Vendetta 1000F Review

manufacturer: Dean date: 11/07/2012 category: Electric Guitars
Dean: Vendetta 1000F
It featured a 24 fret maple neck with rosewood fingerboard, Floyd Rose Special, dual humbuckers with coil split, basswood body and apparent flamed maple top. All pretty standard stuff in today's market for metal guitars.
 Sound: 9
 Overall Impression: 9
 Reliability & Durability: 8
 Action, Fit & Finish: 9
 Features: 7
 Overall rating:
 4.2 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.4 
 Users rating:
 0 
 Votes:
 0 
review (1) 2 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 8.4
Vendetta 1000F Reviewed by: thebestjoe, on november 07, 2012
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Features: Unknown year and Chinese made, I purchased this Dean new from Guitar Center in June 2010 during a sale. It featured a 24 fret maple neck with rosewood fingerboard, Floyd Rose Special, dual humbuckers with coil split, basswood body and apparent flamed maple top (although it looks like just a veneer to me). All pretty standard stuff in today's market for metal guitars. The pickups have been changed to actives, and I alternate between Blackout's and 18v modded EMG's. The control cavity is huge, so it makes for easy fit of batteries. // 7

Sound: I use this as my main shred guitar. It gained this Status after the active pickups were installed in 2011 because it was quite, had good sustain, and very low action. I run it through a Peavey XXX with a Morley Bad Horsie II wah which work perfect for shred. Stock, I'm sure it will cover a wider variety, but with a pickup swap, this thing is a metal/shred machine. // 9

Action, Fit & Finish: I had purchased this guitar literally 30 minutes after they had got it in store, and the tech had just set it up before I got there. Action is as low as can be with no fret buzz, and has potential to go lower, but it isn't needed. I believe this guitar to have an insanely thick amount of polyethylene finish, as it's just basswood, and it has a good amount of bulk to it. A scratch in the finish enforces this as I have a long white line where the scratch is. A plus of the finish though, is that it's difficult to see fingerprints in on the red version. The neck heel does have some contour to it, making higher frets easier to access. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I have never had any troubles with lower end floating tremolos, and this guitar may just have the best of the lower end ones I've used. It has one of the best flutters I've gotten from any Floyd rose. I've only used this guitar live once. The heavy weight of it made me uncomfortable after 15 minutes, but everything else went perfectly. As with all floating bridges though, I would not use it without a backup. The original strap buttons were very good, and were wider than most stock ones. I've installed Dunlop Strap Loks on this guitar just reduce the chance it will fall though. The only concern I have of this guitar is a puckered crack that's developed on the backside of the neck around where the nut is. It has not effected tuning stability though. // 8

Overall Impression: An employee pointed me to this guitar after I had stated that I wanted something dual humbucker, locking trem, and 24 frets. I fell in love with this when I tried it out. It is now my go to guitar to record solos. I wouldn't be too happy if it were lost/stolen, as this is probably my favorite of 12 guitars to practice on. The best feature in my opinion, as a modder, is the big control cavity. Being the only thing with the specs I wanted in my small budget, this guitar has surpassed expectations once I had found the perfect pickups for it.

// 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Dean reviews rating category latest review
+ ML XF 6 Electric Guitars 11/10/2014
+ Dave Mustaine VMNTX United Abomination 8.3 Electric Guitars 11/06/2014
+ Exotica 8.6 Acoustic Guitars 05/30/2014
+ ML Modifier Graphyte 8.8 Electric Guitars 05/23/2014
+ Razorback V 255 9.3 Electric Guitars 04/07/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect