Zoo TV: Live From Sydney Review

artist: u2 date: 07/18/2007 category: dvd
u2: Zoo TV: Live From Sydney
Release Date: September 19, 2006
This is U2 at their creative highpoint. Zoo TV was far ahead of it's time, and is captured very well on this release.
 Sound: 8.5
 Content: 9
 Production Quality: 9.5
 Overall Impression: 9.5
 Overall rating:
 8.3 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.2 
 Users rating:
 7.3 
 Votes:
 19 
reviews (2) 37 comments vote for this dvd:
overall: 9.8
Zoo TV: Live From Sydney Reviewed by: belavista man, on october 11, 2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: As allways with U2, the sound is brilliant. The Edge's guitar playing is fantastic and, surprisingly, he uses only three guitars (that I counted) unlike on the more recent concert, Vertigo, where he uses about 5 or 6 different guitars. The sound, without a doubt, is impeccable and couldn't have been much better. // 9

Content: The interactive menus are interesting and handy as from here you can quickly jump straight to a song. The set list for the concert is: 01. Opening Track 02. Opening Sequence 03. Zoo Station 04. The Fly 05. Even Better Than The Real Thing 06. Mysterious Ways 07. One 08. Unchained Melody 09. Until The End Of The World 10. New Year's Day 11. Numb 12. Angel Of Harlem 13. Stay (Faraway, So Close!) 14. Satellite Of Love 15. Dirty Day 16. Bullet The Blue Sky 17. Running To Stand Still 18. Where The Streets Have No Name 19. Pride (In The Name Of Love) 20. Daddy's Gonna Pay For Your Crashed Car 21. Show Me The Way To Go Home 22. Lemon 23. With Or Without You 24. Love Is Blindness 25. Can't Help Falling In Love On the normal edition of the DVD, there is no special features other than the track selection. But even without this, this is a concert not to miss. With the special edition, you get extra features (such as documenteries) and an extra CD of the show. // 10

Production Quality: This concert took over 10 years to reach DVD, so it's not surprising that the producers have spent so long on it's quality. There are fantastic camera angles which give a view of the enormity of the concert and of the amount of fans who went to see them. The interactive menus give the feel that the makers of the DVD took their time in designing it. // 10

Overall Impression: Overall, in my oppinion, this goes with some of U2's previous DVD/video concerts such as Elevation and Vertigo. Zoo TV was and will always be one of the concerts that cannot be repeated. Compared to live concerts from other big bands of our time, U2 outshine many of them by far. This DVD is a must for any music-man (or woman) even if they arn't a massive fan of U2. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
Zoo TV: Live From Sydney Reviewed by: TheBigBoss, on july 18, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: ZooTV era is one of my favourites. I think that the whole idea is genious, the huge TV screens and Trabbi's. It's all captured here. This DVD is a treasure to any U2 fan. This is also one of the rare U2 concerts filmed on one night. They didn't film it the night before because Adam didn't arrive. That was the infamous one and only time when something like that happened. Although I'm very well impressed by this concert, there was one thing I wasn't too satisfied, The Fly. I have heared some bootlegs from this tour and Bono's guitar could be heared all the time, not only at the beginning. Those were simple chords but they gave it a better sound. // 8

Content: The 1CD edition contains only the concert. The Deluxe edition contains following documentaries and extra tracks: Tryin' to Throw Your Arms Around the World and Desire taken live from the Zoo TV Special, Yankee Stadium, New York, August 29 and 30, 1992, The Fly and Even Better than the Real Thing taken live from the "Stop Sellafield" Concert, G-Mex Centre, Manchester, June 19, 1992. Documentaries: A Fistful of ZooTV, ZooTV, The Inside Story, Trabantland. The Trabantland is a mini-documentary about the famous East-German Trabant. I recomend you to watch it, you will find out many interesting facts about this little car. Desire and Tryin' to Throw Your Arms Around the World are the most valuable bonus tracks. The ZooTV version of Desire is something worth watching. I think that the Deluxe edition is worth to buy, it's also not much more expensive than the 1CD edition. Unfortunately they didn't film Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses although they played it during the tour several times. // 8

Production Quality: The picture quality is even better than I hoped it would be. Only sometimes I had a feeling that Bono's voice sounds louder than guitars and drums. I did't like that the words and frazes from the background screeens where mounted in the front of the screen. I can understand it was done to make them easier to read, but they can be seen well anyways. I've heared that they wanted to release ZooTV and Popmart in 2001 but then they canceled it. I think that producers have done good work as it is high quality. // 9

Overall Impression: It's also a great fun to watch it. Bono's stage personas, The Fly and MacPhisto. The show encore is something unusual. It was hard for me to get used to MacPhisto's weird look. Dirty Day had a brilliant sound. I think it's one of the best songs from Zooropa. The famous beginning of the Zoo Station whith Bono dancing infront of the huge screen. There is so much to see. Definately worth buying! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More U2 reviews rating latest review
+ PopMart Live From Mexico City 8.1 12/07/2007
+ Vertigo 2005 - Live From Chicago 8.7 04/10/2007
+ Go Home - Live From Slane Castle 9.2 08/18/2006
+ Rattle And Hum 9.4 11/21/2005
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect