Vertigo 2005 - Live From Chicago Review

artist: u2 date: 04/10/2007 category: dvd
u2: Vertigo 2005 - Live From Chicago
Release Date: November 15, 2005
This DVD captures the band on two nights during their tour to support How To Dismantle an Atomic Bomb.
 Sound: 10
 Content: 8.7
 Production Quality: 9
 Overall Impression: 9.3
 Overall rating:
 8.7 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.3 
 Users rating:
 8.1 
 Votes:
 20 
reviews (3) 2 comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 8.5
Vertigo 2005 - Live From Chicago Reviewed by: Tolch, on january 26, 2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Bono - Superb performance. The Edge's use of his specially made guitar effects is great, as are his solos. When he isn't rubbing shoulders with the likes of Kofi Annan and George W. Bush, the activist Bono has a side project he likes to call "U2." U2: Vertigo - Live From Chicago captures the band on two nights during their tour to support How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb. Once known for taking the most technologically extravagant shows on the road, the boys from Dublin have settled into a comfortable role of rock elder statesmen, placing emphasis on the anthems and weepers of their considerable body of work rather than gigantic lemons that descend from the rafters. Always a band that reflects the zeitgeist, this concert film finds them at their earnest best, with comparatively stripped-down stage production and superbly recorded sound. To call U2's more rocking songs "anthems" borders on understatement, and it is their anthems that ring most exuberantly in Chicago's United Center. Bono understandably looks heavier and wearier than in days past, perhaps due to the weight of the world he has hoisted onto his shoulders. While the icon roams the circular stage around the Metallica-style "snakepit," The Edge, drummer Larry Mullen Jr., and bassist Adam Clayton pin the songs to the floorboards and take them to the heavens. How can these guys not play fantastically together? Standouts include hits both classic and newly minted, among them "Beautiful Day," "New Year's Day," "Pride (In The Name Of Love)," and "Sunday Bloody Sunday." Late in the concert Bono makes his appeal to the leaders of the world to end extreme poverty, invoking the imagination of a country that put a man on the moon. Ingeniously, he asks the crowd to take out their cell phones and text-message an account that operates as a petition to end world hunger. With the stadium aglow in LED screens, the band smoothly glides into "One." Elsewhere, Bono invokes religion, donning a headband decorated with Islamic, Jewish, and Christian symbols, assuming the appearance of a grizzled No Nukes protester circa 1975. (Perhaps this is a new persona akin to The Fly? ) Kidding aside, these may be days in which we need the uplift and passion of U2 more than the 1990s, when they dressed up as the Village People and occasionally performed at K-Mart. Not suitable for those who don't wish to save the world. // 10

Content: Very much enjoyed show - live concert DVD. Songs are: 01. City Of Blinding Lights 02. Vertigo 03. Elevation 04. Cry/Electric Co. 05. An Cat Dubh/Into The Heart 06. Beautiful Day 07. New Year's Day 08. Miracle Drug 09. Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own 10. Love And Peace Or Else 11. Sunday Bloody Sunday 12. Bullet The Blue Sky 13. Running To Standstill 14. Pride In The Name Of Love 15. Where The Streets Have No Name 16. One 17. Zoo Station 18. The Fly 19. Mysterious Ways 20. All Because Of You 21. Original Of The Species 22. Yahweh 23. 40 Special Features: song selection. // 7

Production Quality: Very Good sound quality and picture. On the menu there is a nice music selection background, with the vertigo tour logo. // 8

Overall Impression: The DVD is a mix of the Chicago concerts (dating 9th and 10th of May) from the Vertigo tour. The footage used comes primarily from the 10th of May (Bono's birthday), though there are some exceptions. The setlists of those two nights are almost identical with only the final song being different ('40' on the 9th and 'Vertigo' on the 10th; '40' was used for the DVD). The recording is almost complete with only 'Party Girl' missing on the DVD, which was played on both nights. The concert starts off with a very short 'Wake up' from Arcade Fire and segues into 'Everyone', which was used as the 1st leg intro. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Vertigo 2005 - Live From Chicago Reviewed by: belavista man, on april 24, 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: As with their newest album, they sound just as brilliant live, if not, better. It surprised me how many guitars The Edge used so that he could create different sounds and effects. His guitar playing in this show couldn't have been better. Adam's bass playing remains as magnificent as it was in, perhaps, 'Under A Blood Red Sky'. Bono's vocal skills show how talented he is when he decides to add extra verses to certain songs (Vertigo). Last but never least, Larry's drum playing is shown at it's best at the end of the performance when he performs a short drum solo/outro. Fantastic // 10

Content: This is basically what the name states, U2 Live from Chicago. They play a variety of songs from their new album 'How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb' as well as many of their classics such as 'New Years Day' and 'Sunday Bloody Sunday'. This performance also shows Bono's talked-about blindfold with the word 'coexist' written on it (the C being a cresent moon, the x being the star of jude and the t being a crusifix). U2 remain entertaining as ever and now involve the crowd more than ever as they walk out on a massive semi-circle extention of the main stage which allows them to get closer to the crowd than in previous shows. During 'Mysterious Ways', Bono actually pulls someone out of the crowd and dances with them. On several occasions, Bono also gives his glasses out to members of the audience. // 9

Production Quality: The lighting and camera quallity work together perfectly to capture the bands light but heavy image and also captures any emotion from the band during their personal songs (Sometimes You Can't Make it On You're Own). Ned O'Hanlon (producer) and Paul McGuinness (executive producer) show their skills at their impecable best with this performance. Every camera angle, every song transition has been edited to make it sound and look magnificent. // 9

Overall Impression: I think that this DVD will become one of U2's greatest live performances ever filmed. Any U2 fan must have this. It makes me jealous of the people who actually went to see them when this was filmed as they would have experienced the magic of U2 live. Any U2 fan that has seen this DVD will agree that it deserves the ratings that I have given it. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Vertigo 2005 - Live From Chicago Reviewed by: maurocha, on april 10, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: I remeber the first time I ever heard U2 and it was on this very DVD. A friend of mine would lend it to me and had to be often calling me to give it back because I couldn't do it. I fell in love with U2's music. Eventually I bought it myself and I listened it for so long that it started influencing my music. Right now I know how to play tons of U2 songs with my guitar. If you open the DVD booklet it contains a set of words in every page which together form " Don't become a monster in order to defeat a monster". It also includes several pictures of the band playing live. // 10

Content: This DVD includes most of U2's best songs but live (Shame they didn't include "With Or Without You" or "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"). // 10

Production Quality: I think that it takes a lot to form a concert that big and that amazing. I'ts not hard to believe that all those lights and equipment take a whole airplane to transport. I think that it is amazing how The Edge can control all the guitar sounds when being upstage. I also noticed that the cameras getevery angle from each band member so that was a good job with the cameras as well. // 10

Overall Impression: I don't think U2 compares to any band I've ever seen. There is nothing I hate about this DVD. If I had to say what was the most impressive thing on it, it would probably be the band's performance. Bono has an amazing voice, Edge is my favorite guitar player, Adam is one of the best bass players I've ever seen and Larry rocks mostly on Sunday Bloody Sunday. They can't be a better band. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More U2 reviews rating latest review
+ PopMart Live From Mexico City 8.1 12/07/2007
+ Zoo TV: Live From Sydney 8.3 07/18/2007
+ Go Home - Live From Slane Castle 9.2 08/18/2006
+ Rattle And Hum 9.4 11/21/2005
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect