Live At Slane Castle Review

artist: red hot chili peppers date: 12/23/2011 category: dvd
red hot chili peppers: Live At Slane Castle
Released: November 18, 2003
With Live At Slane Castle, the always excellent Chili Peppers show you why they are argueably the best band still around today making new music.
 Sound: 9.9
 Content: 8.2
 Production Quality: 9
 Overall Impression: 9.9
 Overall rating:
 9.2 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.3 
 Users rating:
 9 
 Votes:
 148 
reviews (9) 15 comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 9
Live At Slane Castle Reviewed by: UtBDan, on september 10, 2004
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: I love the diverse and different sound of the hard funk/soft punk/great rock of the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Flea's bass playing never really misses a beat, Chad Smith keeps a mean rhythm and John Frusciante is one of, if not the, greatest modern guitarist(s). The Red Hot Chili Peppers are a great live band, keeping enough things steady so that the songs are still the classics they are, but changing things enough that they're not quite the same as the studio version. For example, John shreds, taps, and hammers quite a bit more live than he does in the studio. Everything about the sound is translated perfectly onto the DVD. // 10

Content: This is a live DVD of a great concert, by all means. I hate to give this a 3 because that makes it seem worse than it really is (assuming you only read the scores at the end of each review section), but I'm going to. The set list in this is mostly off of By The Way and Californication (although there a few Blood Sugar Sex Magik tracks, but honestly nothing older than that.) I subtracted one point for zero older songs that I wanted live like Higher Ground or Yertle The Turtle. Why a 3 if I only subtracted one point from that? Well, the DVD has only one little part of bonus content, and it's "Wallpaper". No, it's not Wallpaper for your PC desktop. It's video recordings of the background animations that play behind the RHCP as they play. Little weird cartoony stuff and buffalos running videos, if you will. Still, a great performance and a good set list, but I would've appreciated an interview or two and some older songs. // 6

Production Quality: There's no real tricks to the production here. Straight up video of their live performance at Slane Castle, but that's not a bad thing. Plenty of lighting effects, and something I really appreciated about this DVD was the lighting. It's not a Pink Floyd show or anything, but I purchased this after buying the Red Hot Chili Peppers "Off The Map" DVD. That DVD doesn't provide enough lighting, and things are way too dark most of the time for me to enjoy it fully. Not with this one. Everything is crystal clear in both sound and vision. // 10

Overall Impression: Bottomline: This DVD is the best live Red Hot Chili Peppers DVD. The sound and vision comes through crystal clear. The set list could've been better but was still good. There could've been extra features but on a music DVD I'm not willing to subtract from my overall score. I love this DVD because the Chilis doing what they do best - play great songs live. There's various improvitations and plenty of the Red Hot Chili Peppers live jokes. The little things that make it lovable. For example, before they cover the Ramone's "Havana Affair", they introduce it like so: "This next song may not sound like it, but it's by the Ramones... " "... however, if you've had enough Guiness, it may sound exactly like the Ramones. " I bought it for cheapo, $10 brand new. I don't know if that's now the standard deal, but if it is I highly recommend buying this. This is a great live performance overall, and I'd buy it again if it got stolen or even if it got lost in my room for a month. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Live At Slane Castle Reviewed by: IlIkE2plygUItAr, on december 10, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: I always loved RHCP, so I got this DVD as soon as I could. It has many of thier best songs, including a fex new ones. It is an amazing DVD. It was filmed at Slane Castle, Ireland in front of 80, 000 screaming fans. // 10

Content: The DVD is, of course, a live concert. It had songs from Californication, By The Way, Blood Sugar Sex Majik, and even a Ramones cover. Flea had the most amazing bass solo I've ever heard between Scar Tissue and All Around The World. The DVD starts off with an awesome solo by John, and goes in to By the Way right after that. Anthony's singing is right on, Flea's bass playing is amazing as usual, John's solos are more challenging, and Chads drumming is great. Flea even brings out his trumpet. // 10

Production Quality: The production quality is perfect. It has great sound and image. They even use a couple matrix style tricks. It's wierd, I could only see two 6 foot stacks of amps, but they were louder than eighty thousand screaming Irish people. // 10

Overall Impression: This is better than other DVDs I have seen. The most impressive thing is the amount of people, and Flea's solo. I love all the songs and I love Anthony's voice, but I hate the covers. If it were stolen, I'd curl up in a blanket and suck my thumb, and then grab a gun and go look for it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
Live At Slane Castle Reviewed by: Jimbo/Slash, on may 27, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: We all know and love the Chilis and to give their sound less than 5 would be a crime. I'm not a close-minded person, but the Chilis are just excellent musicians. The only element that ever is a little iffy about Chilis is Anthony's singing - sometimes he is just seems to be shouting, but here they are spot on. They play all their best songs, although not much old stuff, or they would be playing into the next morning! Flea and Frusciante are as great as ever. // 10

Content: Not much in the way of extras on this, just the music with alternate background. But c'mon, who really cares. People shouldn't be to bothered about the lack of extras. It is about the music after aall. // 6

Production Quality: There are some neat tricks when the DVD starts. The camera moves really fast from one side of the stage to the other when one of them jumps. It looks like bullet-time from the Matrix, and is great. However, I think they blew their budget or something because they don't do it again after the first song. // 8

Overall Impression: Overall a good music DVD. Buy it for the music and you'll love it. The menu takes ages to go through it's intro, but it is good. If it was stolen and I had the money I would buy it again. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Live At Slane Castle Reviewed by: druz15_UG, on january 11, 2006
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: RHCP sound great on this DVD, it's probably the best Live DVD I have ever owned. When I bought it, I watched it every day for five days straight and didn't get sick of it! The band sounds amazing. While keeping true to the recorded versions of each song, they still manage to spice these funk-rock wonders up even more. Anthony Kiedis' singing is right on, Flea and Chad both rock and play amazing instrumental solos, and John is at his best, ripping up mega-hot versions of classic riffs such as Can't Stop and Purple Stain, and he plays amazing solos for each song. // 10

Content: The DVD is a live concert as stated in the title, and they play 16 of their most well known tracks as well as 2 punk covers (Right On Time by The Clash and Havana Affair by The Ramones). Somehow they manage to convert these punk songs into their own style, which is great. The only disappointment was the absence of Suck My Kiss, a great song but all the songs they play are great ones anyway. // 9

Production Quality: The production quality is great, with shots of the crowd throughout the whole show and cool 'matrix' style jumps every now and then. The audio quality is amazing it sounds as if you are there if you have surround sound, and Flea's bass comes out superb through the sub-woofer. // 10

Overall Impression: I have the Use Your Illusion DVD's by GN'R and they are great but compared to this work of art they are shit. This DD rocks, no doubt about it. The most impressive thing is the energy that the whole band has for the entire show and how much the crowd loves them. If I lost this I would definetly buy it again. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Live At Slane Castle Reviewed by: rockgodgeorge, on april 15, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: RHCP always rocked. The druggy sound of Keidis is near, if not perfect with the whole funk sound of the band. As usual, Flea is still his usual "normal" self that makes his playing not only perfect, but extremely fun to watch. As For Frusciante, probably one of the best guitarists in the world right now. And Chad Smith. I'm not really someone who cares too much about the drums unless I'm playing in a band with one. So yeah, he's ok. Bottom line, if you know RHCP forever and love their music, then this is easily their best concert in each of their whole careers. The sound of the music is crystal clear from the first song to the last one. The solo John does is a little different from the studio version but unlike some live performances that change their solos, the ones he does here are perfect and sometimes even better than that of the ones you hear on your CD. And the music? Generally perfect. Every song never misses a beat and/or a note and the funk genre is still at home with them. Absolutely no flaw here. // 10

Content: Extra content, there's the usual stuff pretty much. Nothing special but then there's this "wallpaper" feature which isn't really very interesting unless you like to listen to their songs with running colored buffalo ala '60s drugged-up style. Probably the weakest point of the whole disk which doesn't hurt it in any way at all besides it's the concert that's important. The concert, as I said, was perfect and the whole song list pretty much sums up about 95% of my favorite songs. Some of the older songs were played since they were really popular, like Under The Bridge but nothing before Blood Sugar Sex Magik. There's also some random solos made by Frusciante that act as a few fillers which are pretty cool. While there's this part where Flea plays a trumpet makes you want to learn how to play it too in hopes that you'll be as good as flea someday. Wicked stuff. 01. By The Way 02. Scar Tissue 03. Around The World 04. Universally Speaking 05. Parallel Universe 06. Zephyr Song 07. Throw Away Your Television 08. Havana Affair 09. Otherside 10. Purple Stain 11. Don't Forget Me 12. Right On Time 13. Can't Stop 14. Venice Queen 15. Give It Away 16. Californication 17. Under The Bridge 18. Power Of Equality Yes. All songs rock even if you never heard some of them before they all rock. Guaranteed. // 10

Production Quality: The look of the whole concert is amazing and crisp and clear in every way; again, flawless. The only tricks that are shown has to be some sort of Matrix-style camera movement thing that usually happens when Keidis jumps and everything freezes as the camera rotates around him and the band. Pretty cool and it doesn't interfere with the song at all so it's alright except that it doesn't happen very often. I only saw it happen a couple of times in the beginning of the whole thing and at least once by the middle. Not much and if they took it out, it's alright. But since it's here, it doesn't really matter since it isn't a major thing only reason I gave this part a 9. // 9

Overall Impression: In the end. I can honestly say that this has to be the best live concert DVD of the band. All major songs you want are here (unless you want the really old songs) and everything is perfect. From The Presentation to the Sounds itself. Amazing. The flow of the songs is great too and never jumps from a slow one to a fast one crazily. Unlike some other concert DVDs where at one point I would just like to skip to the next good song, I never did that here. Every song is worth listening to and every part is worth watching from the opening of By The Way to the solo of Zephyr Song to the crazy solo before californication to the fast paced classic guitar playing in Venice Queen to the classic song, Under The Bridge and the concert ending with Power Of Equality. There's nothing I hate about this CD. Nothing. And if it were stolen/lost. I will buy it again so that I can watch it again. For the record, this is one concert DVD I will never forget. Buy it now. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Live At Slane Castle Reviewed by: untitled039, on january 05, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is probably the best RHCP DVD there is out there. Their performance is phenomenal, this is probably also their best live show I've ever seen them play. It was recorded at Slane Castle, County Meath in Ireland on 23rd August 2003, so most of the songs are from the 'By The Way' Album than anything else. It lasts around 100 mins. // 9

Content: The DVD contains the concert and the 6 animated stage backgrounds of the concert, with the music playing to it. The set list is brilliant, as they didn't just stick to playing singles and has most of my favourite RHCP songs on it. They played songs from Blood Sugar Sex Magik, Californication, By The Way and they included a few other songs as interludes between songs and John performed a few short solo songs. // 10

Production Quality: There wasn't too much editing to do with the DVD on this, but it doesn't matter because the performance was so good. In the actual concert, the background projections are quite good and because the concert was so huge (80,000 people were there) there was a fireworks display at the end. // 8

Overall Impression: This is by far the best RHCP DVD there is out there, and this is the best performance I've seen the Chili Peppers do live. There is hardly any extra features on this DVD, but it doesn't matter that much because the performance is so good. I would definitely buy this again if it were stolen or lost, although it's kinda hard to find where I live. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Live At Slane Castle Reviewed by: frustrat62, on july 05, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: If you've ever seen a Red Hot Chili Peppers live show you already know that they have insane amounts of energy and full of improv solos and jams. This DVD helps exemplify that very well. Sounds just like if you were there (to a point). Very well balanced as well. // 10

Content: The DVD features the concert itself and wallpaper. The wallpaper is actually just the video shown behind them as they play and really pointless unless you have a huge screen and play in front of it but still doesn't really make sense. The set list is ok it has many great tracks obviously there's nothing from One Hot Minute and nothing before BloodSugarSugarMagik which is kind of dissapointing. Although an awesome performance of Power of Equality helps make up for it. There is also Havana Affair (Ramones) which is very good. I was kind of disappointed to learn that a performance of Soul to Squeeze was left out because John broke a string. (It would have been after Right on Time, there's a part where you see John come out with a Strat but the next song he's playing a Tele). // 8

Production Quality: The picture is very nice, crystal clear. And the lighting is very well done. There are many uses of Matrix-like slow motion effects usually when either Flea or Anthony jumps or makes a cool move. It's kind of corny but still pretty cool. Overall very well produced. // 9

Overall Impression: One of the best live DVD's I've ever seen. Most impressive thing is that everything flows really well and they don't leave the entire wait for the encore in which is very nice. I love the concert the improvisations are fantastic and the reason behind many tabs people have made. I don't like that there's not any special features of any kind minus the wallpaper. If it were stolen/lost I would sure as Hell get another copy. A must buy for any Red Hot Chili Peppers fan. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Live At Slane Castle Reviewed by: pl0x, on october 27, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: I think the sound was great and covered most of my favorite songs. Red Hot Chili Peppers are known for their live jams and these are the best ones they have ever done, the intro is great and By The Way leads perfectly into Scar Tissue. John Frusciante's solos are amazing as always. It is in Ireland at Slane Castle with an audience of 80,000 people. Each member except Anthony also does a solo by them selves between songs sometimes. Flea does an indian style bass part, a few songs later John sings and plays "Maybe" then Chad Smith does a solo accompanied by Flea's Trumpet. THis is a must buy as you can feel the energy that they played with that show! // 10

Content: Here is what they played that show in order: 01. By The Way 02. Scar Tissue 03. Around The World 04. Universally Speaking 05. Parallel Universe 06. Zephyr Song 07. Throw Away Your Television 08. Havana Affair 09. Otherside 10. Purple Stain 11. Don't Forget Me 12. Right On Time 13. Can't Stop 14. Venice Queen 15. Give It Away 16. Californication 17. Under The Bridge 18. Power Of Equality Some of these songs were better than the recorded versions themselves such as Don't Forget Me, that has a great solo to it. The Songs were from Blood Sugar Sex Magik album to By The WAy. A bit of a gutter that Soul To Squeeze was left out. Venice Queen was an amazing performance where Frusciante used a wierd violin effect and played over his recording of that. One of these songs is a cover, Havana Affair by the Ramones It also has the wallpaper which was basicly used in the background of when the Chilies were playing. // 9

Production Quality: The only trick I saw was the matrix style camera when Anthony jumped it would move around and he would be in the air, I still don't get how they did this without ruining the music. This trick is very nice in general and was used a few times. This was basically the live show itself which was amazing in itself, at the end there is a fireworks display. // 9

Overall Impression: If this were stolen in deck the person who stole it or get another copy, it's definatly worth it, this amazing performance and great stage presence makes it worth ever penny. Better than other concert DVDs in my opinion. I love it how all their songs are fluently going to the next one especially the first two, By The Way and Scar Tissue. You will never be able to see so much energy and great solos from them like this gig, you have to get it. Your not a true Chili Pepper Fan if you haven't got this! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
Live At Slane Castle Reviewed by: monsterkabouter, on december 23, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The Chilli Peppers are renouned for being incredibly good live, and were nominated for best live act multiple times the past few years. When I bought this DVD I was still surprised at how good they sounded, even the little weird breakdowns that I assumed were studio tricks. Expect the DVD to sound like their albums, but being live its much more organic and viceral. In John F's solos and little improv pieces I also detected a little latin vibe, which is nice. // 10

Content: As mentioned this is a live DVD. They play a nice spread of their more recent music, but sticking to the hits. I can't complain because its a beautiful and diverse setlist, but there were no surprises. I would have liked to see older or lesser known songs. Surely there are songs that they thaught were great, but didn't become hits as eg. "Californication" did. // 6

Production Quality: The video is well produced, with sound and visuals allways matching and in crystal clear definition. There is one 3D technique, where they virtually move the camers around Kiedis as he's jumping about, that gets used to often and so instead of being a powerful effect it just becomes annoying. Overall, the sound and video quality is awesome and the camera work is exceptionally good as well. // 8

Overall Impression: This video is a prime example of what music should be. Real people making great music, live. It is an insight into how each of the bandmembers respond in a live environment, and I especially liked fleas little attributions. His bass and trumpet solos are memorable, and he sings well too. The ONLY thing I would change is the overuse of the abovementioned video effect. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Red Hot Chili Peppers reviews rating latest review
+ Funky Monks 9.7 08/18/2007
+ Greatest Hits And Videos 9.1 01/26/2006
+ Off The Map 8.8 10/19/2004
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect