The Song Remains The Same Review

artist: led zeppelin date: 08/31/2009 category: dvd
led zeppelin: The Song Remains The Same
Released: December 21, 1999
For Led Zeppelin fanatics, this 1976 feature The Song Remains the Same is a treasure of searing live performances, particularly welcome in light of the sad scarcity of such visual material from the band's great decade.
 Sound: 9.3
 Content: 8.9
 Production Quality: 8.6
 Overall Impression: 8.9
 Overall rating:
 8.8 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.9 
 Users rating:
 8.7 
 Votes:
 61 
reviews (8) 21 comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 10
The Song Remains The Same Reviewed by: schfiftyfive, on february 01, 2006
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sound: Led Zeppelin have always been my favourite band but since I saw this I have a whole new respect for them. After you watch this you'll realize how good Jimmy Page really is, especially on the 25 minute Dazed And Confused where he plays with a violin bow, it's crazy. Robert Plant was pretty good but I think he could of sang a bit better. John Bonham's drum solo in Moby Dick is very impressive. And John Paul Jones plays the bass and keyboard very solidly. The begining is very wierd. // 10

Content: It's a live concert in 1973 at Madison Square Garden, it was later released in 1976. There is some acting in it in between and during songs aswell (really wierd and cool stuff, makes it alot better). // 10

Production Quality: I think the quality and sound Is very good for 1973. The only problem is on Rock And Roll you can't here the guitar as much as you should, but the rest is good. The camera affects are cool too. // 10

Overall Impression: Overall this is a very good DVD, every Zep fan should have it. If you don't get it now you can't afford not to have it. It's pretty amzing if you think about it, Led Zeppelin where only around for 4 years when this concert took place and they already had that many amazing songs, plus alot more that arn't on this. Led Zeppelin truly are the best band of all time! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
The Song Remains The Same Reviewed by: bruckster15, on december 03, 2004
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: Listening to Led Zeppelin on a CD is awesome. But seeing them live is a whole differnt experience. You really don't know how good Jimmy Page is unless you have seen him live. Its so good that every solo is beter than the legendary heartbraker! And the bow is unexplainable its so awesome. The only complaint is the singing sometimes wasn't perfected but its sweet when Robert Plant screams. // 10

Content: This doesn't have many extras. It just has the concert and the movie trailer. But in between the songs there is video clips of stuff they do which is cool. Here is the song list: 01. Rock And Roll 02. Black Dog 03. Since I've Been Loving You 04. No Quater 05. The Song Remains The Same 06. Rain Song 07. Dazed And Confused 08. Stairway To Heaven 09. Moby Dick 10. Heartbraker 11. Whole Lotta Love // 6

Production Quality: The sound is quallity is pretty good for 30 years ago. // 8

Overall Impression: If your a Led Zeppelin fan or clasic rock fan you have to get this. It's so awesome seeing them live you can't say that there not the greatest band ever! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
The Song Remains The Same Reviewed by: Twist of fate, on august 14, 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Hey I rented the Song remains the same on Thurday and I thought it was amazing. It had a few flaws and was boring at a few parts but overall I'd give it an 8 out of 10. In the DVD, there were some shots of John Paul Jones, Robert Plant, Jimmy Page, and John Bonham with their families in England. Actually for Page they didn't show him with his family, They showed him listening to music by a river. // 8

Content: The song remains the same is a live concert DVD. The content would be PG. There was strong language at a few parts. The songs include The rain song, Stairway to heaven, Rock and roll, Black dog and more! They also did a thing after Moby dick where they had Bonham do an amazing drum solo and Jimmy Page Played guitar with a bow. They didn't have enough John Paul Jones though. // 8

Production Quality: Production technology was excellent. Amazing graphics and visual effects. They had a few pyro effects at the end. The production quality was trendy. It was easy to tell it was edited because the quality was clear. Also sound was nice. If you like good visual effects then go out and buy or rent "The Song Remains The Same." // 8

Overall Impression: No it doesnt't compare to other albums or artists. The most impressive performance on this was the performance of Stairway to Heaven. I hated how some songs were over extended and didn't have a good rhythm. Yes, I would buy it again. I really reccomend this DVD to all Led Zeppelin fans. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
The Song Remains The Same Reviewed by: eckmann88, on february 22, 2007
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Filmed at the band's prime, Zep are together as a whole, and deliver a sense of true musical force. Both the metal Zeppelin and the blues Zeppelin come together in one truly awe-inspiring sound. Page shows the true extent of his talent, from using a violin bow during Dazed And Confused, to the raw force behind Black Dog, all climaxing during one of his greatest performances, Stairway To Heaven. A must-have for any for of Zeppelin, or rock music as a whole. // 10

Content: This film features an odd combination of live concert footage and fantasy sequences that may seem strange at first. Also features a very odd, mob-related opening. The song list: 01. Rock And Roll - good as an opener, although Plant has sounded better. 02. Black Dog - very good overall. 03. Since I've Been Loving You - good, although doesn't shine above other tracks. 04. No Quarter - overall, very good, and one of my favorite performances. 05. The Song Remains The Same - also very good. 06. Rain Song - good, just what you'd expect. 07. Dazed And Confused - around 25 minutes long with an odd fantasy sequence in the middle in which Page meets father time on a mountaintop. 08. Stairway To Heaven - definitely the best song on the DVD (and I personally think the studio recording isn't all too spectacular). Page uses a double-necked SG, and improvises the solo, which I excells the one on IV. 09. Moby Dick - features an amazing drum solo by Bonham. 10. Heartbreaker - shows the strength of the band as a whole. 11. Whole Lotta Love - a great closer, and gives a sense of a "grand finale". No extra features besides the movie trailer, but all in all very good. // 9

Production Quality: Sound quality is great for today's standards, not to mention 1976! Some neat camera tricks are used, as evident it Page's solo during Stairway. These camera effects were obviously very trendy at the time, and have a "retro" feel to them. The entire production contributes to the feeling that you are one of the LedHeads standing in the crowd. // 9

Overall Impression: I, owning many concert DVDs ranging from The Who to Bon Jovi to Queen, must say that this is my favorite. Had this been stolen, I would ush to the video store to buy another copy. Yes, many of the fantasy sequences were unnecessary, but they contribute to the overall feel of the film. I strongly recommend that any fan of Zep, classic rock, or music in general purchase this film, now. That's not a suggestion, that's a command. Okay, it is a suggestion. And I suggest you rush to the video store. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
The Song Remains The Same Reviewed by: jerryhendrix, on june 02, 2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: It was great to see Led Zeppelin put out a DVD. The sonbgs on this DVD blow the studio songs out of the water. The usuall blues rock stytle of Zeppelin is evident through out the DVD also the "heavy metal" side of Zeppelin is shown in songs like Black Dog and Rock And Roll (which are also the first two songs on the DVD) this was the first DVD released by Led Zeppelin and was a nice start, I recommend this. // 8

Content: All of the songs on the DVD are classics, dazed and confused is one of the more notable songs where jimmy plays with a voilin bow, other favorites include: Black Dog, Rock And Roll, Stairway To Heaven, also Heartbreaker and the Song Remains The Same to name a few. There are no extras on this dvd because of its age (1976) but that's ok because the concert at Madison Square Garden is enough. // 9

Production Quality: Great, the special effects werent up to todays standards but they still arent that bad at all, especially for 30 years ago, sound quality was good but could have been better for there was a little bit of muffled noises. But over all done very well and up to par. // 9

Overall Impression: This DVD made me wish I lived back in the '70s. They are the most influential rock band of all time and their concert footage was very impressive as was the music. I love this DVD but it doesn't compare to the Led Zeppelin DVD put out in 2003 (Led Zeppelin DVD) so if it was lost or stolen I would just buy the Led Zeppelin DVD instead. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
The Song Remains The Same Reviewed by: SRV16, on august 21, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound and music was amazing, a brilliant concert. The DVD showed happy secluded images of the band in the countryside, and some clips of non music Led Zeppelin. Blues and Rock where the main style, Jimmy Pages plays with a violin bow in one of the songs. Jimmy Page plays a double necked guitar in Stairway To Heaven. // 10

Content: You can view whole concert. All the songs separatley. It's a live concert with extracts of the band. They opened the concert with rock n roll and black dog which were both amazing great drum solo at the end of rock and roll and superb solo at the end of black dog. They played No Quarter and Since I've Been Loving You which was brilliant. They did Dazed and Confused, Moby Dick, Heartbreaker, Stairway to heaven, a couple of others and they finished with Whole Lotta Love. It was all amazing. And Jimmy Pages Improvising is awesome. // 9

Production Quality: Production Quality wasn't great during Heartbreaker they showed footage of a robbery concernign Led Zeppelin's money, but it ruined the song really. Dissapointing really. During Stairway to heaven they used a mirror effect and double mirror effect so it appeared as if Robert Plant had turned into four arms. A During some of the songs there were some visual representations of the band members thoughts and feelings of the song. // 6

Overall Impression: I prefer the Led Zeppelin Albums because some of the songs went on a bit admittedly, it was not a big problem but I prefer the general recorded music, although new exciting solos happened live so it's good with the bad. The best thing was Stairway To Heaven, it's incredible and had some cool effects, it was the most impressive thing on the DVD. I loved the music because it's Led Zeppelin always good, I hate the faffing around because some of it's boring and disrupts the flow of the gig. I'd buy it again because it's fantastic. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
The Song Remains The Same Reviewed by: cheeseisthebomb, on january 21, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: In this DVD Led Zeppelin hits the stage and play a large list of hard rock/blues hits. You can see that the band was influenced by a lot of American Blues legends like Robert Johnson, Son House, and Muddy Waters. This DVD features a little bit of everything from blues, rock, heavy metal, and jazz. // 9

Content: Well, I got the 2 disc edition. The first disc features the regular film, which is mostly footage at Madison Square Garden in 1973 when Led Zeppelin played. Each band member also has their own little fantasy sequence as well as footage of each band member at home with their families. The first song played on the first disc is 'Rock and Roll', which is a great, upbeat rock and roll song that sounds nice and to the point. After that song, there is 'Black Dog', which is one of the best songs played on the DVD. This is probably Robert Plant's best performance on the DVD. After 'Black Dog' there is 'Since I've Been Loving You'. 'Since I've Been Loving You' is a great blues song that features some of Jimmy Page's best improvisions to date. This is probably my favorite song on the DVD. Afterward comes 'No Quarter' which features a long keyboard piece along with John Paul Jones fantasy sequence. Then there is the great track 'The Song Remains The Same' which is a good song played on Jimmy Page's double-necked Gibson. This song is also the start to Robert Plant's fantasy sequence. Then there is 'The Rain Song'. 'The Rain Song' sounds great and more "real" than the original. 'The Rain Song' also features the rest of Robert Plant's fantasy sequence. Next is the bass guitar notes that made Led Zeppelin famous, which starts of 'Dazed and Confused'. 'Dazed and Confused' is a really stretched out song on the DVD. It has the begin, followed by the violin bow guitar solo, as well as Jimmy Pages fantasy sequence. The song concludes after Jimmy's guitar solo. Then the setlist settles down with one of Led Zeppelin's best songs, 'Stairway to Heaven'. This song sounds way different than the studio verzion, because Jimmy's picking pattern has a different speed to it, making it a new song almost. After the climatic ending to 'Stairway to Heaven', the song 'Moby Dick' begins. This song starts with the famous guitar piece and then is followed by John Bonham's drum solo and fantasy sequence, which is the last sequence on the DVD. After 'Moby Dick' there is two songs left on the DVD. 'Heartbreaker' and 'Whole Lotta Love'. These two songs flow together and feature some clips of the bank robbery which can also be veiwed on the second disc. The second disc features another 4 songs. 'The Ocean', 'Misty Moutain Hop', and the two never before seen videos of 'Celebration Day' and 'Over the Hills and Far Away'. There is also a interveiw, a clip of Tampa News report, and more. If you are a Led Zeppelin fan don't pass up this DVD. // 10

Production Quality: The original film remained the way you should remember, and the bonus content is more than I have ever seen on a concert DVD. The camera angles are amazing, and so is the sound quality. I also liked the DVD case, since it contained images of the film that you wouldn't think would get reconised. Everything is amazing. // 10

Overall Impression: This is one of the greatest DVDs ever released. The most impressive thing on this DVD is the fact that you get some of the concert, some stuff from backstage, fantasy sequences, family sequences, interveiws, old news reports and everything you could ask for. It is filled with so much stuff about Led Zeppelin. If it were stolen or lost I wouldn't have to think about buying it again, I head straight to the store and buy it again. If you like Led Zeppelin, this will be your prized possesion after you buy it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
The Song Remains The Same Reviewed by: who1973, on august 31, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Led Zeppelin is, without a doubt, one of the greatest bands to walk on the face of the Earth. Every single one of their albums, even their weaker albums like 'In Through the Out Door', still blow my mind. Needless to say, the music here is excellent. My only complaint? I wouldn't have chosen the '73 Madison Sqaure Garden Concerts to use for a live concert film. They were the last shows of the tour, and by then, the band was worn out, and it shows here. John Bonham's "Moby Dick" drum solo, while still a highlight, isn't quite as long or impressive as other shows on the tour, as revealed by bootleg performances. Nonetheless, Jimmy Page's performance on "Stairway to Heaven" is still the moment that not only turned me into a Led Zeppelin fan, but more importantly inspired me to want to play guitar. That alone makes this DVD hold an extremely important place in my collection. // 9

Content: I own the recent 2-disc "Collector's Edition" of this DVD, which as far as bonus content and sound quality goes, is a Zephead's dream. It features a second disc which includes not only promos, interviews, etc., but THE COMPLETE REMAINDER OF THE MADISON SQUARE GARDEN PERFORMANCE. All the songs from the concerts not included in the film on the first disc are included here. "Celebration Day", "Over the Hills and Far Away", "Misty Mountain Hop", and "The Ocean" are all here, two of which ("Celebration Day" and "Over the Hills and Far Away") are previously unreleased! These performances are all excellent, and it really made me wonder why "Over the Hills and Far Away" and "The Ocean" weren't included in the first place. It would've made the film a lot better. Also, the entire film was remastered and remixed into Dolby/DTS 5.1 Surround Sound, and the remastering was overseen by the band themselves. Any shortcomings the original film may have had are all made up for here on this wonderful DVD set. The original film's setlist on Disc 1: 01.Rock And Roll 02.Black Dog 03.Since I've Been Loving You 04.No Quater 05.The Song Remains The Same 06.Rain Song 07.Dazed And Confused 08.Stairway To Heaven 09.Moby Dick 10.Heartbraker 11.Whole Lotta Love // 10

Production Quality: The quality from the original film is saved here with excellent remastering, which really cleans up the audio/video. Nonetheless, it can't make up for the terrible effects used in the group's infamously cheesy "fantasy sequences". But then, what do you expect from a 1976 Led Zeppelin concert film? // 9

Overall Impression: Overall, this disc belongs in every Zep fan's library. While some will argue the self-titled "Led Zeppelin" concert DVD released in 2003 is a better overall experience, I feel it is a little overwhelming - there's about 6 hours worth of material on it and several repeated songs - and "The Song Remains the Same" is a better, more definite experience, which allows you to experience what it was like to be a Zep fan back when they were in their prime. The most impressive thing on this DVD set is the bonus material and the remastering. I love everything about it - it is Zep after all. Well, except for the fantasy sequences, but I still don't really hate those. They may be cheesy, but in a fun Led Zeppelin kind of way. If it were stolen or lost...Of course I'd buy it again, it's Zeppelin man! You can't replace that. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Led Zeppelin reviews rating latest review
+ Celebration Day 9.8 10/18/2012
+ Led Zeppelin 9.3 07/15/2008
+ Led Zeppelin IV 6.5 06/27/2006
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect