Rattle And Hum Review

artist: u2 date: 11/21/2005 category: dvd
Released: Mar 1, 2004
Rattle and Hum is not a film for anyone looking for an introduction to Irish band U2's career in the 1980s, but it is a vibrant portrait of an established group making its musical pilgrimage through the America.
 Sound: 10
 Content: 10
 Production Quality: 10
 Overall Impression: 10
 Overall rating:
 9.4 
 Reviewer rating:
 10 
 Users rating:
 8.7 
 Votes:
 10 
reviews (2) user comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 10
Rattle And Hum Reviewed by: unregistered, on september 13, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: U2's 1988 movie Rattle and Hum is an excellent portrial of U2's touring and live shows at the peek of thier carrer. The movie is about U2's 1988 Joshua Tree tour and the recording of thier next album, Rattle and Hum. The sound U2 portrays is a unique sound like no other. The band plays the live shows at an amazing level has the crowd very pumped. U2 does do excellent remakes of great songs from bands like the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, and even two Jimi Hendrix songs. The band does do a song with blues idol and guitar legend BB King. // 10

Content: U2: Rattle And Hum is more of a documentary that follows U2 on thier tour and the live show's performances, as well recordings for thier new album, Rattle and Hum. The songs U2 preform are mainly U2 classics and new songs, as well as some remakes. The set list depended on the show that the band were playing at and what the crew recorded from that concert. The set list was very well done for having new songs and old songs to choose from. The DVD doesn't really have any special features that are new and stuff like deleted secenes and stuff like that, but alot of DVD from that don't have those. // 10

Production Quality: Rattle and Hum was shot in black and white, except for when The Edge preforms Jimi Hendrix's Star Spangled Banner. The blackand white adds an excellent feel to the movie and makes it most unlike any other music documentary. The quality was very well done sense the movie is from the late eighties. // 10

Overall Impression: Before there was Metallica's Some Kind Of Monster, there was U2's Rattle And Hum. This is the best U2 film ever made. Unlike Live At Slane Castle and Live At Boston, this album documents the highs and lows of touring and the legions of U2 fans all across North America. It captures the pure raw and essents of a U2 live show and the bandmate's lives. The most impressive thing about the DVD is that each song is from another concert/recording session. If it were stolen or lost I would buy it again. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Rattle And Hum Reviewed by: audioboxer16, on november 21, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: 'Rattle And Hum' is a documentary about the band U2, but it also uses their music to compliment their unique history. The sound on the DVD is flawless, unless you're very very picky and you notice that The Edge's solo in 'Bullet The Blue Sky' is slightly affected (Soundwise) by Bono holding a spotlight over The Edge. Edge is also using a metal slide on his fingers, and the way he's using it distorts the solo a little, but it's not a biggie and definetly did not disappoint me. // 10

Content: The DVD includes a little bit of everything form the band. For example, 'Angel Of Harlem' is seen being recorded in the actual studio, 'Helter Skelter' is the opening song, which depicts the band playing a live show, 'Heartland' includes the band going to Graceland at the very end of the song and Larry Mullen Jr. giving a story of how much it touched his heart, 'Sunday Bloody Sunday' shows that Bono's lyrics have much more of a meaning than you may think, and 'Bad', my personal favorite, shows in its own way that you're not watching Larry, Bono, Edge, and Adam- You're watching U2. Don't be fooled by the back of the DVD, though. I was under the impression that 'Sympathy for the Devil' and 'Ruby Tuesday' were going to be full length covers, but only 2 or 3 lines of the song were actually put into the DVD. No extras, but you'll be awed enough by the content. // 10

Production Quality: 'Rattle And Hum' is shot in black and white up until 'Where The Streets Have No Name'. I was a little bit worried about this feature; worried that it would bother me. If anything, especially to songs like 'Bad', it adds a certain 'intensity' to the show. My eyes were a bit shocked to see the screen fade to black and then fade in to a bright red backdrop, though. After your eyes adjust, you'll fall in love all over again with the next half hour or so of color movie. // 10

Overall Impression: Of all the music DVD's I own, 'Rattle And Hum' qualifies as my favorite and the best. It appears very subtle, as far as the documentary portions go, but how many documentaries have you seen where someone's inarticulate feelings made them break down and almost cry? The most impressive thing about this DVD is how much U2 sounds like U2. The Edge rarely misses a note at all, whereas in concerts like Green Day's, whole potions of songs are muted or cut off because of all the strutting around. I love the black and white camera-work! If it were stolen or lost, I would surely buy another copy of it. 'Rattle And Hum' is such an excellent film, I would keep two copies around the house just in case one got lost. 10 is just not high enough of a rating to give this DVD. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More U2 reviews rating latest review
+ PopMart Live From Mexico City 8.1 12/07/2007
+ Zoo TV: Live From Sydney 8.3 07/18/2007
+ Vertigo 2005 - Live From Chicago 8.7 04/10/2007
+ Go Home - Live From Slane Castle 9.2 08/18/2006
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect