War At The Warfield Review

artist: slayer date: 01/31/2012 category: dvd
slayer: War At The Warfield
Released: July 29, 2003
Still, it's a safe bet that none of the thousands who crammed into San Francisco's Warfield Theater in December 2001 to scream, thrash, mosh, and headbang for this 90-minute show went home unhappy.
 Sound: 9
 Content: 9.7
 Production Quality: 10
 Overall Impression: 9.7
 Overall rating:
 8.7 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.6 
 Users rating:
 7.7 
 Votes:
 21 
reviews (3) 3 comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 9.5
War At The Warfield Reviewed by: narmi, on december 02, 2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Well, it is Slayer. The sound is of course brutal. After the first 6 powerchords of Disciple, the metal that follows is simply headbangingly good. The sound is pretty awesome although sometimes Kerry Kings playing is not as loud as it should be. But it doesnt really cause a problem as Tom screaming "God Hates Us All" and "Raining Blood" is nothing less than what you would expect from one of thrash metals greatest ever frontmen and of course band. // 8

Content: The set list is what you would expect as a Slayer fan, all the classics are here and each of them are performed to perfection. During the concert, there are interviews with Slayer fans and beleive it is funny, some are just palin funny and others make you wonder if Slayer have completely fried their brain. However it is entertaining, if not dark, the interviewer is a bit of a dork though. The extras include the Blodline video which is pretty fantastic and more interviews with fans and the band themselves. A couple more videos would have been cool, but I am not complaining, Here is the setlist: Disciple, War Ensemble, Stain of Mind, New Faith, Postmortem, Raining Blood, Hell Awaits, Here Comes The Pain, Die By The Sword, Dittohead, Bloodline, God Send Death, Dead Skin Mask, Seasons In The Abyss, Captor Of Sin, Mandatory Suicide, Chemical Warfare, South Of Heaven, Angel Of Death. // 10

Production Quality: The quality is excellent, like I said Kings guitar isnt always the best sounding, however this must have been a problem at the gig and you can still here it fine so yeah, awesome! // 10

Overall Impression: This live DVD is one of the best I have seen. It is better than Korn's live at Hammersmith and just as good as Slipknot Disasterpieces and Metallica Live Shit. It will be given a real run for its money with the new Slayer DVD Still Reigning which I have not seen yet, it includes the Wall of Blood and of course the Machine Head DVD scheduled for release next year, which will be awesome. However Slayer are awesome, seeing them live is the only thing better than this DVD and even if you have seen them live, this DVD is a must for any metal head with a DVD player. If it was stolen I would buy it again as long as it is under 10! (Don't ask, think my brain has been fried too). "Slayer, Slayer, Slayer Slayer" possibley the best metal chant of all time. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
War At The Warfield Reviewed by: MetalNick, on march 01, 2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Slayer is the only band I listen to that, in my opinion, does not insanely speed all the time like there is no tomorrow, and still can make sure their ticket to hell. If you know what I mean. This DVD is a concert with some random interviews and footage from after/before the concert. This is pure Slayer, even beter live than I expected. But some of those interviews could have been left out. If you'll see it, you'll know what I mean. // 9

Content: The concert wich features mostly God Hates Us All stuff, but also some of their old stuff like Die by the Sword. Setlist: 01. Disciple - good song to get things going. 02. War Ensemble 03. Stain Of Mind 04. New Faith 05. Postmortem 06. Raining Blood - kick-ass intro. 07. Hell Awaits 08. Here Comes The Pain - one of the few introduced songs. 09. Die By The Sword 10. Dittohead 11. Bloodline - this shows how 'distant' Kerry's guitar sounds. 12. God Send Death 13. Dead Skin Mask 14. Seasons In The Abyss 15. Capto Of Sin 16. Mandatory Suicide 17. Chemical Warfare 18. South Of Heaven 19. Angel Of Death It's a very good setlist in my opinion. I'm glad the DVD wasn't mixed in a way they cut out all interact moments. This DVD also features the Bloodline Video, which I think didn't come trough the mtv check. // 10

Production Quality: Very good quality. At least mine has a nice box, booklet included with setlist and photo complication. The menu is kind of neat, live vid of Bloodline, Fire, what more do you want as a menu? // 10

Overall Impression: It's a kick ass DVD, definatly worth the 23 Euro's. It impressed me how it wasn't mixed to sound like them in the studio, but you could kinda tell that it was mixed a bit. It has all of my favorite Slayer songs, a never seen before bloodline video. The only thing I don't like is some random interviews. I would probably do somethign to the thief described in Slayer songs. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
War At The Warfield Reviewed by: IronDeathKiss, on january 31, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Slayer IS Thrash Metal. They're speed is uncanny, they're power is unholy and they're lyrics are sinister. Slayer, in terms of music, is evil personified, and in a good way I might add and this document from the God Hates Us All Tour IS the definitive Slayer live anything, counting albums and DVD releases. Tom Araya is on top of his game on this show, His raspy voice is perfect for Slayer, he only has one blooper and that's his epic fail on the scream of Angel of Death, but you have to consider, Tom is getting up there in age. (note: this is probably why he doesn't even attempt the signature scream anymore), nonetheless he sounds amazing. Kerry and Jeff are still cranking out the fatest and heaviest riffs ever heard and Paul Bostaph, while not quite as good as Mr. Lombardo, is a God at Drumming. // 10

Content: This DVD is from Slayer's 2001 God Hates Us All Tour. It features the live concert as well as some footage of fans (...we'll discuss this later...) and the "Bloodline" music video. The tracklist consists of: -Disciple: The Perfect opener I might add, I absolutely love this song -War Ensemble -Stain of Mind -New Faith -Postmortem -Raining Blood -Hell Awaits: Note that "Postmortem", "Blood" and "Hell Awaits" are played continously, like a medley of sorts -Here Comes the Pain -Die By The Sword: nice to see a track from "Show No Mercy" -Dittohead: Tom can still sing as fast as ever -Bloodline -God Send Death -Dead Skin Mask -Seasons in the Abyss: these two tracks are sort of a medley, as when "Mask" is complete, the fast riff from "Abyss" hits. I call this segment the "Seasons" Medley -Captor of Sin -Mandatory Suicide -Chemical Warfare -South of Heaven -Angel of Death As you can see, the set is AMAZING and you won't find a better set on another Slayer live release. Now for the only part of this WHOLE DVD that sucks... The segment with the fans. What in the world were they thinking? These segments include interviews and footage of fans... Stupid... Stupid fans or at least that's what this producer wants us to believe. These segments give Slayer fans a bad name. You can tell they only picked the strangest and craziest of fans for these segments. I love Slayer and I don't sacrifice my neighbors dog, wear Satan Loves Me shirts, and committing Necrophilia. Not only are these bits bizarre and somewhat degrading, they also interrupt the show at a few points. // 9

Production Quality: The quality of this disc is great. Not much else I can really say. It sounds amazing cranked up. All the instruments blend perfectly together as they should. The guitars don't overthrow the vocals or the drums (which sometimes happens on Live releases). The picture looks great, especially for a concert from the early 2000's. This is by far the closest thing to seeing Slayer live. // 10

Overall Impression: As I said before, THIS IS THE GREATEST SLAYER DVD, and perhaps the greatest live Slayer experience. The most impressive thing to me is the track list, absolutely amazing. I love the track list, I love the energy, I love Tom's "commentary" in between songs. If this were stolen I would definitely buy it again // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Slayer reviews rating latest review
+ Christ Illusion [Limited Edition] 8.6 07/24/2007
+ Reign In Blood: Still Reigning 8.7 02/11/2005
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect