Rock In Rio Review

artist: iron maiden date: 10/25/2006 category: dvd
iron maiden: Rock In Rio
Released: October 23, 2003
This double DVD captures the band's energy and massive stage production with both Dolby Digital 5.1 and full-rate DTS Surround tracks to take you to the front row. 125 minutes plus 50 minutes of bonus features.
 Sound: 8.5
 Content: 8.3
 Production Quality: 7.5
 Overall Impression: 9
 Overall rating:
 8.6 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.3 
 Users rating:
 8.8 
 Votes:
 33 
reviews (4) 5 comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 8.5
Rock In Rio Reviewed by: ooblah, on february 01, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: First off, if you have already took time to read all the Maiden reviews, you have noticed people have nothing but good things to say about them. I love Maiden, and they did a great job with this DVD as always. Sound wise was great, during some songs the guitar drowns out bruces voice or maybe its my sound sytem. They did a great job though, the overall sound is great quality, and even better when it's cranked up loud the way it was meant to be. Maiden really did a great job performing, it really captures that high energy feeling that you can't get with the CD version I think. // 8

Content: This is a "live" concert DVD, mainly covering there bigger hits, they put an emphases on the songs from the new album. The overall content is pretty good, the first CD is all the performance and the second is just them kinda goofing around doing interview kinda stuff. I was pretty satisfied with the overall content you get what you pay for. // 8

Production Quality: It was produced and mixed by who other than Steve Harris, and I think he did a good job of it. The whole concert was a good production, and included a lot of the atrical stuff that added to the music and gave Bruce something to run and swing on during the guitar solos. Overall production wasnt lacking at all in this show. // 8

Overall Impression: This is probably one of my favorite concert DVD's and I would probably be tempted to buy it again if I lost it. I am a big fan so watching this DVD was a lot of fun, if you hold your concert DVD expectations really high then make your own review. I loved how it captured how much energy they really put into there performances. The 3 guitar attack between Adrian, Janick, and Dave was entertaining. The sound was almost identical to some of there studio stuff during some songs that it was scary and other songs were a lot different and had a lot of improv stuff added in, which helped to balance it out. If your a true Maiden fan, this is the DVD to have. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Rock In Rio Reviewed by: steveharris3, on june 12, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound of iron Maiden is unique, Steve Harris writes songs from the bass and then the guitars follow him on what he does rythem wise, no other band does that. This isen't just another Iron Maiden concert. It is Rock In Rio, one of the biggest rock festivals in the world. The sound of Iron Maiden is one of a kind. Even if you don't like metal check out Iron Maiden I recomend buying Edward the great. // 10

Content: The content is about 20 songs. A mix of songs from there current album and classic maiden hits in one live concert. The song line up is as follows songs: The Wicker Man, Ghost Of The Navigator, Brave New World, Wrathchild, 2 Minutes To Midnight, Blood Brothers, Sign Of The Cross, The Mercenary, The Trooper, Dream Of Mirrors, The Clansman, The Evil That Men Do, Fear Of The Dark, Iron Maiden, The Number Of The Beast, Hallowed Be Thy Name, Sanctuary, Run To The Hills. On disc one is the concert, disk two is extra features like a day in the life of certain band members. // 10

Production Quality: This is the DVD's weak spot if it has one. The production is a bit shabby but not too much. Good sound quality and a bit of video distortion because it is dark at night. // 8

Overall Impression: I have seen a few rock/metal dvds and concerts, this tops most of them. The size of the stadium at rock in rio is XXXL, it is literally the size of a football field(American football). Also on one of the tracks "Fear Of The dark", the crowd sings along with Bruce which is vastly impressive considering the song is in english and your in Brazil. If this DVD was stolen from me id kick the ass of every shady charicter until I got it back. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
Rock In Rio Reviewed by: Trunx, on august 10, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is one of the first times I hear Iron Maiden. Rock In Rio is filmed about a breathtaking concert in Rio De Janeiro, in front of 5 000 000 people. It was actually much better than I'd thought Iron Maiden is. It is definately my favourite heavy metal- band. The music style is heavy metal, but I was impressed about it, it actually sounded like music, not like the screeching you usually hear from other heavy and death metal bands. The members of Iron Maiden seemed quite talented. // 9

Content: Here's the list of tracks: 01. Intro 02. The Wicker Man 03. Ghost Of The Navigator 04. Brave New World 05. Wrathchild 06. 2 Minutes To Midnight 07. Blood Brothers 08. Sign Of The Cross 09. The Mercenary 10. The Trooper 11. Dream Of Mirrors 12. The Clansmen 13. The Evil That Men Do 14. Fear Of The Dark 15. Iron Maiden 16. The Number Of The Beast 17. Hallowed Be Thy Name 18. Sanctuary 19. Run To The Hills My favourite songs were The Wicker man and The Trooper. This DVD has 125 minutes of tracks and 50 minutes of bonus material. Disc one has the concert, disc two the bonus material. // 8

Production Quality: I would have hoped a better quality of the production, but it still is over satisfactory. The concert was held at night, so there's lots of lights everywhere. The quality of the sound is as good as the on the Rock In Rio CD-version (I've heard the CD too, but I like the DVD much much more). // 7

Overall Impression: Iron Maiden is definately the best Heavy Metal band that I've heard. The most impressive thing on the DVD is actually the fact that over 5 000 000 people came to the concert! I love just about everything on this DVD, except that the quality of the production should have been better. Iron Maiden did a great concert, congrats to them! If I'd lose this DVD etc. I would not get this same DVD again but maybe another Iron Maiden one, I don't know. I recommend this to every heave metal-lover and to other people too. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7
Rock In Rio Reviewed by: Luke Ze Man, on october 25, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Wow, watching this DVD with Bruce Dickinson bouncing off the walls we got them throwing drum sticks into the crowd one moshpit started and it was just amazing. The energy, the passion, and the talent that these guys put into there music is inspirational. The sounded amzing the had every song perfectly done no mistakes Bruce Dickinson's voice didn't "run out", and also a special thanks to Michael Kenney foir live keyboard. // 7

Content: It's 2 DVDs where the first one includes the whole concert and the second DVD comes with bonus features and interviews with the band amd has Roff Halfin's photo diary. This live concert had a crowd of 250,000 plus and completley sold out in Rio, they also performed one of the best live songs that went down in history "Fear Of The Dark" written by Steve Harris. // 7

Production Quality: The production quality of this DVD is excellent, the lights in the concert were not as tricky as Pink Floyd's were but they were amazing, and also Stevve Harris the bassist of Iron Maiden personally edited this DVD though with the main producer Arthur Gorson for The Mine. // 7

Overall Impression: Think about a Scorpions concert back than, it's as intense as that is only in this millenium, most impressive thing is how they just went on and on no breaks, extreme energy, I mean common Bruce jumped on a moving camera whi8le it was looking at the crowd, the only thing I don't like about it is the longest song on there (Sign Of The Cross) wasn't as intense. If I lost this DVD or if it was stolen I would definetley buy it again. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Iron Maiden reviews rating latest review
+ En Vivo! 8.6 04/10/2012
+ Flight 666 9.5 03/24/2010
+ Lick Library: Learn To Play Iron Maiden 9 06/27/2008
+ Live After Death 9.6 06/11/2008
+ Death On The Road 9.3 04/25/2006
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect