Greatest Hits And Videos Review

artist: red hot chili peppers date: 01/26/2006 category: dvd
red hot chili peppers: Greatest Hits And Videos
Released: November 18, 2003
Greatest hits release for the rap-rock/funk-metal act features 16 tracks including 14 favorites & 2 brand new tracks, 'Fortune Faded' & 'Save The Population'. Includes DVD featuring 16 videos plus band commentary on each video. Double gatefold digipak.
 Sound: 10
 Content: 9.7
 Production Quality: 8.3
 Overall Impression: 9.3
 Overall rating:
 9.1 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.3 
 Users rating:
 8.8 
 Votes:
 13 
reviews (3) 3 comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 9.5
Greatest Hits And Videos Reviewed by: McEvoy, on april 16, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound is very tipical of the Red Hot Chili Peppers and being a Greatest Hits DVD you will be very familliar with all the songs since they have all been releast by them. All the videos and songs have been transcribed beautifully on to a DVD disc and the songs can even sound better then on the CD with a bounus visual aid. // 10

Content: The DVD features videos from Blood Suger Sex Magik, one hot minute, Californication and By The Way, with two bounus songs, Higher Ground and Soul To Squeeze. Each song comes with band and directers commentary and certain songs contain behind the scenes features, witch show you every thing that happened on the day of shooting and how the directers got the ideas for the videos themselves. The extra features also contain a the making of the video for By The Way witch is about 15 minutes long and a special 1 hour long behind the scenes look at the Chilis on tour. // 10

Production Quality: The DVD was made by simply made by splicing all their videos and some others special features and is no great struggle to make an amazing piece of viewing but instead a collecters piece for all chilis fans and I thhink it turned out as well asthey wanted it to be. // 8

Overall Impression: I am a big fan of the Chilis and being a player of many of their songs it provided a great visual aid for my playing as well as being a very enjoyable DVD. If it were stolen I would without any pause go out and buy it again. You will find yourself going back and watching it again and again and I would recommend getting it to anyone that asked me. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
Greatest Hits And Videos Reviewed by: UtBDan, on september 28, 2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Greatest Hits is not the best display of RHCP's sound, but it is the display with the, well, greatest songs on it. You probably know whats on the CD: all the top songs (not necessarily their best, 2 or 3 songs should've been taken off in exchange for Can't Stop & Aeroplane) from the Warner Bros. era (and Higher Ground) and then 2 new songs that have never been heard before. That's the CD. The DVD, however, is an even better display of songs. It has ever music video they've done since 1992 except for the 2nd My Friends video (nowadays a yahoo music exclusive) and the Coffee Shop video (which never got any sort of airtime). The sound is clear (its a DVD), the display is clear (just like most DVDs). A worthy purchase. // 10

Content: It's a Best Of collection, with a couple extra features. It's go commentary by the band on every video, which is nice but nowadays is mandatory in DVDs no extra points there. But it does have some making of the video feauterettes, which would bring it up a bit. The nicest extra feature is the behind the scenes look at the tour in the (shada) extra features part of the disc. It makes the disc much more entertaining, giving what I'd guess was well over 2 hours of seeing what the band does in their off time on tour and how they prepare for each concert. I'm completly satisfied with the song list of the DVD, and the extra features on the DVD are better than most DVDs out there. // 9

Production Quality: A high production quality; all videos have a great audio and video track and it includes more than your average music DVD's worth of extra features. It has no trendy tricks or anything, but it gets the job done. However it loses a point because the "play all" doesn't work for music videos; after Suck My Kiss it just repeats. Also, after watching any video, it sends you to the BSSM video's menu, instead of the menu you came from. // 7

Overall Impression: It includes the Greatest Hits CD, that was my main problem with it. Why is this a problem? It runs up the cost $10 more than it should. Basically, it comes down to, is it worth buying a 2nd copy of Greatest Hits for? For me, it was. For you, it may not be. RHCP is my favorite band. However, if you don't own Greatest Hits, the DVD/CD combo by itself is a very worthwhile and extremely good purchase. A point lost due to the errors listed in production, but still: a great purchase. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Greatest Hits And Videos Reviewed by: PJamMan6, on january 26, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: This DVD is all clips taken from the chilis albums, so this does compare well with the other chili peppers songs because they are the other chili pepper songs if you get me. It doesn't have all the songs in their greatest hits, but it includes their greatest videos but, there are still 16 clips on the DVD and the unreleased tracks / the songs without clips have been replaced with other great songs from the peppers. All the pepper's clips on the DVD are very well known even though not many of them are actually shown much on Australian video clip shows. Great clips by the boys and I think the latest Aussie ad for Linx deodorant (something to do with a jet) is a complete rip off of the Chili's "Aeroplane" clip where all the air hostesses are seductive and sexy. // 10

Content: The Red Hot Chili Peppers greatest DVD is wonderful, with all the videos you need to see. The DVD is not actually the best songs, it's the best clips from the peppers and the dvd lives up to its name with every clip great. Many of the clips are the chili doing what they do best - acting like idiots, having fun and getting payed for it. The tones of the song are reflected in the clips with crazy songs having crazy clips. You can also find out where all the Chili's great songs have come from, when you select a song, you choose what album first if you get me. Some videos feature their logo, but they were creative with how they made it, having people making the shape in a few of the videos, "Aeroplane" is 1 and I think "Around The World" is the other. There are many special features, 4 extra clips, a documentary of the roadcrew working on a tour and a behind the scenes of the making of the "By The Way" clip. There is an optional commentary on each of the clips and a "Meet The Band" feature, where you hear the bands voices and see a little of them in action in the clips to see and the hear the band speak so you can identify whose who in the commentary of the clips. The chilis also make this part funny so whatever you watch you will have entertainment. // 10

Production Quality: The technical aspects used in the clips are varying from quite simple blue screening to making the whole of the band animated in 3D graphics for the Californication clip. This clip is amazing and has raised the bar too high for any bands to even think about recreating. There is also a few clips in black and white and lots of colours used in a lot of chili peppers clips done by computers. // 10

Overall Impression: Overall, this is a great DVD which anyone should buy if you haven't seen many chili peppers clips because the chance of seeing them on any Aussie video show. If anything did happen to this DVD I would go and find it and pay whatever price because it is worth every cent of the price. A great DVD of all the videos the chilis have done and a must have for any chili pepper fan. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Red Hot Chili Peppers reviews rating latest review
+ Live At Slane Castle 9.2 12/23/2011
+ Funky Monks 9.7 08/18/2007
+ Off The Map 8.8 10/19/2004
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect