FBD Dimebag Tribute ML Review

manufacturer: Dean date: 08/15/2011 category: Electric Guitars
Dean: FBD Dimebag Tribute ML
It features a tribute crest on the headstock, Dimebag Quad image sticker on body, Vintage Brazilliaburst finish, floyd rose licensed tremolo, Dimebucker treble pickup, Dean series 2 classic V headstock, DimeBag traction knobs, and more!
 Sound: 9.3
 Overall Impression: 9
 Reliability & Durability: 9
 Action, Fit & Finish: 8.7
 Features: 9.2
 Overall rating:
 8.7 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.1 
 Users rating:
 8.3 
 Votes:
 104 
reviews (6) pictures (1) 58 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 10
FBD Dimebag Tribute ML Reviewed by: Spade_SanosukeX, on december 26, 2005
8 of 24 people found this review helpful

Features: - Tribute crest on headstock - Dimebag Quad image sticker on body - Vintage Brazilliaburst finish - Floyd rose licensed tremelo - Dimebucker treble pickup - Dean series II Classic "V" headstock - Dimebag traction knobs - Mahogany body and neck - Flame maple top - Cream binding on body and neck - Rosewood fingerboard - A hard case with the trmolo bar, tribute poster and a key to lock the case came with it. // 10

Sound: I like playing a lot of metal in general and punk rock and stuff in that category. I use my Fender Frontman 25A amp and I sometimes use my Dime From Hell Wah with a DigiTech Whammy which still makes it sound amazing. If you wamt a good guitar for shredding and playin a lot of music then this is it. I like using the whammy alot for some songs to mess around with and in some Pantera songs. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar came right out of the factory with nice low actions. The pickups were set up just right when I got them. I didn't find any flaws with the guitar. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar looks like itll withstand live for a long time. The guitar in general looks like itll last for a long time. The strap buttons are good but I'm just afraid the guitars gonna fall off the strap cause the strap buttons are a but small but still good. The finish is way to freakin amazin that I seriously can't believe it. // 10

Overall Impression: I play almost all types of metal and a lot of rock music which makes this a very good match. I've been playin for about a year and a half and I'm pretty good for the stuff I play. I would ask that it better not be a dream before I buy it. If it were stolen I'd find the person and beat them up but if it were lost I'd most definately buy it again. I love everything about it and I hate nothing about it. My favorite feature is probably everything to be honest. I can't compare it to anything but a custom guitar 'cause I actually feel like I'm using one that was not built by the factory. I don't wish it had anything more cause its good the way it is. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.6
FBD Dimebag Tribute ML Reviewed by: Infinite401, on march 02, 2007
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Features: Make-this guitar was made in the year 2006. It was made in Chine, featuring great quality parts, and put together nicely. Neck-This guitar has 22 jumbo rosewood frets, and a laminated top. Finish-This guitar features none other than the great Dimebag painted on the from. Some other things put on this guitar are green lightning bolts, and a razorblade chain going across it. Also painted on is a replica of an autograph from Dimebag himself. The body of this guitar is the Dimebag shape itself, with a mix of a V and an X. It has a string through body bridge making it have great sound, and active electronics. it's given 2 controls, tone and volume, in creative see through nobs. It also contains non locking Schaller tuners. I own this guitar and play it alot. It's great for many types of music, because I play a great variety and it all sounds good. // 9

Sound: I own this guitar and play it alot. It's great for many types of music, because I play a great variety and it all sounds good. I'm currnetly using a Crate amp with 22 effects and it sounds amazing. I used to play it on a Fender showman and even on that it sounded great. It has a rich full sound, and when set with distortion just blows your mind away with the quality. It has a variety of effects that it can be used with, like wah, chorus, flange and many others. They all go great with the guitar, and sound great. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: The guitar was set up great at the factory. The day I bought it I came home and was able to play it with minimal tuning adjustments. It came in almost perfect condition. I guess the only bad thing about it when I bought it was that it didn't come with a case! // 8

Reliability & Durability: This is a reliable and durable guitar, It could stand playing in your bedroom, a small stage, or a sold out show. The strap buttons are nicely fit, I've yet to have to attempt to catch my guitar as it falls off the strap. I would trust it with my life at a concert as my only guitar. The sound never quits and neither does the finish. It still looks Brand New from when I got it a couple of months ago. // 9

Overall Impression: I play metal, rock, classical, anything you cane name and this quitar can do it, and do it well! I've been playing for only a bit over a year, and the only other guitar own is a Fender Squier, and this blows it away and a half. If this were stolen or lost, I wouldn't want something new or another one of the same one. I would search down the man Who stole it, tell him he has great taste in guitars, then take it back, that's how great it is. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
FBD Dimebag Tribute ML Reviewed by: Ultimate_Gio92, on october 01, 2007
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 948

Purchased from: Adirondack Guitars

Features: This guitar was made in korea, 22 frets, rosewood fingerboard. Its body and neck wood is mahogany. Its finish is Vintage braziliaburst. Floyd Rose bridge, a Zebra Humbucker and a Seymour Duncan Dimebucker in bridge. It has a 3-way selector switch, 2 vol knobs and a tone knob and has Grover tuners. It came with a case, alen key, whammy bar and dimebag tribute photo. // 10

Sound: It suits my style perfectly, I play a lot of rock, heavy metal, thrash metal and this guitar is perfect for it. I play a lot of Megadeth, Metallica, pantera, sabbath, and this guitar just suits me perfectly. I am curently using it with an Ibanez SM7 Smashbox that's connected to my 5.1 Stereo (Saving up for an amp because I got fed up with my crappy Marshall MG10CD). It can give quite a lot of feedback because of the pickups turned around, I heard this from my buddy, he says it's what dime did) but I have a noise surpressor in my pedal so it's all good. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The store I ordered it from set it up very well. Everything was perfectly routed, even perfectly tuned! This guitar is perfect. It had no flaws in it whatsoever. The finish on this guitar is so beautiful that you have to see for yourself in person (not through pictures) to really appreciate. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar will definitely withstand live playing. Everything looks like it will last for a very long time without any problems. The strap buttons seem solid, it's just my strap that's crap. I am planning on putting straplocks on it. I would definitely use it on a gig without a backup. // 10

Overall Impression: I play metal, thrash metal, death metal, hard rock. it's a very good match. I have been playing for 2 years (lefty) and I own an Ibanez gio. They are both good guitars but the Dean totaly blows it away. If this guitar was stolen or lost, not only would I buy it again, I'd track down and slaughter the person Who stole it. There is nothing about this guitar I hate so far. My favorite feature is the Floyd Rose, having never had one before. I had a choice between this and a Seven string Schecter Hellraiser C-7. I picked this because in the long run it would seem like the better choice, plus a guitar like this was hard to find because I'm left handed. Only one other store had this. I think the Schecter would have been great too, but I'm glad I stuck with my original choice of the Dean. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
FBD Dimebag Tribute ML Reviewed by: unregistered, on march 05, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 799

Purchased from: Musiciansfriend.com

Sound: I play metal mostly and this guitar was made to scream. I am currently using this through a Marshall 15cdr and the 50 watt version and have played this through a Peavey Valveking 112; I also have a Gibson SG Standard. While the SG handles both metal and rock, the ML is made to scream, not rock! // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: The action came a little high for my taate but that was easily fixed. The strings seemed a little cheap which was strange because of all of the features that this guitar came with. Everything on this guitar was perfect from the factory. The only thing that I noticed was that in the picture of the guitar it show the burst all the way to the edge but mine had the burned edge to it. While it still looks incredible I sort of like the pictured version a little better. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I have had the guitar for about 6 months and I spilt time playing the ML or the SG. The one problem I have seen with the ML is the strings will not stay in tune that long. The pickups look and sound incredible. The stap buttons, just like the SG, seem unreliable for a Live gig. As far as gigging, no backup needed and the finish and qualiy of this guitar is top notch. You can really feel the difference between this guitar and any of the BC Rich's. The ML feels top qulaity while the BC's seem mass produced. // 9

Overall Impression: Since I play metal this guitar fits the music and the appearance of the music. It really feels good in your hands. Compared to the SG the ML holds it own playing metal but lags a bit playing rock. I am sure with enough tinkering with the pickups you could get it to sound right but it's heart is to play metal and play it loud. I wished I would have known the sunburst did not go to the edge. If I had known that at the time of purchase I would have went with the razor. If something happened to this guitar I might buy it again. I would definitely replace it with another Dean. The truly only thing I wish was different on this guitar is the sticker near the Floyd Rose. If the sticker had been under the lacquer fine but since it is exposed it looks a little kiddie. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.2
FBD Dimebag Tribute ML Reviewed by: thetoastinator, on june 18, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Features: This guitar was made in Korea in 2006 I believe. It has 22 frets, and a Les Paul scale. It has quite a thin neck, and it plays very easily. The Body and neck are mahogany, and it has a rosewood fretboard and a flamed maple top. It comes in a Brazillaburst finish, which is a burst that starts black around the edges, and it turns Orange in the center. This finish fits the guitar really well, and it looks awesome with the flame maple top on it. The body is in the traditional ML style, which is what Dime was famous for playing. It had a Dimebag quad crest on it, but when I bought this from my friend he told me that he took it off. In my opinion it looks a lot better without the sticker. Some other features that this guitar has are a Liscenced Floyd Rose Tremolo system, a Dimebucker bridge pickup, and Grover Tuners. The guitar came with a hard case, which was good because it is hard to find a case big enough to accommodate this guitar. // 10

Sound: The guitar sounds really amazing through my gear for metal, which is my main style of playing. I am using a Peavey XXX Super 40 with the guitar, and a Dunlop Original Crybaby and a Boss NS-2 Noise Gate in front of it. The guitar is extremely noisy with this amp without the Gate in front of it, so I would check out getting one if you are thinking about this guitar. A lot of people say that the Dimebucker sucks and its not any good, but it is actually very good for Metal, and even getting a just-broken-up distorted sound on the clean channel. Its not going to be great for cleans but its made to be distorted and give out the most attack it can, which it does great. The neck pickup is awesome for cleans on my Peavey, and it also sounds really good for a liquidy solo tone, which I like for sweep picking. I would mainly use the bridge pickup for Metal, Hard Rock, or other kinds of music that require high-gain, and the neck pickup for anything else. The guitar plays great with low action, a fast neck, and a great tremolo system. A lot of people don't like the LFR's but it is really good actually. The tuning stability is great, and it hasn't given out on me at all. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: When I got the guitar, it was used and it was in desperate need of a setup. The action was very high, the innotation was off and the bridge was pulling out of the body. I got it professionally set up for about $30 and it sounds and feels great now. I have it set up with a hybrid .09-.46 strings, and it is really easy to play because the action is so good on the guitar. It was in perfect cosmetic condition from the factory. Everything was properly routed and there are no blemishes on the guitar. There is one problem with a fret that needs to be filed. The third fretwire on the high E string sticks out just enough for the string to get stuck under if I put it there, but thats not too big of a problem because it can't go under there mid-song, so its just a matter of filing it down a little. Also, if I touch the pickup selector ring and nothing else, I will get a buzz that sounds like a grounding problem, but when I touch the Floyd Rose, the bar, or the strings it goes away. // 8

Reliability & Durability: This guitar is built to last. I have dropped it a few times, and there are no chips except for on the tips of the headstock, where I hit my ceiling fan with it (which was my fault for being stupid in the first place, haha.) I abuse the LFR daily, and it always comes back in perfect tune and it works amazing. I replaced the strap buttons with straplocks for added security, but the stock ones weren't too bad really. I would gig without a backup if it was unavoidable, but I would rather have my Schecter as a backup in case a string breaks because that will mess up the whole tuning of the guitar, which wouldnt be a good thing mid-song. // 9

Overall Impression: I play a lot of metal like Pantera (obviously), Metallica, Trivium, and other bands like that. I also play a bit of classic rock like Zeppelin and clean songs. This guitar is good for metal mainly, but the neck pickup can do cleans quite well. Also, if you add a hint of gain to the clean channel and use the Dimebucker, it has a nice crunch sound. I've been playing for around 3 years now, and my other guitars are a Schecter Gryphon, and a Fender Splatter Strat. I like the feel and sound of this guitar over the other two, although they sound awesome through my Peavey as well. I was lucky to get this from my pothead friend for such a low price, so if something happened to it, I would probably not get another one because I wouldn't be able to afford it. I really like the Dimebucker, and the Floyd because together you can do really good Dime-harmonics that I find hard on other guitars. The thing that I dont like about it would be the fact that the LFR is kind of hard to set up or tune, but that is mainly my fault for not looking up how to do it properly. I didnt really compare it to other products before I bought it because everything new in the $350 range isn't really worth as much as this, and doesnt play as well in my opinion. I am happy with all of the features on this guitar and wouldnt change one thing about it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.2
FBD Dimebag Tribute ML Reviewed by: Metallion181, on august 15, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 1000

Purchased from: Music Farm - Ebay

Features: Info from Dean website: - Tribute Crest on Headstock - Dimebag Quad image sticker on body - Vintage Brazilliaburst Finish - Floyd Rose licensed tremelo - Dimebucker Treble Pickup - Dean Series II Classic "V" headstock - Dimebag Traction knobs - Mahogany Body and Neck - Flame Maple Top - Cream binding on body and neck - Rosewood fingerboard - Hardshell case included - Set Neck Construction Korean made & licenced floyd = 7 // 7

Sound: Ever since I heard dime I have wanted one of these guitars, when I finally found one they made left handed I had to have it! Have always played metal (from metallica & pantera) to more recently prog metal & this is still the best guitar I have owned. Surprisingly light for its size & the sound & sustain is plenty. Dimebucker is an awesome pickup, high gain & (I believe) slightly more refined than the L500XL pickups (however they are awesome in their own right). You can get a really diverse range out of this guitar depending on your setup, but I guess it is designed as a metal guitar & delivers well. // 8

Action, Fit & Finish: Came setup well with super light gauge strings (pfft). After a bit of fiddling due to increased gauge strings it came out fairly straight, however I have fiddled a bit to much & require a proper setup now. All components & finish are good except the bridge. Licenced Floyd Rose is (well the one I got is) crap - locking nut stripped almost instantly, same with the low E Bridge saddle, resulting in the purchase of an original & fitting myself, ended up spot on with the original. Rating the recieved product, the USA product with quality parts would own! // 7

Reliability & Durability: Haven't gigged with this Beast but would do so instantly. Time will tell how durable it is, but after a year & a bit its holding well & should last a long time. // 7

Overall Impression: Awesome metal guitar with the ability for variety. The body cannot be faulted just the hardware, if I had to I would save some extra coin to get a USA made with quality components. My favourite guitar. Would be an overall 9 if it came with original floyd. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Dean reviews rating category latest review
+ ML XF 6 Electric Guitars 11/10/2014
+ Dave Mustaine VMNTX United Abomination 8.3 Electric Guitars 11/06/2014
+ Exotica 8.6 Acoustic Guitars 05/30/2014
+ ML Modifier Graphyte 8.8 Electric Guitars 05/23/2014
+ Razorback V 255 9.3 Electric Guitars 04/07/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect