedly the definitive DVD for all of GNR's music videos, it isn't. The DVD does not include the video for the songs "You Could Me Mine" (from Terminator 2) or "Knocking On Heavens Door" (a clip from the Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert), because of legal reasons. Still, the rest are here from the well known "Welcome To The Jungle" to the high-budget "November Rain" and "Estranged." No special fetures are included, which is a dissapointment, but it's worth the money I paid for it. // 7

Production Quality: The videos remain suprisingly modern and fresh in DVD quality, and the audio is what you would expect from any modern music video. It has a DVD menu and a track selection like you'd expect, but nothing else special. The case has a tracklisting on the backand the video has the suprisingly long viewing time of 75 minutes. // 10

Overall Impression: The most impressive part of the DVD are the music videos for "Don't Cry", "Estranged", and "November Rain." They are the most high-budget, high quality videos you are ever likely to see. I hate the fact that there are no special features, or that it's missing two videos, but who really cares? If it were were stolen I'd buy it again the next time I had an urge to see one of the videos. This collection is now my 2nd favorite, close behind Queen Graetest Video Hits. Welcome To The Videos is a perfect addition to any GNR fans collection. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
Welcome To The Videos Reviewed by: GooGooFluffers, on june 05, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Guns N' Roses is about the only band that rose out of L.A. in the late 80s that wasn't a hair metal band, and one of the only bands of the era that's music is memorable. Welcome To The Videos is a collection of all the music videos that GN'R made through its career. It is interesting to watch the videos if only to see the progression of the band from just some guys with a band to the biggest band in the world. It is also interesting to see the lineup changes that start to happen during the early 90s (like Slash wearing a sign that says: "Where's Izzy?" on the "Don't Cry" video). // 9

Content: The DVD features 13 music videos of GN'R's biggest hits. The DVD features videos for: 01.Welcome To The Jungle: their debut hit that made them the biggest band in the world, the song/video is about Axl coming to L.A. 02.Sweet Child O' Mine: after WTTJ, people found this power ballad and discovered that GN'R had a soft side. 03.Paradise City: in this video you can see that GN'R is getting big, playing a huge stadium. 04.Patience: their second ballad, the video is a bit weird though. 05.Don't Cry: their third ballad, once again kind of a strange video, something about Axl wanting to kill his girlfriend. 06.Live And Let Die: mostly just a video of a live preformance. 07.November Rain: another ballad, now Axl's getting married. 08.Yesterdays: yes, another ballad, mostly just the guys sittin' around playing. 09.The Garden: this video is a bit wierd and features many strippers, and other things of the like. 10.Dead Horse: another live preformance video (Axl's wearing a kilt!). 11.Garden of Eden: probably the funniest video on the DVD, notice the random headbangers in the background. 12.Estranged: continuation of the story started in "Don't Cry", and continued in "November Rain". This time Axl's getting divorced...and swimming with dolphins. 13.Since I Don't Have You: Another ballad, video is about girls. The songs on the DVD are pretty good, and are the best ones GN'R has to offer. There are absolutly no extras at all, there is only the videos. // 8

Production Quality: The production quality is pretty good, but some of the videos are pretty cheesy. "Why is Axl swimming with dolphins? WTF?" But remember, these videos were made in the 80s and early 90s, they didn't make very many good videos back then. Other than that the videos are a bit wierd, the production quality is good. // 9

Overall Impression: Welcome To The Videos is a pretty good representation of GN'R's history. It's fun to watch the videos to see the guys "grow up", from punks on the street to most famous musicians in the world. The fact that the DVD has absolutly no extras at all takes away from the overall experience. If you are a huge GN'R fan (or you just like cheesy videos), you should consider getting this DVD. Plus you can probably find it for under 10 bucks so you won't be out too much if you don't like it. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Welcome To The Videos Reviewed by: SLASH.94, on january 14, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: I must say this DVD kicks ass. The quality is amazing for both audio and visual. it's straight rockin' and has some heavy stuff and epic stuff on there such as Welcome to the Jungle and November Rain. I don't think there are any stories attached to the making of this being it's just a collections of most of there videos. // 10

Content: The DVD contains all of GN'R's video's except It's So Easy and You Could Mine. It's pretty epic and after the Appetite and Lies videos there's a story line type thing that happens with all of the Use Your Illusion video's. I have to say, November Rain, Don't Cry and Estranged are epic as hell. They are obviously top dollar video's. and for 10 bucks this DVD couldnt be a sweeter deal. // 10

Production Quality: This DVD is from the 90's and is full screen, not any of that wide screen crap (which I hate). It fits great on my 48" TV and doesnt't get fuzzy at all. I wouldn't call the production trendy, it's just epic. Well I guess it all depends on how you would describe trendy. So take it or leave it I'm just gonna put it as epic! // 10

Overall Impression: Guns N' Roses music kicks ass, so it only makes sense that if you attach video's to the music, they; 'll just kick even more ass and that is what happens here on Welcome to the Video's. I think every video is good and I find Patience kind of ironic though. At the end it shows Axl all by himself watching old GN'R videos. It looks like it was prediction the future seeing as that is the way things are now. If someone stole my GN'R WTTV I would beat them down and take it back then I'd shove a britney spears CD up his/her/its ass. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Guns N Roses reviews rating latest review
+ Appetite For Brazil 7.1 08/08/2008
+ Live At The Ritz 9.5 02/27/2008
+ Live Rarities 6.1 02/23/2008
+ Use Your Illusion I (World Tour 1992 In Tokyo) 9.2 01/20/2007
+ Guns N' Roses Master Sessions 7.6 08/31/2005
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect