Pierced SG Review

manufacturer: Epiphone date: 07/20/2012 category: Electric Guitars
Epiphone: Pierced SG
Satin-finish maple neck and rosewood fretboard for super-fast playability. Black satin hardware for funereal flair.
 Sound: 7.5
 Overall Impression: 6.5
 Reliability & Durability: 7
 Action, Fit & Finish: 9
 Features: 9
 Overall rating:
 6.4 
 Reviewer rating:
 7.8 
 Users rating:
 4.9 
 Votes:
 53 
reviews (2) pictures (2) 22 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 5.6
Pierced SG Reviewed by: unregistered, on july 20, 2012
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: A$ 199

Purchased from: Internet

Features: Its a standard cheap SG however it has a X in its body and dents all over it. 2 Control knobs and a 3 way selector switch. // 8

Sound: Sounds really grungy and hard rockish. Horrible clean sound. It has a nice amount of sustain on the neck pickup. Not very diverse though. // 5

Action, Fit & Finish: Action is fine. Pickups look cheap and tacky. It has an awesome finish so its worth buying if your looking for something to hang on your wall as art. // 8

Reliability & Durability: It has shutdown on my the volume knob got dced. However its covered in dents so a great guitar to carry around. Strap button is on a horrible place so it feels uncomfortable. I wouldn't trust it in a gig as the electronics are tacky. Finish will last forever no doubt. // 4

Overall Impression: Overall I would not recommend this guitar. Its all about looks and I don't know why my father even bought it. I'm more of a death metal kind of guy and prefer RGs. This guitar is uncomfortable to Play as the neck is very heavy. But it is cheap and possibly better than other cheap guitars. If you suck at guitar and wanna look cool then this is the guitar for you. // 3

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Pierced SG Reviewed by: basketofplastic, on july 13, 2004
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 237

Purchased from: long and mcquade

Features: This model is a 2002 model I believe it has 22 fretts two nobs one vloume one tone features two humbuckers and a three way selector togle Switch. It is a solid top guitar and has a tune o matic bridge. The finish is black, this guitar is bizzre its the normal shape of an SG guitar but there is an x carved right through the guitar and dents all over the body this is not a defect it is the way it is made at the factory and the neck is bolt on. // 10

Sound: This guitar blew me away when I first heard its sound its incredible this guitar fits best metal and punk perfecly! I've experimented with other types of music and its not good for slow calm music like jazz but that isn't why I bought it. The sound is amazing it has an amazing metal sound very nice distrtion. // 10

Action, Fit & Finish: This guitar has perfect action its not low but its also not extremely high off of the neck the picups are ajusted to be a few centimete4rs lower then the strings. This guitar looks like it ios in poor quality but its the way it is designed so the quality is great. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This guitar will definately last the hardware is solid pluss you could dent it and it wouldent matter it would fit in with the ones that came with the guitar and the finish seems like it will last quite a long time. // 10

Overall Impression: If you enjoy playing punk and metal music this is the guitar you should be picking up, if it were stolen I would buy a new one because I love it so much, I love the sound more then anything I love the x carved through it the dents and the inlays are pretty awsome there x, so it matches the hole through the guitar. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Epiphone reviews rating category latest review
+ Worn Dot Studio 8.2 Electric Guitars 08/08/2014
+ DR-500ME 7 Acoustic Guitars 07/16/2014
+ Thunderbird Pro-IV 7.5 Bass Guitars 07/09/2014
+ Wilshire 7.5 Electric Guitars 07/03/2014
+ Dot 8.7 Electric Guitars 07/02/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect