Alive At Red Rocks Review

artist: incubus date: 02/10/2007 category: dvd
incubus: Alive At Red Rocks
Released: November 23, 2004
The band do a full length set, including tracks from all four major albums, so fans will not be disappointed as there is plenty of variety. They also throw in some improvisations in the middle of tracks such as "Stellar" and "Vitamin". New unreleased tracks also such as "Pantomime" featuring Brandon playing guitar.
 Sound: 9.7
 Content: 9.6
 Production Quality: 8.9
 Overall Impression: 9.4
 Overall rating:
 8.8 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.4 
 Users rating:
 8.1 
 Votes:
 67 
reviews (7) 7 comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 7.8
Alive At Red Rocks Reviewed by: derkym, on september 23, 2005
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound on this DVD is truly breathtaking. Just about every song sounds better than on cd, and has an energy that can only be gotten live. There are a few occasions however where the sound has it's problems though. For instance, some of the songs suffer because the new bassist's backing vocals aren't quite up to par, and sometimes it's bad enough to make you cringe (listen to warmth). Mike Einziger (guitar) does an admiral job of playing live, and I am truly impressed that he does all effects himself, even during solo's like Pistola that require some tricky pedal work while playing. The drums are played well, and the bass is more defined than on the record. The vocals are fine, and sound very strong. // 8

Content: The package comes with a bonus cd that has rare and unreleased tracks (Pantomime, Follow, Circles, Are You In, and Monuments And Melodies). The bonus footage is of the band during soundcheck and before the concert, and while it isn't very much, it is still nice. There are also these visualization in a few songs that you can turn on or off, when on they basically show you a screensaver that relates to the music, which is nice the first few times. Next the tracklist, is as follows: 01. Megalomaniac 02. Nice To Know You 03. Idiot Box 04. Just A Phase 05. Priceless 06. Beware Criminal 07. Wish You Were Here 08. Here In My Room 09. Drive 10. Vitamin 11. Pistola 12. Stellar 13. Made For Tv Movie 14. Talk Shows On Mute 15. Sick, Sad Little World 16. A Certain Shade Of Green 17. Pantomime 18. The Warmth 19. Pardon Me If your a fan of Incubus, you will probably notice that some of your favorites (or singles) aren't on this list. That is because during this tour Incubus would play a completely different setlist every night, so for this night you happened to get one without some fan favorites like "Make Yourslelf" or "Mexico." My only gripe is that if Incubus knew that this was the show to be used on the dvd then they could have cut out the 10-15 minutes of drum and bass solos. On the song "Sick Sad Little World" for instance, they extend the song by about 5 minutes with an interlude that doesn't really add anything too the song, just extends it. While it sounded cool the first time, I would much rather have two or three more songs instead. Just a small gripe though. // 8

Production Quality: The production quality is very good in this, and it truly shines in 5.1. The camera work is nice and mostly always gives you the view you would like to see. The notable exception to this is during solo's. Why do so many concert DVD's think that as soon as a solo starts they have to zoom in on the singer who is doing nothing but dancing around? Thankfully this only happens on during one or two songs, and other than that, the emphasis is always where it should be. // 7

Overall Impression: Very good perforance. Great value for the money. Varied tracklist from all major albums. Bad backing vocals most of the time. Lengthy interludes that sometimes make you fast forward. Some fan favorites missing, due to the varied setlist. If you are a fan of Incubus, this is the dvd for you. It is not perfect however, and has a few quirks of its own (like any live album should). If it was lost or stolen then I would probably buy somthing else, because I have already watched it at least ten times. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Alive At Red Rocks Reviewed by: zep311, on january 03, 2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound on the DVD is great. It had Dolby Stereo and 5.1 Audio Mix. I'm not really picky with sound so I can't tell you and little things I noticed that sounded bad. Besides the quality of sound the concert itself is well done and is excellent to listen to. // 10

Content: Not only do you get a whole incubus concert, but you also get some behind the scenes videos which are pretty entertaining and cool. The DVD also comes with a bonus DVD with a studio version of Pantomime (which they play in the concert), Follow w/vocals (Halo 2 soundtrack), Monuments And Melodies (Megalomaniac Single), Are You In? (Live), and Circles (Live). So you get a good amount of stuff for the money which is always great. // 10

Production Quality: The production of the DVD is good but only one thing bothers me and I would rather give this part a 4.5 instead of a 4. During 4 songs in the concert, they play these visuals during the song and they get really annoying because you want to watch the guys play but you get distracted be these visuals. // 8

Overall Impression: I enjoyed the whole DVD. The whole thing was put together well, and the concert itself was great. I saw them in Chicago and thought it would be great to have the concert on film, and sure enough it came out on DVD. So overall it was great. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Alive At Red Rocks Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 17, 2005
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: A great band has the obligation to make a wonderful live DVD, and Incubus did. They have always been a band with great sound and tunes, and it seems to me that they are always getting better, in every way. In this concert they played some of their older stuff like "A Certain Shade Of Green" and some new stuff like "Pantomime," where Brandon plays the guitar! Brandon sang better than ever, Mike played the guitar like nobody else, Pasillas rocked on the drum in every song and specially in the drum solo, and Ben prooved that he's a real bass master. Mr. Kilmore also did a fantastic job with the "Plates!" I also love the place where they played: The Red Rocks in Colorado! It's just a beautiful place. // 10

Content: I'm very well impressed with the extra content. If the concert wasn't enough, there's more incubus awesome material! The visuals are just splendid and variated. The interviews are short, and that is good because I don't like long interviews, they become boring. The backstage clips are very funny though. The songlist is good, but there are some good songs missing: "Warning," "Take Me To Your Leader" and many more, but the concert has some of the best songs from Incubus, and it serves to cover the missing ones. The tracks in the concert are: 01. Megalomaniac 02. Nice To Know You 03. Idiot Box 04. Just A Phase 05. Priceless 06. Beware Criminal 07. Wish You Were Here 08. Here In My Room 09. Drive 10. Vitamin 11. Pistola 12. Stellar (with interlude) 13. Made For TV Movie 14. Talk Shows On Mute 15. Sick, Sad Little World 16. A Certain Shade Of Green 17. Pantomime 18. The Warmth 19. Pardon Me . // 10

Production Quality: The production, for my surprise, is the best that you can find. The DVD can be watched in the 5.1 Surround or Stereo qualities. The camera can be turned in 3 angles, always with great image quality, and the result is fantastic. Sometimes you feel like you are really in the concert. To record this DVD, they used high-tech cameras and sound engine that made a wonderful music experience! // 10

Overall Impression: I guess I have nothing more to say because it's all been said before, so I really recommend all of you to buy this DVD, even if you don't like Incubus. Maybe it's a good start to enjoy their music. If someone stole it from me, I would break the guy's face in two, for sure. But if I didn't find the thief, I'dd buy it again. It's a mesterpiece that everyone should own. Go ahead, pick one and don't stop listening to it! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Alive At Red Rocks Reviewed by: cbe43016, on november 19, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Incubus is known as one of the best live bands, they play each sound to perfection, sounding almost too much like the albums but they make it work. They do very well at getting the crowd into whether it's having them sing the song or Brandon taking his shirt off. Incubus's style is one of the most creative in music, they use a variety of things to make them sound great. From heavy distortion guitar riffs to a hip hop DJ to Brandon playing drums. They really now how too play a show and make it sound really good which isn't always the case with some bands. So if you ever wanted to see a good band live, Incubus would be a good choice. // 10

Content: The DVD has lots of extras like behind the scenes at Red Rocks, a photo gallery and the make yourself foundation. But a big majority of the DVD is the live show in Colorado. The setlist is amazing playing everything from Science to A Crow Left Of A Murder. Here's the setlist: 01. Megalomaniac - good opening for a show. 02. Nice To Know You - one of there big hits that was played amazing. 03. Idiot Box - for the old fans in the audience. 04. Just A Phase 05. Priceless 06. Beware Criminal 07. Wish You Were Here - another crowd fav, well played live as our all there songs. 08. Here In My Room - Brandon plays guitar on this song. 09. Drive - a piano version with no guitars, actually I kinda like it. 10. Vitamin 11. Pistola 12. Stellar - what can be said about this song, it's awesome. 13. Made For TV Movie 14. Talk Shows On Mute 15. Sick Sad Little World - girls in crowd went wild because Brandon took his shirt off during this song. 16. ACSOG 17. Pantomime - Brandon solo performence, really good song. 18. The Warmth - my fav Incubus song, so good live. 19. Pardon Me All and all this DVD was very good, no complaints anywhere. There was also a CD that came with it with some unreleased tracks and a couple live tracks on it. The unreleased were Follow, Pantomime and Monuments And Melodies. The live tracks were are you in and circles. If you like live concerts and Incubus, this is a must have. // 10

Production Quality: The quality was suprisingly good, they had a lot of different camera views that were good and it never got old of watching. There was also on some songs they had a graphic on the screen from the CD that it was on I really didn't like that it kinda took away from the performence alittle. Other then that very well put together and fun to watch. // 9

Overall Impression: I've seen a lot of live DVDs and compared to others its one of the best. It shows a good band doing what they do best which is playing to a very large crowd for 2 hours and never getting worse. I loved the different ways they played some of the songs they switched up some instruments and made it sound good which is not easy to do. If this was stolen from me yea I'd buy it again, it's worth another 20 bucks for it. Go out and buy it, it's really good. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Alive At Red Rocks Reviewed by: unregistered, on september 25, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Wow! The band has a great sound both in the studio and live. Brandon's voice is perfect, I dont think he hits one wrong note. The sound quality is very good, while still capturing that live atmosphere. // 10

Content: Has an extra CD with 3 b sides and 2 live tracks. Also has behind the scenes stuff. Very cool! The set list is good, but I have to say as I am more of a fan of Incubus before a Crow Left Of The Murder (although it still isn't bad) I would have prefered some better songs like Make Yourself or Warning or Deep Inside taking the place of songs like Pistola, Sick Sad Little World, Here In My Room. The DVD really shows wat a great level of musicianship the band members have, with brandon playing his djembe in an extended interlude in Vitamin that leads to bassist Ben Kenney grabbing a drum kit of his own and jose, Ben and Brandon have a mad drum jam. Mike is a genius on guitar, and also grabs the piano for some songs, like drive. I enjoyed the extended interludes except for the one in sick sad little world. // 9

Production Quality: Good quality, including animations you can choose to turn on or off on 4 songs (just a Phase, Pistola, The Warmth and I forget the other one. I think it's Stellar). It's good that you have the option to watch it if you want. // 10

Overall Impression: Best live DVD I have seen so far, altho John Mayer's Any Given Thursday is damn good too (too all those mayer haters, he's a blues guitar god, watch his DVD and you'll see). The most impressive things are the quality of the band's live sound (especially the vocals) and also the extra tracks on the CD. I both love and hate the wide range of albums they have put in (Too much ACLOTM) and not enough Make Yuourself/Science/Morning View. It is sad to see no tracks from the Fungus Amongus on here too, however the musicanship on that album is not as high so that may be the reason. The last point on this DVD is it appears Brandon cannot scream anymore, as over the albums his voice has mellowed. In Vitamin his scream is just him singing louder, and on certain shade of green his attempt isnt that great. Other than that, everything is perfect! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Alive At Red Rocks Reviewed by: UtBDan, on november 29, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Incubus is one of the few bands to have began its popularity in the '90s and to keep it through the new decade. Incubus is also one of the bands that deserves it: distinctive yet different, always growing yet always sounding like themselves. They're one of the bands that I think can just be explained as influenced by everything: their drummer has metal influences in him, but in one of the behind the scenes looks, their vocalsit Brandon Boyd is singing Usher (nicely, and in a what-may-not-have-intended-to-be-as-funny-as-it-was way). Overall, a great sound, a great band, and it's displayed very well throughout this DVD. // 10

Content: This has a great setlist. Best of the new and best of the old - only thing you could complain is the missing of Fungusamongus tracks, but even at that, they're not that missed. Features songs from SCIENCE to A Crow Left Of The Murder, and it's well varied and a long set. 01. Megalomaniac 02. Nice To Know You 03. Idiot Box 04. Just A Phase 05. Priceless 06. Beware Criminal 07. Wish You Were Here 08. Here In My Room 09. Drive 10. Vitamin 11. Pistola 12. Stellar (with interlude) 13. Made For TV Movie 14. Talk Shows On Mute 15. Sick, Sad Little World 16. A Certain Shade Of Green 17. Pantomime 18. The Warmth 19. Pardon Me Also they jam quite a bit in certain songs as you can read in other reviews. And the extras are nice except for one thing (interactive drawings mid song? Might be your thing, not mine). It has behind the stage stuff, and I'm including the CD that came with mine (I bought the Alive At Redrocks CD/DVD combo) as extras. Overall, amazingly packed DVD. // 10

Production Quality: The only 'trendy trick' would be the aforementioned interactive drawings mid-song, which I don't like. You can shut them off though, so no points lost: just not that much gained. Audio and video is always crystal clear. A well deserved 9/10. // 9

Overall Impression: Best Incubus DVD I know of (then again I only know of a few). This is one of the things that I'll put in to fall asleep to, and end up staying up till 3 AM cause I want to watch the whole thing. If it was lost, I would buy it again. I love everything about it; the character displayed behind the scenes, the improvisations they do can be quite amazing, and the setlist just it's varied and leaves you wanting more yet completly satisfies you. It's an amazing DVD from one of my favorite bands, and I wouldn't say its a complete necessity if you're an Incubus fan but I would say its my favorite display of Incubus, CD or DVD. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Alive At Red Rocks Reviewed by: fxt_fella, on february 10, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Some bands sound better recorded and listened to on the radio/CD player. Then there are bands that are better live. The energy that they put into the music while playing in front of a crowd only adds to the sound of their music. Incubus is one of these bands. Add to that the fact that it was their first ever gig at the legendary Red Rocks venue and you are in for an amazing sounding show. This concert has a very lengthy setlist that draws off all major albums which will please all fans of the band. The majority of the setlist comes from their then-latest release "A Crow Left Of The Murder." I originally didn't like some of the tracks of that album, but after hearing them live I instantly fell in love with them. The band all perform up to their amazing talent, with Mike showing his skills on both guitar and Rhodes keyboard. All in all, the sound is top notch. // 10

Content: The DVD features 19 tracks from all four albums, plus the unreleased track "Pantomime." The DVD also features backstage footage of the band preparing for the gig. But the bulk of the DVD is the concert which is amazing in itself. The setlist is more than ample with material from almost all their albums. Old songs like "Stellar" and "Vitamin" have new air breathed into them in the form of jams in the middle. Vitamin especially so, with an amazing 3-way drum/percussion battle followed by a drum solo being my number one highlight of the DVD. // 10

Production Quality: The production of this DVD is very well done, with all camera work and sound mixing doing the band justice. What is especially cool is the option of either watching the band footage or watching some full-screen graphics of some crazy looking artwork that goes along with the theme of the songs. These are pretty cool to look at if you want a better idea of the concept of what the songs are about or just feel like tripping out for a bit. Apart from that, the production is up to the same standard as the rest of this DVD. // 9

Overall Impression: This DVD is definentally the best that Incubus has released to date, with the concert definentally being one of my favourite gigs that I've seen on screen. Just how well the band plays the songs is the one thing that stands out to me. This is definentally one of those DVD's that I would buy again if it was stolen. In a nutshell, I love it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect