59-DC Review

manufacturer: Danelectro date: 09/13/2013 category: Electric Guitars
Danelectro: 59-DC
Danelectro 59-DC double cutaway electric guitar. Lipstick style pickups. Danelectro tuners. "Seal" pick guard. In like-new mint condition. No case or gig bag.
 Sound: 9.2
 Overall Impression: 9.2
 Reliability & Durability: 8.6
 Action, Fit & Finish: 8.2
 Features: 8.2
 Overall rating:
 9.2 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.7 
 Users rating:
 9.6 
 Votes:
 34 
reviews (5) pictures (2) 9 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 8.4
59-DC Reviewed by: soozn, on may 21, 2004
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 167.2

Purchased from: 2nd hand

Features: - 98/99 model made in Korea - 21-frets - Limo black with double cutaway (DC) - 2-lipstick pickups (single coil) - 3-way Switch - Stacked volume/tone knobs for both pickups - Rosewood neck - Black w/matching headstock and neck - Masonite scratchplate - Danelectro tuners - Tweed looking puffy gigbag, some would call it mustard in colour, I'll call it baby poo brown! // 6

Sound: I tried many 2nd hand guitars a lot more expensive, this was the best and soooo damn versatile. Theres the jangly almost accoustic sound, right through to your jazzy Gibson sound, and thats saying somthing as may amp is a piece of crap! You can also change the height of the pikups via the screws at the back but I haven't needed that. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: I love the action, the bridge is also a peice of crap, this I feel is it's only downfall, the neck is beautiful tuning pegs are plastic, so a little crappy but you cant complain for the price. // 8

Reliability & Durability: As mentioned above the bridge is junk, I've heard that for 50 bucks you can get the 9-DC pro's bridge, which has all of those little tuning things (I don't know what it's called). Around the outside has this white tape which appears to be coming off, I think I'll rip it off and paint it white instead. Stap buttons are plastic and the one close to the neck is justin the wrong place for a big chunky strap, so it bends the leather a bit, but once again it's a cheapy guitar with incredible sound. As for live playing I havent tested that out yet, im sure it can withstand it, I've only had my dano a week and i swear my boyfriend is getting jelious! // 8

Overall Impression: I like to play accoustic music like Ben Harper, Michael Franti, accoustic Pink Floyd, jazz stuff, classical stuff and flamenco. This is my first electric, I've been playing a Fender Acoustic for about 11 years and now feel the erge to play electric. I also play bass, violin, keyboard, mandolin/banjo & vocals. This guitar rocks! If I lost this guitar I would definetely get another one! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
59-DC Reviewed by: weorge, on january 19, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 160

Purchased from: a shop in denmark street

Features: dunno where or when it was made, 21 frets that feel pretty good. I actualyl can't work out what it is made of ( I think it's a mixture of wood and something else) but it does feel very good. I sound very ignorent about my own guitar here but I'm gonna tell yo uwhat it does have. it has a semi hollow body giving it a more rounded tone, you get 2 Danelectro lipstick pickups, you get a volume control and a tone control, and a pick up Switch (that actually works! )you geta comfortable neck to play on and much to my amazement a metal nut. it has good tuning heads (not branded but very good nonetheless) overall the reason you get a Danelectro is for the semi-hollow body and pick ups, and since they replaced the old crappy tuning heads and bridge the features on this are pretty good. // 9

Sound: The sound is brilliant. it's not at all noisy considering it has single coil pick ups, and the range of tone is surprising, it goes from very bright (think the byrds or early beatles bright) to much mellower (think moody prog band)it suits a wide range of styles, but if you want to turn it into hyperoverdrive then your better off with a les paul. it has a very unique sound, nothing else quite sounds like a Danelectro, I'm playing it through a Roland Cube 30X and Boss me 50, and when I got this thing I was surprised how different it sounded even through a stack of digital effects, it sounded more 'real' then my epi lp somehow. it suits my music perfectly because I'm stuck in the sixties, despite never being there. the only flaw I can find with the sound is that it has very litttle sustain, this may be because I'm used to a les paul but as great as the pick ups are, there nto the most powerfull. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: This guitar was set up very well, pretty low action, but no fret buzz (a seemingly rare occurence in cheap guitars)and I checked it all over there wer no flaws at all, straight neck, hardware in good nick, all electronics worked. the only problem was deciding what finish to have it in, I went for black. I discoverd something I liked very much about the hardware, the scratchplate (and tape binding thingy that goes round the edge) can be drawn on (in pencil) and rubbed out again, so you can personalise it, and you can always change it. This has provided me with much amuzement at my friends shock to watching me draw on it. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Thsi gutiar will withstand Live playing, though I would always have a backu up jsut to be sure, the hardware all seems like it will last and the strap buttons are actually too good. the neck button is in an awkward position making putting a strap on it, or takign it off wutie difficult, the other button is fine too. Teh one problem is that I've not had it long ( about a week and a half) and it's already got a coupel of small chips in thh black finish. whilst I don't mind my gutiars having little battlescars (it adds character so it's YOUR guitar) the neater gutiarist may find this annoying. // 8

Overall Impression: I love this gutiar, so do my friends. I play lots of differenet rock from syd barrett (who also played this guitar) to the Who and it suits most of it very well, like I said if you want power then your better off with something else but this gutiar has a very versatile sound and feel, it has a brightness you can't get from many guitars. I werent even considering getting a differenet guitar, it was either this or a 500 Strat, and I can't afford that. so it was always going to be this, I wanted someting with bright pickups to get a softer tone than my les paul can achieve, and this is a nice contrast. if it was lost I'd buy another, if it was stolen I'd forgive them because it's almost pornographic, then I'd steal it back and hope it's not sticky. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.2
59-DC Reviewed by: ZeppelinJoe13, on january 20, 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 350

Purchased from: ebay

Features: I got the 50th Anniversary White/Gold version. It's made in China. 21 frets, hollow body, double cutaway, badass bridge, two stacked volume and tone controls. 2 single coil lipstick pickups. On ebay, I received the guitar, new strings, 18 ft cable, and strap for $350 and I believe the seller has similar deals to this still going on. // 9

Sound: I mostly play classic rock, mostly Zeppelin, Beatles, Floyd, some Sabbath and others. A big reason why I wanted to get one of these is because Jimmy Page used this guitar live for a few songs (Kashmir, In My Time of Dying, White Summer). It fits well with the songs Page used his Telecaster on as well as other songs with single coiled pickup guitars. The guitar has a Telecaster like tone to it, while at the same time it has an Acoustic feel since its hollow bodied. I have a Marshall AVT50 that I use and it okay with distortion, but absolutely amazing sounding clean channel. It is a great blues guitar. I'm giving it a 9 because although it's not the greatest guitar to play with distortion on, it sounds great on a clean channel. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: As soon as I took it out of the box, the action was perfect. The pickups sounded good. However there are two things that I would change about it, the strap peg on the neck is in a very awkward position and it's hard for me to put my strap on it. And the other minor flaw is the bridge, which I haven't had any problems with as of yet, but the strings rest on a piece of wood which isn't the most stable. Otherwise the guitar is fine. // 9

Reliability & Durability: When my band starts to play some gigs I will definitely bring this guitar without worrying about a backup. All the hardware seems pretty good and I definitely think it will last many years to come. It stays in tune very very well. I went two days (playing for about 2 hours each day) and it barely went out of tune. // 10

Overall Impression: If you play blues or classic rock type music this guitar would be a great fit for you. It's not too expensive and it's tone on clean channels are top notch. If it was stolen/lost I would definitely get another one. If you were thinking about getting a hollow bodied guitar, check this one out, you can even pull off Acoustic stuff with this guitar. Great buy and has few flaws. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.6
59-DC Reviewed by: unregistered, on april 25, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 200

Purchased from: Thomann B-Stock

Features: I guess it was made in 2011 in China. It is a simple electric guitar with two lipsticks, nothing else to say about it. I like it when guitars have a bridge in wood, all of my guitars have that kind off bridges. // 9

Sound: I play all sorts off music and it suits every kind, just because it's that simple. I love it with a little Fender G-DEC but it's a guitar that grows on you and is really good with every amp. It's not noisy, you can play from surf, rockabilly to Vintage hard rock to jazz, everything you want to do/hear, it does it. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: Badly set up at the factory, neck looked like a banana, strings sucked, but if you know about guitars, after putting new strings (size 11) and straightened the neck, waw, waw, waw,... // 8

Reliability & Durability: I like my Gretsch very mutch but I couldn't miss my Dano! // 8

Overall Impression: I have lots off gear and if I buy something I always ask myself, "Will I keep this instrument or will I sell it after a few months?", before I bought this Danelectro I thought I never would sell it and that is what I'm going to do. Best buy ever! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.2
59-DC Reviewed by: manyscissors, on september 13, 2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 250

Purchased from: Wunjo Guitars

Features: *The first thing I want to say is that I might be wrong about that price as I bought it about 8 months ago, I don't want to make it seem like wunjo have suddenly whacked up the prices.* For a cheap guitar, I would say the features are pretty decent: you have separate tone and volume knobs for each pickup, and, as you probably know, the pickups are those awesome lipstick pickups. That said, these things do feel fairly cheap, particularly the tone and volume knobs, but then again I think you have to accept that with Danelectros as that's almost part of the point of them. I like the look of the body and the white strap round the edge makes it look even better. One slight problem I do have is that it only has 21 frets, and the top ones really aren't that accessible: this has meant that it's basically impossible to play anything like AC/DC on it because pretty much all of the solos use the 22nd frets or something very nearby. However in the sound section I'll explain why this doesn't really matter. Came with a gig bag and cheap-feeling strap, by the way. // 8

Sound: I use it with my Vox VT15 which is pretty decent, and on the clean channels it sounds incredible. However you can only put the tiniest bit of overdrive on it before it just sounds like a horrible cheap guitar rather than the very cool one it really is. A tiny bit of Drive works very nicely, but there is something like a cracking point where it suddenly turns bad, so that is worth considering: it is for this reason that I don't need the AC/DC frets because you just can't really play and AC/DC solo with this tone anyway. Something you really can play is Stevie Ray Vaughan (well, in theory, if you're good enough). I won't profess to being able to play a full song of his, but I have a couple of his licks at my disposal and it sounds really great on this guitar. The other thing, of course, is that Jimmy Page used it very effectively in "White Summer," "In My Time of Dying," "Kashmir" and a couple of other things live (I'm gonna assume everybody knows that was with Led Zeppelin). As such it sounds really good when playing this kind of thing, and for some reason it seems to be almost better in alternate tunings (I love the brightness of the sound which works really well for "White Summer"). It's also very nice for jamming along to blues players like BB King etc. I would recommend using it with 11s because it's very light and when I first put 9s on it it didn't work out at all. In conclusion, give the sound a chance because while I was at first disappointed that it basically didn't have overdrive, the clean and slightly driven sounds are so worth it and I have grown very fond of it's tone. It doesn't have the most diverse range of sounds but it would work for many genres such as rock, country, jazz, blues and probably more. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: When I got it it was reasonably well set up (although I had to change it to left-handed which caused some problems but lets not go into that: if anyone's doing the same thing it works fine but make sure you switch the nut before switching the strings because the people in the store kind of ruined the nut for me). I haven't actually bothered to look at what the top is made of: you can find out for yourself pretty easily, but it's fair to say that proper bookmatching isn't really required. I would say that I was overall very surprised with the condition and build quality that the guitar had when I got it because it's cheap and had travelled a long way (I think it was made in China). The strings it came with were horrible and it needed a clean but other than that it was pretty good. // 7

Reliability & Durability: I think it would easily hold up when playing live, and given the number of people who have done so with it I think the fact that I haven't actually played it live doesn't really matter when rating this aspect. The hardware should last easily as it's mainly plastic and all the wires are well protected inside. I've had it, as I say, for 8 months and nothing bad has happened. The strap buttons are solid, but I wouldn't use it to gig without a backup for two reasons: firstly because I would just never gig without a backup and secondly because if I were playing a gig I would want to have more of a range of sounds available than this can realistically offer. However regarding reliability, it has never caused me any problems while playing it (strings never snap off etc). The finish does scratch pretty easily, and seeing as I play left handed and there is no pickguard it is pretty scratched there, but it doesn't really matter. // 9

Overall Impression: Overall I would certainly say it matches well with certain areas of my music: sounds great for Creedence, quite a bit of Led Zeppelin stuff (songs played on Jimmy's tele particularly), BB King, Chuck Berry and a load of other stuff. OH MY God I forgot to mention how it is with a slide in the sound section. Well I can't be bothered to amend that but I'll move it up to a 9 so that tells you how good it is. I wish I had known what it was gonna sound like with overdrive before buying it, I wish I'd known not to waste a set of Super Slinkies on it and I wish I'd known not to ask the store not to switch it to left-handed and done it myself. If it were stolen or lost, I don't think I would buy it again because I feel slightly guilty about how many guitars I have relative to how good I am. In short it's a great guitar for anyone who doesn't need to be hitting the high notes all the time and likes a good clean(ish) sound. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Danelectro reviews rating category latest review
+ DJ-14 Fish & Chips 7-Band EQ 9.2 Guitar Effects 03/11/2014
+ DM10 7.9 Guitar Amplifiers 02/18/2014
+ Cool Cat CD-1 Distortion 8.8 Guitar Effects 10/07/2013
+ DJ-17 PB&J Delay 6.9 Guitar Effects 08/06/2012
+ Cool Cat 7.8 Guitar Effects 07/09/2012
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect