R30 Review

artist: rush date: 01/19/2009 category: dvd
rush: R30
Release Date: November 22, 2005
After 30 years of evolution from playing clubs and getting minimal airplay in Cleveland to selling out arenas and releasing around 30 albums, Rush shows no signs of stopping and can continue to put on a amazing concert.
 Sound: 9.5
 Content: 9
 Production Quality: 9
 Overall Impression: 10
 Overall rating:
 9 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.4 
 Users rating:
 8.6 
 Votes:
 65 
reviews (2) 7 comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 9.8
R30 Reviewed by: TomD03, on january 31, 2006
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound on R30 is spectacular! There are 2 modes to choose from from the very start; 5.1 surround or PCM stereo. Both sound great, and as I dont have one of those fancy speaker systems I can't really compare the two thuroughly. // 10

Content: The live setlist from R30 is a good chronicle of 30 years of work from the boys; starting with the little movie staring Jerry Stiller (good stuff) and followed overture (including parts of Finding My Way, Anthem, Bastille Day, A Passage To Bangkok, Cygnus And Hemispheres) it's a great way to start off your experience. My only beef is that in "Roll The Bones" someone must have screwed with Geddy's footpedals because everytime he steps on one it plays the synthesizer from "Tom Sawyer." // 9

Production Quality: Great! All recorded with HDTV cameras, great angles; they always show the right person at the right time (ex. during Alex's solo's they aren't focusing on Geddy and Neil through the whole thing, or during a great bass rif from Geddy they'll cut between him and the background). Great! Nothing much more to say. // 10

Overall Impression: This DVD is a great addition to any collection, the second disk is nice but it's not amazing IMO; the easter eggs (I'm pretty sure there's only 2, but the boys are hinting at more) are decent, though lacking. If you get the Deluxe edition, the picks & "Backstage Pass" are great collectibles (and the picks are good for using too). But, I'll be honest, I personally would choose Rush In Rio over this for one reason; In R30 they cut out a few songs (YYZ, Secret Touch) and I would have loved to see those but unfortunately we don't get to. Long live Rush and hopefully an album/tour will come sometime late 2006. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
R30 Reviewed by: 0GibsonLesPaul0, on january 19, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: The one word that describes the sound of this Rush concert is: phenomenal. Great quality of the bass drum off of Niel Pert's 24-carrot gold drum kit. The bass was really strong. The effects from the organ were really good. So was the guitar. The crowd really must have enjoyed this concert because when I watched this DVD for the fist time, the crowd was so loud, (not like that's a bad thing) it felt as if I was right there. The overall concert sounded like it was 25 years ago... exept for the vocals. Geddy Lee is not the singer that he was 30 years ago. Yeah, he can still hit the right notes and everything, but he just doesn't sound the same. Overall, this is one of there better concerts. // 9

Content: The opening of the DVD/Concert was really unique. It was an animated little segment of all of Rush's albums that they had released. The "Live" quality of it was very good. Sounded if I was right there. Just like I said before. The song ordering went like this: 01.R30 Overture: loved the mix of all their great songs. 02.The Spirit of Radio: the guitar is amazing so what can you say? 03.Force Ten: great drum roll/Bass. The first time when Geddy said "Tough Times" it was off but oh well. 04.Animate: the drum part is my favorite... including the intro. 05.Subdivisions: the quality of the organ and the Les Paul was really good. 06.Earthshine: the tone of the guitar was really low, but that's just great for this song. 07.Red Barchetta: harmonics were off in a couple of places, but overall, pretty good. 08.Roll the Bones: great keyboard! 09.The Seeker: headbangin' Good! Did you see Neil twirl his stick! 10.Tom Sawyer: original! 11.Dreamline: great guitar and bass balance. This is probably the only song that this was done well. 12.Between the Wheels: I haven't listened to this one since I first heard of Rush, and they still sound the same doing this song. 13.Mystic Rhythms: intro was cool! Great slap bass! 14.Der Trommler: first time I had heard this one. Amazing!!! 15.Resist: great to see Geddy doin' some real acoustic guitar, but it was really soft. 16.Heart Full of Soul: great to see Geddy doin' some real acoustic guitar, but it was really soft. Just like I said before 17.2112: almost sound like a remix... a great remix! 18.Xanadu 19.Working Man; guitar was great. 20.Summertime Blues: just like off of the album 21.Crossroads: little different sound 22.Limelight: the tone of the guitar didn't sound the same The song list was really long and I like that. They also pulled a lot of old songs out from under the bed and played them just like 30 years was yesterday. // 9

Production Quality: The quality wasn't the best, but at least you could se the strings on the guitar. If you wanted to tab this out by what you can see Geddy/Alex playing on te fretboard, then it shouldn't be too much of a problem. I liked that the clips of the different players faded/blurred together before they went to another one so that it didn't look to choppy. The angles they had on the three members were really good which surprised me. Overall, this could have been better, but it was standard. // 8

Overall Impression: I love the fact that they got back together and did a concert instead of just realeasing a sort of "one-hit-wonder" comeback sort of deal. What impressed me is how much they changed in looks. A lot can happen in 30 years you know. I would probably buy it again if it was stolen because it's fun to watch it of older people that were around and fans of Rush back in the good ol' days. Impressive at the least! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Rush reviews rating latest review
+ Rush In Rio 8.9 07/07/2008
+ Chronicles 9.3 04/14/2006
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect