Deceiver X Review

manufacturer: Dean date: 06/01/2012 category: Electric Guitars
Dean: Deceiver X
My Dean Deceiver X is a 2011 model, Les Paul style guitar. It has a mahogany body, maple neck and a rosewood fingerboard.
 Sound: 8
 Overall Impression: 7.5
 Reliability & Durability: 8
 Action, Fit & Finish: 5.5
 Features: 8
 Overall rating:
 7.8 
 Reviewer rating:
 7.4 
 Users rating:
 8.1 
 Votes:
 9 
reviews (2) pictures (2) 10 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 7.2
Deceiver X Reviewed by: Santanarama, on april 21, 2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 199.99

Purchased from: Muzo (Harrogate)

Features: My Dean Deceiver X is a 2011 model, Les Paul style guitar. It has a mahogany body, maple neck and a rosewood fingerboard. The neck has a c-shaped profile, 24-and-a-half inch scale and 24 medium frets. The Deceiver has grover tuners, two DMT (Dean) designed humbuckers, a non-tremello Bridge and one volume and one tone knob with a three-way pickup selector. I have the classic black finish with black nickel hardware. // 8

Sound: I mainly play hard rock and thrash metal and as expected this guitar handles this perfectly, with the neck pickup offering great rhythm tone under heavy gain, remaining pretty clear and not getting too muddy. The Bridge pickup obviously has a lot more treble, and offers pretty good tone when soloing highter up the fretboard, and offers that bit more bite when playing some chops. While the Dean has pretty good clean tones, it is certainly no blues machine and so if that's what you're looking for, The Deceiver X probably isn't for you. While this guitar can really scream with gain, the very thin, light body isn't great at holding onto sustain, which is it's main weakness, especiall when played clean. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: While the build quality is high, I think an ape set the Dean up in the factory, as there was considerable fret buzz and it was pretty out of tune. After a good setup, however, The Deceiver played brilliantly and the fret buzz is all but gone. // 4

Reliability & Durability: I've had this guitar for a month or so now, and everything is still working great. The overall build quality is quite high. This is a pretty simple, no nonsense guitar and as such is built pretty sturdily. The finish is pretty resillient and was survived a few knocks. Overall I feel that I could play a gig and not worry about a backup. // 8

Overall Impression: I've been playing for about three years now and really only bough this guitar to take out. For 200 I'm very happy with what I got, and for playing metal and rock at this price there really isn't much to complain about. I'm probably going to replace the pickups for something a little meatier, but really that's just personnal preference as the ones in it are above average. If this guitar were stolen, yes, I probably would buy another as this is a great little "dies what it says on the tin" guitar. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.6
Deceiver X Reviewed by: Hatcher4, on june 01, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 93

Purchased from: Best Buy store closeout

Features: I have two Deceiver X's in Metallic Charcoal. Both were made in China and were de-tuned by one note at each string from the factory. I purchased both at the same time from the same store and both were in identical factory sealed dual boxes. That is where the similarities stop. One has a 'O' mfg plant code and the other a 'J' code. The 'O' unit appears to be exactly what the factory web site advertises, while the 'J' unit has many differences such as non-Grover tuners, small truss rod cover, neck extends full length of the fret board, back of body is not back cut or styled - it is more like the slab back of a LP, it has OEM Chinese soapbar style pick ups rather than Dean humbuckers, it has a Chrome neck mounting plate with Dean script engraved on it and the guitar body where the neck meets is square like the plate, the lower access plate on the back is bean shaped unlike the trapezoid shape of the current line, and the guitar strap anchors are different as well and last but not least the color is a true Metallic Charcoal unlike the 'O' unit which almost appears black metallic. I've been told each were made at different factories. Initially I was told that the 'J' unit was made in Korea but it had a Made in China sticker at the base of the neck heel where it meets the body. Both sound great with or without heavy distortion but the 'O' unit seems to sound clearer and cleaner than the 'J' unit. I wish some one would disclose the serial number breakdown codes. I believe the 'J' unit was the 374th Deceiver X manufactured. It has so many differences from the current model advertised by the factory. // 8

Sound: Depending on the equipment used this guitar is very versatile and can create the gentlest tones much like a pipe organ to hard and heavy distortion. I run them through a Pyle Pro 300w amp and love playing them both but I think the 'J' unit will get repackaged and placed into storage considering it appears to be an extremely early issue unit with potential for future collectability. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: Considering I have two totally different Deceiver X's the 'O' unit's neck and frets feel and play extremely fast and effortless with a perfect set-up from Dean USA. The 'J' unit's neck is fast and near effortless but not like the 'O' unit. The 'J' unit was missing one screw from the truss rod cover. There were differences in the color of the bodies of both guitars. The 'J' is a very nice Charcoal Metallic and the 'O' unit appears nearly black rather than Charcoal but still has decent metallic properties. // 7

Reliability & Durability: Play every day and both seem to be well built. Super overall fit and finish. The 'O' unit appears to be slightly better in quality components and assume it will last for quite some time. The 'J' unit still has a tale to be told once the mystery has been solved regarding exactly when it was built and by who. // 8

Overall Impression: Play Christian classic and modern, Old school honkey tonk country and rock / metal. Not sure I would pay retail price for another if anything happened to mine. Dean guitars are well crafted and have a great Tradition behind them. My X's are just a portion of my Dean stable. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Dean reviews rating category latest review
+ Exotica 8.6 Acoustic Guitars 05/30/2014
+ ML Modifier Graphyte 8.8 Electric Guitars 05/23/2014
+ Razorback V 255 9.3 Electric Guitars 04/07/2014
+ Avalanche Ultra 7 5.8 Electric Guitars 08/29/2013
+ V X 7.6 Electric Guitars 08/16/2013
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect