G260 Review

manufacturer: Cort date: 07/11/2012 category: Electric Guitars
Cort: G260
The G260 is a great all round guitar with so many sound/pickup variations - classic strat 5-way switching gives gives you all the Fender type sounds you need and with the "push of a pot" click in the coil tap for fatter Gibson and Ibanez tones.
 Sound: 10
 Overall Impression: 10
 Action, Fit & Finish: 10
 Features: 9.5
 Reliability & Durability: 10
 Overall rating:
 8.9 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.9 
 Users rating:
 7.8 
 Votes:
 71 
reviews (2) pictures (2) 14 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 10
G260 Reviewed by: =Reuben=, on august 25, 2005
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Features: Cort have been making guitars for 40 years now and you can really tell with this new beauty. Duncan design hot rails pickups with coil tap, H/S/S, Wilkinson bridge/tremolo, light swamp ash body, locking machine heads and roller nut for uncompromising tuning stability make this guitar incredible value for money with no compromises. The G260 is a great all round guitar with so many sound/pickup variations - classic Strat 5-way switching gives gives you all the Fender type sounds you need and with the "push of a pot" click in the coil tap for fatter Gibson and Ibanez tones. // 10

Sound: I play mainly hardcore rock, post hardcore if you wanna get into it and the guitar is suited perfectly, but you can get amazing mellow bluesy tones and also a jazzy punchy sound. The sounds of this guitar can be changed, so much that any type of music can be played. It's totaly versatile, I prefer to use this guitar over my Fender Telecaster. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The set up is really good, the action is low, which is great for fast playing and keeps in tune well beacuse of the locking machine heads. Everything on this guita has been done to a high standard and there doesn't seems to be a single flaw, from the swamp ash body to the abalone dot inlays to the wilkinson brushed steel bridge. Perfect. // 10

Overall Impression: Beautiful guitar, would reccomend over a Fender Strat simply beacuse the manufacture is so beautiful, Cort originally made parts for Fender but stopped because they said that standards where slipping and decided to make theyre own guitars. Everyone should own this guitar, it's great! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
G260 Reviewed by: M.V., on july 11, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 300

Purchased from: Lastra

Features: It's a great guitar. It was made in Indonesia (surprise). It has 22 I think large frets. It's color is natural, so no color. Its body is made of swamp ash and neck from maple. It's very beautiful and nice to feel. The neck is very smooth too. It's got Stratocaster body with a volume and tone control for all pickups. I like that Wilkinson tremolo it has very much. Awesome design. Pickup configuration is SSH with Humbucker coil split (tone control push/pull). Pickups are Duncan Designed. I like single coils very much, humbucker is not so good, but still nice enough for classic rock riffs. It has Die Cast locking tuners. // 9

Sound: As I said I don't like humbucker much. I play blues, rock, heavy metal and guitar pretty much covers it. The single coils are very bright and second setting on 5-way switch (both single coils) is extremely bright and acoustic like. I love it. Humbucker is not bright and it has kind of low output. But still it gives great sound The guitar is not noisy at all and it's great for live. It gives medium harmonics too. Overall, it's great. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: Well, the guitar was set up great. Robust pots, great tuners, octaves set, pickups adjusted, tremolo arm is great. I was really surprised about the input. It's unbreakable. But the only thing is that strings are to far away from frets. If you put them closer, strings start to hum. But this is not bad for the price paid. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar is great for live playing. The hardware seems it will last. The strap buttons are solid and pots don't hum. I wouldn't use it on a gig without backup, but mainly because of the risk of broken string. The finish is gonna last. Also if you scratch it on spot, it won't be noticeable. // 10

Overall Impression: I'm very glad I took this guitar. It's great. I've been playing for two years then, but now I play four. I still have it. I love everything about it. If it would be stolen, I would buy another one in immediately. It's got rich sound and great durability. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Cort reviews rating category latest review
+ Source 7.9 Electric Guitars 08/13/2014
+ VX-4V 9 Electric Guitars 07/25/2014
+ EVL-Z6B 8.3 Bass Guitars 07/16/2014
+ MR710F SE NAT 7.8 Acoustic Guitars 03/05/2014
+ X-6 SA 8.3 Electric Guitars 02/17/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect